DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by US 20220122269 A1 to Marty et al.
Regarding claim 1, A method for determining a player rating for a racquet sport, the method being performed by an automatic ball machine on a first side of a court to a player on a second side of the court, the method comprising: executing evaluation routines to determine a skill rating for each of a plurality of shot types to obtain a plurality of shot type skill ratings; (Marty et al. discloses The evaluation of the performance may comprise quantifying a participant's ability to reproduce the factors related to generating a particular trajectory. Once a player's ability is quantified or qualified in some manner, the evaluation of performance 134 may include comparing 1) a participants performance against himself, such as past performance against a current performance, 2) comparing a participant's performance against another participants performance, 3) comparing a participant's performance against a defined standard, such as placing the participant's performance within a defined skill ranking and 4) comparing a participant's to some optimum, such as a comparing averages of factors that a player produces to generate a particular trajectory against optimum values of these factors determined from a simulated trajectory analysis 130 [0066]).
and determining the player rating based on the plurality of shot type skill ratings, wherein executing a first evaluation routine of the plurality of evaluation routines comprises (a) providing a current difficulty level by obtaining a first difficulty level from memory; (Marty et al. discloses Data related to trajectory capture 120 and trajectory analysis 122 may be stored and archived 126 and later utilized for a number of different purposes [0065]. It further teaches the trajectory analysis 122, archived data 126, simulated trajectory analysis 130 and scenario simulation 140 may be used to evaluate the performance 134 of individual participants or groups of participants. The evaluation of the performance may comprise quantifying a participant's ability to reproduce the factors related to generating a particular trajectory [0066]. Lastly, it teaches In one embodiment, the performance evaluation 134 may include predictions of future performance, such as an improvement in performance that an individual might make if the individual were to change some aspect in the manner in which they generate the factors that produce a particular trajectory or were to improve a consistency in which they generate the factors that produce a particular trajectory [0067].
(b) obtaining sets of initial shot parameters for N shots, where N is an integer equal to one or more, each set of initial shot parameters defining a shot; (c) for each of the N shots: (Marty et al. discloses In another example, if a particular hole on a course that a player usually plays provides a challenge to the player could practice various shots they make when they play the hole, such as an initial shot and an approach shot where their progress could be charted [0258]).
(i) obtaining target shot parameters by applying one or more difficulty modifiers derived from the current difficulty level to one or more of the initial shot parameters of the shot; (Marty et al. discloses in 105, a prediction methodology is defined that predicts a trajectory of an object based upon one or more input variables. The prediction methodology may be sensitive to one or more factors that may be controlled by a participant in a sporting activity involving the object. For instance, for basketball, the participant may control a height, a velocity and an initial direction at which the basketball is released and an associated trajectory prediction methodology may be sensitive to these variables. As another example, in tennis, the participant may be able to control, the velocity, direction, orientation and position ball relative to the face of the racquet as a tennis ball is struck and an associated trajectory prediction methodology that is defined may be sensitive to these variables [0074]. It further teaches with the equations of motion applicable to a given object and a set of initial conditions a trajectory of an object may be predicted by solving the equations of motions [0075]).
(ii) launching a ball to the player with a launcher of the automatic ball machine according to the target shot parameters obtained in step (i); (Marty et al. discloses The goal to launch an object such that it reaches a desired target area common to many other sports, such as baseball, racquetball, archery, football, soccer, hockey, volleyball, lacrosse, bowling, darts, cricket, etc., and is not limited to the examples shown in the FIGS. 1A-1C and methods described herein may be applicable to these sports [0053]).
(iii) monitoring a returned shot by the player of the ball launched by the launcher, determining if the returned shot meets success criteria associated with the shot, and providing a determination of pass for the returned shot when it is determined the returned shot meets success criteria and otherwise providing a determination of fail for the returned shot; (Marty et al. discloses In 256, a success criterion may be defined or determined using parameters relating to one or more of the object's trajectory, a participant(s) motion or combinations thereof. In one instance, the success criterion may be defined prior to capturing a sports performance and then parameters that allow the sports performance to be evaluated in view of the success criterion may be determined and output shortly after the sports performance, such as shortly after a golf shot. In another instance, data related to a sports performance may be captured and stored, a success criterion may be defined that requires a determination of parameters that were not generated in conjunction with the performance analysis [0096].
and (iv) storing the determination of pass or fail of step (iii) as part of a pass / fail record of the evaluation routine; (Marty et al. discloses in 280, information related to the basketball trajectory performance may be stored to a database, such as but not limited to captured frame data, primary trajectory determination, second trajectory determination, make/miss zone and shot outcome [0108]).
