Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “the recessed portion”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation. Claim 4 could be amended to depend from Claim 3, which in turn is amended to depend from Claim 2, to rectify this issue. For example, the dependency chain would be 4 > 3 > 2 > 1.
Claim 18 recites “the integrally photogrammetry target”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 8-10 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bry (US20160340016A1).
Claim 1
Bry teaches an aircraft (¶0021 teaches the first structure (1) is a fuselage.) structural element (panel, 5) configured to be assemblable into an aircraft structure (¶0021 teaches the panels (5) form the skin (6) of the structure.), the aircraft structural element comprising an external surface having an integrally formed photogrammetry target. (¶0022 teaches that the rivets (10) are used as targets for a measuring system (100) for measuring by photogrammetry. The rivets are at a location where an integrally formed hole is located on the skin.)
Claim 3
Bry teaches the aircraft structural element according to claim 1, wherein the photogrammetry target comprises a recessed portion (The hole the rivet is in.), the recessed portion being recessed relative to adjacent portions of the external surface wherein the recessed portion is a recess in the external surface of the aircraft structural element. (A hole in the skin is a recessed portion that is recessed relative to the external surface of the skin.
Claim 5
Bry teaches the aircraft structural element according claim 1, wherein the aircraft structural element, the integrally formed photogrammetry target and the external surface are formed of a common material composition and are a single piece structure. (A hole formed in the skin has sidewalls formed of the displaced material of the skin during forming of the hole. Therefore, the hole (the target) is formed of the same material is a single piece with the component.)
Claim 6
Bry teaches the aircraft structural element according to claim 1, wherein the aircraft structural element, external surface and the integrally formed photogrammetry target are formed of a common composite material composition and are a single piece. (A hole formed in the skin has sidewalls formed of the displaced material of the skin during forming of the hole. Therefore, the hole (the target) is formed of the same material is a single piece with the component. ¶0021 teaches the panels can be made from composite material.)
Claim 8
Bry teaches the aircraft structural element according to claim 1, wherein the external surface comprises a plurality of integrally formed photogrammetry targets, wherein the integrally formed photogrammetry target is included in the plurality of integrally formed photogrammetry targets. (Figure 1A shows there are a plurality of rivet holes.)
Claim 9
Bry teaches the aircraft structural element according to claim 8, wherein the plurality of integrally formed photogrammetry targets comprises the integrally formed photogrammetry target and at least two additional integrally formed photogrammetry targets. (Figure 1A shows there are a plurality of rivet holes.)
Claim 10
Bry teaches the aircraft structural element according to claim 8, wherein the plurality of integrally formed photogrammetry targets include integrally formed photogrammetry targets distributed across the external surface such that at least three of the integrally formed photogrammetry targets are visible from any rotational orientation of the aircraft structural element. (Figure 1A shows there are a plurality of rivet holes. The rivet holes are visible regardless of the rotational orientation of the element. The claim does not specify what the targets are required to be visible to or where the viewer is located in relation to the element.)
Claim 13
Bry teaches a photogrammetry system (Item 100 is a measuring system that uses photogrammetry.) comprising: an aircraft (¶0021 teaches the first structure (1) is a fuselage.) structural element (panel, 5) configured to be assemblable into an aircraft structure (¶0021 teaches the panels (5) form the skin (6) of the structure.), the aircraft structural element comprising an external surface having an integrally formed photogrammetry target (¶0022 teaches that the rivets (10) are used as targets for a measuring system (100) for measuring by photogrammetry.); a photogrammetry imaging device (Figure 1, Item 101), and a photogrammetry processor (Figure 1, Item 102), wherein the photogrammetry imaging device and photogrammetry processor are configured to determine a position or orientation of the integrally formed photogrammetry target. (¶0022 teaches that the measuring system (100) is used to determine the position of the first structure (1), which includes the panel (5) and the rivets (10).)
Claim 14
Bry teaches the photogrammetry system according to claim 13, wherein the photogrammetry system further comprises a plurality of photogrammetry imaging devices which include the photogrammetry imaging device. (Figure 1 shows a plurality of imaging devices (101).)
