DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I in the reply filed on 12/27/2025 is acknowledged.
The election/restriction is made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yasuda (US. 20030024780A1).
Yasuda a shaft seal assembly (e.g. figure 1) for sealing a rotatable shaft, comprising a shaft seal (e.g. 14) having an outer diameter portion (e.g. outer surface of 32A) forming an annular base (e.g. 32) and an inner diameter portion (e.g. 31) including an annular shaft contacting surface (e.g. 41 and/or 45), a shaft housing (e.g. 18 and 11) including a plate (e.g. 11) having a central opening (e.g. opening having the shaft seal) for receiving a rotatable shaft therethrough (e.g. intended use but a shaft is capable of being received by the shaft seal assembly of Yasuda, also see MPEP 2113-2114 regarding intended use limitations), the central opening in the plate defined by a circumferential sidewall (e.g. inner wall of 11 receiving the shaft seal 14) parallel to the longitudinal direction of the shaft and narrowed by a perpendicular end wall (e.g. radial wall of 18) at one end, the annular base of the shaft seal having an outer surface (e.g. outer surface of 32A) configured to be pressed against the circumferential sidewall and proximate the end wall (e.g. the outer surface is capable of being pressed against the circumferential sidewall and again method limitation given little patentable weight in an apparatus claim see MPEP 2113-2114 and furthermore compression force is applied to seal 43), and a sealing layer (e.g. 43, paragraph 0025) printed (e.g. 43 formed by NBR according to a printing formation) and cured on the outer surface forming a sealing engagement to the circumferential sidewall (e.g. method limitation given little patentable weight in an apparatus claim, see MPEP 2113-2114 and furthermore the structure of the sealing layer is taught by Yasuda which is printed).
Regarding claim 2: Wherein the base is a biasing member (e.g. the base is formed of metallic member that is resilient and compressible) to firmly press the outer surface radially outwardly against the circumferential sidewall holding the shaft seal in position (e.g. compression force is applied to seal 43).
Regarding claim 3: Wherein the biasing member is a compression spring (e.g. that is the case since the shaft seal is made of resilient material).
Regarding claim 5: Wherein the sealing layer is printed on the outer surface using an ink jet printer (e.g. again method limitation which is given little or no patentable weight in an apparatus claim see MPEP2113-2114 and furthermore the reference of Yasuda is teaching printing).
Regarding claim 6: Yasuda discloses a shaft seal assembly sealing a rotatable shaft comprising: a shaft housing including a plate having a central opening with a rotatable shaft extending therethrough, a shaft seal having an outer diameter portion forming an annular base and an inner diameter portion including an annular shaft contacting surface contacting the rotatable shaft (e.g. shaft 15 is rotatable), the central opening in the plate defined by a circumferential sidewall parallel to the longitudinal direction of the shaft and narrowed by a perpendicular end wall at one end, the annular base of the shaft seal having an outer surface positioned against the circumferential sidewall and proximate the end wall and a sealing layer printed and cured on the outer surface, the sealing layer captured between the outer surface and the circumferential sidewall, forming a sealing engagement between the outer surface and the circumferential sidewall (see rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claims 7-8: See rejection of claims 2-3.
Regarding claim 10: See rejection of claim 5.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wade et al . (US. 20120153573).
Wade discloses a shaft seal assembly (e.g. figures) for sealing a rotatable shaft, comprising a shaft seal (e.g. figure 2) having an outer diameter portion (e.g. portion having 32) forming an annular base (e.g. 24) and an inner diameter portion (e.g. 52) including an annular shaft contacting surface (e.g. surface of 52 contacting rotatable shaft 22), a shaft housing (e.g. 14) including a plate (e.g. figure 1) having a central opening (e.g. opening having the shaft seal) for receiving a rotatable shaft therethrough (e.g. intended use but a shaft is capable of being received by the shaft seal assembly of Wade, also see MPEP 2113-2114 regarding intended use limitations), the central opening in the plate defined by a circumferential sidewall (e.g. inner wall of 14 receiving the shaft seal of figure 2) parallel to the longitudinal direction of the shaft and narrowed by a perpendicular end wall (e.g. radial wall of 14) at one end, the annular base of the shaft seal having an outer surface (e.g. outer surface having 38) configured to be pressed against the circumferential sidewall and proximate the end wall (e.g. paragraph 0016, see press fit into the housing), and a sealing layer (e.g. 38) printed and cured on the outer surface forming a sealing engagement to the circumferential sidewall (e.g. method limitation given little patentable weight in an apparatus claim, see MPEP 2113-2114 and furthermore the structure of the sealing layer is taught by Wade).