(d) updating the current difficulty level based upon the pass / fail record; (Marty et al. discloses In FIG. 5A, the success criterion that leads to make miss/zones, 302a-302e, include shots that hit the rim and went in as well as shots that didn't hit the rim and went in. In FIG. 5B, the success criterion that leads to make/miss zones, 303a-303e, include only shots that don't hit the rim [0109]).
(e) repeating steps (c) and (d) until the pass / fail record indicates a limitation of success of the player to provide returned shots meeting the associated success criteria with respect to one or more difficulty levels; (Marty et al. discloses The location of shots in the make/miss zones for entry angles of 50, 45, 40, 35 and 30 are shown in FIGS. 5A and 5B. In FIG. 5A, the outline of the area defining the make/miss zone is shown [0111]).
and (f) determining a skill rating for at least one-shot type associated with the evaluation routine based on the pass/fail record. (Marty et al. discloses Once a player's ability is quantified or qualified in some manner, the evaluation of performance 134 may include comparing 1) a participants performance against himself, such as past performance against a current performance, 2) comparing a participant's performance against another participants performance, 3) comparing a participant's performance against a defined standard, such as placing the participant's performance within a defined skill ranking and 4) comparing a participant's to some optimum, such as a comparing averages of factors that a player produces to generate a particular trajectory against optimum values of these factors determined from a simulated trajectory analysis 130 [0066]).
Regarding claim 2, The method of claim 1, further comprising determining the location and orientation of the automatic ball machine on the court, wherein step (i) further comprises applying one or more tuning modifiers derived from the determined location and orientation of the automatic ball machine to the one or more of the initial shot parameters of the shot. (Marty et al. discloses For each object of interest, an appropriate device may be developed or it may be possible to modify an existing device if it allows the input conditions to be known precisely enough. For instance, mechanical devices for launching tennis balls, hitting golf balls, launching baseballs and launching footballs exist and one of these devices may possibly be modified to generate a trajectory database [0078]. It further teaches Different databases might be developed for bounces on different surfaces, such as grass, clay or a synthetic surface. In a golf environment, a trajectory database to predict bounces might be developed to account a hardness of various surfaces, such as a green versus a fairway [0079].
Regarding claim 3, The method of claim 2, wherein the automatic ball machine remains in a corresponding location during the execution of each evaluation routine. (Marty et al. discloses FIGS. 2B-2E are graphs of shooting percentage for a particular shot distance as a function of hoop entry angle. FIGS. 2B and 2C are for a shot distance of 13.25 feet. FIGS. 2D and 2E are for a shot distance of 20 feet [0090]).
Regarding claim 4, The method of claim 1, wherein step (d) comprises increasing the difficulty level when a ratio of passes to fails of the most recent m shots exceeds a first predetermined value, where m is a plural integer. (Marty et al. discloses he trajectory parameters may be used to generate feedback information. The feedback information may be one or more trajectory parameters or a combination of trajectory parameters, such as a ratio of trajectory parameters or a product of trajectory parameters that may be useful to a system client in improving their trajectory skills [0295]. It further teaches for a group of shots taken by the player and a deviation of these parameters associated with the player. The means and variations of the parameters could be calculated from less than 100 shots taken by the player. However, 40-60 shots may be sufficient [0093].
Regarding claim 5, The method of claim 4, wherein step (e) comprises repeating steps (c) and (d) until a ratio of passes to fails of the most recent n shots exceeds a second predetermined value, where n is a plural integer greater than m. (Marty et al. discloses The means and variations of the parameters could be calculated from less than 100 shots taken by the player. However, 40-60 shots may be sufficient [0093].
Regarding claim 6, The method of claim 1, wherein step (d) comprises increasing the difficulty level resulting in increasing at least one of speed and spin of the shot by the difficulty modifiers in step (i). (Marty et al. discloses Another potentially useful aspect of the tennis ball's trajectory to understand is its bounce dynamics. Depending on the speed, angle, and spin the ball possesses as it contacts the court surface, and the physical properties of the ball and court, the bounce exhibits significant variation. This is an important strategic aspect of the competitive game of tennis, and players expend considerable effort understanding and controlling the bounce. A kick serve, for example, produces a bounce that sends the ball in a significantly different direction than it was traveling immediately before the bounce, resulting in a particularly difficult shot for the opponent to return [0280]).
