DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is responsive to claims filed for App. 19/175,712 on April 2, 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending.
America Invents Act
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-5, 7-10 and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mikhailov et al. ( US 2016/0129346 A1 ) in view of Grant ( US 2014/0274398 A1 ) and Ullrich et al. ( US 2014/0362014 A1 ).
Mikhailov teaches in Claim 1:
A device for dexterous interaction in a virtual world ( Figure 1, [0066] discloses a controller 104 which can provide input for a video game in an interactive environment. Please note an HMD 102 which can render a virtual reality scene ), the device comprising:
[a plurality of tactile feedback elements ( [0082] disclose a tactile feedback hardware included in the controller 104 which can output vibration feedback, etc. As for a plurality, please note the combination below );
at least one sensor configured for detecting data including a manipulation parameter based on actuation of at least one button [of the plurality of buttons] by at least one finger of a user; and a processor configured to receive the data from the at least one sensor, and further configured to transmit the data ( [0083] discloses the controller can include circuitry (indicative of a processor) and inertial sensors that can communicate/transmit data to process positions, changes in positions, and other 6 axes type data elements (read as manipulation parameter(s)). To clarify, an inertial sensor which can determine position and changes in position is a reasonable interpretation of an orientation sensor and this is used to determine motion aspects of the controller and how it impacts the virtual objects );
wherein the device ( Figure 1, [0066] discloses additional details on the user holding and operating the controller 104 ) is configured to virtually move a virtual representation of a hand in a virtual environment depicted on a display of a display device based on the manipulation parameter such that the virtual representation of the hand virtually engages with a secondary virtual element ( Figures 5A/5B, [0091] disclose a scene in which the user interacts with, namely a user’s virtual hands holding the steering wheel (read the virtual hands as a virtual representation of a hand) and the steering wheel as a secondary virtual element which the virtual hands engage with). Other examples are provided, such as Figures 7A/7B and in either situation, there are two virtual element(s) engaging with each other. This is output on the head mounted display 102 ); but
Mikhailov does not explicitly teach the device comprising “a plurality of tactile feedback elements; a hand-operated controller comprising a plurality of buttons corresponding to the plurality of tactile feedback elements”. Please also note related aspects, such as actuation of at least one button of the plurality of buttons by at least one finger of a user, etc. To clarify, Mikhailov does not teach of a plurality of buttons and a plurality of tactile feedback elements, but perhaps only a single instance of these elements.
However, in the same field of endeavor, handheld devices, Grant teaches of a haptic peripheral 802 which has a plurality of buttons 872, ( Grant, Figures 8 and 10, [0054] ). Notably, there are a plurality of buttons, each with a haptic output device (read as a plurality of tactile feedback elements corresponding to the plurality of buttons). Actuating the buttons or joystick (also with haptic effects) is similar to Mikhailov’s steering wheel as both are input devices and include a manipulation parameter. Using the peripheral 802 of Grant, notably the joystick aspects, can result in a similar experience to the steering wheel of Mikhailov as well.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the controller with a plurality of buttons and tactile elements, as taught by Grant, with the motivation that Grant teaches in [0057]-[0058] that typical manipulandum configurations can be used. Respectfully, input controllers come in a variety of designs.
Mikhailov also does not explicitly teach “the device is further configured to receive tactile feedback generated by a computer device by determining the secondary virtual element with which the virtual representation of the hand is engaged in the virtual environment, ad to activate at least one tactile feedback element of the plurality of tactile feedback elements corresponding to the at least one button, the device is separate from the display of the display device, and the tactile feedback is configured to convey via the at least one tactile feedback element to the at least one finger of the user how the virtual engagement of the virtual representation of the hand with the secondary virtual element would feel”.
