DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7-9, 12 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 106862444 A to Junxin.
Regarding claim 1, Junxin teaches a flat die thread rolling machine (Fig. 1), comprising:
a thread rolling module (Fig. 1), including
a stationarily arranged first tool part 4 (Fig. 1; P. 3, Paragraphs starting “as shown in Fig. 1-4” and “The lead screw 5”); and
a second tool part 7 that moves relative to the first tool part 4 in an oscillatory motion (Fig. 1; P. 3, Paragraphs starting “as shown in Fig. 1-4” and “The lead screw 5”),
wherein the first tool part 4 and the second tool part 7 have a profiled surface (Fig. 1; P. 3, Paragraph starting “The lead screw 5”; the tool parts are used to form the surface of a screw, which would require the tool parts to have profiled surfaces),
wherein the profiled surface is rolled into a workpiece arranged between the first tool part 4 and the second tool part 7 (Fig. 1; P. 4, Paragraphs starting “in the processing process” and “after the workpiece is processed”),
wherein the second tool part 7 is connected to a drive 10 that causes the oscillatory motion of the second tool part 7, wherein the drive comprises a servomotor 10 (Fig. 1; P. 3, Paragraph starting “The lead screw 5” and P. 4, Paragraph starting “Using the invention for machining”; the servomotor 10 drives a screw 5 that moves the second tool 7), and
wherein the servomotor 10 is controlled by a machine controller 18 (Fig. 1; P. 3, Paragraph starting “The lead screw 5” and P. 4, Paragraph starting “in the processing process”; numerical controller 18 controls the servomotor 10).
Regarding claim 2, Junxin teaches the flat die thread rolling machine according to claim 1 (Fig. 1), wherein the servomotor 10 directly or indirectly drives a threaded spindle 5 (Fig. 1; P. 3, Paragraph starting “The lead screw 5” and P. 4, Paragraph starting “in the processing process”; the servomotor drives screw 5, i.e., a threaded spindle), wherein the threaded spindle 5 engages in a threaded nut 6, and wherein the threaded nut 6 is directly or indirectly connected to the second tool part 7 (Fig. 1; P. 3, Paragraph starting “The lead screw 5” and P. 4, Paragraph starting “in the processing process”; a threaded slider 6, i.e., a nut, is connected to screw 5 and the movement of slider 6 moves the second tool 7, i.e., the slider 6 and tool 7 are connected).
Regarding claim 7, Junxin teaches the flat die thread rolling machine according to claim 1 (Fig. 1),
wherein a first side area of the machine is defined at a first end position of the second tool part 7 (Fig. 1) and
wherein a second side area of the machine is defined at a second end position of the second tool part 7 (Fig. 1),
wherein a first handling element 3 for feeding the workpiece as a raw workpiece is arranged in the first side area (Fig. 1; P. 4, Paragraph starting “Using the invention for machining”; as shown in Fig. 1, the broach 3 is positioned on a first side of the tool 7 to feed workpieces to the threading area), and
wherein a second handling element 8 for removing the workpiece as a rolled workpiece is arranged in the second side area (Fig. 1; P. 4, Paragraph starting “In the invention, the knife”; as shown in Fig. 1, the guide 8 is positioned at the other side of the tool relative to the broach 3, i.e., the second side area).
Regarding claim 8, Junxin teaches the flat die thread rolling machine according to claim 7 (Fig. 1),
wherein the oscillatory motion of the second tool part defines a direction of motion (Fig. 1; P. 4, Paragraph starting “after the workpiece is processed”), and
wherein the first handling element 3 and the second handling element 8 are displaceable in the direction of motion (Fig. 1; P. 4, Paragraphs starting “Using the invention for machining” and “after the workpiece is processed”; the specification describes the broach 3 and guide 8 being displaceable by the movement of the pushing block 9 so that the broach 3 and guide 8 move towards or away from track 2, which would be a movement along the direction of motion).
