DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on June 30, 2025, application number 19/175481.
Claims 1-8 are pending in the application and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) received on April 10, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“first information acquisition unit configured to acquire object detection information…” in claim 1.
“a second information acquisition unit configured to acquire movement locus information…” in claim 1.
“a stationary object detection unit configured to detect a stationary object … ” in claim 1, supported by Page 6 lines 19-29 of the specification.
“a moving direction calculation unit configured to calculate … a moving direction indication value …” in claim 1.
“an average calculation unit configured to classify a plurality of moving direction indication values …” in claim 1.
“an angular error calculation unit configured to calculate the angular error for each of the observation angles …” in claim 1.
“a yaw rate prohibition unit configured to prohibit calculation of the moving direction indication value … ” in claim 5.
“an interpolation calculation unit configured to calculate the angular error …” in claim 6.
“an angular correction unit configured to correct …” in claim 7.
“the angular error estimation device acquires object detection information… ” in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1-6; and 8 are rejected under 35 USC § 101
Step 1
Claims 1-7 are directed towards a device (i.e. a machine); and claim 8 is directed towards a method (i.e. a process). As such, claims 1-7; and claim 8 are drawn to one the statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A-Prong 1
Claims 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Representative claim 1 recites the following limitations:
…calculate, for each of a plurality of stationary objects…a moving direction indication value indicating a moving direction of the stationary object viewed from the movable body assuming that the movable body is traveling in a straight line, for each observation angle at which the at least one radar device has observed the stationary object, based on the object detection information and the movement locus information;
…classify a plurality of moving direction indication values calculated…for each observation angle and calculate, as a moving direction average value, an average value of the plurality of moving direction indication values classified by the observation angle for each observation angle;
…calculate the angular error for each of the observation angles based on an average movement locus calculated based on the plurality of moving direction average values for each of the observation angles and a reference movement locus set as a movement locus of the stationary object in a case in which there is no angular error.
The claim limitations above are directed to an abstract idea because they are directed to calculating an angular error. A mathematical calculation is a concept that falls within the mathematical concept bucket.
Step 2A-Prong 2
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claim 1 recites the following additional element(s):
a first information acquisition unit configured to acquire object detection information including at least position information indicating a position of an object present in the vicinity of the movable body, from the at least one radar device, including a lateral side of the movable body as an object detection area;
a second information acquisition unit configured to acquire movement locus information for specifying a movement locus of the movable body;
a stationary object detection unit configured to detect a stationary object that is at rest, and located at a lateral side of the movable body, based on the object detection information;
a moving direction calculation unit;
an average calculation unit; and
an angular error calculation unit.
These additional elements individually or in combination do no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment of radars (see MPEP 2106.05(h)). Furthermore, the plurality of “units” claimed are implemented by a general-purpose computer (see “microcomputer including a CPU 11, a ROM 12, a RAM 13, and the like” on page 5, ll. 19-29; and Fig. 1 of the specification), and are mere instructions to implement the mathematical concept. Therefore, the invention as claimed does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
Claim 1 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements individually or in combination do no more than apply the abstract idea to a technological environment of radars and does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea. Accordingly, claim 1 is ineligible.
Dependent claim(s) 2-3 merely further limit the abstract idea and are thereby considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim(s) 4-6 further recite the additional element(s) of a speed prohibition unit (claim 4); a yaw rate prohibition unit (claim 5), an interpolation calculation unit (claim 6), and an angular correction unit (claim 7). These “units” are implemented by a general-purpose computer (see “microcomputer including a CPU 11, a ROM 12, a RAM 13, and the like” on page 5, ll. 19-29; and Fig. 1 of the specification) and are mere instructions to implement the mathematical concept. Therefore, the additional elements do no more than use a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, claim(s) 4-6 are ineligible.
Claim 8 is parallel in nature to claim 1. Accordingly claim 8 is rejected as being directed towards ineligible subject matter based upon the same analysis above.
