DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-16, 18-25 are presented for examination.
Claim 17 is cancelled.
Claims 1-16, 18-25 are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) [ 1 ] have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference (NEUHAUS et al. (US Pub. No.: 2019/0217475 A1: hereinafter “NEUHAUS”) in view of Erickson et al. (US Pub. No.: 2022/0152769 A1: hereinafter “Erickson”)) applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16, 18-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as -being unpatentable over NEUHAUS et al. (US Pub. No.: 2019/0217475 A1: hereinafter “NEUHAUS”) in view of Erickson et al. (US Pub. No.: 2022/0152769 A1: hereinafter “Erickson”).
Consider claims 1, 19, and 23:
NEUHAUS teaches an aircraft structural element (Fig. 1A element 1 “…the vehicle component 1…”), a method of assembling an aircraft structure (See NEUHAUS, e.g., “…the assembly of a fuselage section… a fuselage aft section of a fuselage shell of the aircraft 100 in exploded view. The fuselage aft section is assembled from a multitude of smaller vehicle components 1, e.g. made of metal, metal alloy, and/or composite material like CFRP or similar, comprising two side shell portions (including window and door openings), a lower shell portion, an upper shell portion, a passenger floor, and a tapering tail section…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008]-¶ [0013], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0045], ¶ [0055]-¶ [0063], and Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100, Figs. 2-4B elements 1-50, M1-M7) comprising: receiving a signal from a sensor located on or within an aircraft structural element of the aircraft structure (Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100) during assembly of the aircraft structural element into the aircraft structure (See NEUHAUS, e.g., “…the assembly of a fuselage section… a fuselage aft section of a fuselage shell of the aircraft 100 in exploded view. The fuselage aft section is assembled from a multitude of smaller vehicle components 1, e.g. made of metal, metal alloy, and/or composite material like CFRP or similar, comprising two side shell portions (including window and door openings), a lower shell portion, an upper shell portion, a passenger floor, and a tapering tail section…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008]-¶ [0013], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0045], ¶ [0055]-¶ [0063], and Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100, Figs. 2-4B elements 1-50, M1-M7), the structural element comprising having an integrally formed photogrammetry target not required to be removed prior to flight (See NEUHAUS, e.g., “…information about the datum reference of individual parts (e.g. location of physically embedded reference points etc.)…the method M comprises under M3 determining the assembly position 3 of each vehicle component 1 with a position-measurement system 4. The position-measurement system 4 may be, for example, a laser tracker or similar tracking interferometer, a photogrammetry system or any other measurement system suited for the use case at hand, i.e. in this case the assembly of large aircraft components…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008]-¶ [0013], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0045], ¶ [0055]-¶ [0063], and Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100, Figs. 2-4B elements 1-50, M1-M7); the sensor configured to sense a parameter during assembly of the aircraft structure using the aircraft structural element (See NEUHAUS, e.g., “…information from sensors like load cells, structural health monitoring systems, strain or stress gauges, sensors for environmental conditions…The force sensors…status sensors…structural health monitoring sensors, proximity sensors and environmental sensors…humidity sensor…structural health monitoring sensors, e.g. in the form of acceleration sensors integrated into the vehicle components 1 for detecting impacts or other damages…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008]-¶ [0013], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0045], ¶ [0055]-¶ [0063], and Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100, Figs. 2-4B elements 1-50, M1-M7), and the signal indicative of the parameter during assembly of the aircraft structural element into the aircraft structure (See NEUHAUS, e.g., “…information from sensors like load cells, structural health monitoring systems, strain or stress gauges, sensors for environmental conditions…The position-measurement system 4 may be, for example, a laser tracker or similar tracking interferometer, a photogrammetry system or any other measurement system suited for the use case at hand…determining reaction forces and/or moments of each gripped vehicle component 1 with force sensors 5 at the mounting points 7 in the assembly position 3. The force sensors 5 may mounted on the positioner units 2 next to the mounting points 7 and may be coupled to the grippers or gripper arms. The force sensors 5 may comprise piezoelectric, hydraulic, pneumatic, or mechanical load cells or other suitable means that are able to provide a signal whose magnitude is proportional to the force or moment being measured…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008]-¶ [0013], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0045], ¶ [0055]-¶ [0063], and Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100, Figs. 2-4B elements 1-50, M1-M7).
