DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Argentina on April 11, 2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 2024 0100910 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: the word “and” is misspelled as “ad” in the 3rd line of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10, 12-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "said triangular section collector” in the 2nd line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the second decomposer feed inlet" in the 2nd and 3rd lines of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 13, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the following recited limitations:
“said first decomposer high-impact upper breaking assembly, first decomposer intermediate tangential blade assembly, and first decomposer lower sweeper assembly” in the 7th through 10th lines of the claim;
“the first decomposer waste gas turbine” in the 12th line of the claim;
“the triangular section collector” in the 14th line of the claim;
“the first decomposer outlet gate” in the 17th line of the claim;
“said second decomposer high-impact upper breaking assembly, second decomposer intermediate first impact blade assembly, second decomposer tangential lower blade assembly, and second decomposer lower sweeper assembly” in the 22nd through 25th lines of the claim;
“the second decomposer waste gas turbine” in the 30th and 31st lines of the claim; and
“the processed material suction pump” in the 35th line of the claim.
Claims 14-17 are rejected as being dependent upon rejected base claim 13.
Claim 14 is separately rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) because it recites the limitation “the second feed conveyor belt” in the 2nd line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 is separately rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) because it recites the limitations “the water injection arrangement” in the 2nd line and “the thermocouples” in the 3rd line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 16 is separately rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) because it recites the limitation “the triangular collector turbine” in the 2nd line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 is separately rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) because it recites the limitation “the arrangement of electrical resistors” and “the conditioning chamber” in the 2nd line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "said first decomposer lower sweeper assembly" in the 9th line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggest deleting the phrase “first decomposer” from the claim. Claim 18 will be interpreted in this manner for examination purposes.
Claims 19-23 are rejected as being dependent upon rejected base claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Korean Patent Publication No. KR 10-2020-0132058 A by Kim, hereinafter “Kim”.
Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses a waste decomposer (waste decomposer crushing device shown in Figs. 1-3; ¶[0055]) comprising, at least, a crushing means wherein said crushing means comprises a high-impact upper breaking assembly (upper breaking assembly first crushing unit 410 in Figs. 3 and 4; ¶[0065), an intermediate tangential blade assembly (blade assembly second crushing unit 420 in Figs. 3 and 4; ¶[0070]), and a lower sweeper assembly (sweeper assembly discharge means with pushers 920 in Fig. 3; ¶[0091]), wherein:
said high-impact upper breaking assembly comprises a plurality of curved arms (curved arms cutters 411 and 412 in Figs. 3 and 4) radially mounted at one end of a driving shaft crushing means (411 and 412 are mounted at the top of driving rotating shaft 30 in Fig. 3);
said intermediate tangential blade assembly comprises a plurality of blades (plurality of blade rotary cutters 421 in Figs. 3 and 4; ¶[0071]) tangentially located on an upper surface of a support disc (support disc rotating body 430 in Figs. 3 and 4) mounted on said driving shaft of the crushing means (430 is mounted on 30 in Fig. 3);
said first decomposer lower sweeper assembly comprises a plurality of sweepers (sweeper pushers 920 in Fig. 3) radially located on a lower surface of said support disc mounted on said driving shaft of the crushing means (920 is located on a lower surface of 430 in Fig. 3);
said driving shaft of the first decomposer crushing means being actuated by means of a set of pulleys (pulleys 810 and 820 in Fig. 3; ¶[0062]), belts (belts 830 in Fig. 3) and gearmotors (motor 20 in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 20, Kim anticipates the waste decomposer of claim 18 as explained above. Kim further discloses at least a driven blade arrangement (curved arm cutters 411 and 412 in Fig. 3 and 4) located on the upper portion of the decomposer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 5,570,845 to Lewis et al., hereinafter “Lewis”, in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2018/0369827 A1 by Ahn et al., hereinafter “Ahn”.
