DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed on 07/03/2026, wherein claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending.
Response to Amendment/ Argument
Applicant's amendment and arguments with respect to claims 1, 10 and 18, filed on 07/03/2026, have been considered but are not persuasive. Chen discloses all limitations of independent claims 1, 10 and 18. See rejection below.
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 18, Applicant argues that Chen does not disclose the limitation wherein the current CU is partitioned into a first predicted part and a second predicted part, and at least one of the first predicted part and the second predicted part is an IBC-predicted part; wherein the prediction for the current CU is obtained by weighted-averaging a first prediction for the first predicted part and a second prediction for the second predicted part, wherein none of the first prediction for the first predicted part and the second prediction for the second predicted part is IBC-Template Matching (TM) prediction; or the prediction for the current CU is obtained based on the first prediction for the first predicted part and the second prediction for the second predicted part, wherein at least one of the first prediction for the first predicted part and the second prediction for the second predicted part is IBC-TM prediction as cited in the claims. However, Chen [0145] discloses two merge indexes one for each partition. After the two partitions are predicted, a blending process using adaptive weights can be used for each predicted partition. Hence, weighted averaging first and second IBC merge prediction can be used. Wherein GPM can be combined with different prediction types. Each of two geometric partitions can be predicted with three different prediction types including IBC mode in different configurations including intra-IBC, IBC-IBC which is both partitions are predicted with IBC as in [0154]-[0159]. Hence, none of the partitions is IBC-Template Matching in this case Chen [0157] discloses that if both partitions are predicted with a same prediction type, no blending may be used along a boundary of the two partitions, hence, first partition and second partitions cannot have the same prediction type at the same time which includes IBC-TM for both partitions even if IBC-TM can be used. Therefore, Chen discloses the prediction for the current CU is obtained by weighted-averaging a first prediction for the first predicted part and a second prediction for the second predicted part, wherein none of the first prediction for the first predicted part and the second prediction for the second predicted part is IBC-Template Matching (TM) prediction as cited in claims 1, 10 and 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
1. Claims 1, 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (U.S. 2023/0034458) hereinafter Chen.
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a method for video decoding, comprising:
obtaining, by a decoder, a current coding unit (CU) that is coded based on Intra Block Copy (IBC) mode combined with Geometric Partitioning Mode (GPM); and obtaining, by the decoder, a prediction for the current CU based on the IBC mode combined with GPM (Chen [0061]-[0063], [0185]: decoder; [0117], [0023]: geometric partition mode (GPM) with intra block copy (IBC); [0154]-[0159]: GPM can be combined with different prediction types. Each of two geometric partitions can be predicted with three different prediction types including IBC mode in different configurations including intra-IBC, IBC-IBC which is both partitions are predicted with IBC as in [0157]. Hence, prediction of CU based on IBC mode combined with GPM);
wherein the current CU is partitioned into a first predicted part and a second predicted part, and at least one of the first predicted part and the second predicted part is an IBC-predicted part; wherein the prediction for the current CU is obtained by weighted-averaging a first prediction for the first predicted part and a second prediction for the second predicted part, wherein none of the first prediction for the first predicted part and the second prediction for the second predicted part is IBC-Template Matching (TM) prediction; or the prediction for the current CU is obtained based on the first prediction for the first predicted part and the second prediction for the second predicted part, wherein at least one of the first prediction for the first predicted part and the second prediction for the second predicted part is IBC-TM prediction (Chen [0145]: two merge indexes one for each partition. After the two partitions are predicted, a blending process using adaptive weights can be used for each predicted partition. Hence, weighted averaging first and second IBC merge prediction can be used. Wherein GPM can be combined with different prediction types. Each of two geometric partitions can be predicted with three different prediction types including IBC mode in different configurations including intra-IBC, IBC-IBC which is both partitions are predicted with IBC as in [0154]-[0159]. Hence, none of the partitions is IBC-Template Matching in this case; [0157]: if both partitions are predicted with a same prediction type, no blending may be used along a boundary of the two partitions, hence, first partition and second partitions cannot have the same prediction type at the same time which includes IBC-TM for both partitions if IBC-TM can be used).