Dependent claim 7 further recites the additional element(s) an angular correction unit. Here, the additional element is integrated into a practical application and therefore amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception. In this case, the angular correction unit is used to apply a correction to a measured angle (See specification Page 17 lines 7-14 and Page 20 lines 27-30 ), which is a practical application. Accordingly, claim 7 is eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heinrichs-Bartscher et al. (US 20150224986 A1), hereinafter Heinrichs-Bartscher, in view of Takabayashi et al. (US 20110295549 A1), hereinafter Takabayashi.
Regarding claim 1, Heinrichs-Bartscher discloses [Note: what is not clearly disclosed is strike-through]:
An angular error estimation device that estimates an angular error that is an error of an azimuth angle detected by at least one radar device installed in a movable body (Heinrichs-Bartscher Fig. 1), the angular error estimation device comprising:
a first information acquisition unit configured to acquire object detection information including at least position information indicating a position of an object present in the vicinity of the movable body (Heinrichs-Bartscher [0032] ”At time t.sub.1 the stationary object P has come within the acquisition region R of the radar system, and for the purpose of determining the position of the stationary object the polar coordinates thereof”), from
the at least one radar device, including a lateral side of the movable body as an object detection area (Heinrichs-Bartscher [0031] “The vehicle is equipped with a non-tactile environment-monitoring system--that is to say, for example, a radar, lidar, or video acquisition system--the receiving sensor of which, for example of a radar system, has been set up to register the environment to the left adjacent to the vehicle and to the left behind the vehicle viewed in the direction of motion of the vehicle.”);
a second information acquisition unit configured to acquire movement locus information for specifying a movement locus of the movable body (Heinrichs-Bartscher Fig. 2, See
B
F
; Heinrichs-Bartscher [0041] “The determination of the angular deviation .PHI..sub..kappa. for checking whether the radar system has been correctly calibrated or adjusted is carried out in preferred manner only whenever the vehicle is actually moving along a (substantially) rectilinear motion path B.sub.F. In order to establish this, information or data present anyway in the ESP can be accessed, such as, for example, the steering angle, the yaw rate, the longitudinal/transverse acceleration and also the velocity v.sub.VEH of the vehicle.”; Heinrichs-Bartscher [0063] “If this is the case, in step S2 it is queried whether the motion path B.sub.F, along which the vehicle is moving, is rectilinear.”);
a stationary object detection unit configured to detect a stationary object that is at rest, and located at a lateral side of the movable body, based on the object detection information (Heinrichs-Bartscher [0042] “In practice, for the identification of stationary objects P a deviation .DELTA..sub.v is permitted, the order of magnitude of which amounts to .+-.3 km/h, so that the difference formed from the absolute value of the relative-velocity component--viewed in the direction of motion of the vehicle in question--v.sub.REL,X and the absolute value of the velocity v.sub.VEH of the vehicle must be less than or equal to this deviation”);
a moving direction calculation unit configured to calculate, for each of a plurality of stationary objects detected by the stationary object detection unit, a moving direction indication value indicating a moving direction of the stationary object viewed from the movable body assuming that the movable body is traveling in a straight line (Heinrichs-Bartscher Fig. 2; Henrichs [0014] “However, in order to optimise the effort and accuracy for determining the angular deviation, in preferred manner the invention provides that when the vehicle is moving along a rectilinear motion path the motion path for a stationary object that the vehicle is moving past is ascertained”), for each observation angle at which the at least one radar device has observed the stationary object (Heinrichs-Bartscher Fig. 2, See
Φ
1
and
Φ
2
), based on the object detection information and the movement locus information (Heinrichs-Bartscher [0037] “the motion path B.sub.P ascertained for the stationary object P does not run parallel to the rectilinear motion path B.sub.F of the vehicle.”);
an angular error calculation unit configured to calculate the angular error for each of the observation angles based on an average movement locus calculated based on the plurality of moving direction average values for each of the observation angles (Heinrichs-Bartscher [0049] “The angular deviation .PHI..sub..kappa. last determined is drawn upon by way of correction value or calibration value, in order to compensate for errors when determining the position of objects by the radar system, so that the radar system calibrates or adjusts itself electronically by itself.”) and a reference movement locus set as a movement locus of the stationary object in a case in which there is no angular error (Heinrichs-Bartscher Fig. 2,
B
p
*
is said reference locus in the case of no angular error.).
