DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (US 2022/0113819 A1).
Claim 1, Li (Fig. 1-11) discloses a touchpad device (1; Fig. 1; Paragraph [0021]; wherein discloses a touchpad device), comprising:
a touchpad (13; Fig. 2) configured to sense a touch operation thereon (Paragraph [0024]; wherein discloses a touch panel (13) which is used to perform functions such as scrolling, zooming in, zooming out, opening window, or the like in response to the movement or the gesture of the user's finger(s) on the touch substrate 133); and
a bracket (10, 14, 15, and 16; Fig. 2 and 3; wherein discloses a substrate, linkage assemblies, and annular frame) disposed below the touchpad (13; Fig. 2) and configured to support the touchpad (Fig. 4 and 5; wherein figure show elements 10, 15, and 16 supporting the touchpad 13 while receiving a force L1),
wherein the bracket (10, 14, 15, and 16; Fig. 2 and 3) has a plurality sets of limiting structures (102, 103, 141, and 142; Fig. 10 and 11; Paragraph [0057]; wherein discloses first and second stopping members (102 and 103), and first and second stopping portions (141 and 142));
each set of limiting structure (102, 103, 141, and 142; Fig. 10 and 11) comprises two interfering members (102 and 141; Fig. 11);
the two interfering members (102 and 141; Fig. 11) separately extend from the bracket (Fig. 11; Paragraph [0057]; wherein discloses “the annular frame 14 fixed to the outer periphery 132 of the bottom surface 131 of the touch panel 13 (please refer to FIG. 3) may comprise at least one first stopping portion 141”, and “the first stopping member 102 is a U-shaped bent plate integrally extending from the substrate 10”), so that in a stacking direction (Fig. 11) of the touchpad (13; Fig. 11) and the bracket (10, 14, 15, and 16; Fig. 2, 3, and 11), the two interfering members (102 and 141; Fig. 11) at least partially overlap with each other (Fig. 11; Paragraph [0057]; wherein discloses “When the touch panel 13 is at the height position, the first stopping portion 141 abuts against the first stopping members 102, and the second stopping portion 142 abuts against the second stopping members 103”).
Claim 11, Li (Fig. 1-11) discloses a touchpad device (1; Fig. 1; Paragraph [0021]; wherein discloses a touchpad device), comprising:
a touchpad (13; Fig. 2) configured to sense a touch operation thereon (Paragraph [0024]; wherein discloses a touch panel (13) which is used to perform functions such as scrolling, zooming in, zooming out, opening window, or the like in response to the movement or the gesture of the user's finger(s) on the touch substrate 133); and
a bracket (10, 14, 15, and 16; Fig. 2 and 3; wherein discloses a substrate, linkage assemblies, and annular frame) disposed below the touchpad (13; Fig. 2) and configured to support the touchpad (Fig. 4 and 5; wherein figure show elements 10, 15, and 16 supporting the touchpad 13 while receiving a force L1),
wherein the bracket (10, 14, 15, and 16; Fig. 2, 3, and 11) comprises a frame (10; Fig. 2 and 3), a wing portion (15 and 6; Fig. 2 and 3), and a flexible arm (151, 152(162), and 161; Fig. 3; wherein discloses a flexible plate);
the flexible arm (152; Fig. 3) connects the wing portion (15; Fig. 3) with the frame (10; Fig. 3; Paragraph [0028]; wherein discloses “the second flexible plate 152 is further connected between the first inner side 1532 of the swing plate 153 and the top surface 101 of the substrate 10”);
a top surface (1531-1534; Fig. 3; Paragraph [0034; wherein discloses “The first outer side 1531, the first side portion 1533, and the second side portion 1534 of the linkage assembly 15 are respectively adjacent to the first side 1321, the third side 1323, and the fourth side 1324 of the bottom surface 131 of the touch panel 13”) of the wing portion (15; Fig. 3) is closer to the touchpad (13; Fig. 3-5) than a top surface (101; Fig. 3-5) of the frame (10: Fig. 3-5);
the bracket (14, 15, and 16; Fig. 2-3) is combined with the touchpad (13; Fig. 2 and 3) by the top surface of the wing portion (15; Fig. 5; Paragraph [0034]).
