Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 05/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1 and 12, applicant argues that Duncan (U.S. 12,228,022B1) and Simpson (U.S. 2018/0163522A1) fail to disclose or suggest “at least one choke in the at least one mounting structure to control a pressure of the media to provide a predetermined and chemical-free response to hydrates formation in a steady state flow of the media prior to the injection of the media into the Christmas tree”. Applicant particularly argues that Duncan merely discloses generic pressure-control hardware and that Simpson does not teach using a choke to provide the claimed predetermined, chemical-free hydrate response.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed in the office action below, Duncan provides a choke/pressure-pressure control structure. However, Duncan does not expressly disclose using the valve specifically for hydrate mitigation. Simpson provides such teaching and motivation.
In particular, Simpson, [0048], expressly recognizes that a pressure differential across a valve can result in low temperatures and thereby cause formation of a hydrate plug in the gas injection system. Simpson further expressly teaches monitoring pressure across the valve and taking action to minimize the risk of hydrate plug formation, including “gradually opening the valve” to reduce the pressure differential across the valve. Thus, Simpson does not merely disclose generic pressure adjustment. Rather, Simpson specifically correlates operation of a valve with control of the pressure differential and expressly identifies reduction of the pressure differential as a technique for minimizing hydrate formation.
Accordingly, one of ordinary skills in the art, when considering Duncan’s valve/pressure-control arrangement in view of Simpson’s teaching concerning hydrate formation, would have had reasons to operate the valve as a choke to control the pressure of the flowing media and thereby reduce the pressure differential and associated risk of hydrate formation.
Applicant’s assertion that Simpson does not disclose the exact phrase “predetermined, chemical-free hydrate response” is also unpersuasive. The rejection does not require Simpson to use the exact terminology of the claim. The relevant disclosure is that Simpson monitors the pressure across the valve and, in response to the pressure condition, gradually opens the valve to reduce the pressure differential and minimize the risk of hydrate plug formation. This constitutes a controlled response to the pressure/hydrate condition. Moreover, the cited embodiment achieves the hydrate-risk reduction through pressure and valve control rather than requiring injection of a hydrate-inhibiting chemical. Thus, the fact that Simpson elsewhere contemplates chemical injection does not negate its separate teaching of reducing hydrate risk through pressure-differential control.
Further, the claim does not require that the choke itself perform a particular algorithm or require a particular numeric pressure set point. Rather, the chole is recited as controlling pressure “to provide a predetermined…response to hydrate formation.” Simpson’s teaching of monitoring the pressure across the valve and gradually opening the valve to reduce the pressure differential provides a sufficient teaching of controlling the pressure condition for the stated hydrate-mitigation purpose. The claimed result is therefore obtained by applying the known pressure-control operation taught by Simpson to the valve arrangement of Duncan.
With respect to Applicant’s argument concerning the location of the claimed response “prior to the injection of the media into the Christmas tree,” the cited combination operates on the injection media before the media reaches the downstream injection location. Duncan’s valve and pressure-control components are disposed in the media flow path, while Simpson expressly discloses the pressure differential across the valve in the injection system and the resulting risk of hydrate formation. Thus, the modification would necessarily address the pressure condition of the media upstream of the point at which the media is injected into the Christmas tree.
The combination therefore does not rely on hindsight or an improper modification of the references. Duncan supplies the known valve/pressure-control arrangement for controlling the media, while Simpson teaches that controlling the pressure differential across such a valve, including by gradually opening the valve, reduces the risk of hydrate formation. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reason to employ the teaching of Simpson in Duncan’s system because doing so would reduce the pressure differential and reduce the risk of hydrate formation. The rejection of claims 1 and 12 is therefore maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-9, 12-13, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duncan (U.S. 12,228,022B1), in view of Simpson (U.S. 2018/0163522A1).