However, in the same field of endeavor, interaction in a virtual world with haptic feedback, Ullrich teaches of a haptic effect determination module 126, ( Ullrich, Figures 1 and 3, [0045] ). Notably, this module may select a haptic effect for a virtual object, which can be based on size, color, texture, material, movement, etc (read as an example of how it would feel). An example is given to determine a haptic effect configured to simulate the texture of sand if the virtual object comprises an associated virtual texture that is sandy or coarse (read as a surface characteristic of the secondary virtual element). Figure 3, [0055] discloses an example of a user 308 interacting with a gun and a haptic effect is configured to simulate the texture of the gun handle or grip, e.g. a wood or rubber texture. [0108] disclose an example of interacting with a virtual object of a fruit and a haptic effect can simulate a surface of the outside of the fruit. Respectfully, a number of other examples are provided as well. As combined with Mikhailov, who also teaches of a hand in the form of virtual hands, the same hands can engage with a secondary element (whether it is steering wheel, a gun, etc) and receive haptic feedback which is based on a surface characteristic of the wheel, gun, etc. Ullrich teaches in Figure 8, [0086] of determining characteristics of virtual objects and determining a haptic effect based on the characteristics. To clarify, Mikhailov teaches to use a virtual hand, i.e. the claimed virtual element to interact in a virtual setting and with a secondary virtual element, i.e. a virtual steering wheel (as well as other examples) and Ullrich teaches to use a hand to interact with a virtual element, akin to the secondary virtual element of Mikhailov. As combined, the references teach of two virtual elements, that being a virtual hand(s) and a virtual gun which can interact with each other and the texture (surface characteristics) of the gun can be imparted to the user as the virtual hand engages with the gun. Mikahilov teaches of two virtual elements, namely the hands and the steering wheel, but does not explicitly teach of imparting surface characteristics of the engaged steering wheel. However, Ullrich teaches of an engaged second object, i.e. the gun, imparting texture aspects to the user’s hands and as combined, this is due to the virtual hand engaging with the virtual gun. As combined, one of ordinary skill in the art would realize a direct touch of the user’s hand resulting in a feedback, or a touch by a virtual hand and then imparting the feedback to the controller, is within the combination of these references.
To clarify, the combination teaches as follows:
“the device is further configured to receive tactile feedback generated by a computer device by determining the secondary virtual element with which the virtual representation of the and is engaged in the virtual environment, and to activate at least one tactile feedback element of the plurality of tactile feedback elements corresponding to the at least one button ( To address the “represented surface characteristic”, Ullrich teaches of providing a haptic effect which comprises a simulated texture on a surface of the computing device, i.e. touch sensitive surface. [0055] discloses a user’s hand interacting with a gun and the haptic effect can simulate the texture of the gun handle or grip, e.g. a wood or rubber texture. It is important to clarify here that Mikhailov teaches of two virtual aspects, virtual hand and a virtual steering wheel and Ullrich focuses on the gun, akin to the virtual steering wheel. The key point is the texture of the secondary object, i.e. what the user is interacting with, has a texture aspect which can be conveyed to the user. Please note the combination with Grant with respective to the plurality of tactile feedback elements corresponding to the at least one button ), the device is separate from the display of the display device ( As noted and shown in Figure 1, the controller 104 is separate from the head-mounted display 102 ) ), the tactile feedback is configured to convey via the at least one tactile feedback element to the at least one finger of the user how the virtual engagement of the virtual representation of the hand with the secondary virtual element would feel ( Ullrich, [0099], [0045] discloses a key aspect of associating user interactions with interface elements with particular haptic effects, to allow the user to feel textures associated with objects in the user interface, [0053] )”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the haptic feedback based on the texture/material aspects of the virtual object, with the motivation that it will provide a more realistic or immersive user experience, ( Ullrich, [0108] ).
