DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukami JP2021143647A in view of Drummond US 20060269427 as evidenced by Calculate Change in Fluid Velocity & Pressure in a Tapering Pipe | Bernoulli's Law, by Integral Physics on youtube.com, published 2022 as further evidenced by PRESSURE LOSSES RESULTING FROM CHANGES IN CROSS-SECTIONAL AREA IN AIR DUCTS, BY KRATZ ET AL., published 1938.
Fukami discloses:
1. An exhaust passage structure, comprising: a pressure chamber (53, 54) to which an inflow passage 52 and an outflow passage 62 are opened, a pressurized fluid flowing into the inflow passage, the fluid flowing out of the outflow passage; a diaphragm 36 arranged in the pressure chamber, the diaphragm being configured to separate the pressure chamber into an upstream fluid 53 chamber to which the inflow passage 52 is opened and a downstream fluid chamber 54 to which the outflow passage 62 is opened; a check valve 73 configured to flow the fluid from the upstream fluid chamber to the downstream fluid chamber; a first exhaust passage 66 provided between the upstream fluid chamber and an exterior of the pressure chamber, the first exhaust passage having a passage cross-sectional area smaller than a passage cross-sectional area of the outflow passage (see e.g. Fig 2), and the first exhaust passage being configured to discharge the fluid from the upstream fluid chamber to the exterior of the pressure chamber (see e.g. Fig 2); and a second exhaust passage 63 provided between the downstream fluid chamber and the exterior of the pressure chamber, the second exhaust passage being configured to discharge the fluid from the downstream fluid chamber to the exterior of the pressure chamber (see e.g. Fig 2), wherein an inner surface of a wall forming the downstream fluid chamber includes a valve seat 85 to which the second exhaust passage is opened, the diaphragm includes a valve body 82 configured to be seated on the valve seat to close the second exhaust passage, the valve seat and the diaphragm constitute a differential pressure valve configured to close the second exhaust passage when a pressure in the upstream fluid chamber is higher than a pressure in the downstream fluid chamber, and to open the second exhaust passage when the pressure in the upstream fluid chamber is less than or equal to the pressure in the downstream fluid chamber (see e.g. Fig 2), the second exhaust passage includes a downstream portion (upper portion of 63) opened to the exterior of the pressure chamber and an upstream portion (lower portion of 63) opened to the valve seat (see e.g. Fig 2).
Fukami does not disclose the upstream portion has a passage cross-sectional area larger than a passage cross-sectional area of the downstream portion.
However, Drummond discloses the upstream portion has a passage cross-sectional area larger than a passage cross-sectional area of the downstream portion (see e.g. annotated Fig 1C herein).
A simple substitution of one known exhaust passage design (the exhaust passage design of Drummond) for another (the exhaust passage design of Fukami) with the predictable result exhausting fluid from a diaphragm pump has been held obvious as per MPEP 2143 I (B).
Additionally, a person of ordinary skill in the art has only three potions: the upstream portion has a passage cross-sectional area larger, small, or the same as the passage cross-sectional area of the downstream portion. Given these are the only three options for a person of ordinary skill in the art, the claim is obvious as per MPEP 2143 I (E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (three options as detailed above), with a reasonable expectation of success (all three options are known; see Kratz in Fig 14 and associated description and Fukami at 63 in Fig 2) and all three options result in a flow having an identifiable static pressure/fluid velocity characteristics as evidenced by Kratz in Fig .
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize an exhaust passage design of Drummond in the system of Fukami to gain the benefit of using a known exhaust passage design for diaphragm pumps and/or setting a desired fluid velocity/static pressure at the outlet of the exhaust passage as evidenced by Integral Physics (see below) and/or to reduce pressure loss entering and leaving the exhaust passage using the addition of a tapered section to gradually decrease the exhaust passage size from an initial to a to the final outlet diameter as evidenced by Kratz in Fig 29-30, and (12) through (14) on pages 55-56.
Fukami as modified above discloses (all references to Fukami unless noted otherwise):
2. The exhaust passage structure according to claim 1, wherein the passage cross-sectional area of the downstream portion of the second exhaust passage is constant, and the passage cross-sectional area of the upstream portion of the second exhaust passage is constant (see e.g. annotated Fig 1C of Drummond herein).
3. The exhaust passage structure according to claim 2, wherein the second exhaust passage further includes a boundary portion between the downstream portion and the upstream portion, and the boundary portion is formed in a tapered shape such that a passage cross-sectional area gradually decreases from the upstream portion to the downstream portion (see e.g. annotated Fig 1C of Drummond herein).
4. The exhaust passage structure according to claim 1, wherein the downstream portion of the second exhaust passage has a length shorter than a length of the upstream portion in a direction in which the fluid flows (The term portion has no particular length. The examiner reads the downstream portion as a portion which is smaller in length than the upstream portion as indicated in annotated Fig 1C of Drummond herein with the lines with arrows at their ends).
5. A diaphragm pump, comprising: the exhaust passage structure according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above); a pump diaphragm 31 including a cup-shaped pump portion 32; a pump chamber 34 formed by the pump portion and a plate 35 covering an opening portion of the pump portion (see e.g. Fig 2); a driving device 18 connected to a bottom of the pump portion, the driving device being configured to transform rotation into reciprocating motion to increase and decrease volume of the pump chamber; a motor 2 configured to apply a rotational force to the driving device; a suction passage 44 including a first end connected to the pump chamber 34 and a second end connected to a fluid inlet 46 opened to an exterior of the diaphragm pump (see e.g. Fig 2); a suction valve 41 configured to open and close the suction passage such that fluid flows from the fluid inlet toward the pump chamber in a stroke in which the volume of the pump chamber increases (see e.g. Fig 2); a discharge passage (51, 50, 49, 39) including a first end connected to the pump chamber and a second end connected to the inflow passage (see e.g. Fig 2); and a discharge valve 42 configured to open and close the discharge passage such that fluid flows from the pump chamber toward the inflow passage in a stroke in which the volume of the pump chamber decreases (see e.g. Fig 2).
6. The diaphragm pump according to claim 5, wherein as a result of the differential pressure valve being closed due to a pressure caused by the fluid flowing through the discharge valve into the inflow passage, the fluid is supplied from the downstream fluid chamber to an object-to-be-pressurized through the outflow passage, and as a result of the differential pressure valve being opened due to the pressure in the upstream fluid chamber being reduced while the driving device is stopped, the fluid in the downstream fluid chamber is discharged through the second exhaust passage (see e.g. Fig 2 which has the same structure as applicant’s disclosed invention and operates in the same manner).
Conclusion
Prior art not relied upon in the rejections but pertinent to the claimed invention:
Hang US 20130136637 A1 discloses exhaust passages 107/208b decreased in diameter in Fig 1.
See form PTO-892 for additional prior art made of record but not relied upon that is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Thomas Fink/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746