Regarding claim 1, Duncan discloses a system to be used within carbon capture and sequestration (refer to col. 1, lines 13-16 and col. 10, lines 10-13), the system comprising:
at least one mounting structure (examiner notes that “mounting structure” is broadly claimed”, see annotated fig. 2 below) associated with at least one Christmas tree (256; see fig. 2, refer to col. 3, lines 50-51 and col. 6, line 67) adapted for injection of media (“CO2” flowing from “CO2 receiver 229 to tree 256; refer to col. 7, line 10 to col. 8, line 34) which is associated with the CCS into at least one subsea reservoir (454; see fig. 4. Refer to col. 11, lines 1-35: “fig. 4 illustrates a system of implementing the method described in the flowchart of fig. 3 at well site 400; col. 9, lines 51-53: “fig. 3 is a flowchart showing a method 300 for operating equipment at a well site (such as the well site described in figs. 1 and 2)”);
a branch media pipeline (258. Also, col. 7, lines 13-14 recites “CO2 may be transported to the injection tree 256 along the pipeline 202 for injection”) to provide the media from the at least one mounting structure (as shown below) to the at least one Christmas tree (256); and
at least one choke (221, 224, 226, 228, and/or 236) in the at least one mounting structure (as shown below) to control a pressure of the media (col. 7, lines 21-30: “that can maintain a pressure from the pipeline 202 to the slipstream line 258”; col. 7, lines 36-39: “pressure in the slipstream line 258 may be reduced…” to a range; also refer to col. 8, lines 1-3 and col. 8, lines 44-53).
However, Duncan is silent to controlling pressure to provide a predetermined and chemical-free response to hydrates formation in a steady state flow of the media prior to the injection of the media into the Christmas tree.
Simpson teaches a system for injecting CO2 gas into a subsea reservoir (see fig. 1, refer to abstract and para 0002 and 0022) while reducing or preventing the formation of hydrates without the need to inject chemicals (refer to para 0048 and 0051). Simpson further teaches controlling pressure across a valve 162 to reduce the probability of the formation of hydrate plugs (refer to para 0048 and 0051).
Since Duncan teaches the use of valves to control pressure of the CO2 gas being injection into the well and Simpson teaches that the formation of hydrates plugs can be mitigated by controlling pressure across a valve, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the pressure regulation system comprising the at least one valve of Duncan that control the pressure of the CO2 being sent into the pipeline to provide a predetermined and chemical-free response to hydrates formation, as taught by Simpson (refer to para 0048 and 0051).
Regarding claim 3, Duncan, as modified by Simpson, teach all the features of this claim as applied to claim 1 above; Simpson further teaches a mounting structure (16, figs. 1 and 9) wherein the mounting structure is a subsea block or a mobile structure (para 0022 “the extraction point 16 may be an on-shore processing facility, an offshore rig, or any other extraction point).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had the mounting structure of Duncan be in the form of a subsea block or a mobile structure, as taught by Simpson, when carrying out offshore operations in deep sea, (refer to para 0022).
Regarding claim 5, Duncan, as modified by Simpson, teach all the features of this claim as applied to claim 1 above; Duncan further discloses that the at least one choke (221, 224, 226, 228, and/or 236) is to control the pressure (col. 7, lines 21-30: “that can maintain a pressure from the pipeline 202 to the slipstream line 258”; col. 7, lines 36-39: “pressure in the slipstream line 258 may be reduced…” to a range; also refer to col. 8, lines 1-3 and col. 8, lines 44-53) also based in part on a requirement associated with an injection pressure at the Christmas tree (the pressure sent to the control module 215 is within a range of 40 to 100 psi. From the control module, the CO2 is sent to tree 256. Refer to col. 8, lines 54-63: “if the pressure is outside of this range, the valve 242 can be closed until the pressure is within the corresponding range”).
Regarding claim 7, Duncan, as modified by Simpson, teach all the features of this claim as applied to claim 1 above; however, Duncan, as modified by Simpson, is silent to the branch media pipeline having the length in the range of 50 meters and 100 meters, between 100 meters and 150 meters, or between 50 meters and 500 meters in length.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the length of the branch media pipeline of Duncan, as modified by Simpson, to be in the range of 50 meters and 100 meters, between 100 meters and 150 meters, or between 50 meters and 500 meters in length, based on the distance between the mounting structure and the Christmas tree to ensure that there is sufficient length to reach the wellhead.