Regarding claim 7, The method of claim 1, wherein the success criteria comprises the returned shot landing within an identified area on the first side of the court. (Marty et al. discloses for tennis, the desired target area may be a specific area on a tennis court, such as within an area 100b near a corner of the service box [0053]. It further teaches For tennis, the outcome predicted might be a landing location within or outside of a desired target area on the tennis court [0087]. It lastly teaches For instance, a success criterion for tennis may include a range of parameters related to hitting a serve that result in a predicted target zone for the serve landing in and within a certain distance of the center line [0098].
Regarding claim 8, wherein step (d) comprises increasing the difficulty level resulting in
decreasing the size of the identified area on the first side of the court. (Marty et al. discloses As the entry angle of the basketball as it approaches the hoop decreases, the hoop appears smaller to the basketball. The entry angle decreasing relates to a basketball shot with a decreasing arc. Drawing the hoop from the perspective of the basketball is a way to graphically indicate that as the arc of the shot decreases, there is less room for error in shooting the ball in regards to placement of the ball between the front and the back of the rim [0113]. It further teaches for tennis, the desired target area may be a specific area on a tennis court, such as within an area 100b near a corner of the service box [0053].
Regarding claim 9, The method of claim 1, wherein the success criteria comprises one or more of a distance from target shot location, a target shot area, shot type, a minimum speed, a maximum speed, a maximum peak height, a minimum peak height, a maximum net clearance and a minimum spin. (Marty et al. discloses a success criterion for tennis may include a range of parameters related to hitting a serve that result in a predicted target zone for the serve landing in and within a certain distance of the center line [0098]. It further teaches The captured trajectory data may be used to perform trajectory analysis 122. The trajectory analysis 122 may be used to quantify the factors that characterize a particular trajectory. For example, for golf, a quantified factor may be a velocity at which a golf ball leaves a club after being struck with a club, for tennis, a quantified factor may be a velocity at which the tennis ball leaves the racket after being struck with the racquet and for basketball, a quantified factor may be a velocity at which the ball leaves a shooters hand [0056]. It lastly teaches Depending on the speed, angle, and spin the ball possesses as it contacts the court surface, and the physical properties of the ball and court, the bounce exhibits significant variation. This is an important strategic aspect of the competitive game of tennis, and players expend considerable effort understanding and controlling the bounce [0280]).
Regarding claim 10, the method claim 9, wherein the automatic ball machine communicates success criteria to the player. (Marty et al. discloses in 260, after the object trajectory performance is evaluated in view of the success criterion, the results of the evaluation may be output in some manner that allows one or more of a player, coach, broadcaster or spectator to understand one or more aspects of the evaluation [0100]. It further teaches a presentation may be real-time feedback to one or more of athlete, coach, local audience, remote audience. The data and/or presentation may be archived for later review, analysis or entertainment. The format of the presentation may vary according to the interface on which it is displayed [0133]. It further teaches the computer 202 may include operating system software 206 for controlling system resources, such as feedback interfaces 213 and the system input/output mechanisms 215. The computer 202 may be used to execute analysis software 208 for analyzing trajectories using the sensor data from sensors 212 and for generating feedback information 217 [0284].
Regarding claim 11, the method of claim 1, wherein N equals one and (e) repeating steps (c) and (d) results in repetitively performing step (ii) to provide sequential shots to the player of the same shot type. (Marty et al. discloses Skilled basketball players are good at shooting the same shot with very similar body mechanics each time. It is possible for a basketball player to make the same shot using combinations of body mechanics that vary from shot to shot but this behavior has not been observed in skilled players [0054]. It further teaches As describe above, via determinations made from actual shots, curves such as those shown in FIGS. 2B-2E could be generated for an individual player based upon a mean entry velocity and mean entry angle for a group of shots taken by the player and a deviation of these parameters associated with the player. The means and variations of the parameters could be calculated from less than 100 shots taken by the player. However, 40-60 shots may be sufficient [0093].