Heinrichs-Bartscher fails to disclose the limitations below. Takabayashi discloses
(Takabayashi [0236] “Thus, a plurality of estimation values are obtained. Using the processing device 911, the state estimation unit 240 averages the plurality of estimation values estimated by the plurality of extended Kalman filters to set estimation values of the state quantities such as the absolute coordinates and angular velocity of the moving object.”; Here an average coordinate in (x, y) is identical to an average observation angle, through a simple coordinate transformation.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Takabayashi into the invention of Heinrichs-Bartscher. Both Heinrichs-Bartscher and Takabayashi are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose vehicular radar systems for estimating angles of nearby stationary objects. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the radar angle calibration method as disclosed by Heinrichs-Bartscher to perform a moving average of radar signals as taught by Takabayashi. Heinrichs-Bartscher already teaches multiple observations of the position of an object, and taking an average would be an obvious modification. One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to calculate an average velocity value at a set of observation angles in order to implement a Kalman filter and efficiently estimate the trajectory of the stationary objects (See Takabayashi [0077-0079], [0182]).
Regarding claim 2, Heinrichs-Bartscher in view of Takabayashi discloses the angular estimation device of claim 1. Heinrichs-Bartscher further discloses:
wherein for each of the plurality of observation angles, if the number of the plurality of moving direction indication values classified by observation angle is a preset valid determination value or larger (Heinrichs-Bartscher [0045] “The following criteria K1 to K4 may come into consideration, by themselves or in suitable combination with one another:” [0044] “K1. The determination of the position of the stationary object P must have been effected by way of a predetermined minimum number N.sub.TMIN of successive times t.sub.1 to t.sub.n (n.gtoreq.N.sub.TMIN) “), the angular error calculation unit determines that the moving direction average value of the observation angles is valid and calculates the average movement locus, thereby calculating the angular error corresponding to the observation angle (Heinrichs-Bartscher [0063] “In step S1 it is queried whether the angular deviation .PHI..sub..kappa. last determined is to be updated. If this is the case, in step S2 it is queried whether the motion path B.sub.F, along which the vehicle is moving, is rectilinear. If this is the case, the procedure continues with step S3, in which a current angular deviation .PHI..sub..kappa. is determined in accordance with equation G1 and verified on the basis of the aforementioned criteria K1 to K3.”).
Regarding claim 4, Heinrichs-Bartscher in view of Takabayashi discloses the angular estimation device according to claim 1. Heinrichs-Bartscher further discloses [Note: what is not clearly disclosed is strike-through]:
further comprising a speed prohibition unit configured to prohibit calculation of the moving direction indication value by the moving direction calculation unit if a travelling speed of the movable body is a preset speed prohibition determination value or lower (Heinrichs-Bartscher [0047] “During the period of the determination of the position of the stationary object P the velocity v.sub.VEH of the vehicle must be greater than or equal to a predetermined minimum velocity v.sub.MIN (v.sub.VEH.gtoreq.v.sub.MIN) The order of magnitude of the predetermined minimum velocity v.sub.MIN may amount to 15 km/h.”).
Regarding claim 5, Heinrichs-Bartscher in view of Takabayashi discloses the angular estimation device of claim 1. Heinrichs-Bartscher further discloses [Note: what is not clearly disclosed is strike-through]:
further comprising a yaw rate prohibition unit configured to prohibit calculation of the moving direction indication value by the moving direction calculation unit if an absolute value of a yaw rate of the movable body is a preset yaw rate prohibition determination value or larger (Henrichs Fig. 3, El. S2; Heinrichs-Bartscher “[0041] The determination of the angular deviation .PHI..sub..kappa. for checking whether the radar system has been correctly calibrated or adjusted is carried out in preferred manner only whenever the vehicle is actually moving along a (substantially) rectilinear motion path B.sub.F. In order to establish this, information or data present anyway in the ESP can be accessed, such as, for example, the steering angle, the yaw rate, the longitudinal/transverse acceleration and also the velocity v.sub.VEH of the vehicle.”)
