DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 15: “by consuming hydrogen” should read “by consuming the hydrogen”
Claims 2-11 are also objected to my virtue of dependency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1, line 4: “conditioning system” draws corresponding structure to the following recitation of the specification, “The conditioning system 22 includes a tank heater 24 which is configured to maintain a tank pressure while extracting a stream of hydrogen from the tank 20, and a distribution heater 26 which is configured to heat the extracted stream of hydrogen and vaporize the LH2 to provide the GH2 stream that is passed to the compressor 14 (discussed above) (Pg. 7, paragraph 39)”, or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerstler et al. (US Patent No. 9,255,664), hereinafter Gerstler in view of Klebe et al. (DE 102 42 159), hereinafter Klebe, Kong et al. (WO 2024063201), hereinafter Kong, and Wellenhofer et al. (US 20240353069), hereinafter Wellenhofer.
Regarding claim 1, Gerstler discloses a hydrogen distribution system for supplying hydrogen to a hydrogen consumer (Fig. 1, system 100, a boil-off auxiliary power unit 140, an auxiliary functional
module 150; Col. 4, lines 12-17, FIG. 1 is a schematic view of a system 100 formed in accordance with an embodiment. The system 100 (along with other embodiments of systems and methods described herein) is discussed below in connection with the use of liquid natural gas (LNG) as a source of power, for example, for propulsion of an aircraft; Col. 21, lines 66-67, In various embodiments, for example, other cryogenic fuels such as hydrogen (H2) may be utilized) comprising:
a tank storing a liquid hydrogen fuel (Fig. 1, cryogenic tank 110);
a conditioning system configured to provide a gaseous hydrogen stream downstream from the tank towards the hydrogen consumer (Fig. 1, heating module 114; Col. 9, lines 8-12, For example, in the illustrated embodiment, the system includes a heating module 114 configured to heat a liquid (e.g., LNG) within the cryogenic tank 110. The heating module 114, for example, may include an electric heater powered by a battery (not shown));
a compressor downstream of the conditioning system and configured to receive the gaseous hydrogen stream and provide a high-pressure gaseous hydrogen stream (Fig. 1, compressor 130, Col. 4, lines 12-17, The power stream 125 is directed in the downstream direction 102 toward the boil-off auxiliary power unit 140. Before arriving at the boil-off auxiliary power unit 140, the power stream 125 of the embodiment depicted in FIG. 1 first passes through a compressor 130 to increase the pressure of the power stream 125 to provide a pressurized stream 135 to the boil-off auxiliary module 140); and
wherein the hydrogen consumer is configured to receive the high-temperature, high-pressure gaseous hydrogen stream and provide energy by consuming hydrogen from the high-temperature, high-pressure gaseous hydrogen stream (Col. 4, lines 59-66, At the boil-off auxiliary module 140, the pressurized stream 135 is utilized to produce energy (e.g., electrical energy created via the use of, for example, a turbine having blades over or through which passes the pressurized stream 135 or a product of combustion of the pressurized stream 135). The exhaust (not shown) may be vented or further treated, while power output 145 goes to the auxiliary functional module 150).
However, Gerstler does not disclose the conditioning system to include a distribution heater downstream of the tank and configured to vaporize liquid hydrogen and provide the gaseous hydrogen stream to the compressor.
Klebe teaches the conditioning system to include a distribution heater downstream of the tank and configured to vaporize liquid hydrogen and provide the gaseous hydrogen stream to the compressor (Fig. 1, air heated evaporator 2; Further, the air heated evaporator 2 has the same structure as the claimed distribution heater and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed).
Gerstler fails to teach the conditioning system to include a distribution heater downstream of the tank and configured to vaporize liquid hydrogen and provide the gaseous hydrogen stream to the compressor, however Klebe teaches that it is a known method in the art of hydrogen fuel distribution to include the conditioning system to include a distribution heater downstream of the tank and configured to vaporize liquid hydrogen and provide the gaseous hydrogen stream to the compressor. This is strong evidence that modifying Gerstler as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing a gas stream to the compressor to mitigate compressor damage to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gerstler by Klebe and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing a gas stream to the compressor to mitigate compressor damage to improve overall system efficiencies.
