2. Claims 1-14 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Okuyama (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0302523).
Regarding independent claim 1, Okuyama discloses a display device (figures 17-19 DSP) comprising:
a display panel (LC4) that has a display area (Figure 2 DA) in which a plurality of pixels (PX) are arranged in a first direction (Figure 2 X) and a second direction (Y) intersecting the first direction (X), and that is configured to make an image viewed in plan view ([0045] exampled configuration of an LCD display (corresponding to LC1, LC2, or LC4) in which an image is displayed) from one side (Figure 19 U1) of the display area visible from another side (U2) (Figures 18-19 depicts liquid crystal molecules LCH of LC4 aligned as pixels via control electrodes 73/731-735 below and control electrode 81 above (as oriented in the figure). Said figures depict the electrodes to correspond as pixels, [0106]. [0065] describes 30A to be an off area and 30B to be an on area (corresponding to pixels PX). Figure 19 and [0109]-[0117] describes control of the image via TC including: LCH vertical Z aligned (as oriented in the figure) allows light to pass through TC while LCH horizontal X alignment blocks light from passing through.);
a first light control panel (PNL1) that is provided on one surface (SUB7) of the display panel (TC) and is configured to make at least a partial area of the display area invisible (The current application’s specification support for “invisible” is descried in reference to figure 12A such that an image/text displayed at A1, on DIM1, is made invisible by light blocking pattern S2 when view for direction dir2 and similarly, image/text displayed on A2, on DIM2, is made invisible by light blocking pattern S1. In view of the support, prior art Okuyama discloses in figure 19 image light DL2 on PNL1 at the area of 733 is in an off state 30A and DL2 light is not visible, invisible, to U1, [0114]); and
a second light control panel (PNL2) that is provided on another surface (SUB8) of the display panel (TC) and is configured to make at least a partial area of the display area invisible (Figure 19 image light DL1 on PNL2 at the area of 732 is in an off state 30A and DL1 light is not visible, invisible, to U2, [0112]).
Regarding claim 2, Okuyama discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the first light control panel (PNL1) and the second light control panel (PNL2) is provided with an electrochromic layer overlapping the display area ([0100]).
Regarding claim 3, Okuyama discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the first light control panel (PNL1) and the second light control panel (PNL2) is provided with a liquid crystal layer (LC1/LC2) overlapping the display area (Overlap with LC4 depicted in figure 19).
Regarding claim 4, Okuyama discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein an area (732) made visible by the first light control panel (PNL1) overlaps (depicted in figure 19) an area (732) made invisible by the second light control panel (PNL2) in a visual line direction (Z) (Figure 19 image light DL1 on PNL2 at the area of 732 is in an off state 30A and DL1 light is not visible, invisible, to U2, [0112]).
Regarding claim 5, Okuyama discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein an area (733) made invisible by the first light control panel (PNL1) overlaps (depicted in figure 19) an area (733) made visible by the second light control panel (PNL2) in a visual line direction (Z) (figure 19 image light DL2 on PNL1 at the area of 733 is in an off state 30A and DL2 light is not visible, invisible, to U1, [0114]).
Regarding claim 6, Okuyama discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein a first area (732) that is made visible by the first light control panel (PNL1) and made invisible by the second light control panel (PNL2) (Figure 19 image light DL1 on PNL2 at the area of 732 is in an off state 30A and DL1 light is not visible, invisible, to U2, [0112]) and a second area that is made invisible (733) by the first light control panel (PNL1) and made visible by the second light control panel (PNL2) (figure 19 image light DL2 on PNL1 at the area of 733 is in an off state 30A and DL2 light is not visible, invisible, to U1, [0114]) are alternately arranged in the first direction (X) and the second direction (Y) (Figure 19 depicts the off/on states 30A/30B may be specifically controlled including an alternate arrangement (732 adjacent 733).).
Regarding claim 7, Okuyama discloses the display device according to claim 6, wherein each of the first area (732) and the second area (733) comprises at least one pixel (depicted in figure 18 PX) in the first direction (X), and each of the first area (732) and the second area (733) comprises at least one pixel (PX) in the second direction (Y) (depicted in figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 8, Okuyama discloses the display device according to claim 7, wherein the first area (732) overlaps the second area (733) in a predetermined area including a boundary line between the first area (732) and the second area (733) in plan view (plan view depicted in figure 2, figure 19 depicts side view extending along x direction wherein a y direction between 732 and 733 may be interpreted as the boundary line.).
Regarding claim 9, Okuyama discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein a first area (732) that is made visible by the first light control panel (PNL1) and made invisible by the second light control panel (PNL2) (Figure 19 image light DL1 on PNL2 at the area of 732 is in an off state 30A and DL1 light is not visible, invisible, to U2, [0112]) and a second area (733) that is made invisible by the first light control panel (PNL1) and made visible by the second light control panel (PNL2) (figure 19 image light DL2 on PNL1 at the area of 733 is in an off state 30A and DL2 light is not visible, invisible, to U1, [0114]) are alternately arranged in the first direction (X) (Figure 19 depicts the off/on states 30A/30B may be specifically controlled including an alternate arrangement (732 adjacent 733).).
Regarding claim 10, Okuyama discloses the display device according to claim 9, wherein each of the first area (732) and the second area (733) comprises at least one pixel (PX) in the first direction (X) (figure 18 depicts each of 731-735 comprising a pixel PX).
Regarding claim 11, Okuyama discloses the display device according to claim 10, wherein the first area (732) overlaps the second area (733) in a predetermined area including a boundary line between the first area (732) and the second area (733) in plan view (plan view depicted in figure 2, figure 19 depicts side view extending along x direction wherein a y direction between 732 and 733 may be interpreted as the boundary line.).
Regarding claim 12, Okuyama discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein a first area (732) that is made visible by the first light control panel (PNL1) and made invisible by the second light control panel (PNL2) (Figure 19 image light DL1 on PNL2 at the area of 732 is in an off state 30A and DL1 light is not visible, invisible, to U2, [0112]) and a second area (733) that is made invisible by the first light control panel (PNL1) (figure 19 image light DL2 on PNL1 at the area of 733 is in an off state 30A and DL2 light is not visible, invisible, to U1, [0114]) and made visible by the second light control panel (PNL2) are alternately arranged in the second direction (Y) (Figure 19 depicts the off/on states 30A/30B may be specifically controlled including an alternate arrangement (732 adjacent 733).).
Regarding claim 13, Okuyama discloses the display device according to claim 12, wherein the first area (732) and the second area (733) each comprise at least one pixel (PX) in the second direction (Y) (depicted in figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 14, Okuyama discloses the display device according to claim 13, wherein the first area (732) overlaps the second area (733) in a predetermined area including a boundary line between the first area (732) and the second area (733) in plan view (plan view depicted in figure 2, figure 19 depicts side view extending along x direction wherein a y direction between 732 and 733 may be interpreted as the boundary line.).
Conclusion
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Larry et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0292904) depicts overlap arrangement in a Y direction (figure 3).
Perdices-Gonzalez et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0310956) depicts overlap between pixels of adjacent light control panels (figure 5).
/CHRISTOPHER E LEIBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621