Mikhailov teaches in Claim 2:
The device of claim 1, wherein the device is configured to be connected to the computer device comprising a display, and the virtual environment, the virtual representation of the hand, and the secondary virtual element are visible on the display. ( Figures 2 and 12, [0064] disclose a head-mounted display HMD 102 which can display content to the user 100, namely the virtual content )
Mikhailov teaches in Claim 3:
The device of claim 2, wherein the computer device further comprises a storage device that includes a memory unit, the memory unit includes a plurality of virtual environments that are configured to be displayed on the display, and user interaction occurs with each one of the plurality of virtual environments based on movement of the device. ( Figure 12, [0103] disclose a memory 1302 for storage purposes and given Mikhailov teaches of displaying interactive scenes, it is clear such scenes and scenarios are stored in a memory. For examples, Figures 4A/4B show a steering environment and Figure 7A/7B show a different environment )
Mikhailov teaches in Claim 4:
The device of claim 2, wherein the processor is configured to wirelessly transmit and receive the data, and the computer device is configured to wirelessly transmit and receive the data. ( [0110] teaches of a WiFi module which can allow for wireless networking for the various devices. [0083] discloses circuitry which can process position data to be sent to the HMD )
Mikhailov teaches in Claim 5:
The device of claim 1, wherein the device includes a component that is configured to move via a bearing. ( [0083] discloses using inertial sensors which can measure 6 axes type data elements. To clarify, the controller motion can be measured as it moves in these axes. As for the bearing, in light of the controller being able to move in a variety of axes, some type of bearing/socket structure to allow for freedom is well known and common. Respectfully, examiner asserts Official Notice to this structure/concept )
Mikhailov teaches in Claim 7:
The device according to claim 1, further comprising at least one additional sensor configured to detect engagement with a user's hand, wherein the at least one virtual element comprising the virtual representation of the hand is virtually articulated based on output from the at least one additional sensor, whereby the virtual articulation is related to articulation of the user's hand. ( [0095] discloses a controller which has lights that can be tracked in addition for sensors and other buttons for communicating information back to the computer, such as by using a camera, etc (read as examples of at least one additional sensor) )
Mikhailov teaches in Claim 8:
A method of providing interaction in a virtual world, the virtual world being displayed on a display of a display device ( Figure 1, [0066] discloses a controller 104 which can provide input for a video game in an interactive environment. Please note an HMD 102 which can render a virtual reality scene ), and the method comprising:
virtually engaging a secondary virtual element with a virtual representation of a hand in a virtual environment via use of a device comprising [a plurality of tactile feedback elements] and a hand-operated controller [comprising a plurality of buttons corresponding to the plurality of tactile feedback elements], ( Figure 1, [0066] discloses additional details on the user holding and operating the controller 104 ) the hand-operated controller being configured to control virtual movement of the virtual representation of a hand based on actuation of at least one button of the plurality of buttons by at least one finger of the user and the device being separate from the display of the display device ( Figures 5A/5B, [0091] disclose a scene in which the user interacts with, namely a user’s virtual hands holding the steering wheel (read the virtual hands as a virtual representation of a hand) and the steering wheel as a secondary virtual element which the virtual hands engage with). Other examples are provided, such as Figures 7A/7B and in either situation, there are two virtual element(s) engaging with each other ); but
Mikhailov does not explicitly teach the device comprising “a plurality of tactile feedback elements; a hand-operated controller comprising a plurality of buttons corresponding to the plurality of tactile feedback elements”. Please also note related aspects, such as actuation of at least one button of the plurality of buttons by at least one finger of a user, etc. To clarify, Mikhailov does not teach of a plurality of buttons and a plurality of tactile feedback elements, but perhaps only a single instance of these elements.
However, in the same field of endeavor, handheld devices, Grant teaches of a haptic peripheral 802 which has a plurality of buttons 872, ( Grant, Figures 8 and 10, [0054] ). Notably, there are a plurality of buttons, each with a haptic output device (read as a plurality of tactile feedback elements corresponding to the plurality of buttons). Actuating the buttons or joystick (also with haptic effects) is similar to Mikhailov’s steering wheel as both are input devices and include a manipulation parameter. Using the peripheral 802 of Grant, notably the joystick aspects, can result in a similar experience to the steering wheel of Mikhailov as well.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the controller with a plurality of buttons and tactile elements, as taught by Grant, with the motivation that Grant teaches in [0057]-[0058] that typical manipulandum configurations can be used. Respectfully, input controllers come in a variety of designs.
