DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Pg. 2, paragraph 6: “are be to match” should read “are required to match”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 4: “a hydrogen customer” should read “the hydrogen customer”
Claim 4, line 2: “heater)” should read “heater”
Claim 4, line 4: “a tank pressure sensor conjured to measure” should read “a tank pressure sensor configured to measure”
Claim 13, line 4: “the primary heat exchanger, the secondary heat exchanger, or both” should read “the primary heat exchanger, the secondary heat exchanger, or both the primary heat exchanger and the secondary heat exchanger”
Claim 14, line 1: “An aircraft” should read “The aircraft”
Claim 14, line 2: “a hydrogen customer” should read “the hydrogen customer”
Claims 2-16 are also objected to by virtue of dependency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 3, line 4: “control unit” draws corresponding structure to the following recitation of the specification, “The control unit described herein may include a controller or a computing device comprising a processing and a memory which has stored therein computer executable instructions for implementing the processes described herein. The control unit may comprise any suitable devices configured to cause a series of steps to be performed so as to implement the method such that instructions, when executed by the computing device or other programmable apparatus, may cause the functions/acts/steps specified in the methods described herein to be executed. The control unit may comprise, for example, any type of general-purpose microprocessor or microcontroller, a digital signal processing (DSP) processor, a central processing unit (CPU), an integrated circuit, a field programmable gate array (FPGA), a reconfigurable processor, other suitably programmed or programmable logic circuits, or any combination thereof (Pg. 16, paragraph 119)”, or equivalents thereof.
Claim 4, line 6: “control unit” draws corresponding structure to the following recitation of the specification, “The control unit described herein may include a controller or a computing device comprising a processing and a memory which has stored therein computer executable instructions for implementing the processes described herein. The control unit may comprise any suitable devices configured to cause a series of steps to be performed so as to implement the method such that instructions, when executed by the computing device or other programmable apparatus, may cause the functions/acts/steps specified in the methods described herein to be executed. The control unit may comprise, for example, any type of general-purpose microprocessor or microcontroller, a digital signal processing (DSP) processor, a central processing unit (CPU), an integrated circuit, a field programmable gate array (FPGA), a reconfigurable processor, other suitably programmed or programmable logic circuits, or any combination thereof (Pg. 16, paragraph 119)”, or equivalents thereof.
Claim 8, line 4: “control unit” draws corresponding structure to the following recitation of the specification, “The control unit described herein may include a controller or a computing device comprising a processing and a memory which has stored therein computer executable instructions for implementing the processes described herein. The control unit may comprise any suitable devices configured to cause a series of steps to be performed so as to implement the method such that instructions, when executed by the computing device or other programmable apparatus, may cause the functions/acts/steps specified in the methods described herein to be executed. The control unit may comprise, for example, any type of general-purpose microprocessor or microcontroller, a digital signal processing (DSP) processor, a central processing unit (CPU), an integrated circuit, a field programmable gate array (FPGA), a reconfigurable processor, other suitably programmed or programmable logic circuits, or any combination thereof (Pg. 16, paragraph 119)”, or equivalents thereof.
Claim 9, line 3: “control unit” draws corresponding structure to the following recitation of the specification, “The control unit described herein may include a controller or a computing device comprising a processing and a memory which has stored therein computer executable instructions for implementing the processes described herein. The control unit may comprise any suitable devices configured to cause a series of steps to be performed so as to implement the method such that instructions, when executed by the computing device or other programmable apparatus, may cause the functions/acts/steps specified in the methods described herein to be executed. The control unit may comprise, for example, any type of general-purpose microprocessor or microcontroller, a digital signal processing (DSP) processor, a central processing unit (CPU), an integrated circuit, a field programmable gate array (FPGA), a reconfigurable processor, other suitably programmed or programmable logic circuits, or any combination thereof (Pg. 16, paragraph 119)”, or equivalents thereof.
Claim 11, line 5: “control unit” draws corresponding structure to the following recitation of the specification, “The control unit described herein may include a controller or a computing device comprising a processing and a memory which has stored therein computer executable instructions for implementing the processes described herein. The control unit may comprise any suitable devices configured to cause a series of steps to be performed so as to implement the method such that instructions, when executed by the computing device or other programmable apparatus, may cause the functions/acts/steps specified in the methods described herein to be executed. The control unit may comprise, for example, any type of general-purpose microprocessor or microcontroller, a digital signal processing (DSP) processor, a central processing unit (CPU), an integrated circuit, a field programmable gate array (FPGA), a reconfigurable processor, other suitably programmed or programmable logic circuits, or any combination thereof (Pg. 16, paragraph 119)”, or equivalents thereof.
