DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-8, 10, 11, 15-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230036167 A1 YUSUF; Muhammad Ziauddin et al. (hereinafter YUSUF) in view of US 20240184923 A1 Lindsay; Walter Hughes (hereinafter Lindsay).
1. A method, comprising: (fig. 1)
receiving, from a customer, a customer request via a communication channel; (as in 0121 customer requests)
displaying in a customer support user interface the customer request; (an interface for the support agent as in fig. 7-9a and 0114 with the option to view, edit, and consider proposals… received from customer as in 0121 customer requests)
processing the customer request with a machine learning model; (utilizing a learning model, an interface for the support agent as in fig. 7-9a and 0114 with the option to view, edit, and consider proposals… received from customer as in 0121 customer requests)
determining:
entity type data corresponding to the at least one text entity within the customer request; (an entity type e.g. name, business, restaurant, etc., using a coding structure e.g. XML 0067, with personal user information and possible example of redaction as in fig. 7, and considering the syntax or location such as to parse and obtain key elements for action 0004 0090, an interface for the support agent as in fig. 7-9a and 0114 with the option to view, edit, and consider proposals… received from customer as in 0121 customer requests)
modifying the at least one text entity within the customer request displayed in the customer support user interface… (agent can alter responses in the GUI, an entity type e.g. name, business, restaurant, etc. and considering the syntax or location such as to parse and obtain key elements for action 0004 0090, an interface for the support agent as in fig. 7-9a and 0114 with the option to view, edit, and consider proposals… received from customer as in 0121 customer requests)
displaying in an entity modification user interface element in the customer support user interface: (agent can alter responses in the GUI, an entity type e.g. name, business, restaurant, etc. and considering the syntax or location such as to parse and obtain key elements for action 0004 0090, an interface for the support agent as in fig. 7-9a and 0114 with the option to view, edit, and consider proposals… received from customer as in 0121 customer requests)
a type of the at least one text entity based on the determined entity type data; and (an entity type e.g. name, business, restaurant, etc. and considering the syntax or location such as to parse and obtain key elements for action 0004 0090, an interface for the support agent as in fig. 7-9a and 0114 with the option to view, edit, and consider proposals… received from customer as in 0121 customer requests)
one or more user interface elements each configured to implement a corresponding action. (agent will execute the request such as book a reservation etc., and can alter responses in the GUI, an entity type e.g. name, business, restaurant, etc. and considering the syntax or location such as to parse and obtain key elements for action 0004 0090, an interface for the support agent as in fig. 7-9a and 0114 with the option to view, edit, and consider proposals… received from customer as in 0121 customer requests)
However, while YUSUF teaches syntactic analysis, which implies the location of terms in a sentence are parsed or analyzed in some capacity, obtaining user personal information, XML schemes with nodes, and editing including removal per se of data by the agent, it does not consider position with specificity per se as it relates XML, and fails to teach:
position data related to at least one text entity within the customer request; and (Lindsay an Xpath to determine the location in a set of data and redaction for specific data)
…based on the determined position data related to the at least one text entity; and (Lindsay an Xpath to determine the location in a set of data and redaction for specific data)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of YUSUF to incorporate the above claim limitations as taught by Lindsay to allow for use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way such as using the existing XML nodal scheme in a chat environment as in YUSUF while applying the xpath concept of Lindsay to improve the combination to target data based on metadata attributes where someone can write an expression to locate and redact text only if the message sender attribute is a customer, while leaving agent notes untouched, wherein the concept maintains privacy while reducing processing time by ignoring irrelevant parts, including operations seamlessly across not only XML, but areas like XHTML, and modern JSON-converted trees.
Re claim 11, this claim has been rejected for teaching a broader, or narrower claim based on general inclusion of hardware alone (e.g. processor, memory, instructions), representation of claim 1 omitting/including hardware for instance, otherwise amounting to a virtually identical scope
For instance, see fig. 1 which contains the hardware/software.
