DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al., CN 110398857 in view of Li et al., CN 109116626.
Regarding claim 10, Li ‘857 teaches a light-emitting substrate (Figure 6, substrate 11), comprising: a circuit board (Abstract); a plurality of light-emitting devices (12) disposed on the circuit board; a reflective layer (14) disposed on the circuit board, wherein the reflective layer is provided with a plurality of openings therein (see Figure 6), and a light-emitting device in the plurality of light-emitting devices is located in an opening in the plurality of openings (id); and a support layer (13) disposed on a side of the circuit board away from the reflective layer, wherein the light-emitting substrate has a plurality of light-emitting regions arranged in an array (see Figure 5), each light-emitting region is provided therein with at least three light-emitting devices in the plurality of light-emitting devices (each region is a column). Li ‘857 fails to teach the emitters connected in series.
However, in the same field of endeavor of light emitting devices, Li ‘626 teaches the light emitting devices in each region are connected in series (see text related to elements in same row connected in series). Further, Li ‘626 teaches that said electrical configuration allows the light emitting devices in each subregion to be controlled as a group (id). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the light emitting devices in each subregion in Li ‘857 connected in series in order to allow for desired control characteristics.
Regarding claim 11, Li ‘857 and Li ’626 teach the invention as explained above regarding claim 10, and Li ‘857 further teaches a material of the support layer and a material of the reflective layer are same (see Figure 6 and related text, support layer 13 and reflective layer 14 are both reflective layers); and/or a thickness of the support layer and a thickness of the reflective layer are substantially same.
Regarding claim 12, Li ‘857 and Li ’626 teach the invention as explained above regarding claim 10, and Li ‘857 further teaches a thickness of the reflective layer is in a range of 40 pm to 60 pm (see text regarding thickness, 10-50 pm), inclusive, and a thickness tolerance of the reflective layer is in a range of -2 pm to 2 pm, inclusive; and/or a thickness of the support layer is in a range of 40 pm to 60 pm, inclusive, and a thickness tolerance of the support layer is in a range of -2 pm to 2 pm, inclusive.
Regarding claim 20, Li ‘857 and Li ’626 teach the invention as explained above regarding claim 10, and Li ‘857 further teaches the light-emitting substrate has a light exit side and a non-light exit side that are opposite (top emitting, see Figure 6); and a plurality of optical films disposed on the light exit side of the light-emitting substrate (see Figure 9).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12298621. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Specifically, the prior patent claims a light emitting substrate comprising a barrier wall in the shape of a grid located within the orthographic projection of a reflective layer on a circuit board, and a support layer disposed on a side of the circuit board away from the reflective layer. The differences are drawn to obvious variants.
Claims 13-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12298621 in view of Li ‘626. The prior patent claims the subject matter as set forth above, and Li ‘626 further teaches connecting light emitting elements in subregions in series to achieve appropriate control characteristics.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Oh, KR 2022022910 teaches a reflective layer and barrier layer in a grid pattern on a light emitting substrate, but fails to teach the remaining limitations of the independent claims.
MARY ELLEN BOWMAN
Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/MARY ELLEN BOWMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875