DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 26,28,40,45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maynard et al. PGPub 2005/0095094.
Maynard discloses, regarding claim 26, A robotic material handling system comprising:
a vehicle (10) with transport wheels (24) rotatably mounted thereon, the vehicle comprising a material handler (12; see at least fig.44,45) with a tilt tray (14) having a first section configured for tilting at a first angle relative to a vertical of the vehicle to deposit a first article carried on the first section, and a second section configured for tilting in a second angle different from the first angle relative to the vertical of the vehicle to deposit a second article carried on the second section (see at least fig.4,9,13 and ¶0103).
Regarding claim 28, further comprising a controller (11) configured to direct the vehicle to autonomously deliver the first article and the second article to a destination container (see at least ¶0097,0099).
Regarding claim 40, wherein the first section of the tilt tray deposits the first article in a first destination container; and, the second section of the tilt tray deposits the second article in one of: the first destination container, and a second destination container (see at least fig.4,9,13, ¶0103).
Regarding claim 45, wherein the first section of the tilt tray and the second section of the tilt tray are further configured to tilt in a same direction relative to the vertical of the vehicle (in the direction towards destination containers 21; see fig.4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 38,39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maynard et al. PGPub 2005/0095094 in view of Forrest PGPub 2003/0121760.
Maynard discloses substantially all the limitations of the claims (see ¶ above), but does not expressly disclose the limitations of claims 38,39.
Forrest teaches [regarding claim 38] wherein the first section of the tilt tray is set at the first angle for depositing the first article (“predetermined operating angle” disclosed in ¶0031, fig.1,4), and [regarding claim 39] wherein the second section of the tilt tray is set at the first angle for depositing the second article (“predetermined operating angle” disclosed in ¶0031, fig.1,4).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to set the first section of the tilt tray is at the first angle for depositing the first article, set the second section of the tilt tray is at the first angle for depositing the second article, as taught by Forrest, in the device of Maynard, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of evenly distributing the load in different directions (see at least Abstract).
6. Claims 27,32-34,36,41-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maynard et al. PGPub 2005/0095094 in view of Kappelgaard et a. USP 7,212,884.
Maynard discloses substantially all the limitations of the claims (see ¶4 above), but does not expressly disclose the limitations of claims 27,32-34,36,41-43.
Kappelgaard teaches [regarding claim 27] the controller configured to send instructions to the material handler to adjust a delivery parameter of the first article [regarding claim 42] wherein adjusting the delivery parameter comprises adjusting one or more of a: tilt speed, tilt angle, acceleration of tilt, and travel speed of the article according to a characteristic of the article, [regarding claim 41] and travel speed of an article moving down either of the first and second section of the tilt tray, [regarding claim 36] wherein the controller is further configured to adjust the delivery parameter by adjusting a motion parameter of a tilt tray section, and [regarding claim 43] wherein the characteristic of the article comprises: a weight, a volume, or a specific handling requirement of an article (C4/L58-64).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure the controller to send instructions to the material handler to adjust a delivery parameter of the first article, wherein adjusting the delivery parameter comprises adjusting one or more of a: tilt speed, tilt angle, acceleration of tilt, and travel speed of the article according to a characteristic of the article, wherein the controller is further configured to adjust the delivery parameter by adjusting a motion parameter of a tilt tray section, and wherein the characteristic of the article comprises: a weight, a volume, or a specific handling requirement of an article, as taught by Kappelgaard, in the device of Maynard, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of handling an article in accordance with article properties so as to prevent damage (C4/L61-64).
Kappelgaard further teaches [regarding claim 32] wherein at least one of the first section and second section of the tilt tray comprises a conveyor that moves relative to a plate portion of the tilt tray section (C4/L6-15), [regarding claim 33] further comprising a controller configured to adjust the delivery parameter by adjusting a speed of a moving belt of the conveyor according to product specifications of an article moved by the conveyor (C4/L58-60), [regarding claim 34] wherein a travel speed of an article moving down the first section or the second section of the tilt tray is controlled by adjusting a speed of the conveyor (C4/L58-60).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have at least one of the first section and second section of the tilt tray comprises a conveyor that moves relative to a plate portion of the tilt tray section, further comprising a controller configured to adjust the delivery parameter by adjusting a speed of a moving belt of the conveyor according to product specifications of an article moved by the conveyor, wherein a travel speed of an article moving down the first section or the second section of the tilt tray is controlled by adjusting a speed of the conveyor, as taught by Kappelgaard, in the device of Maynard, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of facilitating easier handling and distribution of articles.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 29-31,35,37,44 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/LESLIE A NICHOLSON III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653 2/5/2026