Regarding claim 2: Wherein the base is a biasing member (e.g. the base is formed of metallic member that is resilient and compressible) to firmly press the outer surface radially outwardly against the circumferential sidewall holding the shaft seal in position (e.g. compression force is applied to press fit as stated in paragraph 0016).
Regarding claim 3: Wherein the biasing member is a compression spring (e.g. see structure of biasing member, think metallic piece relative to housing structure).
Regarding claim 5: Wherein the sealing layer is printed on the outer surface using an ink jet printer (e.g. again method limitation which is given little or no patentable weight in an apparatus claim see MPEP2113-2114 and furthermore the reference of Yasuda is teaching printing).
Regarding claim 6: Yasuda discloses a shaft seal assembly sealing a rotatable shaft comprising: a shaft housing including a plate having a central opening with a rotatable shaft extending therethrough, a shaft seal having an outer diameter portion forming an annular base and an inner diameter portion including an annular shaft contacting surface contacting the rotatable shaft (e.g. shaft 22 is rotatable), the central opening in the plate defined by a circumferential sidewall parallel to the longitudinal direction of the shaft and narrowed by a perpendicular end wall at one end, the annular base of the shaft seal having an outer surface positioned against the circumferential sidewall and proximate the end wall and a sealing layer printed and cured on the outer surface, the sealing layer captured between the outer surface and the circumferential sidewall, forming a sealing engagement between the outer surface and the circumferential sidewall (see rejection of claim 1). Regarding claims 7-8: See rejection of claims 2-3. Regarding claim 10: See rejection of claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wade in view of Arnon (US. 20200124177A1). This applies when and if applicant claims the proper material for printing and curing in the independent claims.
Wade discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to disclose the sealing layer is formed by printing photocurable material and the material being Photocurable Acrylate Resin. Arnon discloses a sealing layer (e.g. 102) with an outer surface that has a coating which is photocurable (paragraph 0016). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the sealing layer coating of Wade with the sealing layer taught by Arnon with reasonable expectation of success to provide a sealing layer more readily and easily (e.g. inherent by the way the sealing layer is applied to by Arnon). It is noted that Arnon is using a photocurable resin and examiner request what resin Arnon is using (e.g. the inventor is same as the current application).
If Arnon is not using photocurable acrylate resin, examiner is providing a further rejection below.
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wade in view of Arnon (US. 20200124177A1) and further in view of Takizawa (US. 20090163685). This applies when and if applicant claims photocurable acrylate resin.
Wade discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to disclose photocurable acrylate resin. Takizawa teaches to have a photocurable acrylate resin (see paragraph 0005). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the sealing layer 38 of Wade be made of photocurable acrylate resin as taught by Takizawa with reasonable expectation of success to reduce cost and ease of manufacturing (e.g. instead of molding or painting or other can be changed to printing by machine due to the liquid mature of photocurable acrylate resin).
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wade in view of Arnon (US. 20200124177A1) and further in view of Kekura (US. 20230040225A1). This applies when and if applicant claims photocurable acrylate resin.
Wade discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to disclose photocurable acrylate resin. Kekura teaches to have a photocurable acrylate resin (see paragraph 0046) be used of gasket sealing (e.g. title of invention). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the sealing layer 38 of Wade be made of photocurable acrylate resin as taught by Kekura with reasonable expectation of success to reduce cost and provide reworkability (e.g. see paragraph 0046in Kekura).
Conclusion
/VISHAL A PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675