Regarding claim 7, Heinrichs-Bartscher in view of Takabayashi discloses the angular estimation device of claim 1. Heinrichs-Bartscher further discloses:
further comprising an angular correction unit configured to correct the azimuth angle detected by the at least one radar device by using the angular error (Heinrichs-Bartscher [0052] “For this purpose, for example the correction value .PHI..sub..kappa. is either added to or subtracted from the angles .PHI..sub.ACT registered for the objects, depending on the current sign, and the angles resulting therefrom, or, to be more exact, the corrected angles .PHI..sub.SET (.PHI..sub.SET=.PHI..sub.ACT.noteq..PHI..sub..kappa.) are adopted for the polar coordinates of the registered objects.”).
Regarding claim 8, Heinrichs-Bartscher discloses [Note: what is not clearly disclosed is strike-through]:
An angular error estimation method performed by an angular error estimation device that estimates an angular error that is an error of an azimuth angle detected by at least one radar device installed in a movable body (Heinrichs-Bartscher Fig. 1),
wherein the angular error estimation device acquires object detection information including at least position information indicating a position of an object present in the vicinity of the movable body, from the at least one radar device (Heinrichs-Bartscher [0032] ”At time t.sub.1 the stationary object P has come within the acquisition region R of the radar system, and for the purpose of determining the position of the stationary object the polar coordinates thereof”),
including a lateral side of the movable body as an object detection area (Heinrichs-Bartscher [0031] “The vehicle is equipped with a non-tactile environment-monitoring system--that is to say, for example, a radar, lidar, or video acquisition system--the receiving sensor of which, for example of a radar system, has been set up to register the environment to the left adjacent to the vehicle and to the left behind the vehicle viewed in the direction of motion of the vehicle.”);
the angular error estimation device acquires movement locus information for specifying a movement locus of the movable body (Heinrichs-Bartscher Fig. 2, See
B
F
; Heinrichs-Bartscher [0041] “The determination of the angular deviation .PHI..sub..kappa. for checking whether the radar system has been correctly calibrated or adjusted is carried out in preferred manner only whenever the vehicle is actually moving along a (substantially) rectilinear motion path B.sub.F. In order to establish this, information or data present anyway in the ESP can be accessed, such as, for example, the steering angle, the yaw rate, the longitudinal/transverse acceleration and also the velocity v.sub.VEH of the vehicle.”; Heinrichs-Bartscher [0063] “If this is the case, in step S2 it is queried whether the motion path B.sub.F, along which the vehicle is moving, is rectilinear.”);
the angular error estimation device detects a stationary object that is at rest, and located at a lateral side of the movable body, based on the object detection information (Heinrichs-Bartscher [0042] “In practice, for the identification of stationary objects P a deviation .DELTA..sub.v is permitted, the order of magnitude of which amounts to .+-.3 km/h, so that the difference formed from the absolute value of the relative-velocity component--viewed in the direction of motion of the vehicle in question--v.sub.REL,X and the absolute value of the velocity v.sub.VEH of the vehicle must be less than or equal to this deviation”);
the angular error estimation device calculates, for each of a detected plurality of stationary objects, a moving direction indication value indicating a moving direction of the stationary object viewed from the movable vehicle assuming that the movable vehicle is traveling in
a straight line (Heinrichs-Bartscher Fig. 2; Henrichs [0014] “However, in order to optimise the effort and accuracy for determining the angular deviation, in preferred manner the invention provides that when the vehicle is moving along a rectilinear motion path the motion path for a stationary object that the vehicle is moving past is ascertained”), for each observation angle at which the at least one radar device has observed the stationary object (Heinrichs-Bartscher Fig. 2, See
Φ
1
and
Φ
2
), based on the object detection information and the movement locus information (Heinrichs-Bartscher [0037] “the motion path B.sub.P ascertained for the stationary object P does not run parallel to the rectilinear motion path B.sub.F of the vehicle.”);
the angular error estimation device calculates the angular error for each of the observation angles based on an average movement locus calculated based on the plurality of moving direction average values for each of the observation angles (Heinrichs-Bartscher [0049] “The angular deviation .PHI..sub..kappa. last determined is drawn upon by way of correction value or calibration value, in order to compensate for errors when determining the position of objects by the radar system, so that the radar system calibrates or adjusts itself electronically by itself.”) and a reference movement locus set as a movement locus of the stationary object in a case in which there is no angular error (Heinrichs-Bartscher Fig. 2,
B
p
*
is said reference locus in the case of no angular error.).