Claim 13, line 3: “control unit” draws corresponding structure to the following recitation of the specification, “The control unit described herein may include a controller or a computing device comprising a processing and a memory which has stored therein computer executable instructions for implementing the processes described herein. The control unit may comprise any suitable devices configured to cause a series of steps to be performed so as to implement the method such that instructions, when executed by the computing device or other programmable apparatus, may cause the functions/acts/steps specified in the methods described herein to be executed. The control unit may comprise, for example, any type of general-purpose microprocessor or microcontroller, a digital signal processing (DSP) processor, a central processing unit (CPU), an integrated circuit, a field programmable gate array (FPGA), a reconfigurable processor, other suitably programmed or programmable logic circuits, or any combination thereof (Pg. 16, paragraph 119)”, or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5, line 3 recites, “a control unit” which is unclear to the Examiner if the control unit of claim 5 is the same control unit as the control unit of claim 4 from which claim 5 depends. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the control units of claims 4 and 5 to be the same control units. The Examiner recommends making amendments to clarify the relationship between the control units of claims 4 and 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 10, 12, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the first interpretation of Brunner et al. (US Patent No. 9,784,410), hereinafter Brunner in view of Kusumoto (US 20260275883), hereinafter Kusumoto.
Regarding claim 1, Brunner discloses a hydrogen distribution system for supplying hydrogen to a hydrogen consumer on vehicle (Fig. 1, consumer V; Col. 5, lines 56-65, Referring to FIG. 1, a cryopressure tank 1, including its peripheral components necessary for understanding the present invention, is principally illustrated here. In the cryopressure tank 1 (also referred to as tank 1), cryogenic hydrogen for supplying a consumer V (which is not illustrated in detail), for example an internal combustion engine and/or a fuel cell of a motor vehicle, can be stored at absolute pressure values of the internal tank pressure in the order of magnitude of 150 bar or more, but at least under supercritical pressure at 13 bar and more), the hydrogen distribution system comprising:
a tank storing hydrogen at a supercritical pressure (Fig. 1, cryopressure tank 1; Col. 5, lines 56-65, Referring to FIG. 1, a cryopressure tank 1, including its peripheral components necessary for understanding the present invention, is principally illustrated here. In the cryopressure tank 1 (also referred to as tank 1), cryogenic hydrogen for supplying a consumer V (which is not illustrated in detail), for example an internal combustion engine and/or a fuel cell of a motor vehicle, can be stored at absolute pressure values of the internal tank pressure in the order of magnitude of 150 bar or more, but at least under supercritical pressure at 13 bar and more);
a supply pipe fluidly connected between the tank and a hydrogen consumer (Fig. 1, consumer V, filling and removal line 23, supply line 6; Col. 6, lines 4-15, The inner tank la can be filled with cryogenic hydrogen in the supercritical state via a combined and thus single-flow filling and removal line 23, and hydrogen can be removed from the inner tank la via this filling/removal line 23. The line 23 extends or leads into a valve unit 4, which is only illustrated in an abstract manner and is not important for the present invention. For this, the valve unit 4 is connected to a first or external heat exchanger Sa through which, on the one side, a first heat transfer circuit 15 and secondly a supply line 6 are fed. The supply line 6 extends from the valve unit 4 and thereby connects to the filling/removal line 23, and finally leads to the already mentioned consumer V);
a primary heat exchanger arranged on the supply pipe and configured to heat the hydrogen flowing in said supply pipe from the tank to the hydrogen consumer (Fig. 1, first heat exchanger 5a; Col. 6, lines 15-19, The supply line 6 is in heat-transferring communication with the first heat transfer circuit 15 via the heat exchanger 5a so that the hydrogen carried in the supply line 6 is heated in the external first heat exchanger 5a); and
a tank heater arranged in the tank and configured to heat the hydrogen in the tank (Fig. 1, second heat exchanger 9; Col. 6, lines 28-29, a second (internal) heat exchanger 9 provided within the inner tank 1a of the cryopressure tank 1).
However, Brunner does not disclose the vehicle to be an aircraft.
Kusumoto teaches discloses a hydrogen distribution system for supplying hydrogen to a hydrogen consumer on an aircraft (Fig. 1, hydrogen aircraft 1, hydrogen fuel supply system 10; Fig. 3, hydrogen fuel supply system 10; Pg. 1, paragraph 17, FIG. 1 is a plan view of a hydrogen aircraft 1 according to the embodiment… A hydrogen fuel supply system 10 is mounted on the main wings 3 and the gas turbine engines 6).
Brunner fails to teach the vehicle to be an aircraft, however Kusumoto teaches that it is a known method in the art of hydrogen distribution systems to include supplying hydrogen to a hydrogen consumer on an aircraft. This is strong evidence that modifying Brunner as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing high energy density low carbon emission fuel to aircraft engines). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brunner by Kusumoto and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing high energy density low carbon emission fuel to aircraft engines.
Regarding claims 2-3, Brunner as modified discloses the hydrogen distribution system according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Brunner as modified does not disclose further comprising:
a pump arranged on the supply pipe;
a line pressure sensor arranged to measure the pressure of the hydrogen in the supply pipe and located downstream of the pump; and
a control unit configured to receive data from the line pressure sensor and to control a speed of the pump according to the data.
