DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
As to claim 8, line 1, “clock recovery system” should be replaced with “clock recovery”.
As to claim 8, line 1, “n” in “n-way” should be defined in terms of range.
As to claim 16, line 1, “phase detection process” should be replaced with “phase detection”.
As to claim 16, line 2, “n” in “n-way” should be defined in terms of range.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Hsieh”, US 2015/0180642) in view of Shvydun et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Shvydun”, US 2015/0234423).
As to claim 1, Hsieh teaches a system for a serializer/deserializer (SerDes) receiver (paragraphs [0002] and [0004]) operable to implement a first mode corresponding to a Mueller-Muller Phase Detection (MMPD) operation or a second mode corresponding to an Alexander Phase Detection (APD) operation, the first mode and the second mode configured for clock recovery (Fig. 4, MM CDR 472, Alexander CDR 438), the system comprising: an error slicer (Fig. 2, minor crossings, level P, paragraphs [0023] and [0041], claims 8, 11, and 12); and a phase detector configured to operate in the first mode corresponding to MMPD and the second mode corresponding to APD (Fig. 4, MM CDR 472, Alexander CDR 438, claims 8, 10, 11, and 12), wherein the phase detector is configured to adjust a phase of a recovered clock signal based on one or more error signals generated by the data slicer and/or the error slicer (Fig. 4, MM CDR 472, Alexander CDR 438, claims 8-12, paragraphs [0023], [0041], and [0042]).
Hsieh does not expressly teach a data slicer.
Shvydun further teaches a clock and data recovery system that comprises data slicer (that outputs sliced data, paragraph [0024], and error slicer Fig. 2, slicers 208, comparator 210, pattern LUT 212, output data, phase adjust signal, paragraph [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a data slicer in SerDes/CDR system to produce recovered data in a receiver that includes CDR (clock and data recovery) system.
As to claim 8, Hsieh does not expressly teach that the clock recovery system is adaptable to n-way interleaved architectures for phase detection.
Shvydunn further teaches a CDR system comprising 4-way time-interleaved architecture (Fig. 2, paragraph [0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize an n-way interleaved architectures for phase detection in a CDR system in order to generate interleaving clock phases for time-interleaved track and hold circuit for phase detection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-20 are allowed. Claims 2-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Stojanovic et al., US 2019/0165926, Figs. 1-4, paragraph [0010]
Hsieh, US 8,396,110, abstract, Figs. 1-3
Momtaz, US 7,330,508, abstract, Figs. 1-6
/FRESHTEH N AGHDAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632
6/13/2026