Regarding claim 10, Chen discloses a method for video encoding, comprising:
encoding, by an encoder, a current coding unit (CU) based on Intra Block Copy (IBC) mode combined with Geometric Partitioning Mode (GPM); and transmitting, by the encoder, the current CU that is coded based on the IBC mode combined with GPM to a decoder (Chen [0116]-[0117], [0023], [0185]-[0187]: encoder and geometric partition mode (GPM) with intra block copy (IBC); [0154]-[0159]: GPM can be combined with different prediction types. Each of two geometric partitions can be predicted with three different prediction types including IBC mode in different configurations including intra-IBC, IBC-IBC which is both partitions are predicted with IBC as in [0157]. Hence, prediction of CU based on IBC mode combined with GPM);
wherein the current CU is partitioned into a first predicted part and a second predicted part, and at least one of the first predicted part and the second predicted part is an IBC-predicted part; wherein the prediction for the current CU is obtained by weighted-averaging a first prediction for the first predicted part and a second prediction for the second predicted part, wherein none of the first prediction for the first predicted part and the second prediction for the second predicted part is IBC-Template Matching (TM) prediction; or the prediction for the current CU is obtained based on the first prediction for the first predicted part and the second prediction for the second predicted part, wherein at least one of the first prediction for the first predicted part and the second prediction for the second predicted part is IBC-TM prediction (Chen [0145]: two merge indexes one for each partition. After the two partitions are predicted, a blending process using adaptive weights can be used for each predicted partition. Hence, weighted averaging first and second IBC merge prediction can be used. Wherein GPM can be combined with different prediction types. Each of two geometric partitions can be predicted with three different prediction types including IBC mode in different configurations including intra-IBC, IBC-IBC which is both partitions are predicted with IBC as in [0154]-[0159]. Hence, none of the partitions is IBC-Template Matching in this case; [0157]: if both partitions are predicted with a same prediction type, no blending may be used along a boundary of the two partitions, hence, first partition and second partitions cannot have the same prediction type at the same time which includes IBC-TM for both partitions if IBC-TM can be used).
Regarding claim 18, Chen discloses an apparatus for video coding, comprising:
one or more processors (Chen [0116], [0185]); and a memory coupled to the one or more processors and configured to store instructions executable by the one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors, upon execution of the instructions (Chen [0060], [0061], [0064], [0089], [0185]), are configured to perform acts comprising:
obtaining, by a decoder, a current coding unit (CU) that is coded based on Intra Block Copy (IBC) mode combined with Geometric Partitioning Mode (GPM); and obtaining, by the decoder, a prediction for the current CU based on the IBC mode combined with GPM; or the one or more processors, upon execution of the instructions, are configured to perform acts comprising: encoding, by an encoder, a current coding unit (CU) based on Intra Block Copy (IBC) mode combined with Geometric Partitioning Mode (GPM); and transmitting, by the encoder, the current CU that is coded based on the IBC mode combined with GPM to a decoder [0061]-[0063], [0185]: decoder; [0117], [0023]: geometric partition mode (GPM) with intra block copy (IBC); [0154]-[0159]: GPM can be combined with different prediction types. Each of two geometric partitions can be predicted with three different prediction types including IBC mode in different configurations including intra-IBC, IBC-IBC which is both partitions are predicted with IBC as in [0157]. Hence, prediction of CU based on IBC mode combined with GPM);
wherein the current CU is partitioned into a first predicted part and a second predicted part, and at least one of the first predicted part and the second predicted part is an IBC-predicted part; wherein the prediction for the current CU is obtained by weighted-averaging a first prediction for the first predicted part and a second prediction for the second predicted part, wherein none of the first prediction for the first predicted part and the second prediction for the second predicted part is IBC-Template Matching (TM) prediction; or the prediction for the current CU is obtained based on the first prediction for the first predicted part and the second prediction for the second predicted part, wherein at least one of the first prediction for the first predicted part and the second prediction for the second predicted part is IBC-TM prediction (Chen [0145]: two merge indexes one for each partition. After the two partitions are predicted, a blending process using adaptive weights can be used for each predicted partition. Hence, weighted averaging first and second IBC merge prediction can be used. Wherein GPM can be combined with different prediction types. Each of two geometric partitions can be predicted with three different prediction types including IBC mode in different configurations including intra-IBC, IBC-IBC which is both partitions are predicted with IBC as in [0154]-[0159]. Hence, none of the partitions is IBC-Template Matching in this case; [0157]: if both partitions are predicted with a same prediction type, no blending may be used along a boundary of the two partitions, hence, first partition and second partitions cannot have the same prediction type at the same time which includes IBC-TM for both partitions if IBC-TM can be used).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-8 and 11-16 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. 2023/0034458) hereinafter Chen.
