DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is in response to Application #19/175,505 and response filed on 12 May 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2, 4-17, 19-25, 27-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 2021/0293510 to Rosen et al (Rosen).
Regarding Claim 2, Rosen discloses a pistol sight (fig.2) comprising:
a base and mount structure (fig.2),
a sighting portion including a post (see fig.3),
a laterally protruding forward ridge extending upward on and along the post at a front side of the post (see marked fig.1 below),
a laterally protruding rear ridge including a forward facing shoulder arranged to be engaged by a finger of a user to grip the pistol sight to rack the slide of the pistol (see marked fig.1 below),
the rear ridge including an upper segment and a lower segment, a lower end of the upper segment being connected to an upper end of the lower segment, the upper segment of the rear ridge extending upward from the upper end of the lower segment on and along the post at a rear side of the post (see marked fig.1 below),
the lower segment of the rear ridge extending downward from the lower end of the upper segment on and along the base (see marked fig.1 below), and
a laterally protruding upper ridge extending on and along the post (see marked fig.1 below).
Regarding Claim 4, see fig.4 for first and second posts 208 and cross member 209.
Regarding Claims 9-15, see marked fig.1 below.
Regarding Claims 16-17, see fig.5, 220 as bound area, see middle triangle as having three sides, each side is considered a rib.
Regarding Claim 19, see marked fig.1 below.
Regarding Claim 20, at least a portion of the forward facing shoulder of the rear ridge is formed by the upper segment of the rear ridge (see marked fig.1 below).
Regarding Claims 21-22, see marked fig.1 below.
Regarding Claim 23, see figs. 3 and 5 for matching ridges for each side of the sight, and see rejection of claim 2 above.
Regarding Claims 24-25, see marked fig.1 below; see fig.5, 220 as bound area, see middle triangle as having three sides, each side is considered a rib.
Regarding Claims 27-32, see marked fig.1 below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-8, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2021/0293510 to Rosen et al (Rosen) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2022/0170718 to Reese et al (Reese).
Regarding Claims 5, 26, Rosen discloses claim 2 but fails to specifically disclose the base having an upstanding ridge having a forward facing shoulder arranged to be engaged by a finger of a user to grip the pistol sight to rack the slide of the pistol.
However, Reese teaches a similar sight with multiple forward facing shoulders to aid in a user gripping (174, 156), with upstanding ridge 156 located on the base. It would have been an obvious engineering design choice to add the base ridge of Reese to the base of Rosen for the purpose of adding an additional textured surface as well as providing a rearward base surface extending laterally outward as far as the ridges on the post for overall continuity of outer surface between the base and post.
Regarding Claims 6-8, the combination of Rosen and Reese disclose the limitations of claims 6-8, see Rosen fig.3.
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2021/0293510 to Rosen et al (Rosen) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2021/0207928 to Brewer et al (Brewer).
Regarding Claim 18, Rosen is silent as to the materials used and fails to disclose the gripping area comprises elastomeric material.
However, Brewer teaches a laterally extending structure on the side post of a similar sight made of a rubber material (at least paragraph 34). Further, Rosen discloses the area 220 is for buttons or controls (at least paragraph 41), and it is old and well-known in the art to use elastomeric materials over buttons for the elasticity and protection from the elements. It would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill to create the structure 220 as a whole from an elastomeric material as is known in the art, and as is taught by Brewer for added shock protection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached PTO-892 for pertinent art.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN COOPER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641