Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,490,028 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the pending independent claim is broader than the independent claim of the patent and is anticipated thereby.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Overview:
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to activities the courts have recognized as abstract ideas, without a practical application or inventive concept. The claim recites the fundamental economic principle of a marketplace in which fundamental financial and commercial practices occur—establishing item prices, buying and selling items, enacting commerce policies including transaction timing constraints, and accounting for credits and debits. The claimed invention also qualifies as a mental process because sports squares betting, since the inception of this activity, involves a social marketplace capable of (and most frequently being) conducted mentally and with the aid of pencil and paper.
In the field of the instant invention (a computer-implemented method of game management), the claims would have to provide evidence of tangible improvements to the function of computers to recite significantly more than abstract ideas. There is no technical description in the claims of how any computers are programmed, configured or operated that could serve as evidence of computers being improved through the claimed management of box pool games.
The claims recite game management scenarios involving fundamental financial and commercial activities described generally. The claim lists result-oriented outcomes (“creating”, “communicating”, “receiving,” “closing”, “assigning”, “opening”, “effectuating” and “reconciling”) purportedly achieved by some generic processor but with no details of how the processor achieves the outcomes. The processor operates in accordance with unknown program logic, control flow, or input or output processing.
Case law supports that claims must not only describe desired outcomes but also include a description of specific technological methods for achieving claimed outcomes. When "the claims are drafted using largely (if not entirely) result-focused functional language, containing no specificity about how the purported invention achieves these results. Claims of this nature are almost always found to be ineligible for patenting under Section 101." Beteiro LLC v. DraftKings Inc., (Fed. Cir 2024, precedential). The pending claims contain these fatal flaws and the same conclusion of ineligibility is reached.
Detailed Analysis
The following detailed analysis is based on the subject matter eligibility examination guidelines provided in the MPEP at https://www.uspto.gov/web/offices/pac/mpep/s2106.html
Steps 1 and 2 of the Alice analysis have been conducted for the pending claims.
Step 1 (See MPEP 2106.03): In this step, it is determined whether the pending claims are directed to at least one of the four statutory categories of subject matter. Here it is determined that all of the pending claims fall into statutory categories. The claims meet step 1 as follows:
Claim 1 (method)
Step 2A, Prong 1 (MPEP 2106.04(I)): In this step of the Alice analysis, judicial exception(s) that fall into abstract idea groupings enumerated by the courts are identified and quoted.
The claims recite the following judicial exceptions:
In independent claim 1:
creating one or more box pools with boxes for one or more events, wherein each created box pool comprises a grid of boxes with no assigned values; (mental process. As described above, box pool wagering is, since its inception, traditionally practiced by human beings with the aid of pencil and paper.)
assigning values to the purchased boxes of the closed box pool grid; (fundamental commercial interactions – establishing and assigning item values in a marketplace)
closing user access to the box pool grid for a specific event at a pre-determined second time; opening user access to the box pool grid of purchased boxes with assigned values at a pre-determined third time; (fundamental commercial interactions in the form of commerce policies governing the operation of a marketplace)
reconciling net gains and net losses (fundamental economic practices; determining financial obligations in the forms of credits and debits)
MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II) explains that “the sub-groupings [of organized human activity] encompass … activity of a single person (for example, a person following a set of instructions or a person signing a contract online) … and thus, certain activity between a person and a computer (for example a method of anonymous loan shopping that a person conducts using a mobile phone) may fall within the "certain methods of organizing human activity" grouping.” The pending claims to the fundamental economic principle of a marketplace that involves fundamental economic practices including buying and selling items having a value established in the marketplace, practiced through activities between at least one user and a computer, is a covered method organizing human activity.
MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) explains that the phrase, “mental processes” is used to describe:
a mental process (thinking) that "can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper" to be an abstract idea. CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 (Fed. Cir. 2011). As the Federal Circuit explained, "methods which can be performed mentally, or which are the equivalent of human mental work, are unpatentable abstract ideas the ‘basic tools of scientific and technological work’ that are open to all.’" 654 F.3d at 1371, 99 USPQ2d at 1694 (citing Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 175 USPQ 673 (1972)). … examples of mental processes include observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions. …
As the Federal Circuit has explained, "[c]ourts have examined that required the use of a computer and still found that the underlying, patent-ineligible invention could be performed via pen and paper or in a person’s mind." Versata Dev. Group v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1335, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1702 (Fed. Cir. 2015). See also Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1318, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1360 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (‘‘[W]ith the exception of generic computer-implemented steps, there is nothing in the claims themselves that foreclose them from being performed by a human, mentally or with pen and paper.’’); Mortgage Grader, Inc. v. First Choice Loan Servs. Inc., 811 F.3d 1314, 1324, 117 USPQ2d 1693, 1699 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (holding that computer-implemented method for "anonymous loan shopping" was an abstract idea because it could be "performed by humans without a computer").