Mikhailov does not explicitly teach of “providing to the device, tactile feedback generated by a computer device by determining the secondary virtual element with which the virtual representation of the hand is engaged in the virtual environment, and activating at least one tactile feedback element of the plurality of tactile feedback elements correspond to the at least one button, and the tactile feedback being configured to convey via the at least one tactile feedback element to the at least one finger of the user how the virtual engagement of the virtual representation of the hand with the secondary virtual element would feel.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, interaction in a virtual world with haptic feedback, Ullrich teaches of a haptic effect determination module 126, ( Ullrich, Figures 1 and 3, [0045] ). Notably, this module may select a haptic effect for a virtual object, which can be based on size, color, texture, material, movement, etc (read as an example of how it would feel). An example is given to determine a haptic effect configured to simulate the texture of sand if the virtual object comprises an associated virtual texture that is sandy or coarse (read as a surface characteristic of the secondary virtual element). Figure 3, [0055] discloses an example of a user 308 interacting with a gun and a haptic effect is configured to simulate the texture of the gun handle or grip, e.g. a wood or rubber texture. [0108] disclose an example of interacting with a virtual object of a fruit and a haptic effect can simulate a surface of the outside of the fruit. Respectfully, a number of other examples are provided as well. As combined with Mikhailov, who also teaches of a hand in the form of virtual hands, the same hands can engage with a secondary element (whether it is steering wheel, a gun, etc) and receive haptic feedback which is based on a surface characteristic of the wheel, gun, etc. Ullrich teaches in Figure 8, [0086] of determining characteristics of virtual objects and determining a haptic effect based on the characteristics. To clarify, Mikhailov teaches to use a virtual hand, i.e. the claimed virtual element to interact in a virtual setting and with a secondary virtual element, i.e. a virtual steering wheel (as well as other examples) and Ullrich teaches to use a hand to interact with a virtual element, akin to the secondary virtual element of Mikhailov. As combined, the references teach of two virtual elements, that being a virtual hand(s) and a virtual gun which can interact with each other and the texture (surface characteristics) of the gun can be imparted to the user as the virtual hand engages with the gun. Mikahilov teaches of two virtual elements, namely the hands and the steering wheel, but does not explicitly teach of imparting surface characteristics of the engaged steering wheel. However, Ullrich teaches of an engaged second object, i.e. the gun, imparting texture aspects to the user’s hands and as combined, this is due to the virtual hand engaging with the virtual gun. As combined, one of ordinary skill in the art would realize a direct touch of the user’s hand resulting in a feedback, or a touch by a virtual hand and then imparting the feedback to the controller, is within the combination of these references.
To clarify, the combination teaches as follows:
“providing to the device, tactile feedback generated by a computer device by determining the secondary virtual element with which the virtual representation of the hand is engaged in the virtual environment, and activating at least one tactile feedback element of the plurality of tactile feedback elements correspond to the at least one button ( To address the “represented surface characteristic”, Ullrich teaches of providing a haptic effect which comprises a simulated texture on a surface of the computing device, i.e. touch sensitive surface. [0055] discloses a user’s hand interacting with a gun and the haptic effect can simulate the texture of the gun handle or grip, e.g. a wood or rubber texture. It is important to clarify here that Mikhailov teaches of two virtual aspects, virtual hand and a virtual steering wheel and Ullrich focuses on the gun, akin to the virtual steering wheel. The key point is the texture of the secondary object, i.e. what the user is interacting with, has a texture aspect which can be conveyed to the user. Please note the combination with Grant with respective to the plurality of tactile feedback elements corresponding to the at least one button ), and the tactile feedback being configured to convey via the at least one tactile feedback element to the at least one finger of the user how the virtual engagement of the virtual representation of the hand with the secondary virtual element would feel” ( Ullrich, [0099], [0045] discloses a key aspect of associating user interactions with interface elements with particular haptic effects, to allow the user to feel textures associated with objects in the user interface, [0053] )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the haptic feedback based on the texture/material aspects of the virtual object, with the motivation that it will provide a more realistic or immersive user experience, ( Ullrich, [0108] ).
Mikhailov teaches in Claim 9:
The method of claim 8, wherein the device comprises:
an orientation sensor configured for detecting data based on orientation of at least a portion of the device; and a processor configured to receive the data from the orientation sensor, and further configured to transmit the data. ( [0083] discloses the controller can include circuitry (indicative of a processor) and inertial sensors that can communicate/transmit data to process positions, changes in positions, and other 6 axes type data elements. To clarify, an inertial sensor which can determine position and changes in position is a reasonable interpretation of an orientation sensor and this is used to determine motion aspects of the controller and how it impacts the virtual objects )
As per Claim 10:
Mikhailov does not explicitly teach “wherein at least a portion of the device has an ellipsoid shape and is connected to a flexible shaft.”