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Chen discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 10, respectively.
Chen discloses wherein the current CU is partitioned into a first IBC-predicted part and a second IBC-predicted part, and wherein the obtaining, by the decoder or encoder, the prediction for the current CU based on the IBC mode combined with GPM comprises: obtaining, by the decoder, a first IBC merge prediction for the first IBC-predicted part; obtaining, by the decoder or encoder, a second IBC merge prediction for the second IBC-predicted part; and obtaining, by the decoder or encoder, the prediction for the current CU based on the first IBC merge prediction and the second IBC merge prediction (Chen [0023]: the current block is partitioned into first partition and second partition based on GPM; [0154]-[0159]: GPM can be combined with different prediction types. Each of two geometric partitions can be predicted with three different prediction types including IBC mode in different configurations including intra-IBC or IBC-IBC, in which both partitions are predicted with IBC as in [0157]; [0030], [0158]: a partition of the current block can be predicted by a merge mode of IBC; [0145]: two merge indexes one for each partition; [0145]: two merge indexes one for each partition. After the two partitions are predicted, a blending process using adaptive weights can be used for each predicted partition).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Chen, and further incorporate having a first IBC merge prediction for the first IBC-predicted part; obtaining, by the decoder or encoder, a second IBC merge prediction for the second IBC-predicted part; and obtaining, by the decoder or encoder, the prediction for the current CU based on the first IBC merge prediction and the second IBC merge prediction, as taught by Chen, for accurate reconstruction of original data and enhance coding performance (Chen [0076], [0150]).
Furthermore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have used any combination of different configurations of coding mode for first and second partition of the GPM, as taught by Chen, including having a first IBC merge prediction for the first IBC-predicted part; and a second IBC merge prediction for the second IBC-predicted part. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include that configuration since it has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (i.e. to set the duration of sensing cycle when mass of particles deposited on the sensor element reaches a pre-set/predetermined mass) is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 418, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Chen discloses all the limitations claims 2 and 11, respectively.
Chen discloses wherein the obtaining, by the decoder or encoder, the prediction for the current CU based on the first IBC merge prediction and the second IBC merge prediction comprises: obtaining, by the decoder or encoder, the prediction for the current CU by weighted-averaging the first IBC merge prediction and the second IBC merge prediction (Chen [0145]: two merge indexes one for each partition. After the two partitions are predicted, a blending process using adaptive weights can be used for each predicted partition. Hence, weighted averaging first and second IBC merge prediction can be used).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Chen, and further incorporate obtaining, by the decoder or encoder, the prediction for the current CU based on the first IBC merge prediction and the second IBC merge prediction comprises: obtaining, by the decoder or encoder, the prediction for the current CU by weighted-averaging the first IBC merge prediction and the second IBC merge prediction, as taught by Chen, for accurate reconstruction of original data and enhance coding performance (Chen [0076], [0150]).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Chen discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 10, respectively.
Chen discloses wherein the current CU is partitioned into a first IBC-predicted part and a second IBC-predicted part, and wherein the obtaining, by the decoder, the prediction for the current CU based on the IBC mode combined with GPM comprises: obtaining, by the decoder or encoder, a first IBC-TM prediction for the first IBC-predicted part; obtaining, by the decoder or encoder, a second IBC-TM prediction for the second IBC-predicted part; and obtaining, by the decoder or encoder, the prediction for the current CU based on the first IBC-TM prediction and the second IBC-TM prediction (Chen [0154]-[0159]: GPM can be combined with different prediction types. Each of two geometric partitions can be predicted with three different prediction types including IBC mode in different configurations including intra-IBC or IBC-IBC, in which both partitions are predicted with IBC as in [0157]; [0145]: two merge indexes one for each partition. After the two partitions are predicted, a blending process using adaptive weights can be used for each predicted partition; [0148]-[0149]: Template matching TM can be applied to GPM for the geometric partition. Whether TM is applied for each partition can be determined, wherein the partitions can be predicted using IBC as in [0154]-[0159]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Chen, and further incorporate obtaining, by the decoder or encoder, a first IBC-Template Matching (TM) prediction for the first IBC-predicted part; obtaining, by the decoder or encoder, a second IBC-TM prediction for the second IBC-predicted part; and obtaining, by the decoder or encoder, the prediction for the current CU based on the first IBC-TM prediction and the second IBC-TM prediction, as taught by Chen, for accurate reconstruction of original data and enhance coding performance (Chen [0076], [0150]).