Kusumoto teaches a pump arranged on the supply pipe (Fig. 3, pressure pump 26, fuel supply passage 22; Pg. 2, paragraph 25, A pressure pump 26 is located downstream of the check valve 25 in the fuel supply passage 22. The pressure pump 26 pressurizes the hydrogen fuel in the fuel supply passage 22. For example, the pressure pump 26 pressurizes the liquid-phase hydrogen fuel supplied from the fuel tank 21 such that the pressure of the hydrogen is higher than predetermined pressure when the hydrogen fuel flowing through the fuel supply passage 22 has reached a below described main control valve 30. A shutoff valve 27 is located between the check valve 25 and the pressure pump 26 in the fuel supply passage 22);
a line pressure sensor arranged to measure the pressure of the hydrogen in the supply pipe and located downstream of the pump (Fig. 3, sensor 29, pressure gauge 42; Pg. 2, paragraph 26-27, The heat exchanger 28 is located downstream of the pressure pump 26 in the fuel supply passage 22…The sensor 29 is located downstream of the heat exchanger 28 in the fuel supply passage 22. It is desirable that the sensor 29 be located downstream of the heat exchanger 28 and adjacent to the heat exchanger 28); and
a control unit configured to receive data from the line pressure sensor and to control a speed of the pump according to the data (Fig. 3, controller 32, processing circuitry 33; Pg. 2, paragraph 29-30, The processing circuitry 33 is configured to control the feed pump 23, the pressure pump 26, the control valve 30, and a below described actuator 36 in accordance with a detection signal of the sensor 29…The processing circuitry 33 controls the pressure pump 26 to pressurize the hydrogen fuel in the fuel supply passage 22 such that the pressure of the hydrogen fuel becomes higher than predetermined pressure…When the pressure detected by the sensor 29 is lower than the predetermined pressure, the processing circuitry 33 may control the pressure pump 26 such that the pressure detected by the sensor 29 exceeds the predetermined pressure; Further, the teachings of Kusumoto which discuss controlling the pressure pump 26 based on the sensor 29 to achieve desired pressures within the fuel supply passage 22 at least imply the control unit configured to receive data from the line pressure sensor and to control a speed of the pump according to the data since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)).
Brunner as modified fails to teach a pump arranged on the supply pipe; a line pressure sensor arranged to measure the pressure of the hydrogen in the supply pipe and located downstream of the pump; and a control unit configured to receive data from the line pressure sensor and to control a speed of the pump according to the data, however Kusumoto teaches that it is a known method in the art of hydrogen distribution systems to include a pump arranged on the supply pipe; a line pressure sensor arranged to measure the pressure of the hydrogen in the supply pipe and located downstream of the pump; and a control unit configured to receive data from the line pressure sensor and to control a speed of the pump according to the data. This is strong evidence that modifying Brunner as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing hydrogen to the supply pipe at desired pressures based on real-time sensor data to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brunner as modified by Kusumoto and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing hydrogen to the supply pipe at desired pressures based on real-time sensor data to improve overall system efficiencies.
Regarding claim 10, Brunner as modified discloses the hydrogen distribution system according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the tank heater is a heat exchanger (Brunner, Fig. 1, second heat exchanger 9; Col. 6, lines 28-29, a second (internal) heat exchanger 9 provided within the inner tank 1a of the cryopressure tank 1), and
wherein the hydrogen distribution system further comprises:
a first sub-pipe fluidly connected by one end to a first connection point of the supply pipe downstream the primary heat exchanger and by another end to the tank heater (Brunner, Fig. 1, branch line 8, tank pressure control valve 7a; Col. 6, lines 24-29, A branch line 8 branches off from the tank pressure control valve 7a, through which branch line 8 the hydrogen removed from the cryopressure tank 1 and heated in the first (external) heat exchanger 5a is fed into a second (internal) heat exchanger 9 provided within the inner tank la of the cryopressure tank 1); and
a second sub-pipe fluidly connected by one end to the tank heater and by another end to a second connection point of the supply pipe downstream the first connection point (Brunner, Fig. 1, recirculation line 10; Col. 6, lines 29-34, After flowing through this second heat exchanger 9 provided within the cryopressure tank 1, more precisely, within the inner tank 1a thereof, this hydrogen is fed via a recirculation line 10 back into the supply line 6 downstream of the branching-off point of the branch line 8).
Regarding claim 12, Brunner as modified discloses the hydrogen distribution system according to claim 10 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 10 above), further comprising:
a secondary heat exchanger arranged on the second sub-pipe and configured to heat the hydrogen flowing in said second sub-pipe (Brunner, Fig. 1, third external heat exchanger 5b; Col. 6, lines 34-40, This recirculation line 10 is first fed through a third (external) heat exchanger 5b, which is connected in parallel to the first (external) heat exchanger 5a and is supplied by the same heat transfer circuit 15. In the third (external) heat exchanger 5b, the hydrogen cooled in the second heat exchanger 9 is heated again through heat exchange with the mentioned heat transfer circuit 15).
Regarding claim 13, Brunner as modified discloses the hydrogen distribution system according to claim 12 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 12 above).