The pending claimed practice of box pool marketplace pricing, buying and selling using generic computer implementation is found to be an abstract idea like the practice in Mortgage Grader because the instant claimed steps, too, can be performed by humans without a computer. The cited NPL reference of “Five Ways to reinvigorate your Super Bowl Office Betting Pool,” which describes the prior art of box pools as including human beings socially gathering, mentally deciding what wagers to place, and placing them using pencil and paper serves as proof that such box pool-type contests among users represent long-known abstract mental processes and organized human activity.
The claim to a generic e-commerce application of sports squares (box pool) pricing, buying and selling is directed to a fundamental economic principle and fundamental economic and commercial practices that also represents an abstract mental process.
The determination that the instant claim is directed to abstract ideas can be validated by considering four “well settled indicators of abstractness” articulated by the court in Beteiro v. DraftKings, No. 2022-2275 (Fed. Cir. June 21, 2024, precedential), which is found to be especially relevant because it, too, occupies the regulated electronic wagering art. In this decision to affirm the district court's ruling that the asserted claims are patent ineligible, the Federal circuit references four "well-settled indicators of abstractness":
1. The claims recite generic steps, such as "detecting information," "generating and transmitting a notification based on the information," "receiving a message," "determining ... and processing information," which are of a kind frequently held to be abstract.
2. The claims are drafted using largely (if not entirely) result-focused functional language, containing no specificity about how the purported invention achieves those results.
3. The claims are analogous to those deemed abstract in Federal Circuit precedents.
4. The claims can be persuasively analogized to longstanding "real-world" ("brick and mortar") activities.
The pending claims include all these indicators. They recite generic steps describing outcomes such as “creating”, “communicating”, “receiving,” “closing”, “assigning”, “opening”, “effectuating” and “reconciling”. The claims are drafted entirely using result-focused functional language. There are no technical specifications attributed to any of the hardware or software or any detailed step limitations that could reveal to a reader of the claim how any of the outcomes are to be carried out. The precedents to the pending claims include in re Smith, in which determining and resolving obligations to wagering game players based on random indicia selection and game rules was held to be a fundamental economic practice. And the pending claim to practicing a form of social wagering (box pools) including conducting fundamental financial and commercial activities is rooted in fundamental human activities that long predate the digital era.
Step 2A, Prong 2 (MPEP § 2106.04(d)): In this step, any additional elements beyond the identified abstract ideas are identified and evaluated for any integration into a practical application. Any claimed technological improvement is considered.
The following limitations are directed to insignificant extra-solution activity in the form of pre- or post-solution data gathering:
communicating at a pre-determined first time the created one or more box pool grids to users to purchase one or more boxes with no assigned values;
receiving one or more boxes with no assigned values;
receiving and processing transaction activity between users, wherein users have access to the assigned values of the purchased boxes and have access to user information of each owner of each purchased box;
effectuating user transactions;
transmitting net gains and net losses of user transactions to the users
The MPEP in § 2106.05(b) instructs that the “Use of a machine that contributes only nominally or insignificantly to the execution of the claimed method (e.g., in a data gathering step or in a field-of-use limitation) would not integrate a judicial exception or provide significantly more. See Bilski, 561 U.S. at 610, 95 USPQ2d at 1009 (citing Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 590, 198 USPQ 193, 197 (1978)), and CyberSource v. Retail Decisions, 654 F.3d 1366, 1370, 99 USPQ2d 1690 (Fed. Cir. 2011) (citations omitted) ("[N]othing in claim 3 requires an infringer to use the Internet to obtain that data. The Internet is merely described as the source of the data. We have held that mere ‘[data-gathering] step[s] cannot make an otherwise nonstatutory claim statutory.’" 654 F.3d at 1375, 99 USPQ2d at 1694 (citation omitted)).
In the pending claim, there is no requirement for an infringer to use a computer to collect or convey box pool wagering data, it is merely the source of the data, which establishes the above-noted communicating, receiving, effectuating, transmitting steps as insignificant data gathering steps. Also as explained by the Supreme Court, the addition of insignificant extra-solution activity does not amount to an inventive concept, particularly when the activity is well-understood or conventional. Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 588-89, 198 USPQ 193, 196 (1978). In Flook, the Court reasoned that "[t]he notion that post-solution activity, no matter how conventional or obvious in itself, can transform an unpatentable principle into a patentable process exalts form over substance.”
