DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy have been filed on 5/24/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/10/25, 4/27/26 & 5/4/26 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 14 & 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For example, claims 14 & 24 recite “in a case where the pitch of the direction vector of the predetermined axis in the space is in an upward first range, refraining from updating the correspondence relationship between the direction in the space and the direction of the operation device in accordance with the orientation around the predetermined axis of the operation device”. However, the examiner is unable to ascertain what is meant by the limitation such that the metes and bounds of the claims can be clearly evaluated (what does “upward first range” refer to?). The above limitation, result in failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Examiner finds that because the claims are indefinite under 35 U.S.C. §112, 2nd paragraph, it is impossible to properly construe claim scope at this time. However, in accordance with MPEP §2173.06 and the USPTO's policy of trying to advance prosecution by providing art rejections even though these claims are indefinite, the claims are given broadest reasonable interpretation and prior art is applied as much as practically possible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101, it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. If the claim does fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea), and if so, it must additionally be determined whether the claim is a patent-eligible application of the exception. If an abstract idea is present in the claims, any element or combination of elements in the claim must be sufficient to ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Examples of abstract ideas include fundamental economic practices; certain methods of organizing human activities; an idea itself; and mathematical relationships/formulas see Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al., 573 U.S.___(2014).
Claims 1-10 are directed to a computer readable non-transitory medium; claims 11-20 are directed to a game processing method, while claims 21-24 to a game system. However, all the claims as such, are directed to statutory subject matter under Step 1 of the Alice flowchart to a judicial exception (i.e. an abstract idea).
Addressing the claims under Step 2A, the claims are held to be directed to concepts similar to those found to be abstract, either as outlined in the 2014 lEG/July 2015 Update to Subject matter eligibility, or, as compared to certain decisions rendered by the courts. The claims describe the steps of presenting information on a display device, as evident by the independent claims, which all recite “setting and updating a correspondence relationship between a direction in a space and a direction with respect to the operation device, in accordance with an orientation around a predetermined axis of the operation device; identifying an orientation of the operation device regarding a pitch in the space; in a case where a first condition for at least one of the acceleration data and the angular velocity data in at least an up-down direction in the space is satisfied, causing a player character having a ball to do an action of moving on a field in a game space; and in a case where a second condition for an orientation regarding the pitch in the space and at least one of the acceleration data and the angular velocity data is satisfied, causing the player character having the ball to do a shot action of shooting the ball.” The addition of the limitations that narrow the idea (such as system and/or processor) merely aide in the description of the abstract idea and therefore do not render the claims any less abstract.
The claims, as currently presented, are directed to the abstract idea of data collection: obtaining user input and corresponding in-game positions of character. Data analysis and modeling: generating “models” based on those inputs and positions. Using the analysis: using the models to indicate one or more positions of players in the game. These limitations, recite the concept of identifying and transmitting information from/to a user further represents ‘an idea itself’ (see July 2015 Update: Section III (C)) inasmuch as it is related to processes of identifying, comparing, processing, and presenting data. Several precedential cases have found concepts relating to processes of identifying, comparing, processing, and presenting data to be mere ideas in themselves. One example includes selecting/identifying displayed data, manipulating the data through encoding and decoding processes, and generating new outputs/displays (Recognicorp, LLC, v. Nintendo Co., Ltd., Nintendo of America, Inc., No. 2:12-cv-01873-RAJ (2017)). The courts have addressed other computerized processes for of identifying, comparing, processing, and presenting data including data collecting and comparing known information (Classen Immunotherapies Inc. v. Biogen IDEC 659 F.3d 1057(Fed. Cir. 2011)), collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis (Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom 830 F.3d 1350, 119 U.S.P.Q.2d 1739 (Fed. Cir. 2016))] extracting, organizing, storing and transmitting data (Content Extraction and Transmission LLC v. Wells Fargo Bank, National Ass'n. 776 F.3d 1343 (Fed. Cir. 2014)) and obtaining and comparing intangible data (Cybersource Corp v. Retail Decisions, Inc. 654 F.3d 1366, 99 U.S.P.Q. 2d 1690 (Fed. Cir. 2011)) (see July 2015 Update: Section III (C)).
Finally, the concept of identifying and transmitting game character information to a user further represents ‘an idea itself’ (see July 2015 Update: Section III (C)) inasmuch as it is related to processes of identifying, comparing, processing, and presenting data. Several precedential cases have found concepts relating to processes of identifying, comparing, processing, and presenting data to be mere ideas in themselves. One example includes selecting/identifying displayed data, manipulating the data through encoding and decoding processes, and generating new outputs/displays (Recognicorp, LLC, v. Nintendo Co., Ltd., Nintendo of America, Inc., No. 2:12-cv-01873-RAJ (2017)). The courts have addressed other computerized processes for of identifying, comparing, processing, and presenting data including data collecting and comparing known information (Classen Immunotherapies Inc. v. Biogen IDEC 659 F.3d 1057(Fed. Cir. 2011)), collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis (Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom 830 F.3d 1350, 119 U.S.P.Q.2d 1739 (Fed. Cir. 2016))] extracting, organizing, storing and transmitting data (Content Extraction and Transmission LLC v. Wells Fargo Bank, National Ass'n. 776 F.3d 1343 (Fed. Cir. 2014)) and obtaining and comparing intangible data (Cybersource Corp v. Retail Decisions, Inc. 654 F.3d 1366, 99 U.S.P.Q.2d 1690 (Fed. Cir. 2011)) (see July 2015 Update: Section III (C)).
