DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/24/25 has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and 103
Claims 1-4, 8-10, 13-15, & 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Lee (U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0377107) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lee in view of the Swype™ virtual keyboard, as evidenced by the Wikipedia article for “Swype” (hereinafter, “Swype Wiki”) and “Swype IOS FAQS” (hereinafter, “Swype FAQ”).
Regarding claims 1, 17, and 20:
Lee discloses a system [and corresponding method & computer program product] comprising: a processor (paragraph 0089) configured to: generate a plurality of candidate typosquat domains using a virtual keyboard (paragraph 0074: “During the setup phase, the checking list L is also provided to Swype image renderer 115. Swype image renderer 115 then renders Swype-like images for each of the domains in checking list L. A trained typo-squatting encoder ES, which is provided within typo-squatting detection module 130, is then configured to generate encodings for each of the rendered Swype-like images”; and paragraph 0080: “Concurrently, Swype image renderer 115 is configured to render the domain names from the set of DNS records 103 into a set of Swype-like images, IST_N. Typo-squatting detection module 130, which is provided with the trained typo-squatting encoder ES and the reference database DS is then configured to receive the set of Swype-like images, IST_N , from Swype image renderer 115.”); automatically classify a subset of the plurality of the candidate typosquat domains that each have been previously queried based on Domain Name System (DNS) logs to generate targeted candidate typosquat domains, wherein the classifying includes at least in part performing a Euclidean distance calculation using the virtual keyboard as a plane (paragraph 0080: “The trained typo-squatting encoder ES, then proceeds to encode each of the Swype-like images IST_N into their associated encodings eST_N . These encodings eST_N are then compared with encodings contained within reference database DS. If it is found that a Euclidean distance between an associated encoding eST_N and any encoding in the reference database DS is below a predetermined threshold; or in other embodiments, if there exists a cosine similarity between an associated encoding eST_N and any encoding in the reference database DS that is above a required matching threshold, module 130 will then classify that associated encoding eST_N as a typo-squatting phishing domain”; see also Figure 9 and paragraphs 0104-0105); and perform an action for one or more of the targeted candidate typosquat domains (paragraph 0115, including: “A similarity comparison of the encoding of the queried domain is then carried out with the encodings in database 1112 at step 1114. If the cosine similarity (or Euclidean distance) between the encoding of the queried domain and any of the encodings of domains in the dataset is more (or less in the case of Euclidean distance) than a particular threshold, the queried domain is then classified as a typo-squatting phishing domain and an alert with its “targeted” domain is then produced” [emphasis Examiner’s]; see also paragraphs 0041-0044 & 0083 regarding additional alert module functionality); and a memory coupled to the processor and configured to provide the processor with instructions (paragraphs 0088-0089).
For purposes of the novelty rejection under 35 USC 102, the Examiner has construed Lee’s “Swype image renderer” (element 115 of Figure 1/element 900 of Figure 9) as a “virtual keyboard” under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term as would be understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art, based primarily on Lee’s description of how it functions (paragraphs 0104-0105) as well as the fact that “Swype”, while not explicitly defined by Lee, appears to refer to the Swype™ virtual keyboard product which was a prior art virtual keyboard wherein the user-generated strokes between the individual keys, rather than the discrete presses, determine the word the user is trying to type (Swype Wiki, page 1, first paragraph: “Swype is a virtual keyboard for touchscreen smartphones and tablets originally developed by Swype Inc., founded in 2002, where the user enters words by sliding a finger or stylus from the first letter of a word to its last letter, lifting only between words.”; and Swype FAQ, page 2, “Can you tell me more about Swype?”). However, assuming arguendo that the “Swype image renderer” element disclosed by Lee were not a virtual keyboard per se, then it would have been immediately obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application for Lee to have used Swype™ (or a comparable virtual keyboard with gesture functionality: see Swype Wiki, page 5, “Competitors”) as the Swype image renderer of his invention, as these were clearly well-known options within the grasp of a person of ordinary skill in the art, with the added benefit that gesture-based virtual keyboards like Swype™ allow for faster input of text on a touchscreen device (Swype Wiki, pages 1-2, “Software”).
Regarding claim 2 and 18: Lee further discloses wherein the plurality of candidate typosquat domains includes second level domains and subdomains (e.g. paragraphs 0077 & 0083).
Regarding claim 3 and 19: Lee further discloses wherein the virtual keyboard includes a QWERTY format and/or a format for non-English languages (paragraph 0104; see also Swype FAQ, page 5, “How do I change my keyboard layout?” for non-English format support).
Regarding claim 4: Lee further discloses wherein the virtual keyboard includes a QWERTY format (paragraph 0104), and wherein a Euclidean distance calculation is performed between a first candidate domain and a first authentic domain (paragraphs 0113-0115).
