DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
In response to communications filed on 08 May 2026, claims 1-20 are presently pending in the application, of which claims 1, 10 and 18 are presented in independent form. The Examiner acknowledges amended claims 1-6, 8-15, and 17-20. No claims were cancelled or newly added.
Priority
The Examiner acknowledges the instant application claims priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) to U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/632,203, filed 10 April 2024, and has been accorded the earliest effective file date.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
All objections and/or rejections issued in the previous Office Action, mailed 11 March 2026, have been withdrawn, unless otherwise noted in this Office Action.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-12, filed supra, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Traynham, Matthew, et al (U.S. 2024/0184797 and known hereinafter as Traynham).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Greystroke, Alex, et al (U.S. 2015/0012467 and known hereinafter as Greystroke) in view of Traynham, Matthew, et al (U.S. 2024/0184797 and known hereinafter as Traynham)(newly presented).
As per claim 1, Greystroke teaches a computer-implemented method, performed by at least one processor, for search expansion on a platform, the method comprising:
receiving, at a client device, a query input by a user of the platform (e.g. Greystroke, see paragraphs [0111, 0153, 0180], which discloses a client device search interaction by a user of a query expansion searching platform.);
generating, based on executing a search using the query, a search result including one or more listings (e.g. Greystroke, see paragraphs [0086-0089, 0246-0251, 0305-0310], which discloses generating search result listing sets.);
determining a plurality of modified queries by flexing a different search parameter for each of the plurality of modified queries based on attributes of the query, available listings from the search result, and a user profile (e.g. Greystroke, see paragraphs [0089-0091, 0129-0131, 0207, 0263-0264], which discloses modified search revision updates based on the query attributed parameters/terms, result and a persona profile.);
generating, based on the plurality of modified queries, recommendation results including one or more recommended listings (e.g. Greystroke, see paragraphs [0228-0230, 0246-0250], which discloses recommendation result including one or more recommended listings.).
Greystroke does not explicitly disclose displaying, at the client device, the search results in a search results page user interface (UI); and displaying the recommendation results as interactive carousels within the one or more listings from the search results on the search results page UI, wherein a position of the interactive carousels relative to at least one listing is selected based on a relevance of the recommendation results to the user profile and the search.
Traynham teaches displaying, at the client device, the search results in a search results page user interface (UI) (e.g. Traynham, see paragraphs [0005-0008], which discloses generating an additionally query based on the given query, where the modified query result includes recommended for you carousel that includes recommended results from the given query, as further disclosed in paragraphs [0028-0029].); and
displaying the recommendation results as interactive carousels within the one or more listings from the search results on the search results page UI (e.g. Traynham, see paragraphs [0005-0008, 0027-0030], which discloses one or more carousels, which includes recommended for you, where the carousels in the carousels listings may be filtered so that a selection of a proper carousel can be received.), wherein a position of the interactive carousels relative to at least one listing is selected based on a relevance of the recommendation results to the user profile and the search (e.g. Traynham, see paragraphs [0028-0032], which discloses a carousel order area that positions the carousels based on user preference and relevant to the user’s interest.).
Greystroke is directed to computer-aided decision systems. Traynham is directed to creating query results displays. Both are analogous art because they are directed to query recommendation and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the teachings of Greystroke with the teachings of Traynham to include the claimed features with the motivation to providing refined search recommendations.
As per claim 10, Greystroke teaches a system for search expansion on a platform, the system comprising:
one or more processors (e.g. Greystroke, see paragraph [0231], which discloses computer systems may include one or more processors.); and
a memory storing instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors (e.g. Greystroke, see paragraph [0231], which discloses computer systems may include one or more memories coupled to the one or more processors.), cause the system to:
receiving, at a client device, a query input by a user of the platform (e.g. Greystroke, see paragraphs [0111, 0153, 0180], which discloses a client device search interaction by a user of a query expansion searching platform.);
generating, based on executing a search using the query, a search result including one or more listings (e.g. Greystroke, see paragraphs [0086-0089, 0246-0251, 0305-0310], which discloses generating search result listing sets.);
determining a plurality of modified queries by flexing a different search parameter for each of the plurality of modified queries based on attributes of the query, available listings from the search result, and a user profile (e.g. Greystroke, see paragraphs [0089-0091, 0129-0131, 0207, 0263-0264], which discloses modified search revision updates based on the query attributed parameters/terms, result and a persona profile.);
generating, based on the plurality of modified queries, recommendation results including one or more recommended listings (e.g. Greystroke, see paragraphs [0228-0230, 0246-0250], which discloses recommendation result including one or more recommended listings.).