However, Brunner as modified does not disclose further comprising:
a line temperature sensor arranged downstream the second connection point; and
a control unit configured to receive data from the line temperature sensor and to control the primary heat exchanger, the secondary heat exchanger, or both, according to data from the line temperature sensor.
Kusumoto teaches a line temperature sensor arranged downstream of the heat exchangers (Fig. 3, sensor 29, thermometer 43; Pg. 2, paragraph 26-27, The heat exchanger 28 is located downstream of the pressure pump 26 in the fuel supply passage 22…The sensor 29 is located downstream of the heat exchanger 28 in the fuel supply passage 22. It is desirable that the sensor 29 be located downstream of the heat exchanger 28 and adjacent to the heat exchanger 28); and
a control unit configured to receive data from the line temperature sensor and to control the primary heat exchanger according to data from the line temperature sensor (Fig. 3, controller 32, processing circuitry 33, heat exchanger 28; Pg. 2, paragraph 30, Moreover, when the temperature detected by the sensor 29 is lower than the predetermined temperature, the processing circuitry 36 may control the amount of heat input to the liquid hydrogen per unit density in the heat exchanger 28 such that the temperature detected by the sensor 29 exceeds the predetermined temperature. For example, when the heat exchanger 28 utilizes a heat source of the engine 6 as a medium, as in the present embodiment, the heat shield 35 is located upstream of the heat exchanger 28, and the actuator 36 is controlled to change an area where the heat shield 35 covers the heat exchanger 28).
Brunner as modified fails to teach a line temperature sensor arranged downstream the second connection point; and a control unit configured to receive data from the line temperature sensor and to control the primary heat exchanger, the secondary heat exchanger, or both, according to data from the line temperature sensor, however Kusumoto teaches that it is a known method in the art of hydrogen distribution systems to include a line temperature sensor arranged downstream the second connection point; and a control unit configured to receive data from the line temperature sensor and to control the primary heat exchanger, the secondary heat exchanger, or both, according to data from the line temperature sensor. This is strong evidence that modifying Brunner as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing hydrogen to the hydrogen consumer at desired temperatures based on real-time sensor data to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brunner as modified by Kusumoto and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing hydrogen to the supply pipe at desired pressures based on real-time sensor data to improve overall system efficiencies.
Regarding claim 14, Brunner as modified discloses an aircraft (Kusumoto, Fig. 1, hydrogen aircraft 1, hydrogen fuel supply system 10; Fig. 3, hydrogen fuel supply system 10; Pg. 1, paragraph 17, FIG. 1 is a plan view of a hydrogen aircraft 1 according to the embodiment… A hydrogen fuel supply system 10 is mounted on the main wings 3 and the gas turbine engines 6) comprising:
a hydrogen consumer (Brunner, Fig. 1, consumer V); and
the hydrogen distribution system according to claim 1, wherein the supply pipe is fluidly connected to the hydrogen consumer (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above; Col. 6, lines 4-15, The inner tank la can be filled with cryogenic hydrogen in the supercritical state via a combined and thus single-flow filling and removal line 23, and hydrogen can be removed from the inner tank la via this filling/removal line 23. The line 23 extends or leads into a valve unit 4, which is only illustrated in an abstract manner and is not important for the present invention. For this, the valve unit 4 is connected to a first or external heat exchanger Sa through which, on the one side, a first heat transfer circuit 15 and secondly a supply line 6 are fed. The supply line 6 extends from the valve unit 4 and thereby connects to the filling/removal line 23, and finally leads to the already mentioned consumer V). Further, the limitations of claim 14 are the result of the medication of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 15, Brunner as modified discloses the aircraft according to claim 14 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 14 above), wherein the hydrogen consumer is a combustion engine with a combustion chamber fueled with hydrogen (Brunner, Fig. 1, consumer V; Col. 5, lines 58-62, In the cryopressure tank 1 (also referred to as tank 1), cryogenic hydrogen for supplying a consumer V (which is not illustrated in detail), for example an internal combustion engine and/or a fuel cell of a motor vehicle; Further, the teachings of supplying hydrogen to an internal combustion engine at least imply wherein the hydrogen consumer is a combustion engine with a combustion chamber fueled with hydrogen since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)).
Regarding claim 16, Brunner as modified discloses the aircraft according to claim 14 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 14 above), wherein the hydrogen consumer is a fuel cell fueled with hydrogen (Brunner, Fig. 1, consumer V; Col. 5, lines 58-62, In the cryopressure tank 1 (also referred to as tank 1), cryogenic hydrogen for supplying a consumer V (which is not illustrated in detail), for example an internal combustion engine and/or a fuel cell of a motor vehicle).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the first interpretation of Brunner in view of Kusumoto as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Hofmeister et al. (WO 2025108967), hereinafter Hofmeister.
Regarding claim 11, Brunner as modified discloses the hydrogen distribution system according to claim 10 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 10 above).
However, Brunner as modified does not disclose further comprising:
a tank pressure sensor arranged to measure a pressure of the hydrogen in the tank; and
a control unit configured to receive data from the tank pressure sensor and to control the variable three-way valve according to the data.
