1.Claims 2-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 requires that the building structure comprises a “wrapping structure”. It is unclear exactly what this wrapping structure comprises or what it wraps around and hence is indefinite. Does the wrapping structure wrap around the structural profile? Applicant needs to clarify exactly what the instant “wrapping structure” comprises and its relationship to the building structure.
Claim(s) 1 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Van Dijk et al 2007/0062146 (see paragraphs 0002, 0010, 0067 and 0082; Fig. 1A and 91’ in Fig. 4B).
Van Dijk et al discloses the instant building structure (see paragraph 0002) comprising a structural profile (91’ in Fig. 4B) having a channel on at least one side into which a construction element (1’ in Fig. 4B) is embedded, the construction element (see Fig. 1A) comprising the instant three pairs of opposite faces with a pair of protrusions (10’) on a face of one of the first pair of faces defining a longitudinal inlet and a pair of rabbets (8’, 9’) on the other face of the first pair of faces defining a longitudinal protrusion corresponding to the inlet. It is clear that the noise suppression wall shown in Fig. 4B would also be used for a building wall as taught in paragraph 0002 of the applied reference. The construction element has a surface finish (see paragraph 0010) and the building structure has a defined and fixed cross section as set forth in instant claim 11. Instant claims 12-14 are taught in paragraph 0067.
Claim(s) 2-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Dijk et al 2007/0062146 (see also paragraphs 0024, 0025, 0033).
Van Dijk et al discloses the basic claimed building structure as set forth in paragraph 2, supra, the applied reference essentially failing to teach a “wrapping structure” as part of the structural profile. It is noted that the instant wrapping structure surrounds the structural body of the instant structural profile. As such, it has a conduit that is filled with a thermal insulating material. The applied reference shows a structural profile (91’ in Fig. 4B) which contains sound insulating elements 92 located within the channels. Van Dijk et al (see paragraph 0010) also equates thermal insulation with sound insulation. It is submitted that one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to have modified the structural profile of the applied reference to comprise a “wrapping structure” that would have a conduit for thermal insulation as generally recited in instant claims 2-5 as such would merely involve the repositioning of the insulative material to a location surrounding the channel rather than directly in the channel as depicted in Fig. 4B of Van Dijk et al. it is certainly within the skill level of the art to employ additional structure with conduits given that the structures shown in Van Dijk et al already contain conduits (40’ in Fig. 1A) that would have sound/thermal insulation—see 242 in Fig. 4D. The structural profile is made of the same material as the wall—thermoplastic and wood filler—and it would have been obvious to have made the wrapping structure with the same material. Van Dijk et al teaches the wall of instant claim 6. Figure 4B of the applied reference shows the channel opening of the structural profile (91’) being coincident with the width of the construction element (1’) as set forth in instant claim 7 and conduits (40 in Fig. 1A) traverse the length of the construction element body as set forth in claim 8. Again, claim 9 is shown as 242 in Fig. 4B, with thermally insulating material being considered equivalent to the sound absorbing material 242 in Fig. 4B—see paragraph 0010 in this regard as already noted. The conduits in the construction element shown in Figure 1A meet instant claim 10.
4.Claim(s) 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Dijk et al 2007/0062146 in view of Ayangbile et al 2024/0183156 (see paragraphs 0005-0026, 0042, 0047, 0048 and 0058-0068).
Van Dijk et al discloses the basic claimed method of building a structure including steps c and d of claim 15, the primary reference lacking essentially the aspects of step a—building a foundation—where the structural profile would be laid and steps e and f—building a roof and finishing the interior. Ayangbile et al teaches the formation of a foundation on which a prefabricated wall system is aligned/laid (see paragraphs 0018 and 0019), the aligning of the wall system with a prefabricated roof (see paragraph 0022) which obviously must be built and the finishing of the interior (see paragraphs 0058-0062). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the method of the primary reference as taught by Ayangbile et al to form a functioning building structure as is conventional in the art. Instant claim 16 is taught at paragraph 0009 of Ayangbile et al; instant claim 17 is taught at paragraph 0042 of Ayangbile et al; and instant claim 18 is taught at paragraphs 0047 and 0048 of Ayangbile et al. Obviously, these steps would have been employed by one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a functioning building structure. The limitations of instant claims 19 and 20 are conventional in the art—official Notice is hereby taken of this—and such would have been an obvious aspect in the combination as applied to ensure that the building meets all desired expectations with respect to cost, comfort and efficiency.
5.The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chinese document CN 214219725 shows a structural profile (2) with channels (21) to receive prefabricated wall portions (5), the profile being attached to a foundation (1).
/MATHIEU D VARGOT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742