NEUHAUS further teaches and performing a step of assembly of the aircraft structure based at least in part on the received signal (See NEUHAUS, e.g., “…the method M further comprises under M5 determining status data 12 of each vehicle component 1 with status sensors 10 provided at each vehicle component 1. Each status sensor 10 is configured to determine status data 12 of the respective vehicle component 1. The status data 12 may comprise at least one of load data, stress data, strain data, structural health data, proximity data and environmental data and the like. The status sensors 10 may comprise at least one of load cells, stress gauges, strain gauges, structural health monitoring sensors, proximity sensors and environmental sensors and the like…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008]-¶ [0013], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0045], ¶ [0055]-¶ [0063], and Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100, Figs. 2-4B elements 1-50, M1-M7). However, NEUHAUS does not explicitly teach an external surface having a formed photogrammetry target.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Erickson teaches an external surface having a formed photogrammetry target (See Erickson, e.g., a tool (102) that includes an indexing feature (104) on the external surface. The indexing feature is an analogous target that is formed in an outer surface of the tool and hence, integrally formed, of ¶ [0132]-¶ [0137], ¶ [0161]-¶ [0169], Figs. 1, 11-13 elements 106-268).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine “…A production system for automated assembly of vehicle components, in particular for automated assembly of structural components of an aircraft or spacecraft. The production system includes vehicle components with status sensors that can determine status data of the respective vehicle component, positioner units to grip the respectively associated vehicle component at mounting points and move the respectively associated vehicle component into an assembly position, a position-measurement system to determine the assembly position of each vehicle component, force sensors to determine at least one of reaction forces and moments of each gripped vehicle component at the mounting points in the assembly position, and a computer-based control system in data communication with the vehicle components….”, as disclosed in NEUHAUS with “an external surface having a formed photogrammetry target”, as taught in Erickson with a reasonable expectation of success to yield a system, and method to optimize the usage of the sensors in terms of quickly and accurately measuring, locating, and indexing, as taught ¶ [0003].
Consider claim 2:
The combination of NEUHAUS, Erickson teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 1 above. In addition, NEUHAUS teaches wherein the parameter is indicative of a force experienced by the aircraft structural element during assembly of the aircraft structural element into the aircraft structure (See NEUHAUS, e.g., “…information from sensors like load cells, structural health monitoring systems, strain or stress gauges, sensors for environmental conditions…The position-measurement system 4 may be, for example, a laser tracker or similar tracking interferometer, a photogrammetry system or any other measurement system suited for the use case at hand…determining reaction forces and/or moments of each gripped vehicle component 1 with force sensors 5 at the mounting points 7 in the assembly position 3. The force sensors 5 may mounted on the positioner units 2 next to the mounting points 7 and may be coupled to the grippers or gripper arms. The force sensors 5 may comprise piezoelectric, hydraulic, pneumatic, or mechanical load cells or other suitable means that are able to provide a signal whose magnitude is proportional to the force or moment being measured…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008]-¶ [0013], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0045], ¶ [0055]-¶ [0063], and Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100, Figs. 2-4B elements 1-50, M1-M7).
Consider claim 3:
The combination of NEUHAUS, Erickson teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 2 above. In addition, NEUHAUS teaches wherein the parameter is indicative of a stress experienced within the aircraft structural element during assembly of the aircraft structural element into the aircraft structure (See NEUHAUS, e.g., “…information from sensors like load cells, structural health monitoring systems, strain or stress gauges, sensors for environmental conditions…The position-measurement system 4 may be, for example, a laser tracker or similar tracking interferometer, a photogrammetry system or any other measurement system suited for the use case at hand…determining reaction forces and/or moments of each gripped vehicle component 1 with force sensors 5 at the mounting points 7 in the assembly position 3. The force sensors 5 may mounted on the positioner units 2 next to the mounting points 7 and may be coupled to the grippers or gripper arms. The force sensors 5 may comprise piezoelectric, hydraulic, pneumatic, or mechanical load cells or other suitable means that are able to provide a signal whose magnitude is proportional to the force or moment being measured…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008]-¶ [0013], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0045], ¶ [0055]-¶ [0063], and Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100, Figs. 2-4B elements 1-50, M1-M7).