Further, Gerstler as modified does not disclose a heater downstream of the compressor and configured to receive the high-pressure gaseous hydrogen stream and provide a high-temperature, high-pressure gaseous hydrogen stream.
Kong teaches a heater downstream of the compressor and configured to receive the high-pressure gaseous hydrogen stream and provide a high-temperature, high-pressure gaseous hydrogen stream (Fig. 1, heating unit 320 compressor 321, heat supply member 322; Pg. 4, The heating unit 320 according to an embodiment of the present invention includes a compressor 321 and a heat supply member 322. Hereinafter, it will be described as an example that the heating unit 320 includes both the compressor 321 and the heat supply member 322, but the heating unit 320 is not limited to this and includes the compressor 321 and the heat supply member 322. It is also possible to consist of only one of them).
Gerstler as modified fails to teach a heater downstream of the compressor and configured to receive the high-pressure gaseous hydrogen stream and provide a high-temperature, high-pressure gaseous hydrogen stream, however Kong teaches that it is a known method in the art of hydrogen fuel distribution to include the conditioning system to include a heater downstream of the compressor and configured to receive the high-pressure gaseous hydrogen stream and provide a high-temperature, high-pressure gaseous hydrogen stream. This is strong evidence that modifying Gerstler as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing a gas stream to a desired temperature to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gerstler as modified by Kong and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing a gas stream to a desired temperature to improve overall system efficiencies.
Moreover, Gerstler as modified does not disclose a valve downstream of the heater and configured to adjust a flow of the high-temperature, high-pressure gaseous hydrogen stream; and
wherein the hydrogen consumer is downstream of the valve.
Wellenhofer teaches a valve downstream of the heater and configured to adjust a flow of the high-temperature, high-pressure gaseous hydrogen stream (Fig. 1, valve V1, open-loop and closed-loop control device 13; Pg. 5, paragraph 69, The supply valve V1 is coupled to the open-loop and closed-loop control device 13 via an operative connection 16. The operative connection 16 can be a data connection. The operative connection 16 can be wireless or wired. The open-loop and closed-loop control device 13 is suitable for opening and closing the supply valve V1 as needed); and
wherein the hydrogen consumer is downstream of the valve (Fig. 1, consumer 3; Pg. 5, paragraph 70, A line 17 and a distributor 18 which distributes the gaseous hydrogen H2 to a plurality of consumers 3 are connected downstream from the supply valve V1. In the event that only one consumer 3 is provided, the distributor 18 can be omitted. A pressure of 1 to 2.5 bara, i.e., a suitable supply pressure for the consumer 3, prevails in the line 17 and/or in the distributor 18. The pressure in the header 14 is thus significantly higher compared to the pressure in the line 17 and or the distributor 18).
Gerstler as modified fails to teach a valve downstream of the heater and configured to adjust a flow of the high-temperature, high-pressure gaseous hydrogen stream; and wherein the hydrogen consumer is downstream of the valve, however Wellenhofer teaches that it is a known method in the art of hydrogen fuel distribution to include a valve downstream of the heater and configured to adjust a flow of the high-temperature, high-pressure gaseous hydrogen stream; and wherein the hydrogen consumer is downstream of the valve. This is strong evidence that modifying Gerstler as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing flow control between the fuel supply and the hydrogen consumer to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gerstler as modified by Wellenhofer and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing flow control between the fuel supply and the hydrogen consumer to improve overall system efficiencies.