Heinrichs-Bartscher fails to disclose the limitations below. Takabayashi discloses
the angular error estimation device classifies a calculated plurality of moving direction indication values for each observation angle and calculate, as a moving direction average value, an average value of the plurality of moving direction indication values classified by the observation angle for each observation angle; and (Takabayashi [0236] “Thus, a plurality of estimation values are obtained. Using the processing device 911, the state estimation unit 240 averages the plurality of estimation values estimated by the plurality of extended Kalman filters to set estimation values of the state quantities such as the absolute coordinates and angular velocity of the moving object.”; Here an average coordinate in (x, y) is identical to an average observation angle, through a simple coordinate transformation.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Takabayashi into the invention of Heinrichs-Bartscher. Both Heinrichs-Bartscher and Takabayashi are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose vehicular radar systems for estimating angles of nearby stationary objects. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the radar angle calibration method as disclosed by Heinrichs-Bartscher to perform a moving average of radar signals as taught by Takabayashi. Heinrichs-Bartscher already teaches multiple observations of the position of an object, and taking an average would be an obvious modification. One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to calculate an average velocity value at a set of observation angles in order to implement a Kalman filter and efficiently estimate the trajectory of the stationary objects (See Takabayashi [0077-0079], [0182]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heinrichs-Bartscher et al. (US 20150224986 A1), hereinafter Heinrichs-Bartscher, in view of Takabayashi et al. (US 20110295549 A1), hereinafter Takabayashi, and further in view of Sakamoto et al. (US 20220005352 A1), hereinafter Sakamoto.
Regarding claim 3, Heinrichs-Bartscher in view of Takabayashi discloses the angular estimation device of claim 1. Heinrichs-Bartscher further discloses [Note: what is not clearly disclosed is strike-through]:
wherein for each of the plurality of observation angles, if the number of the plurality of moving direction indication values classified by the observation angle is a preset valid determination value or larger, the angular error calculation unit determines that the moving direction average value of the observation angles is valid (Heinrichs-Bartscher [0045] “The following criteria K1 to K4 may come into consideration, by themselves or in suitable combination with one another:” [0044] “K1. The determination of the position of the stationary object P must have been effected by way of a predetermined minimum number N.sub.TMIN of successive times t.sub.1 to t.sub.n (n.gtoreq.N.sub.TMIN) “)
(Heinrichs-Bartscher [0043] “In order to ensure the accuracy and the quality of the angular deviation .PHI..sub..kappa. determined in this way, in the practical application of the method according to the invention during operation of the radar system the determinations of the positions of stationary objects P are not undertaken only at two successive times t.sub.1 and t.sub.2--as in the (simplified) embodiment according to FIGS. 1 and 2 but rather, when carrying out the method according to the invention, predetermined criteria must have been satisfied in order that an angular deviation .PHI..sub..kappa. currently being determined is verified and approved for further measures.” Here Heinrichs-Bartscher discloses the tracking of a target over a series of times / angles, from which said angular error is calculated. ) ().