Regarding claim 1, Lewis discloses a waste processing plant (waste processing plant shown in Fig. 1; col. 2, line 43-51) comprising:
at least one first decomposer in the form of a chamber which has a first decomposer feed inlet (first decomposer primary shredder stage 30 in Fig. 1 is shown with a chamber and a feed inlet; col. 3, line 8-12), at least a first decomposer crushing means (crushing means rotating cutters 32 in Fig. 1) and at least one first decomposer outlet port (outlet port transition passage 34 in Fig. 1);
at least one second decomposer adjacent to said first decomposer (second decomposer secondary shredder 36), the interior of which is communicated with the first decomposer through said first decomposer outlet port (the interior of 36 is in communication with 30 through 34), said second decomposer comprises a second decomposer crushing means (36 is shown with rotating cutters), at least a second decomposer heating assembly (heating assembly steam conveyor 12 in Fig. 1; col. 4, line 31-37) and at least a second decomposer discharge gate (discharge gate flapper valve 78 in Fig. 1; col. 4, line 19-25);
at least one processed material receiving module arranged immediately below, and in communication with, said at least one second decomposer discharge gate (receiving module conveyor 82 in Fig. 1 is in communication with discharge gate flapper valve 78; col. 4, line 26-30);
at least a processed material storage hopper operatively connected to said processed material receiving module (storage hopper compactor 84 in Fig. 1 operatively connected with conveyor 82); and
at least corresponding gas collection arrangements located on the upper portion of said first decomposer and second decomposer (gas collection arrangement opening 22, filter 24, blower 26 in Fig. 1 are located on the upper portion of primary shredder sage 30 in Fig. 1 and gas collection arrangement opening 76 and blower 74 are located on the upper portion of heating assembly steam conveyor 12 of the second decomposer; col. 2, line 59 through col. 3, line 5 and col. 4, line 20-22).
Lewis discloses gases are collected by gas collection arrangements and then filtered before being released to the atmosphere. Lewis does not disclose respective gas storage tanks for the gas collection arrangements.
In the same field of solid waste disposal processing plants, Ahn teaches it was known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use gas storage tanks to store gases collected from solid waste disposal processing plants. See at least paragraph [0114].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a gas storage tank to each of Lewis’ gas collection arrangements in the same way Ahn teaches. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized applying the teaching of Ahn to Lewis’ disclosure would achieve the predictable result of incorporating gas storage tanks into Lewis’ waste processing plant.
Regarding clam 2, the prior art reference combination of Lewis in view of Ahn renders the waste processing plant according to claim 1 unpatentable as explained above. Lewis further discloses first feed conveyor belt 14 in Fig. 1 having a lower belt end at inlet end 18 and an upper belt end at hopper 20 in communication with the first decomposer feed inlet. Conveyor belt 14 is driven by gear motors to carry waste upwardly as disclosed at col. 2, line 51-56.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art reference combination of Lewis in view of Ahn renders the waste processing plant according to claim 1 unpatentable as explained above. Lewis further discloses the at least one second decomposer heating assembly comprises a plurality of resistors arranged on the outside of said second decomposer (resistor steam valves 102 in Fig. 3 with inlet ports 72 arranged on the outside of heating assembly steam conveyor 12 in Fig. 1), said resistors being connected to respective thermocouples (column 4, line 39-48 disclose temperature sensor thermocouples are used to control the temperature in steam conveyor 12).
Regarding claim 6, the prior art reference combination of Lewis in view of Ahn renders the waste processing plant according to claim 1 unpatentable as explained above. Lewis further discloses the second decomposer (second decomposer secondary shredder 36 in Fig. 1) is also equipped with at least a water injection arrangement that comprises at least a pipe which extends until a section of the same is arranged around said second decomposer (col. 3, line 42-64 disclose spray nozzles spray a solution of water and sodium hypochlorite into secondary decomposer secondary shredder 36 in Fig. 1) in order to inject cold water inside the same, said pipe being connected to a cold-water storage tank (tank 58 in Fig. 1) through an injection pump (pump 60 in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, the prior art reference combination of Lewis in view of Ahn renders the waste processing plant according to claim 1 unpatentable as explained above. Lewis further discloses a driven blade arrangement located at the upper portion of both said first decomposer (rotating blades 32 in 30) and said second decomposer (secondary shredder 36 in Fig. 1 is shown with a set of driven rotating blades).
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis in view of Ahn and further in view of Kim.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art reference combination of Lewis in view of Ahn renders the waste processing plant according to claim 1 unpatentable as explained above. However, Lewis does not disclose the crushing means of first decomposer shredder stage 30 is constructed as claimed in claim 3.