Claim 14, Li (Fig. 1-11) discloses a touchpad device (1; Fig. 1; Paragraph [0021]; wherein discloses a touchpad device), comprising:
a touchpad (13; Fig. 2) configured to sense a touch operation thereon (Paragraph [0024]; wherein discloses a touch panel (13) which is used to perform functions such as scrolling, zooming in, zooming out, opening window, or the like in response to the movement or the gesture of the user's finger(s) on the touch substrate 133); and
a bracket (10, 14, 15, and 16; Fig. 2 and 3; wherein discloses a substrate, linkage assemblies, and annular frame) disposed below the touchpad (13; Fig. 2) and configured to support the touchpad (Fig. 4 and 5; wherein figure show elements 10, 15, and 16 supporting the touchpad 13 while receiving a force L1),
wherein the bracket (10, 14, 15, and 16; Fig. 2, 3, and 11) comprises a frame (10; Fig. 2 and 3), a wing portion (15 and 6; Fig. 2 and 3), and a flexible arm (151, 152(162), and 161; Fig. 3; wherein discloses a flexible plate);
the flexible arm (152; Fig. 3) connects the wing portion (15; Fig. 3) with the frame (10; Fig. 3; Paragraph [0028]; wherein discloses “the second flexible plate 152 is further connected between the first inner side 1532 of the swing plate 153 and the top surface 101 of the substrate 10”) to support the wing portion (15 and 16; Fig. 2-5) to move relative (Fig. 4 and 5) to the frame (10; Fig. 4 and 5).
Claim 2, Li (Fig. 1-11) discloses wherein the bracket (10, 14, 15, and 16; Fig. 2, 3, and 11) comprises a frame (10; Fig. 2 and 3), a wing portion (15 and 6; Fig. 2 and 3), and a flexible arm (151, 152(162), and 161; Fig. 3; wherein discloses a flexible plate);
the flexible arm (152; Fig. 3) connects the wing portion (15; Fig. 3) with the frame (10; Fig. 3; Paragraph [0028]; wherein discloses “the second flexible plate 152 is further connected between the first inner side 1532 of the swing plate 153 and the top surface 101 of the substrate 10”);
a top surface (1531-1534; Fig. 3; Paragraph [0034; wherein discloses “The first outer side 1531, the first side portion 1533, and the second side portion 1534 of the linkage assembly 15 are respectively adjacent to the first side 1321, the third side 1323, and the fourth side 1324 of the bottom surface 131 of the touch panel 13”) of the wing portion (15; Fig. 3) is closer to the touchpad (13; Fig. 3-5) than a top surface (101; Fig. 3-5) of the frame (10: Fig. 3-5).
Claim 3, Li (Fig. 1-11) discloses wherein the frame (14; Fig. 3) has a frame opening (Fig. 3; Paragraph [0029]; wherein discloses an annular frame 14 which is shown to have a have an opening);
the wing portion (15 and 16; Fig. 2 and 3) is disposed in the frame opening (Fig. 2; wherein figure 2 shows elements 15 and 16 with the opening of the annular frame 14);
the flexible arm (151, 152(162), and 161; Fig. 3; wherein discloses a flexible plate) supports the wing portion (15 and 16; Fig. 2 and 3) to move relative to the frame (Fig. 4 and 5).
Claim 4, Li (Fig. 1-11) discloses wherein the two interfering members (102 and 141; Fig. 11) comprise an immovable interfering member (102; Fig. 11) and a movable interfering member (141; Fig. 11; wherein element 141 can be moved relative to element 102 and shown in figures 4 and 5);
the immovable (102; Fig. 11) interfering member extends from (Fig. 11; Paragraph [0057]; wherein discloses “the first stopping member 102 is a U-shaped bent plate integrally extending from the substrate 10”) the frame (10; Fig. 11);
the movable interfering member (141; Fig. 11) extends from the wing portion (Fig. 3-5; wherein the linkage assemblies 15 and 16 are connected to the annular frame 14 which contains the element 141).
Claim 5, Li (Fig. 1-11) discloses wherein the bracket (14, 15, and 16; Fig. 2-3) is combined with the touchpad (13; Fig. 2 and 3) by the top surface of the wing portion (15; Fig. 5; Paragraph [0034]).
Claim 6, Li (Fig. 1-11) discloses wherein the frame (10; Fig. 3) comprises an outer frame body (10; Fig. 3; wherein figure shows an outer frame body) and a middle rib (10; Fig. 3; wherein figure shows a middle rib);
the middle rib (10; Fig. 3; wherein figure shows a middle rib) is connected inside of the outer frame body (10; Fig. 3; wherein figure shows an outer frame body) to define the frame opening (Fig. 3; wherein figure shows rib within opening of outer frame body).