Consider claim 4:
The combination of NEUHAUS, Erickson teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 1 above. In addition, NEUHAUS teaches wherein the parameter is indicative of a degree of deformation experienced by the aircraft structural element during assembly of the aircraft structural element into the aircraft structure (See NEUHAUS, e.g., “…information from sensors like load cells, structural health monitoring systems, strain or stress gauges, sensors for environmental conditions…The force sensors 5 may comprise piezoelectric, hydraulic, pneumatic, or mechanical load cells or other suitable means that are able to provide a signal whose magnitude is proportional to the force or moment being measured…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008]-¶ [0013], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0045], ¶ [0055]-¶ [0063], and Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100, Figs. 2-4B elements 1-50, M1-M7).
Consider claim 5:
The combination of NEUHAUS, Erickson teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 1 above. In addition, NEUHAUS teaches wherein the parameter is indicative of physical contact between the aircraft structural element and a further aircraft structural element during assembly of the aircraft structural element (See NEUHAUS, e.g., “…information from sensors like load cells, structural health monitoring systems, strain or stress gauges, sensors for environmental conditions…The position-measurement system 4 may be, for example, a laser tracker or similar tracking interferometer, a photogrammetry system or any other measurement system suited for the use case at hand…determining reaction forces and/or moments of each gripped vehicle component 1 with force sensors 5 at the mounting points 7 in the assembly position 3. The force sensors 5 may mounted on the positioner units 2 next to the mounting points 7 and may be coupled to the grippers or gripper arms. The force sensors 5 may comprise piezoelectric, hydraulic, pneumatic, or mechanical load cells or other suitable means that are able to provide a signal whose magnitude is proportional to the force or moment being measured…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008]-¶ [0013], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0045], ¶ [0055]-¶ [0063], and Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100, Figs. 2-4B elements 1-50, M1-M7) and the further aircraft structural element into the aircraft structure (See NEUHAUS, e.g., “…information from sensors like load cells, structural health monitoring systems, strain or stress gauges, sensors for environmental conditions…The position-measurement system 4 may be, for example, a laser tracker or similar tracking interferometer, a photogrammetry system or any other measurement system suited for the use case at hand…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008]-¶ [0013], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0045], ¶ [0055]-¶ [0063], and Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100, Figs. 2-4B elements 1-50, M1-M7).
Consider claim 6:
The combination of NEUHAUS, Erickson teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 1 above. In addition, NEUHAUS teaches wherein the sensor is operable as a proximity sensor such that the parameter is indicative of a distance between the aircraft structural element (See NEUHAUS, e.g., “…information from sensors like load cells, structural health monitoring systems, strain or stress gauges, sensors for environmental conditions…The position-measurement system 4 may be, for example, a laser tracker or similar tracking interferometer, a photogrammetry system or any other measurement system suited for the use case at hand…determining reaction forces and/or moments of each gripped vehicle component 1 with force sensors 5 at the mounting points 7 in the assembly position 3. The force sensors 5 may mounted on the positioner units 2 next to the mounting points 7 and may be coupled to the grippers or gripper arms. The force sensors 5 may comprise piezoelectric, hydraulic, pneumatic, or mechanical load cells or other suitable means that are able to provide a signal whose magnitude is proportional to the force or moment being measured…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008]-¶ [0013], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0045], ¶ [0055]-¶ [0063], and Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100, Figs. 2-4B elements 1-50, M1-M7) and at least one other aircraft structural element during assembly of the aircraft structural element into the aircraft structure (See NEUHAUS, e.g., “…information from sensors like load cells, structural health monitoring systems, strain or stress gauges, sensors for environmental conditions…The position-measurement system 4 may be, for example, a laser tracker or similar tracking interferometer, a photogrammetry system or any other measurement system suited for the use case at hand…determining reaction forces and/or moments of each gripped vehicle component 1 with force sensors 5 at the mounting points 7 in the assembly position 3…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008]-¶ [0013], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0045], ¶ [0055]-¶ [0063], and Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100, Figs. 2-4B elements 1-50, M1-M7) and the further aircraft structural element into the aircraft structure (See NEUHAUS, e.g., “…information from sensors like load cells, structural health monitoring systems, strain or stress gauges, sensors for environmental conditions…The position-measurement system 4 may be, for example, a laser tracker or similar tracking interferometer, a photogrammetry system or any other measurement system suited for the use case at hand…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008]-¶ [0013], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0045], ¶ [0055]-¶ [0063], and Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100, Figs. 2-4B elements 1-50, M1-M7).