Furthermore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have used any combination of different configurations of coding mode for first and second partition of the GPM, as taught by Chen, including having a first IBC-Template Matching (TM) prediction for the first IBC-predicted part; and a second IBC-TM prediction for the second IBC-predicted part. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include that configuration since it has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (i.e. to set the duration of sensing cycle when mass of particles deposited on the sensor element reaches a pre-set/predetermined mass) is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 418, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Chen discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 10, respectively.
Chen discloses wherein the current CU is partitioned into a first IBC-predicted part and a second intra-predicted part, and wherein the obtaining, by the decoder or encoder, the prediction for the current CU based on the IBC mode combined with GPM comprises: obtaining, by the decoder or encoder, a first IBC merge prediction for the first IBC-predicted part; obtaining, by the decoder or encoder, a second intra prediction for the second intra-predicted part; and obtaining, by the decoder or encoder, the prediction for the current CU by weighted-averaging the first IBC merge prediction and the second intra prediction (Chen [0023]: the current block is partitioned into first partition and second partition based on GPM; [0154]-[0160]: GPM can be combined with different prediction types. Each of two geometric partitions can be predicted with three different prediction types including IBC mode, inter prediction mode and intra prediction mode, in different configurations including intra-IBC which is one partition is predicted in IBC mode and one partition is predicted in intra prediction mode; [0030], [0158]: a partition of the current block can be predicted by a merge mode of IBC; [0158]: intra prediction mode can be used in IBC merge. Hence, first IBC merge prediction and second intra prediction can be used; [0145]: two merge indexes one for each partition. After the two partitions are predicted, a blending process using adaptive weights can be used for each predicted partition. Hence, weighted averaging first and second partitions of first IBC merge prediction and second intra prediction can be used).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Chen, and further incorporate obtaining, by the decoder or encoder, the prediction for the current CU by weighted-averaging the first IBC merge prediction and the second intra prediction, as taught by Chen, for accurate reconstruction of original data and enhance coding performance (Chen [0076], [0150]).
Furthermore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have used weighted average of the first IBC merge prediction and the second intra prediction, as taught by Chen. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include that configuration since it has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (i.e. to set the duration of sensing cycle when mass of particles deposited on the sensor element reaches a pre-set/predetermined mass) is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 418, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Chen discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 10, respectively.
Chen discloses wherein the current CU is partitioned into a first IBC-predicted part and a second inter-predicted part, and wherein the obtaining, by the decoder or encoder, the prediction for the current CU based on the IBC mode combined with GPM comprises: obtaining, by the decoder or encoder, a first IBC merge prediction for the first IBC-predicted part; obtaining, by the decoder or encoder, a second inter prediction for the second inter-predicted part; and obtaining, by the decoder or encoder, the prediction for the current CU by weighted-averaging the first IBC merge prediction and the second inter prediction (Chen [0023]: the current block is partitioned into first partition and second partition based on GPM; 0154]-[0160]: GPM can be combined with different prediction types. Each of two geometric partitions can be predicted with three different prediction types including IBC mode, inter prediction mode and intra prediction mode, in different configurations including inter-IBC which is one partition is predicted in IBC mode and one partition is predicted in inter prediction mode; [0030], [0158]: a partition of the current block can be predicted by a merge mode of IBC; [0158]: inter and IBC merge can be used. Hence, first IBC merge prediction and second inter prediction can be used; [0145]: After the two partitions are predicted, a blending process using adaptive weights can be used for each predicted partition. Hence, weighted averaging of first IBC merge prediction and second inter prediction can be used).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Chen, and further incorporate obtaining, by the decoder or encoder, the prediction for the current CU by weighted-averaging the first IBC merge prediction and the second inter prediction, as taught by Chen, for accurate reconstruction of original data and enhance coding performance (Chen [0076], [0150]).