Hofmeister teaches a tank pressure sensor arranged to measure a pressure of the hydrogen in the tank (Fig. 1, storage container 1A, sensor system 23; Pg. 7, a control unit 22, which can control the evaporator 17, the valve 18, and/or the heating element 20. This control can be based on sensor signals from a sensor system 23. The sensor system 23 can, for example, comprise temperature and/or pressure sensors arranged in or on the inner container 3, the extraction line 16, the evaporator 17, the valve 18, and/or the consumer 19); and
a control unit configured to receive data from the tank pressure sensor and to control a supply line valve according to the data (Fig. 1, control unit 22, valve 18; Pg. 7, a control unit 22, which can control the evaporator 17, the valve 18, and/or the heating element 20. This control can be based on sensor signals from a sensor system 23. The sensor system 23 can, for example, comprise temperature and/or pressure sensors arranged in or on the inner container 3, the extraction line 16, the evaporator 17, the valve 18, and/or the consumer 19).
Brunner as modified fails to teach a tank pressure sensor arranged to measure a pressure of the hydrogen in the tank; and a control unit configured to receive data from the tank pressure sensor and to control the variable three-way valve according to the data, however Kusumoto teaches that it is a known method in the art of hydrogen distribution systems to include a tank pressure sensor arranged to measure a pressure of the hydrogen in the tank; and a control unit configured to receive data from the tank pressure sensor and to control a supply line valve according to the data. This is strong evidence that modifying Brunner as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing improved flow control of the hydrogen within the supply line based on real-time sensor data to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brunner as modified by Kusumoto and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing improved flow control of the hydrogen within the supply line based on real-time sensor data to improve overall system efficiencies.
Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofmeister et al. (WO 2025108967), hereinafter Hofmeister in view of Kusumoto (US 20260275883), hereinafter Kusumoto.
Regarding claim 1, Hofmeister discloses a hydrogen distribution system for supplying hydrogen to a hydrogen consumer on vehicle (Fig. 1, gas supply device 21, consumer 19; Pg. 5, The storage container 1A can be part of a vehicle, in particular a watercraft; Pg. 6, The consumer 19 is preferably a fuel cell. A "fuel cell" is understood here to be a galvanic cell that converts the chemical reaction energy of a continuously supplied fuel, in this case gaseous hydrogen GH2, and an oxidizing agent, in this case oxygen, into electrical energy. With the help of the evaporator 17, the gaseous hydrogen GH2 can be made available to the consumer 19 at a suitable supply pressure and a suitable supply temperature), the hydrogen distribution system comprising:
a tank storing hydrogen at a supercritical pressure (Fig. 1, storage container 1A; Fig. 2; Pg. 8, At the point D, the hydrogen H has a density Q3 that is lower than the density Q2 at the point C. The point D lies in the supercritical region b. In order to keep the operating pressure p3 constantly above the critical pressure pc during the withdrawal of the hydrogen H2, heat Q continues to be supplied to the hydrogen H2 from the point C to the point D. During the withdrawal of the hydrogen H2, however, only so much heat Q is supplied to it that the operating pressure p3 remains at a constant level above the critical pressure pc even during the withdrawal. During the step from point C to point D, the supercooled liquid state of the liquid hydrogen LH2 at point C changes to the supercritical fluid state of the hydrogen H2 at point D, without passing through the two-phase region a; Further, the teachings of Hofmeister at least imply the hydrogen is stored in the tank at supercritical pressure since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01));
a supply pipe fluidly connected between the tank and a hydrogen consumer (Fig. 1, Etraction line 16);
a primary heat exchanger arranged on the supply pipe and configured to heat the hydrogen flowing in said supply pipe from the tank to the hydrogen consumer (Pg. 6, A withdrawal line 16 opens out of the liquid zone 8, with the aid of which liquid hydrogen LH2 can be withdrawn from the storage tank 1A. The withdrawal line 16 leads to an evaporator 17, with the aid of which the liquid hydrogen LH2 can be evaporated to gaseous hydrogen GH2. The evaporator 17 can evaporate the liquid hydrogen LH2 electrically or with the aid of a heating medium. A valve 18 can be connected into the withdrawal line 16 between the storage tank 1A and the evaporator 17. From the evaporator 17, the withdrawal line 16 leads to a consumer 19); and
a tank heater arranged in the tank and configured to heat the hydrogen in the tank (Fig. 1, heating element 20; Pg. 6, The storage container 1A further comprises a heating element 20. The heating element 20 is arranged in the liquid zone 8. With the help of the heating element 20, heat Q can be introduced into the liquid hydrogen LH2. The heating element 20 can be, for example, an electric heater).
However, Brunner does not disclose the vehicle to be an aircraft.
Kusumoto teaches discloses a hydrogen distribution system for supplying hydrogen to a hydrogen consumer on an aircraft (Fig. 1, hydrogen aircraft 1, hydrogen fuel supply system 10; Fig. 3, hydrogen fuel supply system 10; Pg. 1, paragraph 17, FIG. 1 is a plan view of a hydrogen aircraft 1 according to the embodiment… A hydrogen fuel supply system 10 is mounted on the main wings 3 and the gas turbine engines 6).