Consider claims 7, 16:
The combination of NEUHAUS, Erickson teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 1, 15 above. In addition, NEUHAUS teaches wherein the sensor is located on an external surface of the aircraft structural element (See NEUHAUS, e.g., “…information from sensors like load cells, structural health monitoring systems, strain or stress gauges, sensors for environmental conditions…The position-measurement system 4 may be, for example, a laser tracker or similar tracking interferometer, a photogrammetry system or any other measurement system suited for the use case at hand…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008]-¶ [0013], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0045], ¶ [0055]-¶ [0063], and Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100, Figs. 2-4B elements 1-50, M1-M7).
Consider claim 8:
The combination of NEUHAUS, Erickson teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 7 above. Erickson teaches wherein the aircraft structural element comprises a recessed portion on the external surface, the recessed portion dimensioned to receive and retain the sensor in a position (See Erickson, e.g., the indexing feature includes an interfacing structure for interaction with the sensor (184). The interfacing structure is shown in Figure 18 as a series of raised portions forming a texture, of ¶ [0132]-¶ [0137], ¶ [0161]-¶ [0169], ¶ [0184], and Figs. 1, 11-13 elements 106-268). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the known indexing feature targets of Erickson to the components of Neuhaus in order to enable the measurement apparatus to perform locating and indexing operations.
Consider claim 9:
The combination of NEUHAUS, Erickson teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 1 above. In addition, NEUHAUS teaches wherein the sensor is located within the aircraft structural element (See NEUHAUS, e.g., “…information from sensors like load cells, structural health monitoring systems, strain or stress gauges, sensors for environmental conditions…The position-measurement system 4 may be, for example, a laser tracker or similar tracking interferometer, a photogrammetry system or any other measurement system suited for the use case at hand…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008]-¶ [0013], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0045], ¶ [0055]-¶ [0063], and Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100, Figs. 2-4B elements 1-50, M1-M7).
Consider claim 10:
The combination of NEUHAUS, Erickson teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 9 above. In addition, NEUHAUS teaches wherein the aircraft structural element is formed of a composite material (See NEUHAUS, e.g., “…The fuselage aft section is assembled from a multitude of smaller vehicle components 1, e.g. made of metal, metal alloy, and/or composite material like CFRP or similar, comprising two side shell portions (including window and door openings), a lower shell portion, an upper shell portion, a passenger floor, and a tapering tail section. The shell portions are circumferentially adjoined around the passenger floor to form a circumferential shell, which is then closed off in the aft direction with the tapering tail section…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008]-¶ [0013], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0045], ¶ [0055]-¶ [0063], and Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100, Figs. 2-4B elements 1-50, M1-M7) and the sensor is embedded between layers of the composite material (See NEUHAUS, e.g., “…information from sensors like load cells, structural health monitoring systems, strain or stress gauges, sensors for environmental conditions…The position-measurement system 4 may be, for example, a laser tracker or similar tracking interferometer, a photogrammetry system or any other measurement system suited for the use case at hand…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008]-¶ [0013], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0045], ¶ [0055]-¶ [0063], and Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100, Figs. 2-4B elements 1-50, M1-M7).