Regarding claim 12, An automatic ball machine for a racquet sport comprising: a hopper to store a plurality of balls; a launcher to launch a sequence of balls received from the hopper; a camera; memory; (Marty et al. discloses for instance, mechanical devices for launching tennis balls, hitting golf balls, launching baseballs and launching footballs exist and one of these devices may possibly be modified to generate a trajectory database [0078]. It further teaches In one embodiment, a machine vision system may be used where the machine vision system comprises one or more cameras 201 (e.g., a CCD camera) and a video capture card 203 for digitizing captured frame data [0282]. It also teaches The computer 202 may be a modified PC using a 1.6 GHz processor 204 w/RAM and a CD-RW drive 205 for inputting and outputting data and software. The computer 202 may also include a mass storage device, such as hard drive 207 [0283]. It further teaches The computer 202 may include operating system software 206 for controlling system resources, such as feedback interfaces 213 and the system input/output mechanisms 215. The computer 202 may be used to execute analysis software 208 for analyzing trajectories using the sensor data from sensors 212 and for generating feedback information 217 [0284].
and a controller configured to control the launcher with launcher settings to provide a shot to a player with targeted shot parameters, and configured to analyze images received from the camera to determine the location and orientation of the automatic ball machine on a racquet court and determine shot parameters of a ball returned by a player after the ball was launched to the player by the launcher, wherein the controller is configured to determine a player rating reflecting player skill in the racquet sport by executing evaluation routines to determine a skill rating of player for each of a plurality of shot types to obtain a plurality of shot type skill ratings and aggregate the plurality of shot type skill ratings to determine the player rating, the controller configured to execute an evaluation routine by: (a) obtaining a first difficulty level from the memory as an initial difficulty level; (Marty et al. discloses Once a player's ability is quantified or qualified in some manner, the evaluation of performance 134 may include comparing 1) a participants performance against himself, such as past performance against a current performance, 2) comparing a participant's performance against another participants performance, 3) comparing a participant's performance against a defined standard, such as placing the participant's performance within a defined skill ranking [0066]. It further teaches curves such as those shown in FIGS. 2B-2E could be generated for an individual player based upon a mean entry velocity and mean entry angle for a group of shots taken by the player and a deviation of these parameters associated with the player. The means and variations of the parameters could be calculated from less than 100 shots taken by the player. However, 40-60 shots may be sufficient [0093]. It further teaches In 256, a success criterion may be defined or determined using parameters relating to one or more of the object's trajectory, a participant(s) motion or combinations thereof. In one instance, the success criterion may be defined prior to capturing a sports performance [0096]. It lastly teaches In FIG. 5B, a graphical format showing the rim size from the point of view of the basketball is shown. As the entry angle of the basketball as it approaches the hoop decreases, the hoop appears smaller to the basketball. The entry angle decreasing relates to a basketball shot with a decreasing arc. Drawing the hoop from the perspective of the basketball is a way to graphically indicate that as the arc of the shot decreases, there is less room for error in shooting the ball in regards to placement of the ball between the front and the back of the rim [0113].
(b) obtaining sets of initial shot parameters for N shots, where N is an integer equal to one or more, each set of initial shot parameters defining a shot; (Marty et al. discloses in another example, if a particular hole on a course that a player usually plays provides a challenge to the player could practice various shots they make when they play the hole, such as an initial shot and an approach shot where their progress could be charted [0258]).
(c) for each of the N shots: (i) obtaining target shot parameters by applying one or more difficulty modifiers derived from the current difficulty level to one or more of the initial shot parameters of the shot; (Marty et al. discloses in 105, a prediction methodology is defined that predicts a trajectory of an object based upon one or more input variables. The prediction methodology may be sensitive to one or more factors that may be controlled by a participant in a sporting activity involving the object. For instance, for basketball, the participant may control a height, a velocity and an initial direction at which the basketball is released and an associated trajectory prediction methodology may be sensitive to these variables. As another example, in tennis, the participant may be able to control, the velocity, direction, orientation and position ball relative to the face of the racquet as a tennis ball is struck and an associated trajectory prediction methodology that is defined may be sensitive to these variables [0074]. It further teaches with the equations of motion applicable to a given object and a set of initial conditions a trajectory of an object may be predicted by solving the equations of motions [0075]).
(ii) launching a ball to the player with a launcher of the automatic ball machine according to the target shot parameters obtained in operation (i); (Marty et al. discloses For instance, mechanical devices for launching tennis balls, hitting golf balls, launching baseballs and launching footballs exist and one of these devices may possibly be modified to generate a trajectory database [0078]. It further teaches After a prediction methodology is defined, it may be used to assess an ability of a player. Further, it may be used to predict optimum sets of trajectory parameters for launching an object, such as via sensitivity studies [0080].