Greystroke does not explicitly disclose displaying, at the client device, the search results in a search results page user interface (UI); and displaying the recommendation results as interactive carousels within the one or more listings from the search results on the search results page UI, wherein a position of the interactive carousels relative to at least one listing is selected based on a relevance of the recommendation results to the user profile and the search.
Traynham teaches displaying, at the client device, the search results in a search results page user interface (UI) (e.g. Traynham, see paragraphs [0005-0008], which discloses generating an additionally query based on the given query, where the modified query result includes recommended for you carousel that includes recommended results from the given query, as further disclosed in paragraphs [0028-0029].); and
displaying the recommendation results as interactive carousels within the one or more listings from the search results on the search results page UI (e.g. Traynham, see paragraphs [0005-0008, 0027-0030], which discloses one or more carousels, which includes recommended for you, where the carousels in the carousels listings may be filtered so that a selection of a proper carousel can be received.), wherein a position of the interactive carousels relative to at least one listing is selected based on a relevance of the recommendation results to the user profile and the search (e.g. Traynham, see paragraphs [0028-0032], which discloses a carousel order area that positions the carousels based on user preference and relevant to the user’s interest.).
Greystroke is directed to computer-aided decision systems. Traynham is directed to creating query results displays. Both are analogous art because they are directed to query recommendation and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the teachings of Greystroke with the teachings of Traynham to include the claimed features with the motivation to providing refined search recommendations.
As per claim 18, Greystroke teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a program for implementing search expansion on a platform, which when executed by a computer, configures the computer to:
receiving, at a client device, a query input by a user of the platform (e.g. Greystroke, see paragraphs [0111, 0153, 0180], which discloses a client device search interaction by a user of a query expansion searching platform.);
generating, based on executing a search using the query, a search result including one or more listings (e.g. Greystroke, see paragraphs [0086-0089, 0246-0251, 0305-0310], which discloses generating search result listing sets.);
determining a plurality of modified queries by flexing a different search parameter for each of the plurality of modified queries based on attributes of the query, available listings from the search result, and a user profile (e.g. Greystroke, see paragraphs [0089-0091, 0129-0131, 0207, 0263-0264], which discloses modified search revision updates based on the query attributed parameters/terms, result and a persona profile.);
generating, based on the plurality of modified queries, recommendation results including one or more recommended listings (e.g. Greystroke, see paragraphs [0228-0230, 0246-0250], which discloses recommendation result including one or more recommended listings.).
Greystroke does not explicitly disclose displaying, at the client device, the search results in a search results page user interface (UI); and displaying the recommendation results as interactive carousels within the one or more listings from the search results on the search results page UI, wherein a position of the interactive carousels relative to at least one listing is selected based on a relevance of the recommendation results to the user profile and the search.
Traynham teaches displaying, at the client device, the search results in a search results page user interface (UI) (e.g. Traynham, see paragraphs [0005-0008], which discloses generating an additionally query based on the given query, where the modified query result includes recommended for you carousel that includes recommended results from the given query, as further disclosed in paragraphs [0028-0029].); and
displaying the recommendation results as interactive carousels within the one or more listings from the search results on the search results page UI (e.g. Traynham, see paragraphs [0005-0008, 0027-0030], which discloses one or more carousels, which includes recommended for you, where the carousels in the carousels listings may be filtered so that a selection of a proper carousel can be received.), wherein a position of the interactive carousels relative to at least one listing is selected based on a relevance of the recommendation results to the user profile and the search (e.g. Traynham, see paragraphs [0028-0032], which discloses a carousel order area that positions the carousels based on user preference and relevant to the user’s interest.).
Greystroke is directed to computer-aided decision systems. Traynham is directed to creating query results displays. Both are analogous art because they are directed to query recommendation and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the teachings of Greystroke with the teachings of Traynham to include the claimed features with the motivation to providing refined search recommendations.
As per claims 2 and 11, the modified teachings of Greystroke and Traynham teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1 and the system of claim 10, respectively, wherein determining the plurality of modified queries further comprises flexing at least one parameter of the query (e.g. Greystroke, see paragraphs [0247-0248, 0264, 0302-0305], which discloses search parameter variety changing.).