As explained in MPEP § 2106.05(f), a mere “apply it” scenario exists when the additional elements of claims recite only ideas of a solution or outcome – in other words, when the claims fail to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. Here it is noted that “The recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it".” In support, the MPEP references Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1356, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1743-44 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Intellectual Ventures I v. Symantec, 838 F.3d 1307, 1327, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1366 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Internet Patents Corp. v. Active Network, Inc., 790 F.3d 1343, 1348, 115 USPQ2d 1414, 1417 (Fed. Cir. 2015).
The generic data transactions including “communicating from the processor…”, “receiving by the processor”, “assigning by the processor”, “effectuating by the processor” and the like attempt to cover any method of communicating, receiving, assigning, or effectuating such as by any hardware, any system architecture, any data outputs, or any software control flow or logic.
The claims as well as the instant disclosure lack any evidence of any particular computer hardware or software being tangibly improved as a direct result of the claimed abstract idea and generic data transactions being used to provide it in a generic technological context.“[T]he invocation of ‘already-available computers that are not themselves plausibly asserted to be an advance … amounts to a recitation of what is well-understood, routine, and conventional.” Customedia Techs., LLC v. Dish Network Corp., 951 F.3d 1359, 1366 (Fed. Cir. 2020).
The use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirectTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016)
And in TLI Communications, 823 F.3d at 612, 118 USPQ2d at 1747, the court found that claimed steps of recording, administration and archiving of digital data wherein a client device and server were merely used as tools to execute the abstract idea did not add significantly more to the abstract idea because they were simply applying the abstract idea on a computer network without any recitation of details of how to carry out the abstract idea. The same conclusion is reached in the instant application, that the claims to a generic computing context for allowing a wagering game to be managed in accordance with rules do not add significantly more to the abstract idea.
The additional elements comprising generic data transactions in claim 1 does not integrate the abstract fundamental economic principle and practices and equivalents of human mental work in claim 1 into a practical application that improves computer functionality or another technology.
There is no evidence of concrete improvement(s) to computer functionality. The claims do not recite how technical aspects of computer processors, memory or displays are improved, nor do they recite any novel data structures or hardware configurations that enhance computer performance. A hypothetical improvement in a game player’s customer experience (by providing mechanisms to invite other players) is not an improvement to computers themselves or to computer technology, but at best, an improvement to a human user’s experience while using a computer application.
MPEP 2106.05(a) notes that “To show that the involvement of a computer assists in improving the technology, the claims must recite details regarding how a computer aids the method, or the significance of a computer to the performance of the method. Merely adding generic computer components to perform the method is not sufficient. Thus, the claim must include more than mere instructions to perform the method on a generic component or machinery to qualify as an improvement to an existing technology.”
None of the examples provided by the courts for improving computer functionality are found in the instant claims. The instant claims are similar to examples the courts have not found to be enough to qualify as “significantly more”, including mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer e.g., a limitation indicating that a particular function such as creating and maintaining electronic records for applying a commonplace business practice is performed by a computer, as discussed in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 225-26, 110 USPQ2d at 1984.
“A patent-eligible technical improvement requires solving an actual problem.” See McRO v. Bandai Namco Games Am 837 F.3d at 1314. McRo involved a specified, automated rules-based process for facial animation that previously could only be performed subjectively by humans and as such, the improvement to computer animation were self-evident. And in Data Engine Techs., 906 F.3d at 1007–08, a claimed method was not found to be abstract where it “provide[d] a specific solution to then-existing technological problems in . . . prior art electronic spreadsheets,” and those pre-existing problems — that users of three-dimensional spreadsheets had to “master many complex and arbitrary operations” — were taught by the specification); cf. Interval Licensing LLC v. AOL, Inc., 896 F.3d 1335, 1347 (Fed. Cir. 2018) (rejecting an asserted improvement where “Interval Licensing [did] not allege that computer display devices were previously unable to display information from more than one source”).
The pending claims for managing play of a box pool wagering game using unknown hardware or software and using generic data transactions stands in stark contrast to the McRO and Data Engine Techs examples. It would be impossible to conclude computers or a technical field are being improved by the claimed ideas.
There is no transformation of an article: Managing the placement of box bool wagers and resolving amounts owed using generic computers does not transform an article into a different state or thing in the sense contemplated by the integration analysis.