Hofmeister fails to teach the vehicle to be an aircraft, however Kusumoto teaches that it is a known method in the art of hydrogen distribution systems to include supplying hydrogen to a hydrogen consumer on an aircraft. This is strong evidence that modifying Hofmeister as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing high energy density low carbon emission fuel to aircraft engines). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hofmeister by Kusumoto and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing high energy density low carbon emission fuel to aircraft engines.
Regarding claim 4, Hofmeister as modified discloses the hydrogen distribution system according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the tank heater is an electrical heater (Hofmeister, Fig. 1, heating element 20; Pg. 6, The storage container 1A further comprises a heating element 20. The heating element 20 is arranged in the liquid zone 8. With the help of the heating element 20, heat Q can be introduced into the liquid hydrogen LH2. The heating element 20 can be, for example, an electric heater), and
wherein the hydrogen distribution system further comprises:
a tank pressure sensor conjured to measure a pressure of the hydrogen in the tank (Hofmeister, Fig. 1, sensor system 23; Pg. 7, a control unit 22, which can control the evaporator 17, the valve 18, and/or the heating element 20. This control can be based on sensor signals from a sensor system 23. The sensor system 23 can, for example, comprise temperature and/or pressure sensors arranged in or on the inner container 3, the extraction line 16, the evaporator 17, the valve 18, and/or the consumer 19); and
a control unit configured to receive data from the tank pressure sensor and to control the tank heater according to the data (Fig. 1, control unit 22; Pg. 7, a control unit 22, which can control the evaporator 17, the valve 18, and/or the heating element 20. This control can be based on sensor signals from a sensor system 23. The sensor system 23 can, for example, comprise temperature and/or pressure sensors arranged in or on the inner container 3, the extraction line 16, the evaporator 17, the valve 18, and/or the consumer 19).
Regarding claim 5, Hofmeister as modified discloses the hydrogen distribution system according to claim 4 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 4 above).
However, Hofmeister as modified does not disclose further comprising:
a line temperature sensor arranged downstream of the primary heat exchanger; and
a control unit configured to receive data from the line temperature sensor and to control the primary heat exchanger according to the data.
Kusumoto teaches a line temperature sensor arranged downstream of the primary heat exchanger (Fig. 3, sensor 29, thermometer 43; Pg. 2, paragraph 26-27, The heat exchanger 28 is located downstream of the pressure pump 26 in the fuel supply passage 22…The sensor 29 is located downstream of the heat exchanger 28 in the fuel supply passage 22. It is desirable that the sensor 29 be located downstream of the heat exchanger 28 and adjacent to the heat exchanger 28); and
a control unit configured to receive data from the line temperature sensor and to control the primary heat exchanger according to the data (Fig. 3, controller 32, processing circuitry 33, heat exchanger 28; Pg. 2, paragraph 30, Moreover, when the temperature detected by the sensor 29 is lower than the predetermined temperature, the processing circuitry 36 may control the amount of heat input to the liquid hydrogen per unit density in the heat exchanger 28 such that the temperature detected by the sensor 29 exceeds the predetermined temperature. For example, when the heat exchanger 28 utilizes a heat source of the engine 6 as a medium, as in the present embodiment, the heat shield 35 is located upstream of the heat exchanger 28, and the actuator 36 is controlled to change an area where the heat shield 35 covers the heat exchanger 28).
Hofmeister as modified fails to teach a line temperature sensor arranged downstream of the primary heat exchanger; and a control unit configured to receive data from the line temperature sensor and to control the primary heat exchanger, the secondary heat exchanger, or both, according to data from the line temperature sensor, however Kusumoto teaches that it is a known method in the art of hydrogen distribution systems to include a line temperature sensor arranged downstream of the primary heat exchanger; and a control unit configured to receive data from the line temperature sensor and to control the primary heat exchanger, the secondary heat exchanger, or both, according to data from the line temperature sensor. This is strong evidence that modifying Hofmeister as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing hydrogen to the hydrogen consumer at desired temperatures based on real-time sensor data to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hofmeister as modified by Kusumoto and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing hydrogen to the supply pipe at desired pressures based on real-time sensor data to improve overall system efficiencies.
Claims 1, 6-7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the second interpretation of Brunner et al. (US Patent No. 9,784,410), hereinafter Brunner in view of Kusumoto (US 20260275883), hereinafter Kusumoto.