Claims 7 and 17, Li (Fig. 1-11) discloses wherein two ends of the flexible arm (151/161 or (152(162); Fig. 3) are respectively connected (Paragraph [0029]; wherein discloses “One of two sides of the first flexible plate 151 is fixed to the annular frame 14”; Paragraph [0028]; wherein discloses “the first flexible plate 151 of the linkage assembly 15 is connected between the first outer side 1531 of the swing plate 153”) to the wing portion (15 or 16; Fig. 3) and the outer frame body (14; Fig. 3) or respectively connected (Paragraph [0028]; wherein discloses “the second flexible plate 152 is further connected between the first inner side 1532 of the swing plate 153 and the top surface 101 of the substrate 10”) to the wing portion (15 and 16; Fig. 2 and 3) and the middle rib (10; Fig. 3; wherein figure shows a middle rib).
Claims 8 and 18, Li (Fig. 1-11) discloses wherein the touchpad (13; Fig. 3) comprises a switch (135; Fig. 3; Paragraph [0025]; wherein discloses a trigger switch);
the bracket (11; Fig. 3; Paragraph [0041]) has a trigger portion (12; Fig. 3; Paragraph [0025]);
the trigger portion (12; Fig. 3) is disposed on the middle rib (10; Fig. 2; Paragraph [0023]; wherein discloses “the resilient member 12 is fixed (e.g., by adhering, riveting, locking, or welding) on a middle portion of the top surface 101 of the substrate 10”) corresponding to the switch (135; Fig. 3; Paragraph [0025]; wherein discloses “The trigger switch 135 is disposed on the bottom surface 131, and the resilient member 12 is between the substrate 10 and the touch panel 13”).
Claims 9 and 19, Li (Fig. 1-11) discloses wherein the bracket (11; Fig. 2 and 3) further has at least one reinforcement structure (12; Fig. 2 and 3);
the at least one reinforcement structure (12; Fig. 2 and 3) comprises a raised rib, a flange, a reinforcement component, or a combination thereof (Paragraph [0023]; wherein discloses “the resilient member 12 may be a rubber dome, a metal dome, a spring, an elastic piece, a magnetic member, or the like”).
Claims 10 and 20, Li (Fig. 1-11) discloses further comprising a housing (Fig. 1; wherein figure shows the housing for laptop computer), wherein the housing has a housing opening (Fig. 1; wherein figure shows an opening where touchpad is located);
the touchpad (1; Fig. 1) is disposed in the housing opening (Fig. 1; wherein figure shows an opening where touchpad is located);
the bracket (Fig. 2, 3, and 10; wherein figure shows mounting elements (see six holes along edges of element 10 shown in figure 10) for fixing the bracket 10 to the laptop) is fixed on the housing (Fig. 1; wherein figure shows the housing for laptop computer).
Claims 12 and 15, Li (Fig. 1-11) discloses wherein the bracket (10, 14, 15, and 16; Fig. 2 and 3) has a plurality sets of limiting structures (102, 103, 141, and 142; Fig. 10 and 11; Paragraph [0057]; wherein discloses first and second stopping members (102 and 103), and first and second stopping portions (141 and 142));
each set of limiting structure (102, 103, 141, and 142; Fig. 10 and 11) comprises an immovable interfering member (102; Fig. 11) and a movable interfering member (141; Fig. 11; wherein element 141 can be moved relative to element 102 and shown in figures 4 and 5);
the immovable (102; Fig. 11) interfering member extends from (Fig. 11; Paragraph [0057]; wherein discloses “the first stopping member 102 is a U-shaped bent plate integrally extending from the substrate 10”) the frame (10; Fig. 11);
the movable interfering member (141; Fig. 11) extends from the wing portion (Fig. 3-5; wherein the linkage assemblies 15 and 16 are connected to the annular frame 14 which contains the element 141).
Claims 13 and 15, Li (Fig. 1-11) discloses wherein the frame (10; Fig. 3) comprises an outer frame body (10; Fig. 3; wherein figure shows an outer frame body) and a middle rib (10; Fig. 3; wherein figure shows a middle rib);
the middle rib (10; Fig. 3; wherein figure shows a middle rib) is connected inside of the outer frame body (10; Fig. 3; wherein figure shows an outer frame body) to define a frame opening (Fig. 3; wherein figure shows rib within opening of outer frame body);
the wing portion (15 and 16; Fig. 2) is disposed in the frame opening (Fig. 2; wherein figure 2 shows elements 15 and 16 with the opening of the annular frame 14).
Conclusion
/Adam J Snyder/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623 02/06/2026