DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: MOTOR UNIT WITH ROTATING BODIES AND CAPACITOR.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamaguchi et al. (US6166498, “Yamaguchi”).
Re claim 1, Yamaguchi discloses a motor unit comprising:
a first rotating body 27 (figs 2-3, col 4, lns 15-35);
a second rotating body 25 arranged in line with the first rotating body 27 in a rotation axis direction of the first rotating body and configured to rotate together with the first rotating body (figs 2-3, col 4, lns 15-35);
a third rotating body 32 arranged in line the first rotating body in an alignment direction different from the rotation axis direction and rotating together with the first rotating body 27 (figs 2-3, col 4, lns 15-35); and
a drive circuit including a capacitor 55, and configured to drive and rotate at least one of the first rotating body, the second rotating body, and the third rotating body (figs 1 & 6, col 5, lns 13-19), wherein
the capacitor 55 is arranged adjacent to the second rotating body 25 (figs 1-3 & 6 , col 5, lns 20-24, ascertain from figs), and
the capacitor 55 is arranged adjacent to the third rotating body 32 (figs 1-3 & 6 , col 5, lns 20-24, since 55 is adjacent 25 & 32 adjacent 25).
Re claim 2, Yamaguchi discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the drive circuit includes a power module 53 in addition to the capacitor 55 (figs 1 & 6),
the first rotating body 27, the second rotating body 25, the third rotating body 32, and the power module 53 are heat-generating components which generate heat due to rotational driving by the drive circuit (col 6, lns 7-24), and
the motor unit further comprises a heat shielding layer arranged in a facing region 49a between the capacitor 55 and the heat-generating components (fig 1, col 4, lns 63-65; col 5, lns 3-5 & col 6, lns 7-24, heat shielding area includes wall 49 & 49a where 10 & 49 made of heat conducting material; shields 55 from heat by drawing heat in 49 & 49a to flow path 56).
Re claim 3, Yamaguchi discloses claim 2 as discussed above and further discloses the capacitor 55 has two or more surfaces facing the heat-generating components (fig 1, bottom of 55 & side facing 25), and
the heat shielding layer faces the two or more surfaces of the capacitor 55 (fig 1).
Re claim 4, Yamaguchi discloses claim 3 as discussed above and further discloses the heat shielding layer includes a coolant flow path 56 through which coolant flows (fig 1, col 6, lns 7-14).
Re claim 7, Yamaguchi discloses claim 4 as discussed above and further discloses a case housing the first rotating body 25, the second rotating body 27, the third rotating body 32, and the drive circuit (fig 1, col 4, lns 63-65 & col 5, lns 4-7, includes 10 & 46); and
an external connection terminal 71, 72 of the drive circuit provided on the case (fig 6, col 6, lns 54-65), wherein
the coolant flow path 56 is provided in a part of the case (figs 1 & 3), and
the external connection terminal 71, 72 is provided at a position on the case different from the coolant flow path 56 (figs 1, 3 & 6).
Re claim 8, Yamaguchi discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the second rotating body 25 includes a motor mechanism as a rotating part (fig 2),
the first rotating body 27 includes a first gear as a rotating part connected to a rotation shaft of the motor mechanism (fig 2), and
the third rotating body 32 includes a second gear configured to mesh and rotate with the first gear 27 (fig 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi in view of Omae et al. (US20120313467, “Omae”).
Re claim 5, Yamaguchi discloses claim 4 as discussed above and further discloses a gap arranged between the capacitor 55 and the coolant flow path 56 (fig 1, gap formed by space of 49a).
Yamaguchi discloses claim 5 but does not disclose a heat dissipation member arranged between the capacitor and the coolant flow path.
Omae discloses filling the gap between the capacitor 13 and its wall 36a is filled with a heat dissipation member (fig 4, [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the capacitor of Yamaguchi so a heat dissipation member arranged between the capacitor and the coolant flow path, as disclosed by Omae, in order to promote heat dissipation of the capacitor, as taught by Omae ([0042]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi in view of Nakamatsu et al. (US20220123628, “Nakamatsu”).
Re claim 6, Yamaguchi discloses claim 2 as discussed above and further discloses a case housing the first rotating body 27, the second rotating body 25, the third rotating body 32, and the drive circuit (fig 1, col 4, lns 63-65 & col 5, lns 4-7, includes 10 & 46), wherein
the case has a shaft hole (figs 2-4 & below, hole formed in 10 to hold bearings for shaft 31 & let end of 31 extend),
the third rotating body 32 has a rotation shaft 31 arranged in the shaft hole (figs 3-4, col 6, lns 16-18),
the heat shielding layer is arranged between the capacitor 55 and the rotation shaft 31 (figs 1, 3 & 5-6, since 49 is between 55 & 31), and
the capacitor 55 faces the rotation shaft 31 (figs 1, 3 & 5-6, at least some portion of 55 faces the direction of 31).
Yamaguchi discloses claim 6 except for the third rotating body has the rotation shaft is arranged in the shaft hole together with lubricating oil.
Nakamatsu discloses the gears and bearings of gear portion 3 are lubricated by oil O ([0044-0045])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the third rotating body rotation shaft of Yamaguchi to be arranged in the shaft hole together with lubricating oil, as disclosed by Nakamatsu, in order to lubricate the gears and bearings of the third rotating body and rotation shaft, as taught by Nakamatsu.([0045]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi in view of Kohara et al. (JP2021160520, “Kohara”, using machine translation).
Re claim 9, Yamaguchi discloses claim 1 as discussed above but is silent with respect to the motor unit is mounted under a floor at a foot space of a front seat of a vehicle, or under a cargo room of the vehicle.
Kohara discloses the motor unit 5,4 is mounted under a floor 10 at a foot space of a front seat of a vehicle 1, or under a cargo room of the vehicle (figs 1-4, [0026-0027] & [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the motor unit of Yamaguchi to be mounted under a floor at a foot space of a front seat of a vehicle, or under a cargo room of the vehicle, as disclosed by Yamaguchi, in order to locate the motor unit in a known position of a vehicle as demonstrated by Yamaguchi.
Conclusion
/ERIC JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834