Furthermore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have used weighted average of the first IBC merge prediction and the second inter prediction, as taught by Chen. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include that configuration since it has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (i.e. to set the duration of sensing cycle when mass of particles deposited on the sensor element reaches a pre-set/predetermined mass) is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 418, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Chen discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 10, respectively.
Chen discloses wherein the current CU is partitioned into a first IBC-predicted part and a second inter-predicted part, and wherein the obtaining, by the decoder, the prediction for the current CU based on the IBC mode combined with GPM comprises: obtaining, by the decoder, a first IBC-TM prediction for the first IBC-predicted part; obtaining, by the decoder, a second inter prediction for the second inter-predicted part; and obtaining, by the decoder, the prediction for the current CU based on the first IBC TM prediction and the second inter prediction (Chen [0023]: the current block is partitioned into first partition and second partition based on GPM; 0154]-[0160]: GPM can be combined with different prediction types. Each of two geometric partitions can be predicted with three different prediction types including IBC mode, inter prediction mode and intra prediction mode, in different configurations including inter-IBC which is one partition is predicted in IBC mode and one partition is predicted in inter prediction mode. Hence, a second inter prediction for second partition can be used; [0145]: two merge indexes one for each partition. After the two partitions are predicted, a blending process using adaptive weights can be used for each predicted partition; [0148]-[0149]: Template matching TM can be applied to GPM for the geometric partition).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Chen, and further incorporate obtaining, by the decoder, a first IBC-Template Matching (TM) prediction for the first IBC-predicted part; obtaining, by the decoder, a second inter prediction for the second inter-predicted part, as taught by Chen, for accurate reconstruction of original data and enhance coding performance (Chen [0076], [0150]).
Furthermore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have used any combination of different configurations of coding mode for first and second partition of the GPM, as taught by Chen, including having a first IBC-Template Matching (TM) prediction for the first IBC-predicted part; and a second inter prediction for the second inter-predicted part. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include that configuration since it has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (i.e. to set the duration of sensing cycle when mass of particles deposited on the sensor element reaches a pre-set/predetermined mass) is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 418, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 8, Chen discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 10, respectively.
Chen discloses wherein the current CU is partitioned into a first part and a second part based on a predefined direction, wherein the obtaining, by the decoder, the prediction for the current CU based on the IBC mode combined with GPM comprises: obtaining, by the decoder, a first IBC prediction for the first part; obtaining, by the decoder, a second intra prediction for the second part; and obtaining, by the decoder, the prediction for the current CU by averaging the first IBC prediction and the second intra prediction (Chen [0023]: the current block is partitioned into first partition and second partition based on GPM; [0154]-[0160]: GPM can be combined with different prediction types. Each of two geometric partitions can be predicted with three different prediction types including IBC mode, inter prediction mode and intra prediction mode, in different configurations including intra-IBC, in which one partition is predicted in IBC mode and one partition is predicted in intra prediction mode; [0030], [0158]: a partition of the current block can be predicted by a merge mode of IBC; [0158]: intra prediction mode can be used in IBC merge. Hence, first IBC merge prediction and second intra prediction can be used; [0145]: two merge indexes one for each partition. After the two partitions are predicted, a blending process using adaptive weights can be used for each predicted partition. Hence, weighted averaging first IBC prediction and second intra prediction can be used).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Chen, and further incorporate obtaining, by the decoder or encoder, the prediction for the current CU by averaging the first IBC prediction and the second intra prediction, as taught by Chen, for accurate reconstruction of original data and enhance coding performance (Chen [0076], [0150]).
Furthermore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have used weighted average of the first IBC prediction and the second intra prediction, as taught by Chen. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include that configuration since it has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (i.e. to set the duration of sensing cycle when mass of particles deposited on the sensor element reaches a pre-set/predetermined mass) is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 418, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claims 9 and 17 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. 2023/0034458) hereinafter Chen, in view of Lim et al. (U.S. 2025/0274581) hereinafter Lim.
Regarding claim 9, Chen discloses all the limitations of claim 8.
Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the predefined direction is 45 degrees, the first IBC prediction is located in a bottom-right part, and the second intra prediction is located in a upper-left part of the current CU.