Also, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art. In other words, narrowing a general condition taught by the prior art to a specific numerical value has been held to be an obvious variation thereof. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 and In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215.
Regarding claim 8, Duncan, as modified by Simpson, teach all the features of this claim as applied to claim 1 above; Duncan, as modified by Simpson, further discloses wherein the branch media pipeline (458 as shown in fig. 4. Note that fig. 4 is the implementation of fig. 2; “fig. 4 illustrates a system of implementing the method described in the flowchart of fig. 3 at well site 400; col. 9, lines 51-53: “fig. 3 is a flowchart showing a method 300 for operating equipment at a well site (such as the well site described in figs. 1 and 2)”) is submerged in sea water associated with the at least one subsea reservoir to further support the predetermined and chemical-free response to the hydrates formation (see fig. 4), wherein the system is subject to a valve opening and closing sequence, the valve opening and closing sequence (opening and closing of valves 221, 224, 226, 228, 236, 241, and/or 242) to ensure threshold pressure differences in the system prior to ceasing of a flow associated with the media through the branch media pipeline (refer to col. 8, lines 54-63: “if the pressure is outside of this range, the valve 242 can be closed until the pressure is within the corresponding range”) or together with starting up the at least one reservoir.
Regarding claim 9, Duncan, as modified by Simpson, teach all the features of this claim as applied to claim 1 above; Duncan, as modified by Simpson, further discloses wherein the at least one choke (221, 224, 226, 228, 236) is a series connection or a parallel connection of at least two chokes (as shown in fig. 2), wherein at least one of the at least two chokes is in the at least one mounting structure (see annotated fig. 2 above).
Regarding claim 12, Duncan discloses a method to be used within carbon capture and sequestration (refer to col. 1, lines 13-16 and col. 10, lines 10-13), the method comprising:
associating at least one mounting structure (examiner notes that “mounting structure” is broadly claimed”, see annotated fig. 2 above) with at least one Christmas tree (256; see fig. 2, refer to col. 3, lines 50-51 and col. 6, line 67) adapted for injection of media (“CO2” flowing from “CO2 receiver 229 to tree 256; refer to col. 7, line 10 to col. 8, line 34) which is associated with the CCS into at least one subsea reservoir (454; see fig. 4. Refer to col. 11, lines 1-35: “fig. 4 illustrates a system of implementing the method described in the flowchart of fig. 3 at well site 400; col. 9, lines 51-53: “fig. 3 is a flowchart showing a method 300 for operating equipment at a well site (such as the well site described in figs. 1 and 2)”).
providing, using a branch media pipeline (258. Also, col. 7, lines 13-14 recites “CO2 may be transported to the injection tree 256 along the pipeline 202 for injection”), the media from the at least one mounting structure (as shown above) to at least one Christmas tree (256); and
enabling, using at least one choke (221, 224, 226, 228, and/or 236) in the at least one mounting structure (as shown above), control of a pressure of the media (col. 7, lines 21-30: “that can maintain a pressure from the pipeline 202 to the slipstream line 258”; col. 7, lines 36-39: “pressure in the slipstream line 258 may be reduced…” to a range; also refer to col. 8, lines 1-3 and col. 8, lines 44-53).
However, Duncan is silent to providing a predetermined and chemical-free response to hydrates formation in a steady state flow of the media prior to the injection of the media into the Christmas tree.
Simpson teaches a system for injecting CO2 gas into a subsea reservoir (see fig. 1, refer to abstract and para 0002 and 0022) while reducing or preventing the formation of hydrates without the need to inject chemicals (refer to para 0048 and 0051). Simpson further teaches controlling pressure across a valve 162 to reduce the probability of the formation of hydrate plugs (refer to para 0048 and 0051).