Consider claim 11:
The combination of NEUHAUS, Erickson teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 1 above. In addition, NEUHAUS teaches wherein the sensor is configured to output the signal indicative of the parameter upon a measured value of the parameter passing a predetermined threshold value of the parameter (See NEUHAUS, e.g., “…information from sensors like load cells, structural health monitoring systems, strain or stress gauges, sensors for environmental conditions…The position-measurement system 4 may be, for example, a laser tracker or similar tracking interferometer, a photogrammetry system or any other measurement system suited for the use case at hand…determining reaction forces and/or moments of each gripped vehicle component 1 with force sensors 5 at the mounting points 7 in the assembly position 3. The force sensors 5 may mounted on the positioner units 2 next to the mounting points 7 and may be coupled to the grippers or gripper arms. The force sensors 5 may comprise piezoelectric, hydraulic, pneumatic, or mechanical load cells or other suitable means that are able to provide a signal whose magnitude is proportional to the force or moment being measured…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008]-¶ [0013], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0045], ¶ [0055]-¶ [0063], and Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100, Figs. 2-4B elements 1-50, M1-M7) during assembly of the aircraft structural element into the aircraft structure (See NEUHAUS, e.g., “…information from sensors like load cells, structural health monitoring systems, strain or stress gauges, sensors for environmental conditions…The position-measurement system 4 may be, for example, a laser tracker or similar tracking interferometer, a photogrammetry system or any other measurement system suited for the use case at hand…determining reaction forces and/or moments of each gripped vehicle component 1 with force sensors 5 at the mounting points 7 in the assembly position 3…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008]-¶ [0013], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0045], ¶ [0055]-¶ [0063], and Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100, Figs. 2-4B elements 1-50, M1-M7).
Consider claim 12:
The combination of NEUHAUS, Erickson teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 1 above. In addition, NEUHAUS teaches wherein the sensor is configured to continuously output the signal indicative of the parameter during assembly of the aircraft structural element into the aircraft structure (See NEUHAUS, e.g., “…information from sensors like load cells, structural health monitoring systems, strain or stress gauges, sensors for environmental conditions…The position-measurement system 4 may be, for example, a laser tracker or similar tracking interferometer, a photogrammetry system or any other measurement system suited for the use case at hand…determining reaction forces and/or moments of each gripped vehicle component 1 with force sensors 5 at the mounting points 7 in the assembly position 3. The force sensors 5 may mounted on the positioner units 2 next to the mounting points 7 and may be coupled to the grippers or gripper arms. The force sensors 5 may comprise piezoelectric, hydraulic, pneumatic, or mechanical load cells or other suitable means that are able to provide a signal whose magnitude is proportional to the force or moment being measured…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008]-¶ [0013], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0045], ¶ [0055]-¶ [0063], and Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100, Figs. 2-4B elements 1-50, M1-M7).
Consider claim 13:
The combination of NEUHAUS, Erickson teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 1 above. In addition, NEUHAUS teaches wherein the sensor is housed in a sealed enclosure (See NEUHAUS, e.g., “…information from sensors like load cells, structural health monitoring systems, strain or stress gauges, sensors for environmental conditions…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008]-¶ [0013], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0045], ¶ [0055]-¶ [0063], and Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100, Figs. 2-4B elements 1-50, M1-M7).
Consider claim 14:
The combination of NEUHAUS, Erickson teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 1 above. In addition, NEUHAUS teaches comprising a transmitter configured to transmit the signal indicative of the parameter from the sensor, the transmitter comprising at least one of a wired and a wireless connection (See NEUHAUS, e.g., “…information from sensors like load cells, structural health monitoring systems, strain or stress gauges, sensors for environmental conditions…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008]-¶ [0013], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0045], ¶ [0055]-¶ [0063], and Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100, Figs. 2-4B elements 1-50, M1-M7).