Re claims 5 and 15, while YUSUF teaches syntactic analysis, which implies the location of terms in a sentence are parsed or analyzed in some capacity, obtaining user personal information, XML schemes with nodes, and editing including removal per se of data by the agent, it does not consider position with specificity per se as it relates XML, and fails to teach:
5. The method of Claim 1, wherein at least one user interface element of the one or more user interface elements is configured to redact the at least one text entity within the customer request, wherein to redact the at least one text entity comprises: to replace one or more characters included in the at least one text entity with one or more redact characters. (Lindsay an Xpath to determine the location in a set of data and redaction for specific data)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of YUSUF to incorporate the above claim limitations as taught by Lindsay to allow for use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way such as using the existing XML nodal scheme in a chat environment as in YUSUF while applying the xpath concept of Lindsay to improve the combination to target data based on metadata attributes where someone can write an expression to locate and redact text only if the message sender attribute is a customer, while leaving agent notes untouched, wherein the concept maintains privacy while reducing processing time by ignoring irrelevant parts, including operations seamlessly across not only XML, but areas like XHTML, and modern JSON-converted trees.
Re claims 6 and 16, YUSUF teaches
6. The method of Claim 1, wherein at least one user interface element of the one or more user interface elements is configured to display an editor user interface element for editing the at least one text entity within the customer request (agent GUI editor, considers an entity type e.g. name, business, restaurant, etc., using a coding structure e.g. XML 0067, with personal user information 0113 and possible example of redaction as in fig. 7, and considering the syntax or location such as to parse and obtain key elements for action 0004 0090, an interface for the support agent as in fig. 7-9a and 0114 with the option to view, edit, and consider proposals… received from customer as in 0121 customer requests, in a learning model scope 0070)
Re claims 7 and 17, YUSUF teaches
7. The method of Claim 1, wherein at least one user interface element of the one or more user interface elements is configured to implement no action on the at least one text entity within the customer request. (agent can simply do nothing or pass to another agent if he cannot fulfill the customers request, detects fraud, spam, etc. an entity type e.g. name, business, restaurant, etc., using a coding structure e.g. XML 0067, with personal user information 0113 and possible example of redaction as in fig. 7, and considering the syntax or location such as to parse and obtain key elements for action 0004 0090, an interface for the support agent as in fig. 7-9a and 0114 with the option to view, edit, and consider proposals… received from customer as in 0121 customer requests, in a learning model scope 0070)
Re claims 8 and 18, YUSUF teaches
8. The method of Claim 1, wherein the at least one text entity within the customer request comprises personal identifiable information (PII). (data can contain PII even a name of a person and other data as in 0103, an entity type e.g. name, business, restaurant, etc., using a coding structure e.g. XML 0067, with personal user information 0113 and possible example of redaction as in fig. 7, and considering the syntax or location such as to parse and obtain key elements for action 0004 0090, an interface for the support agent as in fig. 7-9a and 0114 with the option to view, edit, and consider proposals… received from customer as in 0121 customer requests, in a learning model scope 0070)
Re claims 10 and 20, YUSUF teaches
10. The method of Claim 1, further comprising determining an offset data related to the position data based on one or more encoding schemes supported for displaying in the customer support user interface the customer request. (using a coding structure e.g. XML 0067, an entity type e.g. name, business, restaurant, etc., using the coding structure e.g. XML 0067, with personal user information 0113 and possible example of redaction as in fig. 7, and considering the syntax or location such as to parse and obtain key elements for action 0004 0090, an interface for the support agent as in fig. 7-9a and 0114 with the option to view, edit, and consider proposals… received from customer as in 0121 customer requests, in a learning model scope 0070)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 9, 12-14, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. After searching through patent and non-patent literature, there was no evidence that there exists a limitation in direct relation or an obvious variant to such limitations as a whole as precisely limited. When searching for a secondary prior art for the limitation as recited in the above claims, the most relevant topics pertained to material from the same Inventor and Assignee but did not teach or suggest the aforementioned complex limitations as a whole as precisely limited.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 11070671 B1 Gozzo; Michael et al.
Customer service action response
/MICHAEL COLUCCI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2655 (571)-270-1847
Examiner FAX: (571)-270-2847
Michael.Colucci@uspto.gov