The pending claims functionally recite desired end results without any accompanying technical details explaining how the results are achieved. MPEP § 2106.05(f) explains, “The recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it"”. Case law supporting a conclusion that result-oriented claim language is a hallmark of claims lacking significantly more includes:
Beteiro LLC v. DraftKings Inc., (Fed. Cir 2024). In this case involving electronic wagering, the court held that when "the claims are drafted using largely (if not entirely) result-focused functional language, containing no specificity about how the purported invention achieves these results. Claims of this nature are almost always found to be ineligible for patenting under Section 101."
See also Interval Licensing LLC v. AOL Inc. (896 F.3d 1335) wherein the court found that claims to a computer software "attention manager" that displays content on unused portions of a screen were result-oriented and invalid under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because they did not recite a specific technological method for achieving the claimed result.
Contour IP Holding LLC v. GoPro, Inc., 2024 U.S. App. LEXIS 22825 (Fed. Cir. 2024): The court held that claims must not only describe desired outcomes but also include a specific process or machinery for achieving that result.
In re Killian, 45 F.4th 1373 (Fed. Cir. 2022): The court reaffirmed that claims simply reciting a desired result without specifying how to achieve it are directed to an abstract idea and are ineligible under 35 U.S.C. § 101. The claims at issue were directed to analyzing data from two databases. In Step Two of the Alice test, the court determined that there was no inventive concept because the additional elements merely involved generic and routine data gathering and analysis steps that could have been performed with or without a computer.
The pending claims do not include any technical description of mechanisms for accomplishing the claimed results. Instead, the claims use some unspecified computer and unspecified programming to conduct generic, result-oriented steps such as “creating,” “communicating”, “receiving”, “effectuating” and “reconciling”. The claims seek to cover any system and any method (such as any processor programmed in any way) for receiving wagers and opening and closing a box pool marketplace. As such the claims are found to be directed to ineligible subject matter.
The acknowledged existence of a marketplace for sports squares in the prior art is further evidence that no problem is being solved by the claim (note that the cited prior art of “Five Ways to reinvigorate your Super Bowl Office Betting Pool” teaches that it was known to facilitate a marketplace for buying and selling existing sports squares - see P. 2, “After all of the numbers are drawn … allow participants to broker deals before the game starts to trade squares. … what if another pool player offered you a sizable sum of cash and one or more of their squares in exchange? … to have those who drew poor numbers increase their likelihood of winning, or for a participant with more common football numbers … to acquire additional squares or take a pregame cash payout”).
Step 2A Prong 2 concludes in a determination that the additional elements do not amount to a practical application of the claimed abstract ideas.
Step 2B: (MPEP § 2106.05) In this step of the Alice analysis, it is assessed whether additional elements amount to an inventive concept. Any well-understood, routine, conventional (“WURC”) activity is considered.
Additional elements: a processor, user input devices. These are conventional elements in the art of electronic gaming and generic computing. This interpretation is supported by the specification.
WURC (well-understood, routine, conventional) analysis:
Generic computer components (processor, memory, I/O devices) are WURC. See Alice v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208 (2014).
Communicating and receiving data and “effectuating” user transactions are commonplace activities in computing, including wagering game computing. The specification lists a variety of generic prior art computing devices that can be used to practice the invention including a server, a laptop computer, a tablet computer, a desktop computer, a portable phone, an arcade machine, and a casino machine. None of these devices are disclosed as being configured, modified, adapted, or programmed in any out of the ordinary way.
There is no particular machine evident that is integral with the invention beyond serving as a field-of-use: The claims do not recite specialized hardware, regulatory interfaces, or unconventional display controllers that would be non-WURC. There are no factual allegations or claim-level recitations of atypical, non-routine computer operations (cf. DDR Holdings or Enfish improvements) that are present.
Conclusion:
Claim 1 is found to be ineligible under 35 U.S.C. § 101. Although step 1 is satisfied (the claims recite manufacture/process/machine), in Step 2A Prong 1, the claims are found to recite an abstract idea—fundamental economic principles and practices and equivalents of human mental work, and do not integrate those exceptions into a practical application nor add significantly more.
Possible Remedies:
To improve subject matter eligibility under 35 USC § 101, it is recommended to anchor the claims to concrete, non-generic technical mechanisms (such as particular software processes or nonobvious system architectures) in a way that there is evidence in the claims of certain improvements to computer or network operations or to another technology. Examples might include to:
Replace high-level result-oriented steps with concrete descriptions of hardware or system architecture configurations or adaptations or computer programming logic or control flow or data structures with constraints that provide a computer-functionality improvement (e.g., improved security, faster lookup, reduced cache misses, deterministic scheduling).