Claim 15
Bry teaches the aircraft assembly system comprising the photogrammetry system according to claim 13, and further comprising an assembly coordinator configured to receive signals from the photogrammetry system indicative of the position or the orientation of the aircraft structural element. (¶0057 teaches that the processor (102) performs the actions of controlling the motorized slides (2a) of the support (2) such that it acts as an assembly coordinator as well as controlling the capturing and processing of the images in the photogrammetry method. ¶0058 teaches that the processor compares the positions of the structure, at regular intervals, to predefined positions and uses that information to control the actuators.)
Claim 16
Bry teaches the aircraft assembly system of claim 15, wherein the aircraft assembly system further comprises: a display, wherein the assembly coordinator the is configured to output information to the display indicative of the position or the orientation of the aircraft structural element, and the display is configured to display the information. (¶0051 teaches the system includes a display device that displays the position and displacement of the first structure.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13, 15, and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neuhaus (US20190217475A1) in view of McKay (US20220118617A1).
Claim 1
Neuhaus teaches an aircraft structural element (vehicle component, 1) configured to be assemblable into an aircraft structure (Figure 1A), the aircraft structural element comprising an integrally formed photogrammetry target. (¶0028 teaches the workpieces/components have embedded reference points. A reference point is an analogous term for a target. ¶0058 teaches that the apparatus uses a position-measurement system (4) in order to determine to position of each component (1), and that the system can be photogrammetry system. Therefore, since Neuhaus teaches targets on the component and a photogrammetry system to track the component, the reference teaches the claimed photogrammetry target.)
Neuhaus does not explicitly disclose the location of the target, and as such does not disclose an external surface having an integrally formed target.
However, McKay teaches an external surface having an integrally formed target. (Figure 2 teaches 3-D printed a metrology features (226) (which is an analogous target) on an aircraft (¶0007) part (219).)
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to apply the known 3-D printed targets of McKay to the components of Neuhaus in order to enable the measurement apparatus to determine a component position and/or orientation based on the printed feature locations. (McKay ¶0010) The 3D printing method of McKay also allows access to numerous geographical shapes to ensure precise measurements (McKay ¶0033).
Claim 2
Neuhaus in view of McKay teaches the aircraft structural element according to claim 1, wherein the photogrammetry target comprises a protruding portion (McKay, Figure 2 shows that the targets (226) are formed to have a protruding portion (220).), the protruding portion protruding relative to adjacent portions of the external surface (McKay, Figure 2), wherein the protruding portion and the external surface of the aircraft structural element are formed of a common material composition and are a single piece. (Since McKay teaches that the targets are printed with the component, which means they are formed of the same material and are a single piece.)
Claim 3
Neuhaus in view of McKay teaches the aircraft structural element according to claim 1, wherein the photogrammetry target comprises a recessed portion (McKay, Figure 2 shows that the targets (226) are formed to have protruding and recesses areas since the sphere portion is inset into the material of the component (219) surface.) the recessed portion being recessed relative to adjacent portions of the external surface (McKay, Figure 2 shows the recessed portion is recessed in relation to the surface (219) of the component.) wherein the recessed portion is a recess in the external surface of the aircraft structural element. (Neuhaus teaches the components (1) are aircraft structural components in Figure 1A and that they have physically embedded reference points in ¶0028. McKay teaches physically embedded reference points (226) that include recessed portion in the external surface (219) of the component.)
Claim 4
Neuhaus in view of McKay teaches the aircraft structural element according to claim 2, wherein the recessed portion is adjacent a protruding portion of the photogrammetry target (McKay, Figure 2), the protruding portion protruding relative to adjacent portions of the external surface separate from the recessed portion (McKay, Figure 2 shows a partially protruding spherical portion (220) that protrudes relative to the surface (219) of the component.), and wherein the protruding portion, the recessed portion and the external surface of the aircraft structural element are formed of a common material composition and are a single piece. (Since McKay teaches that the targets are printed with the component, which means they are formed of the same material and are a single piece.)
Claim 5
Neuhaus in view of McKay teaches the aircraft structural element according claim 1, wherein the aircraft structural element, the integrally formed photogrammetry target and the external surface are formed of a common material composition and are a single piece structure. (Since McKay teaches that the targets are printed with the component, which means they are formed of the same material and are a single piece.)
