DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-9, 11-15, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buechin et al (US 20200121045; “Buechin” hereinafter) in view of Lee et al (US 6392639; “Lee” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Buechin teaches: a protective case for an electronic device, comprising:
a front cover (102, fig. 7);
a rear cover (104, fig. 7) including a first sidewall (see annotated fig. 7 below), a second sidewall (see annotated fig. 7 below) aligned at an angle relative to the first sidewall (fig. 7),
wherein the second sidewall is configured to releasably retain the electronic device (¶[0054]), and;
a hinge (106, fig. 1), operatively connecting the front cover to the rear cover (¶[0051]), defining a hinge axis (see annotated fig. 1 below),
wherein the front cover is movable, relative to the rear cover and about the hinge axis (¶[0051]), between a closed position (fig. 5) and an open position (fig. 4).
Buechin does not explicitly teach:
a storage compartment positioned adjacent to the first sidewall,
wherein the storage compartment is configured to detachably store a stylus associated with the electronic device.
However, Lee teaches:
A cover (60, fig. 3) comprising a first sidewall (66, fig. 3) defining a storage compartment (as disclosed upon examination of figures, 5A and 6A) configured to detachably store a stylus (90) associated with an electronic device (40, fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply Lee’s teaching and move the first sidewall of Buechin away from the hinge, in order to create a storage compartment positioned between the hinge and the first sidewall, for the advantage of detachably storing a stylus associated with the electronic device. The claim would have been obvious because the particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as evidenced by Lee. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of a plurality of known techniques according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity (§MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 2, Buechin in view of Lee teaches the limitations of claim 1, and the combination further teaches:
wherein the storage compartment includes a surface (see annotated fig. 6C from Lee below, and ¶[0055], Buechin) that transitions into the first sidewall.
Regarding claim 3, Buechin in view of Lee teaches the limitations of claim 1, and the combination further teaches:
wherein the first sidewall is a partial sidewall that defines a gap between the first sidewall and the second sidewall (see annotated fig. 3 below from Lee).
Regarding claim 6, Buechin in view of Lee teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Buechin further teaches:
wherein the front cover includes a fold line (616, fig. 6) that divides the front cover into a first portion (608 and 610) and a second portion (602, 604, 606, figs. 6 and 9) and that defines a fold line axis about which the first portion is movable relative to the second portion (as disclosed upon examination of fig. 10, ¶ [0055]-[0056]).
Regarding claim 7, Buechin in view of Lee teaches the limitations of claim 6, and Buechin further teaches:
wherein the first portion defines recesses (628, fig. 6) configured to receive buttons of the electronic device (¶[0057]).
Regarding claim 8, Buechin in view of Lee teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Buechin further teaches:
wherein the first sidewall, the second sidewall, and the storage compartment are formed as a single molded component (the modified rear cover would meet this limitation, ¶[0055], Buechin).
Regarding claim 9, Buechin in view of Lee teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Buechin further teaches:
wherein the rear cover includes a curved peripheral edge portion (see annotated fig. 7 below).
Regarding claim 11, Buechin in view of Lee teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Buechin further teaches:
wherein the storage compartment is positioned between the hinge and the first sidewall when the front cover is in the open position (via the combination of Lee into Buechin, in claim 1).
Regarding claim 12, Buechin in view of Lee teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Buechin further teaches:
wherein the hinge at least partially surrounds the storage compartment when the front cover is in the closed position (via the combination of Lee into Buechin, in claim 1, fig. 5, Buechin).
Regarding claim 13, Buechin teaches: a system, comprising:
an electronic device (624, ¶[0050]); and
a protective case (100), the protective case including:
a front cover (102, fig. 7);
a rear cover (104, fig. 7) including a first sidewall (see annotated fig. 7 above for claim 1), a second sidewall (see annotated fig. 7 above for claim 1) aligned at an angle relative to the first sidewall (fig. 7),
wherein the second sidewall is configured to releasably retain the electronic device (¶[0054]), and;
a hinge (106, fig. 1), operatively connecting the front cover to the rear cover (¶[0051]), defining a hinge axis (see annotated fig. 1 above for claim 1),
wherein the front cover is movable, relative to the rear cover and about the hinge axis (¶[0051]), between a closed position (fig. 5) and an open position (fig. 4).
Buechin does not explicitly teach:
a storage compartment positioned adjacent to the first sidewall,
wherein the storage compartment is configured to detachably store a stylus associated with the electronic device.
However, Lee teaches:
A cover (60, fig. 3) comprising a first sidewall (66, fig. 3) defining a storage compartment (as disclosed upon examination of figures, 5A and 6A) configured to detachably store a stylus (90) associated with an electronic device (40, fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply Lee’s teaching and move the first sidewall of Buechin away from the hinge, in order to create a storage compartment positioned between the hinge and the first sidewall, for the advantage of detachably storing a stylus associated with the electronic device. The claim would have been obvious because the particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as evidenced by Lee. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of a plurality of known techniques according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity (§MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 14, Buechin in view of Lee teaches the limitations of claim 13, and the combination further teaches:
wherein the storage compartment includes a surface (see annotated fig. 6C from Lee above for claim 2, and ¶[0055], Buechin) that transitions into the first sidewall.
Regarding claim 15, Buechin in view of Lee teaches the limitations of claim 13, and the combination further teaches:
wherein the first sidewall is a partial sidewall that defines a gap between the first sidewall and the second sidewall (see annotated fig. 3 below from Lee).
Regarding claim 18, Buechin in view of Lee teaches the limitations of claim 13, and Buechin further teaches:
wherein the storage compartment is positioned between the hinge and the first sidewall when the front cover is in the open position (via the combination of Lee into Buechin, in claim 13).