However, Lim discloses wherein the predefined direction is 45 degrees, the first prediction is located in a bottom-right part, and the second prediction is located in a upper-left part of the current CU (Lim Fig. 21, [0881]-[0903]: geometric partitioning can be used to generate to partitions including a bottom-right part and an upper-left part as in Fig. 21; [1606]-[1614]: direction value of the GPM can include 45 degrees).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method having first IBC prediction and second intra prediction, as disclosed by Chen, and further incorporate having wherein the predefined direction is 45 degrees, the first IBC prediction is located in a bottom-right part, and the second intra prediction is located in a upper-left part of the current CU, as taught by Lim, for effective image compression (Lim [0004]).
Regarding claim 17, Chen discloses all the limitations of claim 10.
Chen discloses wherein the current CU is partitioned into a first part and a second part based on a predefined direction; wherein the method further comprises: obtaining, by the encoder, a first IBC prediction for the first part; obtaining, by the encoder, a second intra prediction for the second part; and obtaining, by the encoder, the prediction for the current CU by weighted-averaging the first IBC prediction and the second intra prediction (Chen [0023]: the current block is partitioned into first partition and second partition based on GPM; [0154]-[0160]: GPM can be combined with different prediction types. Each of two geometric partitions can be predicted with three different prediction types including IBC mode, inter prediction mode and intra prediction mode, in different configurations including intra-IBC, in which one partition is predicted in IBC mode and one partition is predicted in intra prediction mode; [0030], [0158]: a partition of the current block can be predicted by a merge mode of IBC; [0158]: intra prediction mode can be used in IBC merge. Hence, first IBC merge prediction and second intra prediction can be used; [0145]: two merge indexes one for each partition. After the two partitions are predicted, a blending process using adaptive weights can be used for each predicted partition. Hence, weighted averaging first IBC prediction and second intra prediction can be used).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Chen, and further incorporate obtaining, by the decoder or encoder, the prediction for the current CU by averaging the first IBC prediction and the second intra prediction, as taught by Chen, for accurate reconstruction of original data and enhance coding performance (Chen [0076], [0150]).
Furthermore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have used weighted average of the first IBC prediction and the second intra prediction, as taught by Chen. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include that configuration since it has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (i.e. to set the duration of sensing cycle when mass of particles deposited on the sensor element reaches a pre-set/predetermined mass) is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 418, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the predefined direction is 45 degrees, the first IBC prediction is located in a bottom-right part and the second intra prediction is located in a upper-left part of the current CU.
However, Lim discloses wherein the predefined direction is 45 degrees, the first prediction is located in a bottom-right part, and the second prediction is located in a upper-left part of the current CU (Lim Fig. 21, [0881]-[0903]: geometric partitioning can be used to generate to partitions including a bottom-right part and an upper-left part as in Fig. 21; [1606]-[1614]: direction value of the GPM can include 45 degrees).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method having first IBC prediction and second intra prediction, as disclosed by Chen, and further incorporate having wherein the predefined direction is 45 degrees, the first IBC prediction is located in a bottom-right part, and the second intra prediction is located in a upper-left part of the current CU, as taught by Lim, for effective image compression (Lim [0004]).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. 2023/0034458) hereinafter Chen, in view of Kadono et al. (U.S. 2006/0268989) hereinafter Kadono.
Regarding claim 19, Chen discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for storing computer-executable instructions, when the computer-executable instructions are executed by one or more computer processors, the computer-executable instructions cause the one or more computer processors to perform the method for video encoding of claim 10 to generate the bitstream as cited in claim 10 above.
Kadono discloses storage medium storing a bitstream (Kadono [0060]: generating bitstream and store in a storage medium).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Chen, and further incorporate having the storage medium storing a bitstream, as taught by Kadono, for accessing and using of bitstream when desired (Kadono [0060]).
Regarding claim 20, Chen discloses a method of storing a bitstream, comprising: performing the method for video encoding of claim 10 to generate a bitstream as discussed in claim 10.
Chen does not explicitly disclose storing the bitstream.
However, Kadono discloses storage medium storing a bitstream (Kadono [0060]: generating bitstream and store in a storage medium).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Chen, and further incorporate storing the bitstream, as taught by Kadono, for accessing and using of bitstream when desired (Kadono [0060]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHLEEN V NGUYEN/Primary examiner, Art Unit 2486