Consider claim 15:
The combination of NEUHAUS, Erickson teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 1 above. In addition, NEUHAUS teaches wherein the sensor is a first sensor (See NEUHAUS, e.g., “…information from sensors like load cells, structural health monitoring systems, strain or stress gauges, sensors for environmental conditions…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008]-¶ [0013], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0045], ¶ [0055]-¶ [0063], and Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100, Figs. 2-4B elements 1-50, M1-M7), the parameter is a first parameter, and the signal is a first signal (See NEUHAUS, e.g., “…information from sensors like load cells, structural health monitoring systems, strain or stress gauges, sensors for environmental conditions…The position-measurement system 4 may be, for example, a laser tracker or similar tracking interferometer, a photogrammetry system or any other measurement system suited for the use case at hand…determining reaction forces and/or moments of each gripped vehicle component 1 with force sensors 5 at the mounting points 7 in the assembly position 3. The force sensors 5 may mounted on the positioner units 2 next to the mounting points 7 and may be coupled to the grippers or gripper arms. The force sensors 5 may comprise piezoelectric, hydraulic, pneumatic, or mechanical load cells or other suitable means that are able to provide a signal whose magnitude is proportional to the force or moment being measured…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008]-¶ [0013], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0045], ¶ [0055]-¶ [0063], and Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100, Figs. 2-4B elements 1-50, M1-M7); and the aircraft structural element comprises a second sensor configured to sense a second parameter during assembly of the aircraft structural element into the aircraft structure (See NEUHAUS, e.g., “…information from sensors like load cells, structural health monitoring systems, strain or stress gauges, sensors for environmental conditions…The position-measurement system 4 may be, for example, a laser tracker or similar tracking interferometer, a photogrammetry system or any other measurement system suited for the use case at hand…determining reaction forces and/or moments of each gripped vehicle component 1 with force sensors 5 at the mounting points 7 in the assembly position 3. The force sensors 5 may mounted on the positioner units 2 next to the mounting points 7 and may be coupled to the grippers or gripper arms. The force sensors 5 may comprise piezoelectric, hydraulic, pneumatic, or mechanical load cells or other suitable means that are able to provide a signal whose magnitude is proportional to the force or moment being measured…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008]-¶ [0013], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0045], ¶ [0055]-¶ [0063], and Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100, Figs. 2-4B elements 1-50, M1-M7) and output a second signal indicative of the second parameter during assembly of the aircraft structural element into the aircraft structure (See NEUHAUS, e.g., “…information from sensors like load cells, structural health monitoring systems, strain or stress gauges, sensors for environmental conditions…determining reaction forces and/or moments of each gripped vehicle component 1 with force sensors 5 at the mounting points 7 in the assembly position 3. The force sensors 5 may mounted on the positioner units 2 next to the mounting points 7 and may be coupled to the grippers or gripper arms. The force sensors 5 may comprise piezoelectric, hydraulic, pneumatic, or mechanical load cells or other suitable means that are able to provide a signal whose magnitude is proportional to the force or moment being measured…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008]-¶ [0013], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0045], ¶ [0055]-¶ [0063], and Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100, Figs. 2-4B elements 1-50, M1-M7).
Consider claim 18:
The combination of NEUHAUS, Erickson teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 1 above. In addition, NEUHAUS teaches wherein the aircraft structural element is an aircraft rib (See NEUHAUS, e.g., “…the assembly of a fuselage section… a fuselage aft section of a fuselage shell of the aircraft 100 in exploded view. The fuselage aft section is assembled from a multitude of smaller vehicle components 1, e.g. made of metal, metal alloy, and/or composite material like CFRP or similar, comprising two side shell portions (including window and door openings), a lower shell portion, an upper shell portion, a passenger floor, and a tapering tail section…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008]-¶ [0013], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0045], ¶ [0055]-¶ [0063], and Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100, Figs. 2-4B elements 1-50, M1-M7).
Consider claim 20:
The combination of NEUHAUS, Erickson teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 19 above. In addition, NEUHAUS teaches wherein the aircraft assembly system comprises a display (See NEUHAUS, e.g., “…a so-called cyber-physical production system, which is a production system composed of physical entities, i.e. a physical production system of vehicle components, positioner units and sensors and so on, controlled and monitored by a computer-based control system. Due to the data link between the physical entities and the computer system, advanced computer-based algorithms may be employed to control, regulate, steer, and/or optimize aspects of the assembly process. On top of this, the vehicle components themselves can provide status data acquired through their respective status sensors, which then may be taken into account during positioning of the components…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008]-¶ [0013], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0045], ¶ [0055]-¶ [0063], and Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100, Figs. 2-4B elements 1-50, M1-M7), and the assembly coordinator and the display are configured to output information indicative of the parameter to a user (See NEUHAUS, e.g., “…The neural network may be trained, for example, based on the input data of an assembly system controlled by a human operator. Alternatively or additionally, the neural network may be trained based on test runs on the basis of predefined vehicle components. Neural networks offer many advantages particularly for complex assembly systems, e.g. involving major aircraft components made of un-isotropic material, as empirical approaches may be employed to determine an appropriate behavioral model…a so-called cyber-physical production system, which is a production system composed of physical entities, i.e. a physical production system of vehicle components, positioner units and sensors and so on, controlled and monitored by a computer-based control system. Due to the data link between the physical entities and the computer system, advanced computer-based algorithms may be employed to control, regulate, steer, and/or optimize aspects of the assembly process. On top of this, the vehicle components themselves can provide status data acquired through their respective status sensors, which then may be considered during positioning of the components…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008]-¶ [0013], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0045], ¶ [0055]-¶ [0063], and Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100, Figs. 2-4B elements 1-50, M1-M7).