Regarding claim 1, Brunner discloses a hydrogen distribution system for supplying hydrogen to a hydrogen consumer on vehicle (Fig. 1, consumer V; Col. 5, lines 56-65, Referring to FIG. 1, a cryopressure tank 1, including its peripheral components necessary for understanding the present invention, is principally illustrated here. In the cryopressure tank 1 (also referred to as tank 1), cryogenic hydrogen for supplying a consumer V (which is not illustrated in detail), for example an internal combustion engine and/or a fuel cell of a motor vehicle, can be stored at absolute pressure values of the internal tank pressure in the order of magnitude of 150 bar or more, but at least under supercritical pressure at 13 bar and more), the hydrogen distribution system comprising:
a tank storing hydrogen at a supercritical pressure (Fig. 1, cryopressure tank 1; Col. 5, lines 56-65, Referring to FIG. 1, a cryopressure tank 1, including its peripheral components necessary for understanding the present invention, is principally illustrated here. In the cryopressure tank 1 (also referred to as tank 1), cryogenic hydrogen for supplying a consumer V (which is not illustrated in detail), for example an internal combustion engine and/or a fuel cell of a motor vehicle, can be stored at absolute pressure values of the internal tank pressure in the order of magnitude of 150 bar or more, but at least under supercritical pressure at 13 bar and more);
a supply pipe fluidly connected between the tank and a hydrogen consumer (Fig. 1, consumer V, filling and removal line 23, supply line 6; Col. 6, lines 4-15, The inner tank la can be filled with cryogenic hydrogen in the supercritical state via a combined and thus single-flow filling and removal line 23, and hydrogen can be removed from the inner tank la via this filling/removal line 23. The line 23 extends or leads into a valve unit 4, which is only illustrated in an abstract manner and is not important for the present invention. For this, the valve unit 4 is connected to a first or external heat exchanger Sa through which, on the one side, a first heat transfer circuit 15 and secondly a supply line 6 are fed. The supply line 6 extends from the valve unit 4 and thereby connects to the filling/removal line 23, and finally leads to the already mentioned consumer V);
a primary heat exchanger arranged on the supply pipe and configured to heat the hydrogen flowing in said supply pipe from the tank to the hydrogen consumer (Fig. 1, third external heat exchanger 5b; Col. 6, lines 34-40, This recirculation line 10 is first fed through a third (external) heat exchanger 5b, which is connected in parallel to the first (external) heat exchanger 5a and is supplied by the same heat transfer circuit 15. In the third (external) heat exchanger 5b, the hydrogen cooled in the second heat exchanger 9 is heated again through heat exchange with the mentioned heat transfer circuit 15); and
a tank heater arranged in the tank and configured to heat the hydrogen in the tank (Fig. 1, second heat exchanger 9; Col. 6, lines 28-29, a second (internal) heat exchanger 9 provided within the inner tank 1a of the cryopressure tank 1).
However, Brunner does not disclose the vehicle to be an aircraft.
Kusumoto teaches discloses a hydrogen distribution system for supplying hydrogen to a hydrogen consumer on an aircraft (Fig. 1, hydrogen aircraft 1, hydrogen fuel supply system 10; Fig. 3, hydrogen fuel supply system 10; Pg. 1, paragraph 17, FIG. 1 is a plan view of a hydrogen aircraft 1 according to the embodiment… A hydrogen fuel supply system 10 is mounted on the main wings 3 and the gas turbine engines 6).
Brunner fails to teach the vehicle to be an aircraft, however Kusumoto teaches that it is a known method in the art of hydrogen distribution systems to include supplying hydrogen to a hydrogen consumer on an aircraft. This is strong evidence that modifying Brunner as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing high energy density low carbon emission fuel to aircraft engines). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brunner by Kusumoto and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing high energy density low carbon emission fuel to aircraft engines.
Regarding claim 6, Brunner as modified discloses the hydrogen distribution system according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the tank heater is a heat exchanger (Brunner, Fig. 1, second heat exchanger 9; Col. 6, lines 28-29, a second (internal) heat exchanger 9 provided within the inner tank 1a of the cryopressure tank 1), and
wherein the supply pipe first crosses the tank heater and, second, crosses the primary heat exchanger (Brunner, Col. 6, lines 29-40, After flowing through this second heat exchanger 9 provided within the cryopressure tank 1, more precisely, within the inner tank 1a thereof, this hydrogen is fed via a recirculation line 10 back into the supply line 6 downstream of the branching-off point of the branch line 8. This recirculation line 10 is first fed through a third (external) heat exchanger 5b, which is connected in parallel to the first (external) heat exchanger 5a and is supplied by the same heat transfer circuit 15. In the third (external) heat exchanger Sb, the hydrogen cooled in the second heat exchanger 9 is heated again through heat exchange with the mentioned heat transfer circuit 15).
Regarding claim 7, Brunner as modified discloses the hydrogen distribution system according to claim 6 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 6 above), further comprising:
a pre-warming heat exchanger arranged on the supply pipe and configured to heat the hydrogen flowing in said supply pipe (Brunner, Fig. 1, first heat exchanger 5a; Col. 6, lines 15-19, The supply line 6 is in heat-transferring communication with the first heat transfer circuit 15 via the heat exchanger 5a so that the hydrogen carried in the supply line 6 is heated in the external first heat exchanger 5a),
wherein the pre-warming heat exchanger is arranged upstream of the tank heater (Brunner, Col. 6, lines 24-29, A branch line 8 branches off from the tank pressure control valve 7a, through which branch line 8 the hydrogen removed from the cryopressure tank 1 and heated in the first (external) heat exchanger 5a is fed into a second (internal) heat exchanger 9 provided within the inner tank 1a of the cryopressure tank 1).
