DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communication filed on April 10, 2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sharifi (WO 2025/165363).
As per claim 1, Sharifi discloses, an electronic device, comprising:
a display; at least one processor, comprising processing circuitry (Paragraphs 111 (processors), Paragraph 081 (user interface)); and
a memory configured to store instructions, wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively (Paragraphs 110-112), is configured to execute the instructions and to cause the electronic device to:
based on obtaining a query for source data, extract a plurality of pieces of candidate data related to the query from the source data (Paragraphs 26 and 75-78);
select, from the extracted plurality of pieces of candidate data, input data based on contents of the plurality of pieces of candidate data (Paragraphs 72-78);
generate a response to the query by applying the query and the selected input data to a generative model (Paragraphs 81-83);
determine a partial response of the response derived from the selected input data (Paragraphs 81-85); and
display, via the display, a visual representation indicating information regarding the selected input data, in an area corresponding to the determined partial response (Paragraph 90).
As per claim 2, Sharifi discloses, wherein the visual representation indicates at least one of an application used to obtain or process the input data, a directory in which the input data is stored, an access path for accessing a page including the input data, or an external device sharing the input data with the electronic device (Paragraph 90).
As per claim 3, Sharifi discloses, wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to cause the electronic device to: based on content of first candidate data and content of second candidate data being the same, select one of the first candidate data and the second candidate data as the input data; and display a visual representation indicating information regarding the first candidate data and a visual representation indicating information regarding the second candidate data, in the area corresponding to the partial response (Paragraphs 75-79).
As per claim 4, Sharifi discloses, wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to cause the electronic device to: based on the content of the first candidate data and the content of the second candidate data being different, select, from between the first candidate data and the second candidate data, candidate data more recently obtained or processed than the other as the input data (Paragraphs 75-79).
As per claim 5, Sharifi discloses, wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to cause the electronic device to: based on the content of the first candidate data and the content of the second candidate data being in different categories, select the first candidate data and the second candidate data as the input data; determine, of the response, a first partial response derived from the first candidate data and a second partial response derived from the second candidate data; and display a first visual representation indicating information regarding the first candidate data in an area corresponding to the first partial response and a second visual representation indicating information regarding the second candidate data in an area corresponding to the second partial response (Paragraph 75-84).
As per claim 6, Sharifi discloses, wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to cause the electronic device to: based on obtaining an input to the displayed visual representation, display at least a portion of the input data (Paragraphs 75-84).
As per claim 7, Sharifi discloses, wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to cause the electronic device to: determine a similarity level between a plurality of candidate partial responses included in the response and the input data; and based on the similarity level between each candidate partial response and the input data, determine at least one candidate response as the partial response derived from the input data (Paragraphs 75-84).
As per claim 8, Sharifi discloses, wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to cause the electronic device to: based on the input, determine the source data to be at least one of: at least a portion of internal data stored in the memory, at least a portion of external device data stored in another electronic device connected to the electronic device, or search data obtainable via a search server (Paragraph 90).
As per claim 9, Sharifi discloses, wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to cause the electronic device to: based on the query being a query about private information of a user, determine the source data to be the internal data stored in the memory of the electronic device (Paragraph 90).
As per claim 10, Sharifi discloses, wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to cause the electronic device to: obtain summary data of the internal data stored in the memory; based on obtaining the query, determine whether the query is answerable with the internal data using the summary data and the query; based on the query being answerable with the internal data, specify the source data including the internal data; and based on the query not being answerable with the internal data, specify the source data including at least one of the external device data or the search data (Paragraphs 90-91).
As per claims 11-20, they are analyzed and thus rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of claims 1-10, because the corresponding claims have similar limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hunter et al. (US 2025/0298816) discloses, document question answering system using layered language models.
Burgess et al. (US 2023/0367795) discloses, navigating and performing device tasks using search interface.
Contact Information
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Or faxed to: (571) 273-8300.
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to 401 Dulany Street, Alexandria, VA-22314 (Customer Service Window).
September 1, 2026
/ABUL K AZAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2656