DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) [1-3, 10-13 and 16-20] is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Seo (US. 2017/0034403).
Reclaim [1], Seo discloses a method performed by an electronic device to capture an image of a celestial object (see ¶¶007 and 009, A method of imaging a moving object [ for example a point image of a star as described in the text of ¶009]), the method comprising: displaying, by the electronic device, a preview image generated through a camera of the electronic device (see fig. 7 and ¶0034, is a diagram illustrating an example first image); measuring, by the electronic device, a location of the electronic device using a global positioning system (GPS) sensor of the electronic device (see step 310 fig. 3 and ¶¶0073 and 0083, In operation 310, the sensing unit 110 obtains the location information of the imaging device 100); measuring, by the electronic device, an orientation of the electronic device, using an inertial measurement unit (IMU) sensor of the electronic device (see ¶¶0083 and 0095, the sensing unit 110 obtains the location information of the imaging device 100 via, for example, the various sensors included in the sensing unit. The location information may, for example, include the azimuth of the optical axis of the lens included in the imaging device 100, the altitude of the moving object, and the latitude, longitude, and date and time information of the imaging device 100, [for example the azimuth meter included in the sensing unit 110 as described in the text of paragraph: 0095; the prior art azimuth meter can measure the orientation of the electronic device without being structurally modified thus encompasses the clamed inertial measurement unit (IMU) sensor]); identifying, by the electronic device, a celestial object corresponding to a capturing direction of the camera of the electronic device, based on the measured location and the measured orientation (step 320 and ¶0084, ; In operation 320, the processor 140, based, for example, on the location information, is configured to determine the moving trajectory of the moving object. For example, the moving object may refer to a star, but the moving object is not limited thereto. For example, any object whose location is changed with the passage of time may be included in the moving object of the disclosure) identifying, by the electronic device, an exposure time of the camera which is set to capture the celestial object (see ¶0129, for example, the imaging device 100 may perform imaging at the intervals of 3 minutes, and a shutter speed of 3 seconds may be set for each imaging. Also, a time period for which the imaging device 100 performs imaging may be set from 3:00 am to 3:30 am); based on the exposure time, displaying, by the electronic device, a graphical user interface (GUI) on the preview image to guide a reference location for displaying the celestial object within a captured result image of the celestial object (see figs. 3,-8 and step 330 and ¶085, In operation 330, the interface unit 130 may output a first image representing the moving trajectory. For example, in the first image, a location change of the moving object based on a predetermined time interval may be displayed. In addition, in the first image, a time at a start point of the moving trajectory and a time at an end point of the moving trajectory may be displayed [images are displayed after a predetermined time (exposure time) has elapsed as for example disclosed in paragraph 0128]); receiving, by the electronic device, a user input for capturing the celestial object (see for example 910 fig. 9 and ¶0135 n operation 910, the image processor 120 sets an imaging interval and an exposure time.); and upon receiving the user input, capturing, by the electronic device, the celestial object during the exposure time (see step 920 fig. 9 and ¶¶ 0136 and 0158, n operation 920, the imaging device 100 captures still images based on the imaging interval and the exposure time).
Reclaim [2], Seo further discloses further comprising: acquiring a plurality of captured image frames, by capturing the celestial object during the exposure time; and generating the captured result image, by combining the plurality of captured image frames (see step 930 fig. 9 and ¶0137, In operation 930, the image processor 120 synthesizes the captured images and generates the second image).
Reclaim [3], Seo further discloses, wherein, as the celestial object moves during the exposure time, locations of the celestial object in the plurality of captured image frames are different from each other, and wherein generating the captured result image comprises combining the plurality of captured image frames, such that celestial objects in the plurality of captured image frames superimpose, at the reference location for displaying the celestial object in the captured result image (see ¶0137, . the processor 140 is configured to generate the synthesis parameter based on whether the second image is the trajectory image or the point image. The image processor 120 is configured to synthesize the still images based on the synthesis parameter and to generate the second image).