Regarding claim 9, Brunner as modified discloses the hydrogen distribution system according to claim 6 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 6 above).
However, Hofmeister as modified does not disclose further comprising:
a line temperature sensor arranged downstream of the primary heat exchanger; and
a control unit configured to receive data from the line temperature sensor and to control the primary heat exchanger according to the data.
Kusumoto teaches a line temperature sensor arranged downstream of the primary heat exchanger (Fig. 3, sensor 29, thermometer 43; Pg. 2, paragraph 26-27, The heat exchanger 28 is located downstream of the pressure pump 26 in the fuel supply passage 22…The sensor 29 is located downstream of the heat exchanger 28 in the fuel supply passage 22. It is desirable that the sensor 29 be located downstream of the heat exchanger 28 and adjacent to the heat exchanger 28); and
a control unit configured to receive data from the line temperature sensor and to control the primary heat exchanger according to the data (Fig. 3, controller 32, processing circuitry 33, heat exchanger 28; Pg. 2, paragraph 30, Moreover, when the temperature detected by the sensor 29 is lower than the predetermined temperature, the processing circuitry 36 may control the amount of heat input to the liquid hydrogen per unit density in the heat exchanger 28 such that the temperature detected by the sensor 29 exceeds the predetermined temperature. For example, when the heat exchanger 28 utilizes a heat source of the engine 6 as a medium, as in the present embodiment, the heat shield 35 is located upstream of the heat exchanger 28, and the actuator 36 is controlled to change an area where the heat shield 35 covers the heat exchanger 28).
Brunner as modified fails to teach a line temperature sensor arranged downstream of the primary heat exchanger; and a control unit configured to receive data from the line temperature sensor and to control the primary heat exchanger, the secondary heat exchanger, or both, according to data from the line temperature sensor, however Kusumoto teaches that it is a known method in the art of hydrogen distribution systems to include a line temperature sensor arranged downstream of the primary heat exchanger; and a control unit configured to receive data from the line temperature sensor and to control the primary heat exchanger, the secondary heat exchanger, or both, according to data from the line temperature sensor. This is strong evidence that modifying Brunner as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing hydrogen to the hydrogen consumer at desired temperatures based on real-time sensor data to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brunner as modified by Kusumoto and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing hydrogen to the supply pipe at desired pressures based on real-time sensor data to improve overall system efficiencies.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the second interpretation of Brunner in view of Kusumoto as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Hofmeister et al. (WO 2025108967), hereinafter Hofmeister.
Regarding claim 8, Brunner as modified discloses the hydrogen distribution system according to claim 7 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 7 above).
However, Brunner as modified does not disclose further comprising:
a tank pressure sensor arranged to measure a pressure of the hydrogen in the tank; and
a control unit configured to receive data from the tank pressure sensor and to control the pre-warming heat exchanger according to the data.
Hofmeister teaches a tank pressure sensor arranged to measure a pressure of the hydrogen in the tank (Fig. 1, storage container 1A, sensor system 23; Pg. 7, a control unit 22, which can control the evaporator 17, the valve 18, and/or the heating element 20. This control can be based on sensor signals from a sensor system 23. The sensor system 23 can, for example, comprise temperature and/or pressure sensors arranged in or on the inner container 3, the extraction line 16, the evaporator 17, the valve 18, and/or the consumer 19); and
a control unit configured to receive data from the tank pressure sensor and to control a heat exchanger according to the data (Fig. 1, control unit 22, evaporator 17; Pg. 7, a control unit 22, which can control the evaporator 17, the valve 18, and/or the heating element 20. This control can be based on sensor signals from a sensor system 23. The sensor system 23 can, for example, comprise temperature and/or pressure sensors arranged in or on the inner container 3, the extraction line 16, the evaporator 17, the valve 18, and/or the consumer 19).
Brunner as modified fails to teach a tank pressure sensor arranged to measure a pressure of the hydrogen in the tank; and a control unit configured to receive data from the tank pressure sensor and to control the pre-warming heat exchanger according to the data, however Kusumoto teaches that it is a known method in the art of hydrogen distribution systems to include a tank pressure sensor arranged to measure a pressure of the hydrogen in the tank; and a control unit configured to receive data from the tank pressure sensor and to control a heat exchanger according to the data. This is strong evidence that modifying Brunner as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing hydrogen to the supply pipe at desired pressures based on real-time sensor data to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brunner as modified by Kusumoto and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing hydrogen to the supply pipe at desired pressures based on real-time sensor data to improve overall system efficiencies.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Petitpas et al. (WO 2025149284) discloses a similar hydrogen distribution system for supplying hydrogen to a hydrogen consumer on an aircraft.
Rebernik (US Patent No. 12,590,678) discloses a similar hydrogen distribution system for supplying hydrogen to a hydrogen consumer on vehicle.
/DEVON MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 October 01st, 2026