Regarding claim 5, Gerstler as modified discloses the hydrogen distribution system of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the conditioning system comprises:
a tank heater configured to maintain a pressure within the tank (Gerstler, Fig. 1, heating module 114; Col. 9, lines 8-12, For example, in the illustrated embodiment, the system includes a heating module 114 configured to heat a liquid (e.g., LNG) within the cryogenic tank 110. The heating module 114, for example, may include an electric heater powered by a battery (not shown)); and
a distribution heater downstream of the tank and configured to vaporize liquid hydrogen and provide the gaseous hydrogen stream to the compressor (Klebe, Fig. 1, air heated evaporator 2; Further, the air heated evaporator 2 has the same structure as the claimed distribution heater and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed). Further, the limitations of claim 5 are the result of the modification of reference used in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 8, Gerstler as modified discloses the hydrogen distribution system of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the hydrogen consumer is a combustion engine (Gerstler, Col. 7-8, lines 65-67 and 1, In some embodiments, the boil-off auxiliary power unit 140 may be configured as a reciprocating engine (and may not require the boil-off gas stream to pass through a pressurization module).
Regarding claim 9, Gerstler as modified discloses the hydrogen distribution system of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the hydrogen consumer is a fuel cell (Gerstler, Col. 8, lines 4-6, In still other embodiments, the boil-off auxiliary power unit 140 may be configured as a fuel cell).
Regarding claim 10, Gerstler as modified discloses the hydrogen distribution system of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), further comprising a controller configured to regulate a flow of hydrogen throughout the hydrogen distribution system (Wellenhofer, Fig. 1, valve V1, open-loop and closed-loop control device 13; Pg. 5, paragraph 69, The supply valve V1 is coupled to the open-loop and closed-loop control device 13 via an operative connection 16. The operative connection 16 can be a data connection. The operative connection 16 can be wireless or wired. The open-loop and closed-loop control device 13 is suitable for opening and closing the supply valve V1 as needed). Further, the limitations of claim 10 are the result of the modification of reference used in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 11, Gerstler as modified discloses an aircraft (Gerstler, Fig. 6, aircraft 600; Col. 4, lines 12-17, FIG. 1 is a schematic view of a system 100 formed in accordance with an embodiment. The system 100 (along with other embodiments of systems and methods described herein) is discussed below in connection with the use of liquid natural gas (LNG) as a source of power, for example, for propulsion of an aircraft; Col. 21, lines 50-54, As indicated above, a cryogenic tank may be located on board an aircraft for containing fuel for an engine of the aircraft. For example, FIG. 6 is a schematic illustration of an exemplary embodiment of an aircraft 600 that includes one or more engines 602 that use a cryogenic fluid as fuel) comprising:
a fuselage (Gerstler, Fig. 6, fuselage 614);
a wing attached to the fuselage (Gerstler, Fig. 6, wings 613);
a combustion engine mounted beneath the wing (Gerstler, Fig. 6, engine 602); and
a fuel distribution system configured to distribute hydrogen fuel to the combustion engine according to the hydrogen distribution system of claim 1 (Fig. 6, boil-off auxiliary power system 670; Col. 22, lines 27-34, The engines 602 of the illustrated embodiment are operatively connected in fluid communication to receive cryogenic fluid from the cryogenic tank 610, for example through fuel conduits 608. The engines 602 use the cryogenic fluid as fuel to generate thrust for generating and controlling flight of the aircraft 600. The cryogenic fluid may be stored as a liquid in the cryogenic tank 610, but may be provided to the engines 602 in a gaseous state; Col. 23, lines 37-41, A boil-off auxiliary power system 670 is also mounted to the aircraft 600 and operatively connected to the cryogenic tank 610. The boil-off auxiliary power system 670 may be configured similarly in respects to embodiments discussed herein, such as the system 100 or the system 300; see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerstler as modified by Klebe, Kong, and Wellenhofer as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gilbert et al. (US 20250263175), hereinafter Gilbert.
Regarding claim 2, Gerstler as modified discloses the hydrogen distribution system of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Gerstler as modified does not disclose wherein the compressor is located in a powerplant system of an aircraft.