Since Duncan teaches the use of valves to control pressure of the CO2 gas being injection into the well and Simpson teaches that the formation of hydrates plugs can be mitigated by controlling pressure across a valve, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the pressure regulation system comprising the at least one valve of Duncan that control the pressure of the CO2 being sent into the pipeline to provide a predetermined and chemical-free response to hydrates formation, as taught by Simpson (refer to para 0048 and 0051).
Regarding claim 13, Duncan, as modified by Simpson, teach all the features of this claim as applied to claim 12 above; Simpson further teaches a mounting structure (16, figs. 1 and 9) wherein the mounting structure is a subsea block or a mobile structure (para 0022 “the extraction point 16 may be an on-shore processing facility, an offshore rig, or any other extraction point).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had the mounting structure of Duncan be in the form of a subsea block or a mobile structure, as taught by Simpson, when carrying out offshore operations in deep sea, (refer to para 0022)
Regarding claim 18, Duncan, as modified by Simpson, teach all the features of this claim as applied to claim 12 above; Duncan, as modified by Simpson, further discloses wherein the branch media pipeline (458 as shown in fig. 4. Note that fig. 4 is the implementation of fig. 2; “fig. 4 illustrates a system of implementing the method described in the flowchart of fig. 3 at well site 400; col. 9, lines 51-53: “fig. 3 is a flowchart showing a method 300 for operating equipment at a well site (such as the well site described in figs. 1 and 2)”) is submerged in sea water associated with the at least one subsea reservoir to further support the predetermined and chemical-free response to the hydrates formation (see fig. 4), the predetermined and chemical-free response further comprising: subjecting the branch media pipeline to a valve opening and closing sequence (opening and closing of valves 221, 224, 226, 228, 236, 241, and/or 242); and ensuring, using the valve opening and closing sequence, threshold pressure differences between the at least one choke prior to ceasing of a flow associated with the media through the branch media pipeline (refer to col. 8, lines 54-63: “if the pressure is outside of this range, the valve 242 can be closed until the pressure is within the corresponding range”) or together with starting up the at least one subsea reservoir, based at least in part on a system modelled and subject to a subsea injection system .
Regarding claim 19, Duncan, as modified by Simpson, teach all the features of this claim as applied to claim 1 above; Duncan, as modified by Simpson, further discloses wherein the at least one choke (221, 224, 226, 228, 236) is a series connection or a parallel connection of at least two chokes (as shown in fig. 2), wherein at least one of the at least two chokes is in the at least one mounting structure (see annotated fig. 2 above).
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duncan (U.S. 12,228,022B1), in view of Simpson (U.S. 2018/0163522A1) as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Schmidt et al. (U.S 4,815,791).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Duncan, as modified by Simpson, teach all the features of this claim as applied to claims 1 and 12 above; however, Duncan, as modified by Simpson, is silent to at least a local choke at the Christmas tree to a provide control of an injection pressure that is different than the control of the pressure of the media for the predetermined and chemical-free response, using the at least one choke of the at least one mounting structure.
Schmidt et al. generally teach the use of a choke valve (11, fig. 5) mounted on a wellhead (12) for independently controlling injection pressure into an underground formation (refer to col. 4, lines 19-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Christmas tree of , Duncan, as modified by Simpson, to include at least a local choke, to a provide control of an injection pressure (that is different than the control of the pressure of the media for the predetermined and chemical-free response, using the at least one choke of the at least one mounting structure), as taught by Schmidt et al. (refer to col. 4, lines 19-21).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duncan (U.S. 12,228,022B1), in view of Simpson (U.S. 2018/0163522A1) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Duncan (U.S. 2024/0328283A1) and Schmidt et al. (U.S 4,815,791).
Regarding claim 15 , Duncan 022’, as modified by Simpson, teach all the features of this claim as applied to claim 12 above; however, Duncan 022’, as modified by Simpson, is silent to determining, in addition to the predetermined and chemical-free response, a requirement associated with an injection pressure at the Christmas tree; and controlling, using the at least one choke, the pressure of the media based in part on the requirement associated with the injection pressure.