Regarding claim 19, Buechin in view of Lee teaches the limitations of claim 13, and Buechin further teaches:
wherein the front cover includes a fold line (616, fig. 6) that divides the front cover into a first portion (608 and 610) and a second portion (602, 604, 606, figs. 6 and 9) and that defines a fold line axis about which the first portion is movable relative to the second portion (as disclosed upon examination of fig. 10, ¶ [0055]-[0056]).
Regarding claim 20, Buechin in view of Lee teaches the limitations of claim 19, and Buechin further teaches:
wherein the first portion defines recesses (628, fig. 6) configured to receive buttons of the electronic device (¶[0057]).
Claims 4, 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buechin et al (US 20200121045; “Buechin” hereinafter) in view of Lee et al (US 6392639; “Lee” hereinafter), and further in view of Jiang et al (US 20150183550; “Jiang” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 4, Buechin in view of Lee teaches the limitations of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach:
wherein the second sidewall includes a curved surface configured to conform to a contour of the electronic device.
However, Jiang teaches:
a second sidewall (see annotated fig. 1 below) includes a curved surface (figs. 1, 3, 5) configured to conform to a contour of an electronic device (50, figs. 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply Lee’s teaching and modify the second sidewall of Buechin in view of Lee, such that the second sidewall includes a tapered portion, in order to facilitate corresponding coupling between the second sidewall and the electronic device. The claim would have been obvious because the particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as evidenced by Jiang. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of a plurality of known techniques according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity (§MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 10, Buechin in view of Lee teaches the limitations of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach:
wherein the second sidewall includes a tapered portion.
However, Jiang teaches:
a second sidewall (see annotated fig. 1 below) includes a tapered portion (see annotated fig. 3 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply Lee’s teaching and modify the second sidewall of Buechin in view of Lee, such that the second sidewall includes a curved surface configured to conform to a contour of the electronic device, in order to provide corresponding engagement between the second sidewall and the electronic device. The claim would have been obvious because the particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as evidenced by Jiang. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of a plurality of known techniques according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity (§MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 16, Buechin in view of Lee teaches the limitations of claim 13, but does not explicitly teach:
wherein the second sidewall includes a curved surface configured to conform to a contour of the electronic device.
However, Jiang teaches:
a second sidewall (see annotated fig. 1 above for claim 4) includes a curved surface (figs. 1, 3, 5) configured to conform to a contour of an electronic device (50, figs. 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply Lee’s teaching and modify the second sidewall of Buechin in view of Lee, such that the second sidewall includes a curved surface configured to conform to a contour of the electronic device, in order to provide corresponding engagement between the second sidewall and the electronic device. The claim would have been obvious because the particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as evidenced by Jiang. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of a plurality of known techniques according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity (§MPEP 2143).
Claims 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buechin et al (US 20200121045; “Buechin” hereinafter) in view of Lee et al (US 6392639; “Lee” hereinafter), and further in view of Gaule et al (US 20220158506; “Gaule” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 5, Buechin in view of Lee teaches the limitations of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach:
further comprising:
magnets embedded in the first sidewall configured to align and interact with magnets embedded in the stylus to enable wireless charging of the stylus when the stylus is detachably stored.
However, Gaule teaches:
magnets (316, figs. 3-5) disposed in a sidewall (109, figs. 3-4, ¶[0028]) configured to align and interact with magnets (320, figs. 3-5) embedded in a stylus (108, figs. 3-5) to enable wireless charging of the stylus when the stylus is detachably stored (fig. 5, ¶[0040]-[0041], [0059], [0095]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the first sidewall of Buechin in view of Lee, and embed the magnets from Gaule (316) therein, and further include the stylus (108), and charging elements disclosed in figure 5 and paragraphs [0041]-[0042] in the rear cover, in order to inductively charge the stylus when stored in the storage compartment (¶[0041]).
Regarding claim 17, Buechin in view of Lee teaches the limitations of claim 13, but does not explicitly teach:
wherein the protective case includes magnets embedded in the first sidewall configured to align with and interact with magnets embedded in the stylus, enabling wireless charging of the stylus when the stylus is detachably stored.
However, Gaule teaches:
a keyboard case (102) includes magnets (316, figs. 3-5) disposed in a sidewall (109, figs. 3-4, ¶[0028]) configured to align and interact with magnets (320, figs. 3-5) embedded in a stylus (108, figs. 3-5) to enable wireless charging of the stylus when the stylus is detachably stored (fig. 5, ¶[0040]-[0041], [0095]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the first sidewall of Buechin in view of Lee, and embed the magnets from Gaule (316) therein, and further include the stylus (108), and charging elements disclosed in figure 5 and paragraphs [0041]-[0042] in the rear cover, in order to inductively charge the stylus when stored in the storage compartment (¶[0041]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is:
US 10664012 B1 Accessories for Portable Electronic Devices. This invention relates generally to a first segment coupled to a second segment via a first hinge assembly. The accessory can include a third segment coupled to the second segment via a second hinge assembly such that the second segment is positioned between the first and third segments. The accessory device can be arranged between a closed configuration and a configuration of a stand that supports the portable electronic device at a viewing angle.
US 20150313033 A1 protection Device for an Electronic Device. This invention generally relates to a receiving portion for receiving an electronic device and a cover portion pivotally connected to receiving portion to cover the electronic device. The cover portion is provided with first, second, third, fourth, fifth and sixth reinforcing units foldably connected to each other by fold lines between reinforcing units.
/ALLEN L PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/P.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2841