Claim 6
Neuhaus in view of McKay teaches the aircraft structural element according to claim 1, wherein the aircraft structural element, external surface and the integrally formed photogrammetry target are formed of a common composite material composition and are a single piece. (Neuhaus teaches that the components (1) can be made from a composite material. McKay teaches that the targets are printed with the component, which means they are formed of the same material and are a single piece.)
Claim 7
Neuhaus in view of McKay teaches the aircraft structural element according to claim 1, wherein the integrally formed photogrammetry target comprises a textured surface of the external surface and the external surface is smooth surrounding the integrally formed photogrammetry target. (McKay, Figure 2 teaches that the surface (219) is smooth (See also ¶0102 “generally planar surface”) until it is interrupted by a recess, a protruding sphere portion, then another recess (when following a line passing through the feature (226)). This is a textured area that interrupts the smooth outer surface (219).)
Claim 8
Neuhaus in view of McKay teaches the aircraft structural element according to claim 1, wherein the external surface comprises a plurality of integrally formed photogrammetry targets (McKay, Figure 2 teaches the surface (219) has a plurality of targets (features, 226) that are integrally formed on/in it. ¶0038 teaches one or more of the options shown in Figure 2 is printed on/in the component. Neuhaus also discloses physically embedded reference points (plural), meaning that there are a plurality of the targets on the components.), wherein the integrally formed photogrammetry target is included in the plurality of integrally formed photogrammetry targets. (McKay, Figure 2 teaches the surface (219) has a plurality of targets (features, 226) that are integrally formed on/in it. ¶0038 teaches one or more of the options shown in Figure 2 is printed on/in the component. Neuhaus also discloses physically embedded reference points (plural), meaning that there are a plurality of the targets on the components.)
Claim 9
Neuhaus in view of McKay teaches the aircraft structural element according to claim 8, wherein the plurality of integrally formed photogrammetry targets comprises the integrally formed photogrammetry target and at least two additional integrally formed photogrammetry targets. (McKay, Figure 2 teaches the surface (219) has at least three targets (features, 226) that are integrally formed on/in it. ¶0038 teaches one or more of the options shown in Figure 2 is printed on/in the component. Neuhaus also discloses physically embedded reference points (plural), meaning that there are a plurality of the targets on the components.)
Claim 10
Neuhaus in view of McKay teaches the aircraft structural element according to claim 8, wherein the plurality of integrally formed photogrammetry targets include integrally formed photogrammetry targets distributed across the external surface such that at least three of the integrally formed photogrammetry targets (McKay, Figure 2 teaches the surface (219) has at least three targets (features, 226) that are integrally formed on/in it.) are visible from any rotational orientation of the aircraft structural element. (Since the targets of McKay (items 226) are on the surface of the component as claimed, they can be viewed/are visible regardless of which orientation the component is placed in. The claim does not specify what the targets are required to be visible to or where the viewer is located in relation to the element.)
Claim 11
Neuhaus in view of McKay teaches the aircraft structural element according to claim 8, wherein each integrally formed photogrammetry target of the plurality of integrally formed photogrammetry targets has a different shape or size. (McKay, Figure 2 shows three different alternative shapes/structures for the targets (226). ¶0038 teaches that each of the alternatives can be printed with a surface of the component.)
Claim 12
Neuhaus in view of McKay teaches the aircraft structural element according to claim 1, further comprising a sensor disposed on or within the aircraft structural element (Neuhaus, ¶0021 teaches an embedded sensor within the vehicle component.), wherein the sensor is configured to: sense a parameter during assembly of the aircraft structural element into the aircraft structure using the aircraft structural element (Neuhaus, ¶0059 teaches the sensors determine status data and communicate it in real time during the production process.); and output a signal indicative of the parameter during assembly of the aircraft structural element into the aircraft structure. (¶0013 teaches the sensor system are provided with data communication capabilities with the computer system such that the status of the components can be determined at any point in time.)