However, Mikhailov teaches in Figure 4A/4B of a handheld controller 104 and Figures 7A/7B, [0095] of a different type of controller. Respectfully, in light of the different types of controllers, along with different layouts/shapes, it is a design choice issue as to the shape. Respectfully, in light of these teachings and ordinary skill, the shape of the housing is a design choice. This is not a patentable distinction in light of Mikhailov teaching to have different shapes/types of controllers. In light of [0083] teaching of being able to manipulate in up to six degrees of freedom, it is clear that there is some flexibility required in terms of structural detail.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the shape of the housing in a plurality of shapes, including an ellipsoid shape, with the motivation that it is a design choice to do so. The functionality of the device is not altered because of the shape and one of ordinary skill would realize to be able to design it accordingly.
Mikhailov and Ullrich teach in Claim 12:
The method of claim 9, wherein the at least one button is pressure sensitive, and the tactile feedback element corresponding to the at least one button is configured to provide tactile feedback based on a degree of pressure applied to the at least one button. ( [0087], [0095] disclose button inputs on the controller are tracked and correlated to the input provided to the game. [0082] discloses vibration feedback, pressure feedback, etc to the controller and respectfully, it is clear that this could be applied to the button itself. Ullrich, [0063], [0083] discloses a plurality of buttons which are touch sensitive to allow the user to communicate and Ullrich clearly teaches of haptic feedback to the user as well. Respectfully, applying it to the button itself is well known and examiner asserts Official Notice to this concept )
Mikhailov teaches in Claim 13:
The method of claim 9, wherein the device is configured to be wirelessly connected to the computer device. ( [0110] teaches of a WiFi module which can allow for wireless networking for the various devices. [0083] discloses circuitry which can process position data to be sent to the HMD )
Mikhailov teaches in Claim 14:
The method of claim 9, wherein the virtual representation of the hand is configured to be manipulated in real-time and in a continuous feedback loop. ( Respectfully, Figures 4A/4B, 7A/7B, etc teach of immersive experiences in different environments and in light of the tracking/updating as the user interacts, it is clear that this is a real-time process and the user continuously receives haptic effects as part of the immersion experience. To clarify on the loop aspect, as the user performs an interaction, feedback is output, the user continues to perform interactions and further feedback is output )
Mikhailov teaches in Claim 15:
The method of claim 14, wherein the continuous feedback loop provides physical feedback to the device based on manipulation of the virtual representation of the hand. ( Mikhailov teaches that as the user interacts with the virtual elements, haptic effects are output, [0072]. The combination teaches to output customized haptic effects relating to the virtual elements, as taught by Ullrich )
Mikhailov teaches in Claim 16:
A system for dexterous interaction in a virtual environment ( Figure 1, [0066] discloses a controller 104 which can provide input for a video game in an interactive environment. Please note an HMD 102 which can render a virtual reality scene ), the system comprising:
a device comprising:
[a plurality of tactile feedback elements] ( [0082] disclose a tactile feedback hardware included in the controller 104 which can output vibration feedback, etc. Please note the combination below with regards to a plurality )
a hand-operated controller [comprising a plurality of buttons corresponding to the plurality of tactile feedback elements ( Figure 1 shows a controller 104 which is held by the user );
a sensor configured to detect data including a manipulation parameter based on actuation of at least one button of the plurality of buttons by at least one finger of a user; and a processor configured to receive data from the sensor, and further is configured to transmit the data ( [0083] discloses the controller can include circuitry (indicative of a processor) and inertial sensors that can communicate/transmit data to process positions, changes in positions, and other 6 axes type data elements. To clarify, an inertial sensor which can determine position and changes in position is a reasonable interpretation of a sensor and this is used to determine motion aspects of the controller and how it impacts the virtual objects ); and
a computer device comprising a display configured to display a virtual environment ( Figures 2 and 12, [0064] disclose a head-mounted display HMD 102 which can display content to the user 100, namely the virtual content ), the computer device being is configured to receive the data from the processor, and the computer is device being configured to virtually move a virtual representation of a hand in a virtual environment depicted on the display based on the manipulation parameter such that the visual representation of the hand virtually engages with a secondary virtual element, and to determine the secondary virtual element with which the virtual representation of the hand is engaged in the virtual environment and to generated tactile feedback based on the determined secondary virtual element ( Figures 4A/4B, 7A/7B, etc, [0072] disclose of transmitting data to and from the controller, HMD and a computer, which can update the virtual scene as the user performs interactions within it. Some examples are described below with regards to Figure 5A and the virtual hand on the steering wheel. Figures 5A/5B, [0091] disclose a scene in which the user interacts with, namely a user’s virtual hands holding the steering wheel (read the virtual hands as a virtual representation of a hand) and the steering wheel as a secondary virtual element which the virtual hands engage with). Other examples are provided, such as Figures 7A/7B and in either situation, there are two virtual element(s) engaging with each other ), the device being separate from the headset display ( As noted and shown in Figure 1, the controller 104 is separate from the head-mounted display 102 ), but
Mikhailov does not explicitly teach the device comprising “a plurality of tactile feedback elements; a hand-operated controller comprising a plurality of buttons corresponding to the plurality of tactile feedback elements”. Please also note related aspects, such as actuation of at least one button of the plurality of buttons by at least one finger of a user, etc. To clarify, Mikhailov does not teach of a plurality of buttons and a plurality of tactile feedback elements, but perhaps only a single instance of these elements.