Regarding claim 9, Junxin teaches a method (Abstract), comprising:
providing a flat die thread rolling machine (Fig. 1), having
a thread rolling module 4, 7 (Fig. 1), including
a stationarily arranged first tool part 4 (Fig. 1; P. 3, Paragraphs starting “as shown in Fig. 1-4” and “The lead screw 5”); and
a second tool part 7 that moves relative to the first tool part 4 in an oscillatory motion (Fig. 1; P. 3, Paragraphs starting “as shown in Fig. 1-4” and “The lead screw 5” and P. 4, Paragraph starting “In the invention, the knife 3”; the controller causes the motor to continuously move the block forward and in reverse, i.e., oscillate),
wherein the first tool part and the second tool part have a profiled surface (Fig. 1; P. 3, Paragraph starting “The lead screw 5”; the tool parts are used to form the surface of a screw, which would require the tool parts to have profiled surfaces),
wherein the profiled surface is rolled into a workpiece arranged between the first tool part and the second tool part (Fig. 1; P. 3, Paragraph starting “The lead screw 5”; the tool parts are used to form the surface of a screw, which would require the tool parts to have profiled surfaces),
wherein the second tool part 7 is connected to a drive 10 that causes the oscillatory motion of the second tool part (Fig. 1; P. 3, Paragraph starting “The lead screw 5” and P. 4, Paragraph starting “Using the invention for machining”; the servomotor 10 drives a screw 5 that moves the second tool 7),
wherein the drive 10 comprises a servomotor 10, and wherein the servomotor is controlled by a machine controller 18 (Fig. 1; P. 3, Paragraph starting “The lead screw 5” and P. 4, Paragraph starting “in the processing process”; numerical controller 18 controls the servomotor 10); and
specifying a defined motion profile for the servomotor by the machine controller 18 (Fig. 1; P. 3, Paragraph starting “The lead screw 5” and P. 4, Paragraph starting “in the processing process”; numerical controller 18 controls the servomotor 10 to move in a defined profile).
Regarding claim 12, Junxin teaches the method according to claim 9 (Fig. 1) wherein the defined motion profile causes the second tool part to travel at a lower speed during a working stroke than during a return stroke of the second tool part (Fig. 1; P. 3, Paragraph starting “The invention uses the servo motor” and P. 4, Paragraph starting “in the processing process, when movable plate 7”; the controller 18 causes the die 7 to move in forward and reverse, and the die 7 initially moves at the slowest speed during the beginning of the working stroke before it is accelerated for the rest of the process, i.e., the speeds for the rest of the process are higher than the initial working stroke).
Regarding claim 14, Junxin teaches the method according to claim 9 (Fig. 1) wherein the defined motion profile causes the second tool part 7 to travel at two different speeds during a working stroke of the second tool part 7, and wherein the two different speeds include a lower speed followed by a higher speed (Fig. 1; P. 3, Paragraph starting “The invention uses the servo motor” and P. 4, Paragraph starting “in the processing process, when movable plate 7”; the die 7 is moved at a slow speed initially and then is accelerated during the forming process).
Regarding claim 15, Junxin teaches the method according to claim 9 (Fig. 1) wherein the defined motion profile is a path-speed profile for the servomotor 10, and wherein the path-speed profile is shifted by a specified displacement in a path direction with respect to a nominal profile (Fig. 1; P. 3, Paragraph starting “The invention uses the servo motor” and P. 4, Paragraph starting “in the processing process, when movable plate 7”; the controller 18 sets the servomotor 10 to move the die 7 on a set speed and distance profile in which the speeds are varied depending on the time and position of the process, i.e., the path-speed profile is shifted by having the speed vary along the path depending on how far the moveable die has traveled in the process).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Junxin in view of EP 0 754 511 A2 to Abele.
Regarding claim 3, Junxin teaches the flat die thread rolling machine according to claim 2 (Fig. 1).
Junxin fails to explicitly teach the system further comprising a transmission arranged between the servomotor and the threaded spindle, whereby a rotary motion of the servomotor is transmitted to the threaded spindle. Junxin teaches a servomotor 10 driving the rotating motion of a spindle 5 (Fig. 1; P. 2, Paragraph starting “The lead screw 5”), however Junxin fails to describe the manner in which the motion is transmitted.
Abele teaches a machine for flat die thread rolling (Abstract) including a transmission 9 arranged between the servomotor 5 and the threaded spindle 6, whereby a rotary motion of the servomotor 5 is transmitted to the threaded spindle 6 (Fig. 1; P. 2, Paragraphs starting “A joint 7” and “According to the invention, a braking device 10”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the machine of Junxin to include a transmission device between the motor and spindle as taught by Abele so that movement of the spindle relative to the motor may be more precisely controlled.
Regarding claim 4, modified Junxin teaches the flat die thread rolling machine according to claim 3 (Fig. 1), wherein the transmission is a belt drive transmission (Abele, Fig. 1; P. 2, Paragraphs starting “A joint 7” and “According to the invention, a braking device 10”; modified Junxin include the transmission of Abele, which teaches the transmission includes a belt).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Junxin in view of CN 104942190 A to Zhang.
Regarding claim 5, Junxin teaches the flat die thread rolling machine according to claim 1 (Fig. 1).
Junxin fails to explicitly teach the machine further comprising a further thread rolling module having a stationarily arranged further first tool part and a further second tool part driven in an oscillatory manner by a further servomotor, wherein the thread rolling module and the further thread rolling module are arranged at a specified distance from each other.