In the same field of waste crushers, Kim teaches it was known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the crushing means of a waste decomposer with a high-impact upper breaking assembly (upper breaking assembly first crushing unit 410 in Figs. 3 and 4; ¶[0065), an intermediate tangential blade assembly (blade assembly second crushing unit 420 in Figs. 3 and 4; ¶[0070]), and a lower sweeper assembly (sweeper assembly discharge means with pushers 920 in Fig. 3; ¶[0091]), wherein:
said high-impact upper breaking assembly comprises a plurality of curved arms (curved arms cutters 411 and 412 in Figs. 3 and 4) radially mounted at one end of a driving shaft crushing means (411 and 412 are mounted at the top of driving rotating shaft 30 in Fig. 3);
said intermediate tangential blade assembly comprises a plurality of blades (plurality of blade rotary cutters 421 in Figs. 3 and 4; ¶[0071]) tangentially located on an upper surface of a support disc (support disc rotating body 430 in Figs. 3 and 4) mounted on said driving shaft of the crushing means (430 is mounted on 30 in Fig. 3);
said first decomposer lower sweeper assembly comprises a plurality of sweepers (sweeper pushers 920 in Fig. 3) radially located on a lower surface of said support disc mounted on said driving shaft of the crushing means (920 is located on a lower surface of 430 in Fig. 3);
said driving shaft of the first decomposer crushing means being actuated by means of a set of pulleys (pulleys 810 and 820 in Fig. 3; ¶[0062]), belts (belts 830 in Fig. 3) and gearmotors (motor 20 in Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Kim’s crushing means assembly for each of Lewis’ shredder stages 30 and 36 to achieve the predictable result of Lewis’ waste processing plant with crushing means constructed according to the teaching of Kim.
Regarding claim 4, the prior art reference combination of Lewis in view of Ahn renders the waste processing plant according to claim 1 unpatentable as explained above. However, Lewis does not disclose the crushing means of second decomposer shredder stage 36 is constructed as claimed in claim 3.
In the same field of waste crushers, Kim teaches it was known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the crushing means of a waste decomposer with a high-impact upper breaking assembly (upper breaking assembly first crushing unit 410 in Figs. 3 and 4; ¶[0065), an intermediate tangential blade assembly (blade assembly second crushing unit 420 in Figs. 3 and 4; ¶[0070]), and a lower sweeper assembly (sweeper assembly discharge means with pushers 920 in Fig. 3; ¶[0091]), wherein:
said high-impact upper breaking assembly comprises a plurality of curved arms (curved arms cutters 411 and 412 in Figs. 3 and 4) radially mounted at one end of a driving shaft crushing means (411 and 412 are mounted at the top of driving rotating shaft 30 in Fig. 3);
said intermediate tangential blade assembly comprises a plurality of blades (plurality of blade rotary cutters 421 in Figs. 3 and 4; ¶[0071]) tangentially located on an upper surface of a support disc (support disc rotating body 430 in Figs. 3 and 4) mounted on said driving shaft of the crushing means (430 is mounted on 30 in Fig. 3);
said first decomposer lower sweeper assembly comprises a plurality of sweepers (sweeper pushers 920 in Fig. 3) radially located on a lower surface of said support disc mounted on said driving shaft of the crushing means (920 is located on a lower surface of 430 in Fig. 3);
said driving shaft of the first decomposer crushing means being actuated by means of a set of pulleys (pulleys 810 and 820 in Fig. 3; ¶[0062]), belts (belts 830 in Fig. 3) and gearmotors (motor 20 in Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Kim’s crushing means assembly for each of Lewis’ shredder stages 30 and 36 to achieve the predictable result of Lewis’ waste processing plant with crushing means constructed according to the teaching of Kim.
Claims 18-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2023/0035948 A1 by Black et al., hereinafter “Black”, in view of Kim.
Regarding claim 18, Black discloses a waste decomposer (decomposer liquification system 102 in Figs. 5-12 and 34-43; ¶[0072]) comprising a crushing means (a first embodiment of the crushing means is shown in Figs. 9-11 and 39-41b and a second embodiment is shown in Fig. 17) wherein the crushing means comprises a blade assembly (blade assembly screw auger 514 in Fig. 9; ¶[0074]) and a lower sweeper assembly (lower sweeper assembly impeller 516 in Fig. 9) mounted on a drive shaft (drive shaft 512 in Fig. 9) actuated by a motor (motor 502 in Fig. 9). But Black does not disclose a high-impact upper breaking assembly as claimed in claim 18.