Reclaim [10], Seo further discloses wherein identifying the celestial object is identifying the celestial object corresponding to the capture direction of the camera of the electronic device, from a database (DB) which stores celestial object information corresponding to the measured location and the measured orientation (see fig. 5, ¶¶0095-0096, the GPS receiver included in the sensing unit 110 obtains GPS information 540 corresponding to the current location of the imaging device 100. The GPS information 540 may, for example, included information on a latitude and a longitude corresponding to the current location of the imaging device 100 and information on a current date and time, [for example the “GPS” information is obtained from a database linked to datacenter]).
Reclaim [11], Seo discloses an electronic device for capturing an image of a celestial object (see for ex. fig. 2 and see ¶¶007 and 009, A method of imaging a moving object [ for example a point image of a star as described in the text of ¶009]), the electronic device comprising: a camera for capturing an image of the celestial object (see 120 fig. 2); a global positioning system (GPS) sensor for measuring a location of the electronic device (see ¶ 0073, The GPS receiver may obtain information on a latitude and a longitude indicating a current location of the imaging device 100 and information on a current date and time); an inertial measurement unit (IMU) sensor for measuring an orientation of the electronic device (see ¶¶0083 and 0095, the sensing unit 110 obtains the location information of the imaging device 100 via, for example, the various sensors included in the sensing unit. The location information may, for example, include the azimuth of the optical axis of the lens included in the imaging device 100, the altitude of the moving object, and the latitude, longitude, and date and time information of the imaging device 100, [for example the azimuth meter included in the sensing unit 110 as described in the text of paragraph: 0095; the prior art azimuth meter can measure the orientation of the electronic device without being structurally modified thus encompasses the clamed inertial measurement unit (IMU) sensor] ); a display (see 130 fig. 2 and ¶0076, The interface unit 130 may be configured to output an image representing the moving trajectory. For example, in the moving trajectory, a location change of the moving object based on a predetermined time interval may be displayed); memory storing one or more computer programs (see ¶0075, the processor 140 may be configured to execute programs stored in a memory (not illustrated)); and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the camera, the GPS, the IMU, the display and the memory (see 140, 120 fig. 2), wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that (0075, the processor 140 may be configured to execute programs stored in a memory (not illustrated), when executed by the one or more processors (140, 120 fig. 2) individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: display a preview image generated through the camera on the display (see ¶¶007 and 009, A method of imaging a moving object [ for example a point image of a star as described in the text of ¶009]), measure the location of the electronic device using the GPS sensor ((see step 310 fig. 3 and ¶¶0073 and 0083, In operation 310, the sensing unit 110 obtains the location information of the imaging device 100)), measure the orientation of the electronic device, using the IMU sensor, based on the measured location and the measured orientation ((see ¶¶0083 and 0095, the sensing unit 110 obtains the location information of the imaging device 100 via, for example, the various sensors included in the sensing unit. The location information may, for example, include the azimuth of the optical axis of the lens included in the imaging device 100, the altitude of the moving object, and the latitude, longitude, and date and time information of the imaging device 100, [for example the azimuth meter included in the sensing unit 110 as described in the text of paragraph: 0095; the prior art azimuth meter can measure the orientation of the electronic device without being structurally modified thus encompasses the clamed inertial measurement unit (IMU) sensor]), identify a celestial object corresponding to a capture direction of the camera (step 320 and ¶0084, ; In operation 320, the processor 140, based, for example, on the location information, is configured to determine the moving trajectory of the moving object. For example, the moving object may refer to a star, but the moving object is not limited thereto. For example, any object whose location is changed with the passage of time may be included in the moving object of the disclosure), identify an exposure time of the camera which is set to capture the celestial object, based on the exposure time (see ¶0129, for example, the imaging device 100 may perform imaging at the intervals of 3 minutes, and a shutter speed of 3 seconds may be set for each imaging. Also, a time period for which the imaging device 100 performs imaging may be set from 3:00 am to 3:30 am), display a GUI on the preview image to guide a reference location for displaying the celestial object in a captured result image of the celestial object (see fig. 3, 8 and step 330 and ¶085, In operation 330, the interface unit 130 may output a first image representing the moving trajectory. For example, in the first image, a location change of the moving object based on a predetermined time interval may be displayed. In addition, in the first image, a time at a start point of the moving trajectory and a time at an end point of the moving trajectory may be displayed, [images are displayed after a predetermined time (exposure time) has elapsed as for example disclosed in paragraph 0128]), receive a user input for capturing the celestial object (see for example 910 fig. 9 and ¶0135 n operation 910, the image processor 120 sets an imaging interval and an exposure time), and upon receiving the user input, capture the celestial object during the exposure time (see step 920 fig. 9 and ¶¶ 0136 and 0158, n operation 920, the imaging device 100 captures still images based on the imaging interval and the exposure time)..