Claim 13
Neuhaus teaches a photogrammetry system (¶0041) comprising: an aircraft structural element (1) configured to be assemblable into an aircraft structure (Figure 1A), the aircraft structural element having an integrally formed photogrammetry target (¶0028 teaches the workpieces/components have embedded reference points. A reference point is an analogous term for a target. ¶0058 teaches that the apparatus uses a position-measurement system (4) in order to determine to position of each component (1), and that the system can be photogrammetry system. Therefore, since Neuhaus teaches targets on the component and a photogrammetry system to track the component, the reference teaches the claimed photogrammetry target.) ; a photogrammetry imaging device (Figure 3, Item 4 is a position-measurement system that can be a photogrammetry system (¶0058).), and a photogrammetry processor (¶0064 teaches the position-measurement system (4) interacts with a computer based control system (30). A computer has a processor.), wherein the photogrammetry imaging device and photogrammetry processor are configured to determine a position or orientation of the integrally formed photogrammetry target. (¶0058 teaches that the position-measurement system (4) is used to determine the position (3) of the component (1). ¶0014 teaches that the production system includes a measurement system for determining the current position of the components in three dimensional space, which includes the coordinates of the references points and the orientation of the component.)
Neuhaus does not explicitly disclose the location of the target, and as such does not disclose an external surface having an integrally formed target.
However, McKay teaches an external surface having an integrally formed target. (Figure 2 teaches 3-D printed a metrology features (226) (which is an analogous target) on an aircraft (¶0007) part (219).)
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to apply the known 3-D printed targets of McKay to the components of Neuhaus in order to enable the measurement apparatus to determine a component position and/or orientation based on the printed feature locations. (McKay ¶0010) The 3D printing method of McKay also allows access to numerous geographical shapes to ensure precise measurements (McKay ¶0033).
Claim 15
Neuhaus in view of McKay teaches the aircraft assembly system comprising the photogrammetry system according to claim 13, and further comprising an assembly coordinator configured to receive signals from the photogrammetry system indicative of the position or the orientation of the aircraft structural element. (Neuhaus, ¶0064 teaches the position-measurement system (4) interacts with a computer based control system (30). ¶0058 teaches that the position-measurement system (4) is used to determine the position (3) of the component (1). ¶0014 teaches that the production system includes a measurement system for determining the current position of the components in three dimensional space, which includes the coordinates of the references points and the orientation of the component.)
Claim 17
Neuhaus in view of McKay teaches the aircraft assembly system of claim 15, wherein the aircraft assembly system further comprises: a manufacturing tool (Neuhaus, Figure 3, Item 2, positioner unit), wherein the assembly coordinator and the manufacturing tool are configured to perform a step of assembly of the aircraft structure based on the received signal indicative of the position or the orientation of the aircraft structural element from the photogrammetry system. (Neuhaus, Figure 3 shows the computer control system (which is the assembly coordinator) includes positioner agents (22) that control the positioner units (2). ¶0014 teaches that the production system includes a measurement system for determining the current position of the components in three dimensional space, which includes the coordinates of the references points and the orientation of the component.)
Claim 18
Neuhaus teaches a method of assembling an aircraft structure (¶0008 teaches that the invention pertains to a production system for assembly of vehicle components. Figure 3 shows the components (1) are aircraft fuselage parts.) comprising: assembling an aircraft structure (fuselage) which includes an aircraft structural element (1) as a component of the aircraft structure; determining, during assembly of the aircraft structure, a position or orientation of a photogrammetry target using a photogrammetry system (¶0028 teaches the workpieces/components have embedded reference points. A reference point is an analogous term for a target. ¶0058 teaches that the apparatus uses a position-measurement system (4) in order to determine to position of each component (1), and that the system can be photogrammetry system. Therefore, since Neuhaus teaches targets on the component and a photogrammetry system to track the component, the reference teaches the claimed photogrammetry target.), wherein the photogrammetry target is a portion of the aircraft structural element for assembly into the aircraft structure (¶0028 teaches the workpieces/components have embedded reference points.), determining a position or an orientation of the aircraft structural element based on the position or the orientation of the integrally formed photogrammetry target (Neuhaus, ¶0028 teaches the components have embedded reference points that provide information about the datum reference of the parts. ¶0058 teaches that the position-measurement system (4) is used to determine the position (3) of the component (1). ¶0014 teaches that the production system includes a measurement system for determining the current position of the components in three dimensional space, which includes the coordinates of the references points and the orientation of the component.); and performing a step of the assembling of the aircraft structure based on the position or the orientation of the aircraft structural element. (¶0062 teaches the controlling of the positioner units (2) based on the status data (12), which includes positional data. ¶0057 teaches the use of the positioner units to move the components into the assembly position.)