Regarding claim 8: Lee further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: send the targeted candidate typosquat domains to a DNS threat feed (paragraphs 0041-0044).
Regarding claim 9: Lee further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: automatically generate a malicious typosquat domains feed for typosquat domains classified as malicious (paragraphs 0041-0044 and 0083).
Regarding claim 10: Lee further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: automatically add typosquat domains classified as malicious to a domain block list (see the blacklist at paragraphs 0130-0136).
Regarding claim 13: Lee further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: identify regular typosquats, exact label typosquats, combosquats, and/or combo typosquats from the targeted candidate typosquat domains (at least regular typosquats at e.g. paragraph 0105; see also paragraph 0008 including Table 1 for more examples).
Regarding claim 14: Lee further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: filter the targeted candidate typosquat domains using one or more filters to reduce false positives (paragraphs 0021, 0082, and 0124).
Regarding claim 15: Lee further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: receive input of one or more domains associated with an entity to use a domain seed list (paragraph 0125: “A list of keywords that are typically used to tempt people into clicking on sites is initially generated”); filter the targeted candidate typosquat domains using one or more filters to reduce false positives, wherein the filtering includes one or more of the following: word-based filtering for contextual meaning, DNS fingerprint-based filtering, and/or textual analysis-based filtering (Ibid: “When a set of DNS records are provided, keyword filter will filter away records whose domain names do not have at least one of the keywords in the list K at step 1402”); and identify one or more malicious typosquat domains from the targeted candidate typosquat domains (paragraph 0126: “Suspicious domain names (i.e. domain names flagged by neural network 1404 to be possible general phishing domains) obtained from step 1404 are then used…”).
Claims 5, 6, 11, 12, & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee [alone or in view of Swype] as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Szurdi (U.S. Patent Publication 2025/0112935).
Regarding claim 5: Lee does not disclose wherein the DNS logs include passive DNS (pDNS) including raw DNS logs and/or zone archive files. However, Szurdi discloses a related invention for detecting malicious domain names including typosquat candidates (e.g. Abstract, and paragraph 0137) wherein this limitation is taught (e.g. paragraphs 0020, 0037, 0065, 0083, 0103, & 0106; more detail regarding pDNS at paragraphs 0150-0158; more detail regarding zone information at paragraph 0073). It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application for Lee to have used passive DNS as the source for his DNS records from which he determines candidate typosquats, as pDNS records are usable to specifically look for domains that exhibit patterns that are not consistent with stockpiled or otherwise malicious domains or would result in a false positive significantly impacting customers (Szurdi, paragraph 0119).
Regarding claim 6: Lee further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: automatically classify a subset of a plurality of candidate typosquat candidates that each have been previously queried based on Domain Name System (DNS) logs to generate targeted candidate typosquat candidates (e.g. paragraphs 0068, 0073, & 0080), but it is not clear if Lee’s invention specifically determines if they are combo typosquatting candidates. However, Szurdi discloses a related invention for detecting malicious domain names including typosquat candidates (e.g. Abstract, and paragraph 0137) wherein multiple variants of domain squatting are all equally detectable by that invention (Ibid: “0: no squatting, 1: typosquatting, 2: combosquatting, 3: levelsquatting, 4: soundsquatting”). It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application for Lee to detect combosquatting in addition to regular typosquatting, as these variants were all known options for a person of ordinary skill in the art to look for, given an invention that can detect malicious domain names that resemble legitimate domains. If Lee detecting a typosquatting candidate that conforms to Szurdi’s definition of a combosquat would lead to success, then it would be the result not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense (see also Lee, paragraph 0008 including Table 1, which appears to contain examples of combosquatting domain names – though not explicitly designated by Lee as such – that the Lee invention can nevertheless recognize and detect).
Regarding claim 11: Lee further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: automatically add typosquat domains classified as malicious to a domain block list for the targeted candidate typosquat domains (paragraphs 0130-0136), but Lee does not explicitly disclose that this is done in response to determining that the typosquat domains are not registered to a verified entity. However, Szurdi discloses a related invention for detecting malicious domain names including typosquat candidates (e.g. Abstract, and paragraph 0137) wherein this limitation is taught (Szurdi, paragraph 0062, including: “Communication module 225 is configured to query third party service(s) for information pertaining to the domain classifications (e.g., services that expose information/classifications for signatures/hashes of domains, registrants of domains, etc., such as third-party scores or assessments of maliciousness of a particular domain or a domain registrant, a community-based score, assessment, or reputation pertaining to domains or applications, a blacklist for domains, and/or a whitelist for domains, applications, or other certain types of network traffic, etc.)” [emphasis Examiner’s]; see also paragraphs 0038, 0068, 0075, 0104, & 0171-0172 regarding using a WHOIS database query to determine information about the registrant of a domain name as part of the determination process for identifying a malicious domain). It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application for Lee to use registrant information to determine if a domain name was registered to a legitimate entity as part of his process for identifying typosquat domains, as knowing who the entity is that registered a given domain name candidate can be used in reputation-based heuristics to determine if the domain name is malicious (Szurdi, paragraph 0075).
