DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of amendments/argument & IDS filed on 01/04/2026.
Claims 1-4 and 6-17 are presented for examination.
This application has PRO filed on 04/11/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8 and 10-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lys et al. (US 11,076,536) in view of Keen et al. (US 2017/0370570).
Re Claims 1 and 10: Lys et al. teaches fluid-cooled LED based lighting method and apparatus, which includes a flat aluminum printed circuit board (PCB) populated with at least two LEDs {herein the printed circuit board may be a metal core printed circuit board/MCPCB} (see col.17, lines 35+); a transparent cover {herein interpreted as transparent lens 1020} comprising a planar surface with two side lobes situated at the edge of said planar surface and extending normal to said planar surface (see fig.# C; col.18, lines 57-67+); and, a metallic housing {herein a lighting fixture includes a frame 1004 referred as a housing; see col.2, lines 15+. Furthermore, the frame may be from various metals…, see col.14, lines 37+} shaped and sized to accommodate said flat aluminum PCB and to snap fit to said side lobes of said transparent cover (see col.14, lines 45+). Lys et al. also teaches powering said LEDs using an electrical current (col.35, lines 45-67+). Furthermore, the examiner acknowledges that Lys et al. discloses a air-cooled {herein one or more coolant circuits} (see col.3, lines 55+) heat dissipated element {herein the cooling pipe 1006 enables greater heat dissipation}(see col.12, lines 50+).
Lys et al. fails to specifically teach a thin back layer forming an air-cooled heat dissipating element.
Keen et al. teaches thermally isolated high intensity light source, which includes a thin back layer {herein the thickness of gas-delivery plant light apparatus 102 is made thin enough} forming an air-cooled heat dissipating element (¶ 18-28+, 78-79+).
In view of teachings Keen et al.’s, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to employ into the teachings of Lys et al. a thin back layer forming an air-cooled heat dissipating element so as to allow an elevated steady state operating temperature to be reached without adversely affecting the bulb operating temperature or the enhanced spectral performance parameter.
Re Claims 2-3 and 11-12: Lys et al. as modified by Keen et al. teaches system and method, wherein said transparent cover is an extrusion having a uniform cross-section, wherein said metallic housing {herein the frame 1004 may be formed from an aluminum extrusion to include a corresponding pair of channels} is an extrusion having a uniform cross-section (col.4, lines 10+; col.18, lines 28+).
Re Claims 4 and 13: Lys et al. as modified by Keen et al. teaches system and method, wherein said metallic housing is comprised of Aluminum (col.14, lines 37+).
Re Claims 6 and 14: Lys et al. as modified by Keen et al. teaches system and method, wherein said two or more LEDs comprise at least one red LED having a spectral output in a range of 620-660nm and at least on blue LED having a spectral output in a range of 450-470nm (col.28, lines 35-45+).
Re Claims 7 and 15: Lys et al. as modified by Keen et al. teaches system and method, further comprising a local power supply 156 (col.35, lines 45-67+).
Re Claims 8 and 16: Lys et al. as modified by Keen et al. teaches system and method, wherein said power supply further comprises a network connection enabling independent, remote control of said LEDs (col.16, lines 45+; col.19, lines 40-67+).
Claim(s) 9 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lys et al. (US 11,076,536) as modified by Keen et al. (US 2017/0370570) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of He et al. (US 12,224,502).
The teachings of Lys et al. have been discussed above.
Lys et al. fails to specifically teach that network connection is a two-line differential signal communications channel.
He et al. teaches antenna-to-printed circuit board transition, wherein the network connection is a two-line differential signal communications channel (col.7, lines 26-67+).
In view of He et al.’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ into the teachings of Lys et al. that the network connection is a two-line differential signal communications channel so as to communicate co-existence information and carry data corresponding to at least a channel used the wireless network coupled with the electrical interface.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4 and 6-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Limpert et al. (US 2019/0223386) teaches gas-delivery light fixture and method for making and using.
Pahlevaninezhad et al. (US 2021/0262651) teaches high-performance high-power LED lighting system and method thereof.
Gaylor (US 2024/0276622) teaches controller for an indoor grow lighting system.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDWYN LABAZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876