As per claims 3, 12, and 19, the modified teachings of Greystroke and Traynham teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, the system of claim 10, and the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 18, respectively, further comprising:
filtering the recommendation results based on a type of modification applied to the plurality of modified queries, wherein each of the filtered recommendation results correspond to a unique type of modification for a current search session on the platform (e.g. Greystroke, see paragraphs [0089-0091, 0162, 0173, 0177-0178, 0222-0228, 0264-0266], which discloses filtering the recommendation results based on a unique/personal persona type refined modifications to a current search session.).
As per claims 4, 13, and 20, the modified teachings of Greystroke and Traynham teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, the system of claim 10, and the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 18, respectively, further comprising:
generating, using a machine learning model, a first score for each of the one or more recommended listings in the recommendation result (e.g. Greystroke, see paragraphs [0089-0091, 0241-0243, 0251], which discloses AI score calculated for the recommendation result listings.);
ranking the one or more recommended listings based on the first score (e.g. Greystroke, see paragraphs [0263-0264], which discloses score ranking the listing based on the first score.); and
placing the one or more recommended listings corresponding to the plurality of modified queries in a carousel for display according to the ranking, wherein the user may interact with the carousel to view the one or more recommended listings (e.g. Greystroke, see paragraphs [0265-0269, 0281-0292, 0305-0312], which discloses sorted mapping the recommended listings in a horizontal scrollable card GUI. See further Figure 16A, which based on the modified query ranking and flip interaction for viewing the recommended listings.).
As per claims 5 and 14, the modified teachings of Greystroke and Traynham teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1 and the system of claim 10, respectively, further comprising:
generating, using a machine learning model, a second score for each of the one or more listings in the search result (e.g. Greystroke, see paragraphs [0080, 0086, 0099-0104, 0251], which discloses AI persona generates multiple scores for the result listings.);
generating, using the machine learning model, a third score for the recommendation result based on an aggregate of scores for the one or more recommended listings in the recommendation result (e.g. Greystroke, see paragraphs [0080, 0086, 0099-0104, 0251], which discloses generate another score based on collaborative average score for the recommendation result listings.);
comparing second scores with the third score (e.g. Greystroke, see paragraphs [0086-0089, 0138], which discloses ranking the best of the respective scores.); and
determining the position of the recommendation result between the one or more listings based on the comparing (e.g. Greystroke, see paragraphs [0079-0080, 0086-0089, 0117, 0138-0139, 0252-0253], which discloses sorting the recommendation result placement in the listing based on the comparing.).
As per claims 6 and 15, the modified teachings of Greystroke and Traynham teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 5 and the system of claim 14, respectively, wherein the position of the recommendation result is at least M listings in the search result from a second recommendation result (e.g. Greystroke, see paragraphs [0080, 0247-0252, 0294], which discloses the placement is included in a best/top recommendation result list set with another recommendation result.).
As per claims 7 and 16, the modified teachings of Greystroke and Traynham teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1 and the system of claim 10, respectively, further comprising:
locking a highest-ranking listing from the one or more listings in the search result as a first listing in the search result page UI (e.g. Greystroke, see paragraphs [0080-0081, 0086, 0100, 0294], which discloses attaching a score to highest ranking result set/list from the UI search page result.).
As per claims 8 and 17, the modified teachings of Greystroke and Traynham teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1 and the system of claim 10, respectively, wherein the plurality of modified queries is generated based on a modification to at least one of a check-in date, a checkout date, a total price for booking a listing, total nights, location, amenities, listing features, and removal of a filter applied by the user in the query (e.g. Greystroke, see paragraphs [0237, 0268-0274, 0360], which discloses booking price calculations for a result list over user selected hotel/night travel dates and remove search criteria.).
As per claim 9, the modified teachings of Greystroke and Traynham teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of modified queries includes a modification to at least a filter applied by the user in the query (Greystroke, see paragraphs [0138, 0193, 0239-0240, 0263, 0270-0274, 0302], which discloses the query modifies/refines filter parameters/criteria applied by the query user.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See attached PTO-892 that includes additional prior art of record describing the general state of the art in which the invention is directed to.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/FARHAN M SYED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2161 July 20, 2026