In the same field of waste crushers, Kim teaches it was known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the crushing means of a waste decomposer with a high-impact upper breaking assembly (upper breaking assembly first crushing unit 410 in Figs. 3 and 4; ¶[0065), an intermediate tangential blade assembly (blade assembly second crushing unit 420 in Figs. 3 and 4; ¶[0070]), and a lower sweeper assembly (sweeper assembly discharge means with pushers 920 in Fig. 3; ¶[0091]), wherein:
said high-impact upper breaking assembly comprises a plurality of curved arms (curved arms cutters 411 and 412 in Figs. 3 and 4) radially mounted at one end of a driving shaft crushing means (411 and 412 are mounted at the top of driving rotating shaft 30 in Fig. 3);
said intermediate tangential blade assembly comprises a plurality of blades (plurality of blade rotary cutters 421 in Figs. 3 and 4; ¶[0071]) tangentially located on an upper surface of a support disc (support disc rotating body 430 in Figs. 3 and 4) mounted on said driving shaft of the crushing means (430 is mounted on 30 in Fig. 3);
said first decomposer lower sweeper assembly comprises a plurality of sweepers (sweeper pushers 920 in Fig. 3) radially located on a lower surface of said support disc mounted on said driving shaft of the crushing means (920 is located on a lower surface of 430 in Fig. 3);
said driving shaft of the first decomposer crushing means being actuated by means of a set of pulleys (pulleys 810 and 820 in Fig. 3; ¶[0062]), belts (belts 830 in Fig. 3) and gearmotors (motor 20 in Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Kim’s crushing means assembly for Black’s crushing means to achieve the predictable result of Black’s waste decomposer with a crushing means constructed according to the teaching of Kim.
Regarding claim 19, the prior art reference combination of Black in view of Kim renders the waste decomposer of claim 18 unpatentable as explained above. Black further discloses at least a heating assembly; wherein said heating assembly comprises a plurality of resistors arranged on the outside of said decomposer (heating assembly resistor bands 1410 in Figs. 14 and 15; ¶[0088]), said resistors being connected to respective thermocouples (¶[0084] discloses temperature sensor thermocouples are used to control the temperature).
Regarding claim 20, the prior art reference combination of Black in view of Kim renders the waste decomposer of claim 18 unpatentable as explained above. Both Black and Kim disclose at least a driven blade arrangement located on the upper portion of the decomposer, with Black’s blade arrangement being interpreted as auger blade screw 514 in Fig. 9 and Kim’s blade arrangement being interpreted as curved arm cutters 411 and 412 in Fig. 3 and 4.
Regarding claim 21, the prior art reference combination of Black in view of Kim renders the waste decomposer of claim 18 unpatentable as explained above. Black further discloses comprising gas collection arrangements located on the upper portion of said decomposer; wherein said gas collection arrangements comprise:
at least a waste gas turbine operated by a corresponding turbine engine (¶[0089] discloses exhaust fans exhaust waste gas from exhaust vents 1402 and 1406 in Fig. 16 at the top of the decomposer), and
a pair of gas discharge pipes having an upper end connected to said waste gas turbine and a lower end connected to means for treating said gases (¶[0090] discloses exhaust gases from exhaust vent pipes 1402 and 1406 are filtered).
Regarding claim 23, the prior art reference combination of Black in view of Kim renders the waste decomposer of claim 18 unpatentable as explained above. Paragraph [0081] of Black further discloses a water injection arrangement may optionally be included.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Lewis appears to be the closet prior art regarding the claimed waste processing plant. Lewis does not disclose the suction pump or hopper of claim 8, nor at least the triangular section collector of claim 9. Ahn does not disclose does not disclose the details of the gas storage tanks claimed in claim 11.
Claim 12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Lewis appears to be the closet prior art regarding the claimed waste processing plant. Lewis does not disclose a second feed conveyor as claimed in claim 12.
Claims 13-17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not appear to disclose the method according to claim 13 using the waste processing plant of claim 1.
Claim 22 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Black does not disclose the triangular collector turbine as claimed in claim 22.
Conclusion
/P DEREK PRESSLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3725