Consider claim 21:
The combination of NEUHAUS, Erickson teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 19 above. In addition, NEUHAUS teaches wherein the aircraft assembly system comprises a manufacturing tool, the assembly coordinator and manufacturing tool (See NEUHAUS, e.g., “…The components of the production system 50 may further interact with “smart tools”, like for example assembly robots for painting, drilling or the like, such that these are included actively in a self-optimizing multi-agent based control system, wherein the smart tools consider relevant feedback from the vehicle components 1 and the embedded sensors…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008]-¶ [0013], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0045], ¶ [0055]-¶ [0063], and Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100, Figs. 2-4B elements 1-50, M1-M7) configured to perform a step of assembly of the aircraft structure based on the received signal indicative of the parameter from the sensor (See NEUHAUS, e.g., “…The components of the production system 50 may further interact with “smart tools”, like for example assembly robots for painting, drilling or the like, such that these are included actively in a self-optimizing multi-agent based control system, wherein the smart tools consider relevant feedback from the vehicle components 1 and the embedded sensors…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008]-¶ [0013], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0045], ¶ [0055]-¶ [0063], and Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100, Figs. 2-4B elements 1-50, M1-M7).
Consider claim 22:
The combination of NEUHAUS, Erickson teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 21 above. In addition, NEUHAUS teaches wherein the step of assembly is moving the aircraft structural element by reorientation or translation (See NEUHAUS, e.g., “…information from sensors like load cells, structural health monitoring systems, strain or stress gauges, sensors for environmental conditions…The position-measurement system 4 may be, for example, a laser tracker or similar tracking interferometer, a photogrammetry system or any other measurement system suited for the use case at hand…determining reaction forces and/or moments of each gripped vehicle component 1 with force sensors 5 at the mounting points 7 in the assembly position 3. The force sensors 5 may mounted on the positioner units 2 next to the mounting points 7 and may be coupled to the grippers or gripper arms. The force sensors 5 may comprise piezoelectric, hydraulic, pneumatic, or mechanical load cells or other suitable means that are able to provide a signal whose magnitude is proportional to the force or moment being measured…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008]-¶ [0013], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0045], ¶ [0055]-¶ [0063], and Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100, Figs. 2-4B elements 1-50, M1-M7).
Consider claim 24:
The combination of NEUHAUS, Erickson teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 23 above. In addition, NEUHAUS teaches wherein the sensed parameter is indicative of contact with a further aircraft structural element for attaching to the aircraft structural element during assembly (See NEUHAUS, e.g., “…information from sensors like load cells, structural health monitoring systems, strain or stress gauges, sensors for environmental conditions…The position-measurement system 4 may be, for example, a laser tracker or similar tracking interferometer, a photogrammetry system or any other measurement system suited for the use case at hand…determining reaction forces and/or moments of each gripped vehicle component 1 with force sensors 5 at the mounting points 7 in the assembly position 3. The force sensors 5 may mounted on the positioner units 2 next to the mounting points 7 and may be coupled to the grippers or gripper arms. The force sensors 5 may comprise piezoelectric, hydraulic, pneumatic, or mechanical load cells or other suitable means that are able to provide a signal whose magnitude is proportional to the force or moment being measured…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008]-¶ [0013], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0045], ¶ [0055]-¶ [0063], and Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100, Figs. 2-4B elements 1-50, M1-M7), and wherein the step of assembly comprises reorienting or translating the further aircraft structural element until the signal received from the sensor indicates contact between the aircraft structural element and the further aircraft structural element (See NEUHAUS, e.g., “…information from sensors like load cells, structural health monitoring systems, strain or stress gauges, sensors for environmental conditions…The position-measurement system 4 may be, for example, a laser tracker or similar tracking interferometer, a photogrammetry system or any other measurement system suited for the use case at hand…determining reaction forces and/or moments of each gripped vehicle component 1 with force sensors 5 at the mounting points 7 in the assembly position 3. The force sensors 5 may mounted on the positioner units 2 next to the mounting points 7 and may be coupled to the grippers or gripper arms. The force sensors 5 may comprise piezoelectric, hydraulic, pneumatic, or mechanical load cells or other suitable means that are able to provide a signal whose magnitude is proportional to the force or moment being measured…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008]-¶ [0013], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0045], ¶ [0055]-¶ [0063], and Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100, Figs. 2-4B elements 1-50, M1-M7).