However, in the same field of endeavor, handheld devices, Grant teaches of a haptic peripheral 802 which has a plurality of buttons 872, ( Grant, Figures 8 and 10, [0054] ). Notably, there are a plurality of buttons, each with a haptic output device (read as a plurality of tactile feedback elements corresponding to the plurality of buttons). Actuating the buttons or joystick (also with haptic effects) is similar to Mikhailov’s steering wheel as both are input devices and include a manipulation parameter. Using the peripheral 802 of Grant, notably the joystick aspects, can result in a similar experience to the steering wheel of Mikhailov as well.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the controller with a plurality of buttons and tactile elements, as taught by Grant, with the motivation that Grant teaches in [0057]-[0058] that typical manipulandum configurations can be used. Respectfully, input controllers come in a variety of designs.
Mikhailov does not explicitly teach to “wherein the tactile feedback is configured to convey indirectly via the at least one tactile feedback element corresponding to the at least one button to the at least one finger of the user of the device how the virtual engagement of the virtual representation of the hand with the secondary virtual element would feel to the virtual representation of the hand.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, interaction in a virtual world with haptic feedback, Ullrich teaches of a haptic effect determination module 126, ( Ullrich, Figures 1 and 3, [0045] ). Notably, this module may select a haptic effect for a virtual object, which can be based on size, color, texture, material, movement, etc. An example is given to determine a haptic effect configured to simulate the texture of sand if the virtual object comprises an associated virtual texture that is sandy or coarse (read as a surface characteristic of the secondary virtual element). Figure 3, [0055] discloses an example of a user 308 interacting with a gun and a haptic effect is configured to simulate the texture of the gun handle or grip, e.g. a wood or rubber texture. [0108] disclose an example of interacting with a virtual object of a fruit and a haptic effect can simulate a surface of the outside of the fruit. Respectfully, a number of other examples are provided as well. As combined with Mikhailov, who also teaches of a hand in the form of virtual hands, the same hands can engage with a secondary element (whether it is steering wheel, a gun, etc) and receive haptic feedback which is based on a surface characteristic of the wheel, gun, etc. Ullrich teaches in Figure 8, [0086] of determining characteristics of virtual objects and determining a haptic effect based on the characteristics. To clarify, Mikhailov teaches to use a virtual hand, i.e. the claimed virtual element to interact in a virtual setting and with a secondary virtual element, i.e. a virtual steering wheel (as well as other examples) and Ullrich teaches to use a hand to interact with a virtual element, akin to the secondary virtual element of Mikhailov. As combined, the references teach of two virtual elements, that being a virtual hand(s) and a virtual gun which can interact with each other and the texture (surface characteristics) of the gun can be imparted to the user as the virtual hand engages with the gun. Mikahilov teaches of two virtual elements, namely the hands and the steering wheel, but does not explicitly teach of imparting surface characteristics of the engaged steering wheel. However, Ullrich teaches of an engaged second object, i.e. the gun, imparting texture aspects to the user’s hands and as combined, this is due to the virtual hand engaging with the virtual gun. As combined, one of ordinary skill in the art would realize a direct touch of the user’s hand resulting in a feedback, or a touch by a virtual hand and then imparting the feedback to the controller, is within the combination of these references.