(iii) analyzing images received from the camera to monitor a returned shot by the player of the ball launched by the launcher, to determine if the returned shot meets success criteria associated with the shot, and provide a determination of pass for the returned shot when it is determined the returned shot meets success criteria and otherwise providing a determination of fail for the returned shot; (Marty et al. discloses In 256, a success criterion may be defined or determined using parameters relating to one or more of the object's trajectory, a participant(s) motion or combinations thereof. In one instance, the success criterion may be defined prior to capturing a sports performance and then parameters that allow the sports performance to be evaluated in view of the success criterion may be determined and output shortly after the sports performance, such as shortly after a golf shot [0096]. It further teaches For tennis, the outcome predicted might be a landing location within or outside of a desired target area on the tennis court [0087]. It lastly teaches data related to trajectory capture 120 and trajectory analysis 122 may be stored and archived 126 and later utilized for a number of different purposes [0065].
and (iv) storing the determination of pass or fail of operation (iii) as part of a pass / fail record of the evaluation routine in the memory; (Marty et al. discloses in 280, information related to the basketball trajectory performance may be stored to a database, such as but not limited to captured frame data, primary trajectory determination, second trajectory determination, make/miss zone and shot outcome [0108]).
(d) updating the current difficulty level based upon the pass / fail record; (Marty et al. discloses in FIG. 5A, the success criterion that leads to make miss/zones, 302a-302e, include shots that hit the rim and went in as well as shots that didn't hit the rim and went in. In FIG. 5B, the success criterion that leads to make/miss zones, 303a-303e, include only shots that don't hit the rim [0109]).
(e) repeating operations (c) and (d) until the pass / fail record indicates a limitation of success of the player to provide returned shots meeting the associated success criteria with respect to one or more difficulty levels; (Marty et al. discloses the location of shots in the make/miss zones for entry angles of 50, 45, 40, 35 and 30 are shown in FIGS. 5A and 5B. In FIG. 5A, the outline of the area defining the make/miss zone is shown [0111]).
and (f) determining a skill rating for at least one-shot type associated with the evaluation routine based on the pass/fail record. (Marty et al. discloses Once a player's ability is quantified or qualified in some manner, the evaluation of performance 134 may include comparing 1) a participants performance against himself, such as past performance against a current performance, 2) comparing a participant's performance against another participants performance, 3) comparing a participant's performance against a defined standard, such as placing the participant's performance within a defined skill ranking and 4) comparing a participant's to some optimum, such as a comparing averages of factors that a player produces to generate a particular trajectory against optimum values of these factors determined from a simulated trajectory analysis 130 [0066]).
Regarding claim 13, The automatic ball machine of claim 12, wherein the controller is configured to determine the location and orientation of the automatic ball machine on the court by analyzing images received from the camera, and wherein the controller is configured to applying one or more tuning modifiers derived from the determined location and orientation of the automatic ball machine to the one or more of the initial shot parameters of the shot. (Marty et al. discloses object identification and location information from a single camera frame in a 2-D coordinate system may be matched with object identification information from a stereo camera partner to place each identified object within a 3-D coordinate system. This information may allow an orientation of one or more objects relative to one another to be determined [0206]. It further teaches as another example, in tennis, the participant may be able to control, the velocity, direction, orientation and position ball relative to the face of the racquet as a tennis ball is struck [0074]. It lastly teaches based upon, an orientation and motions of the racquet and/or their body, an outcome for the serve may be predicted, such as in or out, hit the net, two feet from the corner, etc. [0061].
Regarding claim 14, the automatic ball machine of claim 12, wherein the controller is configured to increase the difficulty level when a ratio of passes to fails of the most recent m shots exceeds a first predetermined value, where m is a plural integer. (Marty et al. discloses The trajectory analysis software 513 may be used to process the conditioned signals 511 and generate trajectory parameters. such as a ratio of trajectory parameters or a product of trajectory parameters that may be useful to a system client in improving their trajectory skills [0295]. It further teaches the means and variations of the parameters could be calculated from less than 100 shots taken by the player. However, 40-60 shots may be sufficient [0093].
Regarding claim 15, The automatic ball machine of claim 12, wherein the controller is configured to repeat steps (c) and (d) in response to the pass/fail record having a ratio of passes to fails of the most recent n shots that exceeds a second predetermined value, where n is a plural integer greater than m. (Marty et al. discloses The means and variations of the parameters could be calculated from less than 100 shots taken by the player. However, 40-60 shots may be sufficient [0093]. It further teaches steps 109 and 111 may be repeated for a selected number of trajectories to be calculated. One hundred, one thousand, ten thousand or more trajectories may be calculated depending on a desired level of accuracy and a number of variables that are being varied in the trajectory analysis [0087]).