Neuhaus does not explicitly disclose the targets are on the external surface; or wherein the integrally photogrammetry target and the external surface of the aircraft structural element are formed of a common material composition and are a single piece.
However, McKay teaches an external surface having an integrally formed target; (Figure 2 teaches 3-D printed a metrology features (226) (which is an analogous target) on an aircraft (¶0007) part (219).) and wherein the integrally photogrammetry target and the external surface of the aircraft structural element are formed of a common material composition and are a single piece. (Since McKay teaches that the targets are printed with the component, which means they are formed of the same material and are a single piece.)
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to apply the known 3-D printed targets of McKay to the components of Neuhaus in order to enable the measurement apparatus to determine a component position and/or orientation based on the printed feature locations. (McKay ¶0010) The 3D printing method of McKay also allows access to numerous geographical shapes to ensure precise measurements (McKay ¶0033).
Claim 19
Neuhaus in view of McKay teaches the method of claim 18, further comprising: receiving a signal from a sensor located on or within the aircraft structural element of the aircraft structure (Neuhaus ¶0021 teaches the use of sensors located within the components. , wherein the sensor is configured to sense a parameter during the assembling of the aircraft structure using the aircraft structural element (Neuhaus, ¶0059 teaches the sensors determine status data and communicate it in real time during the production process.), and the signal is indicative of the parameter during the assembling of the aircraft structure (Neuhaus ¶0039 teaches options for the sensed parameters, including proximity during the assembly process.), and wherein the step of the assembling of the aircraft structure based on the position or the orientation of the aircraft structural element is based on the received signal. (Neuhaus, ¶0059 teaches the sensors communicate status data (12) during the production process. ¶0061 teaches that the control system (30) receives status data (12) from the components and controls movements of the components via the positioner units (2).)
Claim 20
Neuhaus in view of McKay teaches the method of claim 19, wherein the sensed parameter is indicative of a contact between the aircraft structural element and a second aircraft structural element for attaching to the aircraft structural element during assembly (Neuhaus, ¶0039 teaches the sensors can be proximity sensors that improve the handling of the components to minimize gaps between the components or other means. A minimization of the gap is the improving of contact between the components or other means.), and wherein the step of the assembling of the aircraft structure based on the position or the orientation of the aircraft structural element is further based on whether the signal received from the sensor indicates the contact between the aircraft structural element and the second aircraft structural element. (¶0059 teaches that the method includes a step of determining status data (including the proximity data) and said status data is communicated during the process. ¶0062 teaches the controlling of the positioner units (2) based on the status data (12) to move the component from an assembly position to a nominal assembly position. The nominal assembly position is where the component is in position to be secured to another component.)
Claim 21
Neuhaus in view of McKay teaches the method of claim 19, wherein the sensed parameter is indicative of a strain experienced by the aircraft structural element during assembly of the aircraft structure (Neuhaus, ¶0039 teaches the sensor can be a strain sensor and that the data received is used to minimize internal strains within a component during moving of the component into position.), and wherein the step of the assembling of the aircraft structure based on the position or the orientation of the aircraft structural element is further based on maintaining the strain indicated by the sensed parameter below a threshold value. (¶0059 teaches that the component (1) notifies regarding a critical strain (a threshold value) during the production process. ¶0063 teaches that the production system keeps strains below an upper limit during the production process.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found on the PTO-892 Notice of References Cited Form.
Document
Date
Description of Relevant Subject Matter
US20190217475A1
2019-01-11
Neuhaus teaches a production system for automated assembly of aircraft components (abs). ¶0021 teaches the components have embedded sensors, ¶0031 or ¶0059 teaches the sensors can be strain sensors. ¶0012 teaches that knowledge about the physical statuses, like stresses or strains, is helpful in the production process to further optimize handling of the components during assembly. ¶0028 teaches that system uses information about the location of individual parts gleaned from physically embedded reference points. ¶0058 teaches that the method includes using a position measurement system, which can be a photogrammetry system, for the tracking of the components (1) in space.