Reclaim [12], except a few changes in wording has substantially same limitation as claim [2] above, and thus analyzed and rejected by the same reasoning.
Reclaim [13], except a few changes in wording has substantially same limitation as claim [3] above, and thus analyzed and rejected by the same reasoning
Reclaim [16], Seo further discloses wherein the celestial object includes a star, a planet, a satellite, a comet, a star cluster, a nebula and interstellar material (see ¶0018, The second image may include an image representing a moving trajectory of a star or an image representing a point image of the star).
Reclaim [17], Seo further, wherein the celestial object includes a plurality of stars in a form of a constellation (see ¶121, As illustrated in FIG. 7 and 1430 fig. 14, in the imaging device 100, the first image in which a moving trajectory 720 of the moving object is displayed on a live view image 710 is output, [the moving object is a star as for example described in the text of paragraph 0018]).
Reclaim [18], Seo wherein the preview image is an image of an actual celestial object displayed within the preview image displayed on the display to capture the celestial object (see fig. 7 and 1430 fig. 14).
Reclaim [19], claim [19] is a program for performing steps of claim [1], and thus analyzed and rejected by the same reasoning.
Reclaim [20], claim [20] is a program for performing steps of claim [2], and thus analyzed and rejected by the same reasoning.
Examiner note the claimed a global positioning system (GPS) sensor for measuring an inertial measurement unit (IMU) sensor for measuring recited in claim [11] defines a well-known structure in the art (sensor) in the claim; and thus don’t invoke 112(f).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims [4-9 and 14-15] objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter
Reclaim [4 and 14] none of the prior arts on the record either singularly or in combination teaches or reasonably suggests: The method of claim 3, wherein the reference location for displaying the celestial object in the captured result image is determined based on the exposure time, a capture start location of the celestial object and a capture end location of the celestial object, to prevent deterioration around the location of the celestial object in the captured result image.
Reclaim [5 and 15] none of the prior arts on the record either singularly or in combination teaches or reasonably suggests: The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining that the electronic device is stationary, wherein as the electronic device is stationary: identifying coordinates for displaying a virtual image of the celestial object in the preview image, comparing location coordinates of the celestial object in the preview image with the coordinates for displaying the virtual image, and correcting a sensing value of the IMU sensor of the electronic device, based on the comparison result.
Claims [6-9] are allowed due to their direct or indirect dependency on claim [5].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Numako (US. PAT. No. 8, 212,860) discloses: According to an aspect of the present invention, a digital camera is provided, equipped with an image mover which moves an object image formed via a photographing optical system in a predetermined path in a plane orthogonal to an optical axis of said photographing optical system, the digital camera including a controller, a location information inputter via which location information on the digital camera is input to the controller, an orientation information inputter via which azimuth information and altitude information are input to the controller, a focal length information inputter via which focal length information on the photographing optical system is input to the controller, and an exposure time setter which sets an exposure time for which an image of a celestial body formed through the photographing optical system is exposed to an image sensor. In cols. 1-2 lines 57-5.
/AHMED A BERHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639