Regarding claim 12: Lee further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: automatically add typosquat domains classified as malicious to a domain block list for each of the targeted candidate typosquat domains that satisfy at least the following criteria: (2) exceed a threshold probability of typosquat based on a spatial cost calculation using a Euclidean distance between a candidate domain and authentic domain of the virtual keyboard as the plane (paragraphs 0074, 0080, 0115, and 0130-0136).
Lee does not explicitly disclose the criteria of the registrant of the candidate domain being a verified entity. However, Szurdi discloses a related invention for detecting malicious domain names including typosquat candidates (e.g. Abstract, and paragraph 0137) wherein this limitation is taught (Szurdi, paragraph 0062: “Communication module 225 is configured to query third party service(s) for information pertaining to the domain classifications (e.g., services that expose information/classifications for signatures/hashes of domains, registrants of domains, etc., such as third-party scores or assessments of maliciousness of a particular domain or a domain registrant, a community-based score, assessment, or reputation pertaining to domains or applications, a blacklist for domains, and/or a whitelist for domains, applications, or other certain types of network traffic, etc.)” [emphasis Examiner’s]; see also paragraphs 0038, 0068, 0075, 0104, & 0171-0172 regarding using a WHOIS database query to determine information about the registrant of a domain name as part of the determination process for identifying a malicious domain). It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application for Lee to use registrant information to determine if a domain name was registered to a legitimate entity as part of his process for identifying typosquat domains, as knowing who the entity that registered a given domain name candidate can be used in reputation-based heuristics to determine if the domain name is malicious (Szurdi, paragraph 0075).
Regarding claim 16: Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to: filter at least one of the targeted candidate typosquat domains using SAN SSL certificates to determine whether the at least one targeted candidate typosquat domain belongs to a legitimate organization, and if so, filter out the at least one candidate typosquat domain. However, Szurdi discloses a related invention for detecting malicious domain names including typosquat candidates (e.g. Abstract, and paragraph 0137) wherein this limitation is taught (paragraph 0071: “In addition, for services running on SSL, the system obtains and stores certificates, which can be compared directly or used to generate features.”; SAN [Subject Alternative Name] as part of the certificate at paragraphs 0140-0141 and the subsequent table on page 16, “Domain name count: The number of domains in the subject alternative name and common name fields”; see also e.g. paragraphs 0020, 0026-0027, 0034-0035, and 0065-0067 regarding verifying certificates as part of the process of identifying malicious domains). It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application for Lee to use SAN SSL certificates to determine whether the at least one targeted candidate typosquat domain belongs to a legitimate organization, as using certificate data also allows for one to potentially detect stockpiled domain names before they go live (Szurdi, paragraph 0067, particularly the last sentence thereof).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee [alone or in view of Swype] as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of “How to Protect Against Domain Squatting” (hereinafter, “Zerofox”).
Regarding claim 7: Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to: recommend registering the targeted candidate typosquat domains and/or automatically register one or more of the targeted candidate typosquat domains. However, Zerofox discloses as general knowledge in the art that it is recommended to register domains similar to one’s own, including those that are typographic errors thereof, in order to defend against domain squatting (Zerofox, page 8, “How to Protect Against Domain Squatting”, subsection “Register Similar Domain Names”). It would have been immediately obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application for the alerts generated by Lee’s invention to at the very least recommend that one should register any of the identified typosquat domains to oneself, as this was clearly a known option for making it more difficult for cyber adversaries to successfully impersonate you or divert traffic away from your website (Zerofox, Ibid).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
U.S. Patent 12,113,828 (Lee)1
U.S. Patent 12,418,558 (Ding)
U.S. Patent 7,250,938 (Kirkland) [see Swype Wiki, page 7, “External links”]
U.S. Patent 7,098,896 (Kushler) [see Swype Wiki, page 7, “External links”]
U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0133524 (Taniguchi)
U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0098812 (Rivlin)
U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0377303 (Bui)
U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0131708 (Pirttilahti)
THOMAS A. GYORFI
Examiner
Art Unit 2435
/THOMAS A GYORFI/Examiner, Art Unit 2435 6/4/2026
1 This is the issued patent resulting from the Lee disclosure cited in the rejections supra.