DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
This Action is Non-Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an Abstract Idea without significantly more. The claims recite a method, device and medium for generating/determining a risk indicator based on weighted risk data. The generating/determining limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than recited "processor" or “medium” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, a person could manually lookup and determine a risk indicator that can be used to control access to an entity. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the "Mental Processes" grouping of abstract ideas. The dependent claims only provide additional details towards the this generation without additional elements or with the generically claimed machine-learning. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of using a processor and medium with instructions to perform the steps. The devices performing the steps are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of identify information based on user input) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a device to perform the steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The additional steps of receiving and retrieving amount to an extra-solution activity and does not add significantly more than the Abstract Idea. Therefore the claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-10, 12, 15, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Batchelor et al. (US 20250358291).
As per claims 1, 8, and 15 Batchelor et al. discloses a method, medium, and system comprising: a processor; and a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that are executable by the processor for causing the processor to perform operations comprising (see paragraph [0119]):
receiving a request for a risk indicator associated with a target entity, the request comprising a set of elements associated with an identity of the target entity, and each element of the set of elements associated with one or more risk attributes; for each data source in a set of data sources: retrieving identity data associated with the target entity based on the identity of the target entity; and generating, based on the identity data and one or more attribute weights determinable for a set of attribute values for the one or more risk attributes, a set of element risk scores associated with each element of the set of elements to create a data source-level element risk score for each data source (see paragraphs [0067]-[0071]);
for each element in the set of elements, determining an aggregate element risk score by combining the data source-level element risk scores for the set of data sources, the aggregate element risk score based at least in part on a first set of data source weights associated with each respective data source (see paragraphs [0067]-[0070] and [0072]-[0073]);
determining the risk indicator by combining the aggregate element risk scores of the set of elements based on a first set of element weights, each element weight of the first set of element weights associated with each respective element of the set of elements (see paragraphs [0067]-[0070] and [0074]-[0078]); and
transmitting, to a remote computing device, a responsive message comprising at least the risk indicator usable to control access of the target entity to one or more interactive computing environments (see paragraph [0065]).
As per claims 2, 9, and 16 Batchelor et al. discloses the operation of generating a data source-level element risk score for an element comprises: generating the set of attribute values for the one or more risk attributes associated with the element based on the identity data; determining, for each of the one or more risk attributes associated with the element, an attribute weight that is included in the one or more attribute weights; and based on the determination, generating the data source-level element risk score by combining the set of attribute values based on the attribute weight associated with each of the one or more risk attributes associated with the element (see paragraphs [0071]-[0073] and [0079]-[0081]).
As per claims 3 and 10, Batchelor et al. discloses each aggregate element risk score represents a risk associated with the respective element based on the identity data (see paragraphs [0071]-[0073]).
As per claims 5, 12, and 18, Batchelor et al. discloses normalizing each aggregated element risk score based on a number of data sources in the set of data sources and a number of types of data sources in the set of data sources (see paragraph [0076]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6, 7, 11, 13, 14, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batchelor et al. as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15 above, in view of Venkatasubramaniam et al. (US 20220245691).
As per claims 4, 6, 7, 11, 13, 14, 17, 19, and 20, Batchelor et al. discloses each element weight of the first set of element weights is determinable based on an amount that each element contributes to a change the first set of element weights comprises a subset of weights associated with the identity of the target entity, and wherein each weight of the subset of weights associated with the identity of the target entity is determinable based on an amount that the identity contributes the risk indicator, and the use of multiple scores and indicators to determine the responsive message (see paragraphs [0067]-[0081]] but fails to explicitly disclose the use of machine-learning as part of the weight determination and the use of a trust score.
However Venkatasubramaniam et al. teaches the use of machine-learning as part of the weight determination and the use of a trust score as part of a risk assessment (see paragraph [0064]).
At a time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the machine-learning and trust indicator of Venkatasubramaniam et al. in the Batchelor et al. system.
Motivation, as recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, to do so would have been to allow for automated changes to the weights and to use both risk and trust as part of the determination thereby increasing the accuracy of the determination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: the remaining references put forth on the PTO-892 form are directed towards risk assessments.
/Michael Pyzocha/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409