Duncan 283’ teaches a system and method for control of carbon sequestration injection wherein the injection pressure is determined based on the determination of an absorption rate of the reservoir to thereby prevent over pressurization of the reservoir (refer to abstract and para 0086).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of , Duncan, as modified by Simpson, to include at least a local choke, to include determining, in addition to the predetermined and chemical-free response, a requirement associated with an injection pressure at the Christmas tree, for the purpose of preventing over pressurization of the reservoir, as taught by Duncan 283’ (refer to abstract and para 0086).
However, Duncan 022’, as modified by Simpson and Duncan 283’, is silent to controlling, using the at least one choke, the pressure of the media based in part on the requirement associated with the injection pressure.
Schmidt et al. generally teach the use of a choke valve (11, fig. 5) mounted on a wellhead (12) for independently controlling injection pressure into an underground formation (refer to col. 4, lines 19-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Duncan 022’, as modified by Simpson and Duncan 283’, to include at least a local choke for controlling the pressure of the media based in part on the requirement associated with the injection pressure, as taught by Schmidt et al. (refer to col. 4, lines 19-21).
Claims 2, 10-11, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duncan (U.S. 12,228,022B1), in view of Simpson (U.S. 2018/0163522A1) as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Kristiansen (U.S. 2017/0198865A1).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Duncan, as modified by Simpson, teach all the features of this claim as applied to claims 1 and 12 above; however, Duncan, as modified by Simpson, is silent to the branch media pipeline is a heat exchanger to allow transfer of heat from a subsea environment to the media.
Kristiansen teaches a system for heating a pipeline transporting fluid (para 0035) in oil and gas operations for the purpose of keeping the pipeline above a desired temperature in order to avoid plug formation (refer to para 0046 and 0056).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pipeline of Duncan to include a heat exchanger feature to allow transfer of heat from the subsea environment to the media, for the purpose of avoiding plug formation, as taught by Kristiansen (refer to para 0046 and 0056).
Regarding claim 11, Duncan, as modified by Simpson, teach all the features of this claim as applied to claim 1 above; however, Duncan, as modified by Simpson, is silent to a pipe trace-heating to further enable the predetermined and chemical-free response to the hydrates formation in the media, the pipe trace-heating to be at a temperature that is higher relative to a subsea environment.
Kristiansen teaches a system for heating a pipeline transporting fluid (para 0035) in oil and gas operations for the purpose of keeping the pipeline above a desired temperature in order to avoid plug formation (refer to para 0046 and 0056).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pipeline of Duncan to include a pipe trace-heating to further enable the predetermined and chemical-free response to the hydrates formation in the media, the pipe trace-heating to be at a temperature that is higher relative to a subsea environment, as taught by Kristiansen (refer to para 0046 and 0056).
Regarding claims 2 and 17, Duncan, as modified by Simpson, teach all the features of this claim as applied to claims 1 and 12 above; however, Duncan, as modified by Simpson, is silent to wherein the predetermined and chemical-free response is one of: maintaining a temperature for the media at higher than -20 degree centigrade (C) in the steady state flow.
Kristiansen teaches a system for heating a pipeline transporting fluid (para 0035) in oil and gas operations for the purpose of keeping the pipeline above a desired temperature in order to avoid plug formation (refer to para 0046 and 0056).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pipeline of Duncan to include maintaining a temperature for the media at higher than or above a desired temperature in the steady state flow, in order to avoid plug formation, as taught by Kristiansen (refer to para 0046 and 0056).
However, the combination of Duncan, Simpson, and Kristiansen, is silent to higher than -20 degree centigrade (C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system and method of Duncan, as modified by Simpson and Kristiansen, to heating to a temperature higher than -20 degree centigrade (C) to avoid plug formation, Kristiansen (refer to para 0046 and 0056).
Also, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art. In other words, narrowing a general condition taught by the prior art to a specific numerical value has been held to be an obvious variation thereof. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 and In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. McAnally (U.S. 2014/0144647A1).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YANICK A AKARAGWE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672