Consider claim 25:
The combination of NEUHAUS, Erickson teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 24 above. In addition, NEUHAUS teaches wherein the sensed parameter is indicative of a strain experienced by the aircraft structural element during assembly of the aircraft structural element into the aircraft structure (See NEUHAUS, e.g., “…information from sensors like load cells, structural health monitoring systems, strain or stress gauges, sensors for environmental conditions…The position-measurement system 4 may be, for example, a laser tracker or similar tracking interferometer, a photogrammetry system or any other measurement system suited for the use case at hand…determining reaction forces and/or moments of each gripped vehicle component 1 with force sensors 5 at the mounting points 7 in the assembly position 3. The force sensors 5 may mounted on the positioner units 2 next to the mounting points 7 and may be coupled to the grippers or gripper arms. The force sensors 5 may comprise piezoelectric, hydraulic, pneumatic, or mechanical load cells or other suitable means that are able to provide a signal whose magnitude is proportional to the force or moment being measured…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008]-¶ [0013], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0045], ¶ [0055]-¶ [0063], and Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100, Figs. 2-4B elements 1-50, M1-M7), and wherein performing a step of assembly comprises reorienting or translating the aircraft structural element to keep the strain indicated by the sensed parameter below a threshold value (See NEUHAUS, e.g., “…information from sensors like load cells, structural health monitoring systems, strain or stress gauges, sensors for environmental conditions…The position-measurement system 4 may be, for example, a laser tracker or similar tracking interferometer, a photogrammetry system or any other measurement system suited for the use case at hand…determining reaction forces and/or moments of each gripped vehicle component 1 with force sensors 5 at the mounting points 7 in the assembly position 3. The force sensors 5 may mounted on the positioner units 2 next to the mounting points 7 and may be coupled to the grippers or gripper arms. The force sensors 5 may comprise piezoelectric, hydraulic, pneumatic, or mechanical load cells or other suitable means that are able to provide a signal whose magnitude is proportional to the force or moment being measured…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008]-¶ [0013], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0045], ¶ [0055]-¶ [0063], and Figs. 1A-B elements 1-100, Figs. 2-4B elements 1-50, M1-M7).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
NEUHAUS et al. (US Pub. No.: 2019/0217475 A1) teaches “A production system for automated assembly of vehicle components, in particular for automated assembly of structural components of an aircraft or spacecraft. The production system includes vehicle components with status sensors that can determine status data of the respective vehicle component, positioner units to grip the respectively associated vehicle component at mounting points and move the respectively associated vehicle component into an assembly position, a position-measurement system to determine the assembly position of each vehicle component, force sensors to determine at least one of reaction forces and moments of each gripped vehicle component at the mounting points in the assembly position, and a computer-based control system in data communication with the vehicle components, the positioner units, the position-measurement system and the force sensors, and configured to control the positioner units based on determined status data, the determined assembly positions and the determined reaction forces and moments of the vehicle components.”
Bry et al. (US Pub. No.: 2016/0340016 A1) teaches “A method for measuring the position of a mobile structure in a set of reference axes, the structure comprising a plurality of intrinsic recurrent structural elements, comprising the following steps undertaken by a processor. Acquiring simultaneous images of the structure from a plurality of optical devices, each recurrent element being in a field of view of at least three separate optical devices. Extracting the recurrent elements from each image and determining their position in the image. Computing at least one indicator for each recurrent element detected in each image. Identifying each recurrent element by associating a unique identifier with each element, the identifier being related to the position of each optical device in the set of reference axes, and to at least one indicator associated with each element in each image. Determining the position, by implementing a photogrammetric algorithm, of each recurrent element in the set of reference axes.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BABAR SARWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667