While it is understood that the claims in the current application are not verbatim recitations of the guidelines or case law, the detailed analysis provided above shows how the current claim limitations at issue closely parallel the concepts provided by the guidelines and the precedential case law, and are therefore considered to be directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A: YES).
Step 2A, Prong Two: Claim 1 recites: a “computer-readable non-transitory storage medium” implementing the data-processing operations. These recitations does not provide any particular improvement to how processors or circuits operate, nor any technical improvement to game systems. The processor and circuits are generic computer hardware performing data-processing operations i.e. perform the data collection and modeling operations. See MPEP §2106.05(f), using a generic computer to implement an abstract idea does not, without more, integrate the exception into a practical application. Claims 11 & 21 recite similar limitations and are rejected under same analysis. Accordingly, Claims 1-24 are directed to an abstract idea under Step 2A.
Under Step 2B, the examiner acknowledges the additional limitations. However, the claim when analyzed to determine whether any additional elements, individually or in combination, amount to “significantly more” than the judicial exception itself, i.e., whether they provide an inventive concept. The only additional elements beyond the abstract idea are: The recitation of generic computer hardware—a “processor”. The game context (players, user inputs, in-game positions). Generic computer components performing data-processing operations are well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field of computer-implemented inventions. In re TLI Communications LLC (Fed Cir, 2016) held that adding hardware that performs “‘well understood, routine, conventional activit[ies]’ previously known to the industry” will not make claims patent-eligible. As such, the recitation of the computer limitations in Claims 1 to 24 amounts to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer.
Ultimately, the claimed machine(s) function solely as an obvious mechanism to achieve the claimed result, failing to impart a meaningful limit on the claim scope [see SiRF Tech., Inc. v. ITC (Fed. Cir. 2010)]. The claims at issue here do not rise to overriding the routine and conventional sequence of events ordinarily performed by the computer, nor do they set forth with any specificity the interactions of the machine itself. Conversely, the claims are only specific in how the computer is used to facilitate the abstract idea itself using routine and conventional operations of the generic machinery, and are silent as to any detail or property that would transform the otherwise generic machinery into a specialized or special purpose machine. Even when considered as an ordered combination, the computer components of applicant's method add nothing that is not already present when they are considered individually. Viewed as a whole, the claims simply convey the idea itself facilitated by generic computing components.
Thus, under Step 2B, the Examiner concludes that there are no meaningful limitations in the claim that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claim amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception itself (Step 2B: NO).
Dependent claims when analyzed as a whole are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the additional recited limitations fail to establish that the claims are not directed to an abstract idea. The claims provide minimal technical structure or components for further consideration either individually or as ordered combinations with the independent claims. As such, additional recited limitations in the dependent claims only refine the identified abstract idea further. Further refinement of an abstract idea does not convert an abstract idea into something concrete.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 10-16 & 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iwata (US Patent Pub. 20230023905; referred to hereinafter as Iwata).
Claims 1, 11 & 21: Iwata disclose a computer-readable non-transitory storage medium having stored therein a game program configured to cause a computer of an information processing apparatus to execute a ball sport game in which (abstract), based on operation data including at least acceleration data and angular velocity data and transmitted from an operation device including an acceleration sensor and an angular velocity sensor (0144-0147), the computer executes: setting and updating a correspondence relationship between a direction in a space and a direction with respect to the operation device (0125 & 0133-0139), in accordance with an orientation around a predetermined axis of the operation device (0120-0127 & 0146), identifying an orientation of the operation device regarding a pitch in the space (0179), in a case where a first condition for at least one of the acceleration data and the angular velocity data in at least an up-down direction in the space is satisfied (0072), causing a player character having a ball to do an action of moving on a field in a game space (0132)
and in a case where a second condition for an orientation regarding the pitch in the space and at least one of the acceleration data and the angular velocity data is satisfied, causing the player character having the ball to do a shot action of shooting the ball (0111)
Claims 2, 12 & 22: Iwata disclose wherein the operation device has a shape elongated in a longitudinal direction (figure 2), the predetermined axis is an axis along the longitudinal direction of the operation device (0071-0075), and the orientation regarding the pitch in the space is a pitch of a direction vector of the predetermined axis in the space (0170).