US20220118617A1
2021-10-19
McCay teaches a 3-D printed metrology feature on an aircraft (¶0007) part. The metrology features are embedded in a surface of the component (¶0024) and can have a structure that has protruding and recessed portions (partially protruding sphere, Item 220 in Figure 2). ¶0033 teaches that the use of these geometric shapes allows for precise measurements. ¶0038 teaches that one or more of the alternatives is printed with the component.
US20070144007A1
2004-06-08
Figures 4-5 teach a textured marking on an automotive component (wheel) that are used to identify the wheel using a sensor system.
US20180339456A1
2017-05-24
Figure 11 teaches the use of an integrated label (11200) formed in the surface of the vehicle part (11100). ¶0191 teaches this label can be etched in the part, meaning that the label will have recesses and protrusions.
US20180372481A1
2018-06-22
¶0015 teaches that surfaces that have low roughness are more difficult to measure. ¶0011 teaches the invention pertains to tracking the position or orientation of a device. ¶0141-0142 teach a calibration target that has a high roughness.
US20170017224A1
2015-07-16
Figure 1 teaches a plurality of targets (208) on the surface (204) of a workpiece (200).
US20210405269A1
2021-06-30
Figure 1A-1B teaches a fiducial marker on a substrate. The marker (102) has a textured surface. ¶0008 teaches the use of a the fiducial markers is for visual points of reference or alignment of the substrates. ¶0038 teaches that the visual edges of the textured area allow it to be detected by a machine vision system.
US20170327201A1
2016-05-11
¶0052 teaches the use of a photogrammetric tool in the method. The method is shown in Figure 9 as using targets on the part. The targets are associated with holes in the skin of the flange of the workpiece (¶0056), which are integrally formed portions of the flange.
US20200094359A1
2019-11-26
¶0028 teaches the system uses features on the parts for aligning the parts in relation to one another. ¶0008 teaches the use of a photogrammetry scanner.
WO2002097362A1
2002-12-05
Figure 1 teaches a workpiece (24) that has targets (3) on its surfaces. Figures 3a and 3b show the targets can have a specific pattern associated with them.
US20200408506A1
2018-11-29
Figure 3A teaches the use of relief elements (224) on the surface of a target (200). The relief elements relief elements constitute surface irregularities or roughness of small size, the surface of the inclined face being rough and making it possible to form a diffuse reflection which allows an optical system which looks at the target to clearly see a portion of the inclined face (¶0032). The relief elements can be protruding or recessed (¶0079).
US5898227A
1997-02-18
Figure 2 teaches an alignment mark (10) that includes a roughened surface. Col. 4, Lines 57-59 teach that roughened surfaces reflect light differently than polished (smooth) surfaces and Col. 3, Line 1 teaches the structure provides reflectivity contrast.
US20130202010A1
2013-03-15
¶0106 teaches that the invention pertains to photogrammetric targets. ¶0062 teaches the scattering surface texture or material on a target and making a non-reflecting portion.
US20030090682A1
2001-08-30
Figure 1 shows a workpiece (2) having targets (4) on multiple side faces.
US20170052070A1
2015-08-17
Figure 7 teaches photogrammetry cameras (22) that are used in conjunction with targets (20) on a fuselage section arrangement. ¶0072 teaches the measuring system uses multiple targets distributed around the entire workpiece during the procedure. ¶0074 teaches the measuring of the fuselage section during rotation of the section. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine the known plurality of targets distributed around the surfaces of the workpiece technique of Marsh to the scanning method of XX in order to accurately measure the entire workpiece. (¶0073)
US20160069746A1
2014-09-04
Figure 4 teaches targets (228, 230, 232) formed in the surface of a component (300) by boring into the surface of the material (¶0030). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to apply the known boring and contrast color filling technique of Smith to the locating method of XX in order to provide a system that allows for rapid, accurate location and measurement of large component surfaces and features. (¶0003)
/MICHAEL W HOTCHKISS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726