Heinrichs-Bartscher fails to disclose the limitation below. Takabayashi discloses:
in which the observation angles at which the moving direction average value is valid are continuous (Takabayashi Figs. 2, 17, 23, 24 ; Takabayashi [0061] “FIG. 2 is a diagram showing states of stationary objects continuously correlated in a temporal direction from times t.sub.1 to t.sub.N.”), and
Heinrichs-Bartscher in view of Takabayashi fails to disclose the limitations below. Sakamoto discloses
a valid continuous section (Sakamoto Figs. 14 and 15)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Sakamoto into the invention of Heinrichs-Bartscher in view of Takabayashi. The set of Heinrichs-Bartscher, Takabayashi, and Sakamoto are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they disclose angular estimation methods for vehicular radars. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the angular estimation device as disclosed by Heinrichs-Bartscher in view of Takabayashi define a valid continuous section of target observation angles as taught by Sakamoto. One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the angular estimation device in order to filter out range of observations angles with an insufficient number of observations (See Sakamoto [0145-0150]). One would have also been motivated to track a series of continuous observation values in order to determine a relative trajectory of the stationary objects with the host vehicle to correct a yaw measurement bias (See Takabayashi [0077-0081], [0131-0136]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heinrichs-Bartscher et al. (US 20150224986 A1), hereinafter Heinrichs-Bartscher, in view of Takabayashi et al. (US 20110295549 A1), hereinafter Takabayashi, and further in view of Wetoschkin et al. (US 20220005352 A1), hereinafter Wetoschkin.
Regarding claim 6, Heinrichs-Bartscher in view of Takabayashi discloses the angular estimation device of claim 1. Heinrichs-Bartscher further discloses [Note: what is not clearly disclosed is strike-through]:
wherein the object detection area of the at least one radar device includes a left side object detection area from which the stationary object in a left lateral direction from the own vehicle is detected (Heinrichs-Bartscher Fig. 1) and a right side object detection area from which the stationary object in a right lateral direction from the own vehicle is detected (Heinrichs-Bartscher [0071] “In this connection the embodiment has been described here for right-hand traffic, with an acquisition of the left side and the left rear of the vehicle. It will be understood that the invention, mirrored appropriately along the longitudinal axis of the vehicle, is also to be employed for vehicles in left-hand traffic.”),
the angular error calculation unit calculates the angular error for each of the observation angles corresponding to the left side object detection area and calculates the angular error for each of the observation angles corresponding to the (Takabayashi Fig. 18 shows both left and right observation angles), and
the angular error estimation device further comprises the observation angle corresponding to the left side object detection area and the angular error of the observation angle corresponding to the right side object detection area.
Heinrichs-Bartscher fails to disclose the limitation below. Takabayashi discloses:
A right side object detection area and a left side object detection area (Takabayashi Fig. 18 shows both left and right observation angles)
Heinrichs-Bartscher in view of Takabayashi fails to disclose the limitations below. Wetoschkin discloses
an interpolation unit for calculation of the angular error between the left side and the right side (Wetoschkin [0042] “Starting from the plausible assumption that the angle errors and thus the correction angles vary steadily across the entire positioning angle range W, one would not directly use correction angle γ1 in this case but rather a correction angle that is obtained by an interpolation between γ1 and the corresponding correction angle for sector S2.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Wetoschkin into the invention of Heinrichs-Bartscher in view of Wetoschkin. The set of Heinrichs-Bartscher, Takabayashi, and Wetoschkin are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they disclose the processing of radar signals for determining the angular information of a target. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the angular estimation device as disclosed by Heinrichs-Bartscher in view of Takabayashi to use an interpolation unit to extrapolate between valid angular observation regions as taught by Wetoschkin. One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the app in order to generate an interpolated value for the angular correction value in the case where the queried angle lies between previously determined calibration values for particular azimuthal angles (See Wetoschkin [0042-0045]).
Conclusion
/T.J.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/RESHA DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648