Gilbert teaches compressors to be located in a powerplant system of an aircraft (Fig. 1, flight vehicle 10; Fig. 3, compressor 38, first power plant 22; Pg. 3, paragraph 35, Referring to FIGS. 3-7, the first power plant 22 also includes a compressor 38 configured to compress the working fluid 28. Generally, the compressor 38 of the first power plant 22 compresses the working fluid 28 to an increased pressure. Therefore, depending on the type of working fluid 28, the compressor 38 compresses the working fluid 28 to the pressure and the temperature above the critical point, e.g., above a point that the working fluid 28 would condense into liquid form when operating the power system 12A-12E. Generally, the compressor 38 of the first power plant 22 is disposed along the fluid loop).
Gerstler as modified fails to teach wherein the compressor is located in a powerplant system of an aircraft, however Gilbert teaches that it is a known method in the art of aircrafts to include compressors to be located in a powerplant system of an aircraft. This is strong evidence that modifying Gerstler as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing compressed gas for various system uses to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gerstler as modified by Gilbert and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing compressed gas for various system uses to improve overall system efficiencies.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerstler as modified by Klebe, Kong, and Wellenhofer as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of H. Multhopp (US Patent No. 3,018,982), hereinafter Multhopp.
Regarding claim 3, Gerstler as modified discloses the hydrogen distribution system of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Gerstler as modified does not disclose wherein the compressor is located in a wing of an aircraft.
Multhopp teaches compressors to be located in a wing of an aircraft (Fig. 1, aircraft 10; Fig. 3, compressors 36; Col. 4, lines 21-26, In FIGURE 3 a typical wing-cross-section is shown, with one of the compressors illustrated in some detail. Compressor 36 may be located somewhat aft of the midpoint
of the wing substantially as shown).
Gerstler as modified fails to teach wherein the compressor is located in a wing of an aircraft, however Multhopp teaches that it is a known method in the art of aircrafts to include compressors to be located in a wing of an aircraft. This is strong evidence that modifying Gerstler as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing compressed gas for various system uses to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gerstler as modified by Multhopp and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing compressed gas for various system uses to improve overall system efficiencies.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerstler as modified by Klebe, Kong, and Wellenhofer as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Barbara et al. (US Patent No. 8,915,777), hereinafter Barbara.
Regarding claim 3, Gerstler as modified discloses the hydrogen distribution system of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Gerstler as modified does not disclose wherein the compressor is located in a fuselage of an aircraft.
Barbara teaches compressors to be located in a fuselage of an aircraft (Fig. 1, fuselage; Compressor 16; Col. 3, lines 49-59, Also mounted inside the fuselage 1 is an auxiliary air conditioning unit including a compressor 16 and temperature adjusting means 17 (a heater and/or cooler) powered by an electrical or pneumatic power source 18 via a controllable switch 19. The compressor 16 can tap air from outside the fuselage 1 along a pipe 20, compress the tapped air then send the air thus compressed to the temperature adjusting means 17 along a pipe 21. Air conditioned for temperature and for pressure by the compressor 16 and said temperature adjusting means 17 may then be available at the outlet 22 of said means 17).
Gerstler as modified fails to teach wherein the compressor is located in a fuselage of an aircraft, however Barbara teaches that it is a known method in the art of aircrafts to include compressors to be located in a fuselage of an aircraft. This is strong evidence that modifying Gerstler as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing compressed gas for various system uses to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gerstler as modified by Barbara and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing compressed gas for various system uses to improve overall system efficiencies.
Claims 6-7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerstler as modified by Klebe, Kong, and Wellenhofer as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Iwasaki et al. (US 20240360959), hereinafter Iwasaki.