Zhang teaches a flat die thread rolling machine comprising a first tool part 5, a second moveable tool part 3 and a further thread rolling module having a stationarily arranged further first tool part 5 and a further second moveable tool part 3 driven in an oscillatory manner by a further servomotor 601 (Fig. 1; P. 3, Paragraphs starting “Described servo principal” and “Described servomotor 601”) , wherein the thread rolling module and the further thread rolling module are arranged at a specified distance from each other (Fig. 1; P. 3, Paragraph starting “Described servomotor 601”; the position of the plates is controlled by the servomotor, i.e., the plates are arranged a specified position relative to each other).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the thread rolling machine of Junxin to include further tool parts and servomotors as taught by Zhang so that the machine may perform additional thread rolling work, thus increasing output and efficiency.
Regarding claim 6, modified Junxin teaches the flat die thread rolling machine (Fig. 1) according to claim 5, wherein the specified distance is adjustable (Zhang, Fig. 1; P. 3, Paragraphs starting “Described servomotor 601”; modified Junxin includes the further plates and servomotor of Zhang, which teaches that the position of the plates is controlled by the servomotor, i.e., the position of the plates relative to each other may be adjusted).
Claims 10-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Junxin in view of JP 2002-137036 A to Yashuhiro.
Regarding claim 10, Junxin teaches the method according to claim 9 (Fig. 1).
Junxin fails to explicitly teach wherein the defined motion profile causes the second tool part to travel at a constant speed over at least a part of its path. While Junxin teaches the controller 18 controls the servomotor 10 to control the speed of the die 7 (Fig. 1; P. 3, Paragraph starting “The invention uses the servo motor” and P. 4, Paragraph starting “in the processing process, when movable plate 7”), Junxin is silent about whether the speed is kept constant during any part of the process.
Yasuhiro teaches a method for rolling a threaded profile onto a workpiece (Abstract) including a moveable die moved to form threads on a workpiece (Fig. 1; P. 5; Paragraph starting “Step 3”) wherein the defined motion profile causes the second tool part to travel at a constant speed over at least a part of its path (Paras. [0003]-[0005]; Para [0005] describes a rolling process including a set speed).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of forming threads of Junxin to include setting the speed to be constant for portions of the process as taught by Yasuhiro so that issues with speeds that are too high or too low may be avoided and optimal rolling conditions are set (Yasuhiro, Para. [0004]; describing that speeds that are too high cause vibrations).
Regarding claim 11, modified Junxin teaches the method according to claim 10 (Fig. 1) wherein the second tool part 7 travels at the constant speed over at least 50% of its stroke length (Yasuhiro, Paragraphs [0003]-[0005]; modified Junxin includes the speed controls of Yasuhiro for the working stroke, and Yasuhiro teaches a constant speed during the working stroke in Para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 13, Junxin teaches the method according to claim 9 (Fig. 1).
Junxin fails to explicitly teach wherein the defined motion profile causes the second tool part to travel at a constant working stroke speed over at least 50% of a working stroke length, and causes the second tool part to travel at a constant return stroke speed over at least 50% of a return stroke length, and wherein the constant working stroke speed is lower than the constant return stroke speed.
Yasuhiro teaches a method for rolling a threaded profile onto a workpiece (Abstract) including a moveable die moved to form threads on a workpiece (Fig. 1; P. 5; Paragraph starting “Step 3”) wherein the defined motion profile causes the second tool part to travel at a constant speed over at least a part of its path (Paras. [0003]-[0005]; Para [0005] describes a rolling process including a set speed).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of forming threads of Junxin to include setting the speed to be constant for portions of the process as taught by Yasuhiro so that issues with speeds that are too high or too low may be avoided and optimal rolling conditions are set (Yasuhiro, Para. [0004]; describing that speeds that are too high cause vibrations).
Further, while Yasuhiro fails to explicitly teach a return speed, Yasuhiro teaches that the table may move up to 50 m/min (Para. [0004]) and it is known that having higher speed production and increased productivity are needs in the field (Para. [0008]), i.e., the speed of the moveable die is a recognized variable that impacts the time and productivity of the rolling process. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the moveable die in modified Junxin to have a return speed set at the maximum speed for the entirety of the work stroke, i.e., 50 m/min for over 50% of the return, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the process of modified Junxin would not operate differently with the claimed return speed profile and since the process requires the moving table to return to its initial position to start the next working stroke and the forming process would function appropriately having the claimed return speed profile. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the higher speeds result in higher output, which would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (Specification, Paras. [0056] and [0058]).
It is noted that setting the return stroke to the maximum speed also results in the constant working stroke speed is lower than the constant return stroke speed in modified Junxin.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. DE 10 2008 045 302 A1 (Fig. 1) teaches a flat die thread rolling machine and method including a stationary die, a moveable die, and a motor controlling the movements of the moveable die so that it moves in an oscillatory manner.
/MATTHEW STEPHENS/Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/JARED O BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725 30 September 2026