Limit the claims to a specific server and/or EGM hardware configuration comprising logic that is integral to, and improves, the operation of that particular machine, as opposed to attempting to hinge patentability on a subjective improvement or an improvement to human experiences using the computers.
Provide specification support (benchmarks, comparative studies, regulatory compliance details) establishing that the recited computer/server/EGM improvements are not WURC (per Berkheimer), enabling either Step 2A integration or Step 2B “significantly more.”
Recite in the claims a technical solution to a technological problem (e.g., secure hardware-backed attestations, novel protocol flows, improved cryptographic operations, sensor fusion pipelines).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0210815 to Holt et al. in view of the NPL reference of “Five Ways to reinvigorate your Super Bowl Office Betting Pool” (hereinafter referred to as ‘Five Ways’).
Re claim 1, Holt teaches: a computer-implemented method of conducting a box pool marketplace
See the Abstract and Figs. 3-4, 16-17
having at least one processor in communication with one or more user input devices
See Fig. 1, No. 102, 106
comprising the steps of: creating one or more box pools with boxes for one or more events that are created by the processor and communicated to the one or more user input devices, wherein each created box pool comprises a grid of boxes with no assigned values;
Figs. 4, Fig. 10, and Fig. 16 illustrate examples of box pools created for particular sporting events. The boxes form a grid having no assigned values. See also Fig. 2, “Transmit Bet Matrix 406”.
communicating from the processor to the one or more user input devices at a pre-determined first time the created one or more box pool grids to users to purchase one or more boxes with no assigned values; receiving by the processor from the one or more user input devices purchases by users of the one or more boxes with no assigned values;
Fig. 4 No.’s 340, 342, Figs. 14-16 diagram two selected boxes indicated by check marks each tied to $5 wagers selected responsive to player operation of the input device. See also Fig. 2, Receive box activation? 408, Receive confirmation of bets 410.
closing by the processor user access to the box pool grid for a specific event at a pre-determined second time;
Fig. 2, once the process has moved on to step 412 wherein the side values are generated, the player is past the time period when he was allowed to activate boxes and confirm bets thereon. [0055] also explains that the user box selection occurs before the values are determined and assigned to the boxes.
assigning by the processor of values to the purchased boxes of the closed box pool grid;
Fig. 2, Generate side values 412, see also the progression of Figs. 4-5, 10-11, 16-17 which diagram the assigning by the processor of values to all boxes of the closed pool grid, including the purchased boxes. [0056] notes that the side values assigned to the box pool grid may be determined randomly, pseudo randomly, or by another manner.
opening user access to the box pool grid of purchased boxes with assigned values at a pre-determined third time;
[0090] “In some embodiments, users may configure and place more bets after the matrix row and column values are displayed.”
Although Holt teaches the same computer-implemented box pool inventive concept substantially as claimed, Holt does not contemplate enabling users to sell or trade owned boxes amongst themselves and thus lacks:
receiving and processing by the processor of transaction activity between users, wherein users have access to the assigned values of the purchased boxes and have access to user information of each owner of each purchased box;
effectuating by the processor of user transactions; and reconciling and transmitting net gains and net losses of user transactions to the users.
Five Ways is a prior art reference in the same field of multiplayer sports squares or box pool games. Five Ways teaches opening up a sports square (box pool) marketplace via which players are allowed to buy/sell/trade squares after some specified amount of time has passed since players purchased squares but before the sporting event has begun– see P. 2 of the NPL reference which states, “After all of the numbers are drawn, why not allow participants to broker deals before the game starts to trade squares. If you drew the AFC-7, NFC-7 square you probably feel like your chances are pretty decent to cash in. But, what if another pool player offered you a sizable sum of cash and one or more of their squares in exchange? … Bringing in this level of strategy might be the kind of spark to have those who drew poor numbers increase their likelihood of winning, or for a participant with more common football numbers (0, 3, 4, 7) to acquire additional squares or take a pregame cash payout.” This passage teaches the receiving, effectuating, and reconciling and transmitting steps missing from Holt.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made that the invention of Holt could have been modified by the rule improvements that Five Ways admits are for use in the same field of endeavor and would produce the expected results of increasing certain player’s chances of winning while making the well-known prior art game type more exciting.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/STEVEN J HYLINSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715