Regarding claims 6-7, Gerstler as modified discloses the hydrogen distribution system of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Gerstler as modified does not disclose further comprising a heat transfer loop including:
an energy recuperator configured to transfer energy from the hydrogen consumer to a heat transfer fluid,
wherein the energy recuperator heats the high-pressure gaseous hydrogen stream from the compressor via the heater utilizing the heat transfer fluid to provide the high-temperature, high-pressure gaseous hydrogen stream to the valve; and
wherein the heat transfer loop further includes:
a pump configured to circulate the heat transfer fluid throughout the heat transfer loop to supply the heat transfer fluid to the heater.
Iwasaki teaches a heat transfer loop (Fig. 1, hydrogen supply device 100, circulation flow path 30) including:
an energy recuperator configured to transfer energy from the hydrogen consumer to a heat transfer fluid (Fig. 1, heater 20, hydrogen engine 15; Pg. 2, paragraph 41, The heater 20 includes a coolant flow path 21 and a heat medium flow path 31 therein. In the coolant flow path 21, the coolant having a high temperature flowing through the internal flow path 17 of the hydrogen engine 15 flows. The low-temperature heat medium flowing through the casing 41 of the vaporizer 40 flows through the heat medium flow path 31. The heater 20 performs heat exchange between the coolant having a high temperature flowing through the coolant flow path 21 and the low-temperature heat medium to heat the heat medium. Here, the heating medium is a liquid, and may be, for example, a long-life coolant (LLC)),
wherein the energy recuperator heats the high-pressure gaseous hydrogen stream from the compressor via an exchanger utilizing the heat transfer fluid to provide the high-temperature, high-pressure gaseous hydrogen stream to the valve (Fig. 1, vaporizer 40; Pg. 2, paragraph 43, The vaporizer 40 includes a casing 41 and a hydrogen tube 45 housed inside the casing 41. A heat medium having a high temperature heated by the heater 20 flows inside the casing 41. Low-temperature liquid hydrogen or hydrogen gas flows inside the hydrogen tube 45. The heat medium flowing through the inside of the casing 41 flows through the outer surface of the hydrogen tube 45, and the liquid hydrogen inside is heated and vaporized to form hydrogen gas); and
wherein the heat transfer loop further includes:
a pump configured to circulate the heat transfer fluid throughout the heat transfer loop to supply the heat transfer fluid to the exchanger (Fig. 1, circulation pump 34; Pg. 2, paragraph 44, Further, the heat medium supply pipe 32 is provided with a circulation pump 34 for feeding the heat medium to the circulation flow path 30).
Gerstler as modified fails to teach a heat transfer loop including: an energy recuperator configured to transfer energy from the hydrogen consumer to a heat transfer fluid, wherein the energy recuperator heats the high-pressure gaseous hydrogen stream from the compressor via the heater utilizing the heat transfer fluid to provide the high-temperature, high-pressure gaseous hydrogen stream to the valve; and wherein the heat transfer loop further includes: a pump configured to circulate the heat transfer fluid throughout the heat transfer loop to supply the heat transfer fluid to the heater, however Iwasaki teaches that it is a known method in the art of hydrogen fuel distribution to include a heat transfer loop including: an energy recuperator configured to transfer energy from the hydrogen consumer to a heat transfer fluid, wherein the energy recuperator heats the high-pressure gaseous hydrogen stream from the compressor via an exchanger utilizing the heat transfer fluid to provide the high-temperature, high-pressure gaseous hydrogen stream to the valve; and wherein the heat transfer loop further includes: a pump configured to circulate the heat transfer fluid throughout the heat transfer loop to supply the heat transfer fluid to the exchanger. This is strong evidence that modifying Gerstler as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing a usage for system waste heat to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gerstler as modified by Iwasaki and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing a usage for system waste heat to improve overall system efficiencies.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Minas et al. (US 20230122350) discloses a similar hydrogen distribution system for supplying hydrogen to a hydrogen consumer.
Fujisawa et al. (US Patent No. 10,655,784) discloses a similar hydrogen distribution system for supplying hydrogen to a hydrogen consumer.
/DEVON MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 September 29th, 2026