Claims 3, 13 & 23: Iwata disclose wherein the operation device has a button surface at which an operation button is provided (figure 4), and based on the operation data, the computer further executes: identifying at least in which state the button surface is among an upward state, a rightward state, and a leftward state, and setting and updating the correspondence relationship between the direction in the space and the direction of the operation device, based on the identified state (0062-0063 & 0105).
Claims 4, 14 & 24: Iwata disclose in a case where the pitch of the direction vector of the predetermined axis in the space is in an upward first range (0129), refraining from updating the correspondence relationship between the direction in the space and the direction of the operation device in accordance with the orientation around the predetermined axis of the operation device (0167-0173).
Claims 5 & 15: Iwata disclose wherein the first condition includes at least that a magnitude of an acceleration applied in the up-down direction in the space exceeds a first threshold (0170).
Claims 6 & 16: Iwata disclose in a case where the magnitude of the acceleration applied in the up-down direction in the space exceeds the first threshold and then becomes smaller than the first threshold, or in a case where the magnitude of the acceleration exceeds a second threshold greater than the first threshold and then becomes smaller than the second threshold, stopping the action in which the player character having the ball moves on the field (0130-0139).
Claims 10 & 20: Iwata disclose identifying an orientation of the operation device regarding a yaw in the space, and in a case where the first condition is satisfied, causing the player character having the ball to do an action of moving in a direction according to the orientation regarding the yaw in the space, on the field in the game space (0173-0176).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 & 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwata as applied to claims above, and further in view of Hamaue et al. (US Patent Pub. 20250360404; referred to hereinafter as Hamaue).
Claims 7 & 17: Iwata disclose a computer-readable non-transitory storage medium having stored therein a game program configured to cause a computer of an information processing apparatus to execute a ball sport game in which (abstract), based on operation data including at least acceleration data and angular velocity data and transmitted from an operation device including an acceleration sensor and an angular velocity sensor (0144-0147), the computer executes: setting and updating a correspondence relationship between a direction in a space and a direction with respect to the operation device (0125 & 0133-0139), in accordance with an orientation around a predetermined axis of the operation device (0120-0127 & 0146). Furthermore, Iwata disclose a ball sport game; However, Iwata fails to explicitly disclose sport game is basketball and action of moving on the field is a dribbling action involving movement of the player character. In an analogous art, Hamaue teach a game program configured to cause a computer of an information processing apparatus to execute a ball sport game, wherein the ball sport is basketball (figures 4-5), and the action of moving on the field is a dribbling action involving movement of the player character (0090-0096). It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention to modify the game program disclosed by Iwata, to include the game of basketball and all the functionality associated with the game, as taught by Hamaue to improve the entertainment characteristics of operation (0021).
Claims 8 & 18: The combination of Iwata and Hamaue teach wherein the ball sport game is a basketball game (figures 4-5, Hamaue), and the computer further executes: in a case where the orientation regarding the pitch in the space is in an upward predetermined range and an upward predetermined angular velocity in the space is applied to the operation device, causing the player character having the ball to start a jump action; and causing the player character having the ball to do the shot action, on the second condition that a predetermined angular velocity is applied to the operation device while the player character having the ball is doing the jump action (figures 12-13 & 0090-0096, Hamaue).
Claims 9 & 19: The combination of Iwata and Hamaue teach in a case where the shot action has been done, determining a trajectory of the ball corresponding to the shot action, based on at least the orientation regarding the pitch in the space (0090-0096, Hamaue).
Examiner’s Note
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Takahashi (20190201790) refers to a first mode, when a movement operation for a moving body is performed, then based on at least one of the movement operation and an operations performed together with the movement operation, a movement parameter for a moving body object is determined, and in a second mode, based on data indicating a marker-indicated position movement operation, a target position of the moving body object indicated by a marker is changed, and the movement parameter for the moving body object is determined based on the target position. Then, when the movement operation is performed, the moving body object is moved based on the determined movement parameter, and an image of a virtual space is generated.
Shimamura (20130059658) refers to a twist amount is calculated based on an angular velocity around a Z-axis of an input device when a player performs a shoot operation. Based on a value of a difficulty level stored in an external main memory, a minimum successful twist amount and a maximum successful twist amount are determined. As a result, the higher the difficulty level is, the narrower a successful range of the twist amount becomes. Further, the twist amount of the input device, which is obtained when the player performs the shoot operation for a first to a fourth shots, is stored in the external main memory. When the player performs the shoot operation for a fifth shot or thereafter, the twist amount of the input device at the time of the shoot operation for the fifth shot and thereafter is corrected with the use of the twist amount of the first to fourth shots.
The referenced citations made in the rejection(s) above are intended to exemplify areas in the prior art document(s) in which the examiner believed are the most relevant to the claimed subject matter. However, it is incumbent upon the applicant to analyze the prior art document(s) in its/their entirety since other areas of the document(s) may be relied upon at a later time to substantiate examiner's rationale of record. A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). However, "the prior art's mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed ...." In re Fulton, 391F.3d 1195, 1201,73 USPQ2d 1141, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Conclusion
/SUNIT PANDYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715