To clarify, the combination teaches as follows:
“wherein the tactile feedback is configured to convey indirectly via the at least one tactile feedback element corresponding to the at least one button to the at least one finger of the user of the device how the virtual engagement of the virtual representation of the hand with the secondary virtual element would feel to the virtual representation of the hand, ( To address the “represented surface characteristic”, Ullrich teaches of providing a haptic effect which comprises a simulated texture on a surface of the computing device, i.e. touch sensitive surface. [0055] discloses a user’s hand interacting with a gun and the haptic effect can simulate the texture of the gun handle or grip, e.g. a wood or rubber texture. It is important to clarify here that Mikhailov teaches of two virtual aspects, virtual hand and a virtual steering wheel and Ullrich focuses on the gun, akin to the virtual steering wheel. The key point is the texture of the secondary object, i.e. what the user is interacting with, has a texture aspect which can be conveyed to the user. Please note the combination with Grant with respective to the plurality of tactile feedback elements corresponding to the at least one button. [0099], [0045] discloses a key aspect of associating user interactions with interface elements with particular haptic effects, to allow the user to feel textures associated with objects in the user interface, [0053] )”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the haptic feedback based on the texture/material aspects of the virtual object, with the motivation that it will provide a more realistic or immersive user experience, ( Ullrich, [0108] ).
Mikhailov teaches in Claim 17:
The system according to claim 16, wherein the device is configured to move with three degrees of freedom via a bearing. ( [0083] discloses using inertial sensors which can measure 6 axes type data elements. To clarify, the controller motion can be measured as it moves in these axes. As for the bearing, in light of the controller being able to move in a variety of axes, some type of bearing/socket structure to allow for freedom is well known and common. Respectfully, examiner asserts Official Notice to this structure/concept )
Mikhailov and Grant teaches in Claim 18:
The device of claim 1, wherein the hand-operated controller has an ergonomic ellipsoid shape configured to fit comfortably in a palm of the user. ( Mikhailov teaches of a steering wheel which is an ellipsoid shape which the user can grip in their palm, as shown. Furthermore, ellipses/circles are well known for ergonomics and Grant also teaches of such a design in Figure 8 as well )
Mikhailov and Grant teach in Claim 19:
The device of claim 18, wherein the plurality of buttons are positioned on the hand-operated controller to rest under respective fingers of the user when the user grips the hand-operated controller. ( Grant teaches in Figure 8 of buttons which can be pressed by the user’s fingers, meaning they rest under the respective fingers )
7. Claims 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mikhailov et al. ( US 2016/0129346 A1 ) in view of Grant ( US 2014/0274398 A1 ) and Ullrich et al. ( US 2014/0362014 A1 ), as applied to Claims 1 and 9, further in view of Olsson et al. ( US 2012/0306603 A1 ).
As per Claim 6:
Mikhailov does not explicitly teach “wherein the sensor comprises an accelerometer and a gyroscope.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, handheld controllers, Olsson discloses [0219], [0252] teaching the use of a gyroscope and/or an accelerometer may be incorporated to provide additional signals to measure displacements and these are examples of inertial sensors, which Mikhailov also teaches of.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the accelerometer, gyroscope, etc, as taught by Olsson, with the motivation that Mikhailov already teaches of the use of inertial sensors to determine the position of the controller and Olsson explicitly teaches of gyroscope and accelerometer, which are examples of inertial sensors. Respectfully, many types of inertial sensors can determine the motion of the controller and it is well known to use these specific types of sensors, ( Olsson, [0252] ).
As per Claim 11:
Mikhailov does not explicitly teach “wherein the orientation sensor comprises an accelerometer and a gyroscope.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, handheld controllers, Olsson discloses [0219], [0252] teaching the use of a gyroscope and/or an accelerometer may be incorporated to provide additional signals to measure displacements and these are examples of inertial sensors, which Mikhailov also teaches of.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the accelerometer, gyroscope, etc, as taught by Olsson, with the motivation that Mikhailov already teaches of the use of inertial sensors to determine the position of the controller and Olsson explicitly teaches of gyroscope and accelerometer, which are examples of inertial sensors. Respectfully, many types of inertial sensors can determine the motion of the controller and it is well known to use these specific types of sensors, ( Olsson, [0252] ).
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant’s arguments considered, but are respectfully moot in view of new grounds of rejection(s).
Please note the updated rejection in light of the claim amendments, notably a reliance on the Grant reference. As a result, Applicant’s arguments are moot at this time.
Conclusion
/DENNIS P JOSEPH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621