Regarding claim 16, the automatic ball machine of claim 12, wherein the controller is configured to apply difficulty modifiers in response to an increase in the difficulty level that increase at least one of speed and spin of a subsequent shot launched in operation (ii). (Marty et al. discloses Depending on the speed, angle, and spin the ball possesses as it contacts the court surface, and the physical properties of the ball and court, the bounce exhibits significant variation. This is an important strategic aspect of the competitive game of tennis, and players expend considerable effort understanding and controlling the bounce. A kick serve, for example, produces a bounce that sends the ball in a significantly different direction than it was traveling immediately before the bounce, resulting in a particularly difficult shot for the opponent to return [0280].
Regarding claim 17, the automatic ball machine of claim 12, wherein the success criteria comprises the returned shot landing within an identified area on the court. (Marty et al. discloses for tennis, the outcome predicted might be a landing location within or outside of a desired target area on the tennis court [0087]).
Regarding claim 18, the method of claim 12, wherein the success criteria comprises one or more of a distance from target shot location, a target shot area, shot type, a minimum speed, a maximum speed, a maximum peak height, a minimum peak height, a maximum net clearance and a minimum spin. (Marty et al. discloses a success criterion for tennis may include a range of parameters related to hitting a serve that result in a predicted target zone for the serve landing in and within a certain distance of the center line [0098]. It further teaches The captured trajectory data may be used to perform trajectory analysis 122. The trajectory analysis 122 may be used to quantify the factors that characterize a particular trajectory. For example, for golf, a quantified factor may be a velocity at which a golf ball leaves a club after being struck with a club, for tennis, a quantified factor may be a velocity at which the tennis ball leaves the racket after being struck with the racquet and for basketball, a quantified factor may be a velocity at which the ball leaves a shooters hand [0056]. It lastly teaches Depending on the speed, angle, and spin the ball possesses as it contacts the court surface, and the physical properties of the ball and court, the bounce exhibits significant variation. This is an important strategic aspect of the competitive game of tennis, and players expend considerable effort understanding and controlling the bounce [0280]).
Regarding claim 19, The method claim 12, wherein the automatic ball machine further comprise at least one of a display or speaker configured to communicate success criteria to the player. (Marty et al. discloses in 260, after the object trajectory performance is evaluated in view of the success criterion, the results of the evaluation may be output in some manner that allows one or more of a player, coach, broadcaster or spectator to understand one or more aspects of the evaluation. [0100]).
Regarding claim 20, the method claim 12, wherein N equals one and the controller is configured to (e) repeat steps (c) and (d) to repetitively provide sequential shots to the player of the same shot type. (Marty et al. discloses thus, skilled basketball players are good at shooting the same shot with very similar body mechanics each time [0054]. It further teaches curves such as those shown in FIGS. 2B-2E could be generated for an individual player based upon a mean entry velocity and mean entry angle for a group of shots taken by the player and a deviation of these parameters associated with the player. The means and variations of the parameters could be calculated from less than 100 shots taken by the player. However, 40-60 shots may be sufficient [0093].
Double Patenting
Claim 1 rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 19/060366 although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because US 20250186857 A1 to Titus et al. claim 1 recite N is an integer greater than 1, the execution of the first instance of the first workout routine including, for each of the N shots in the sequence of shots: obtaining a set of initial shot parameters, adjusting the set of initial shot parameters and the current claims merely add storing the determination of pass or fail of step (iii) as part of a pass / fail record of the evaluation routine; (d) updating the current difficulty level based upon the pass / fail record; (e) repeating steps (c) and (d) until the pass.
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 35 of U.S. Patent No. 19/060366 although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because US 20250186857 A1 to Titus et al. claim 35 recite obtaining the set of initial shot parameters, adjusting the set of initial shot parameters to obtain a second set of target shot parameters, including adjusting the set of initial shot parameters based on the determined location of the second moveable automatic ball machine, determine second launcher settings based on the second set of target shot parameters, and launching a ball with a ball launcher of the second moveable automatic ball machine with the second launcher settings.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20160166907 A1 to Joseph et al. teaches a basketball training system and method for tracking the launch speed, entry angle, and the success of the shot. This is relevant because its discloses the tracking of the missed shots ratios as well as the shot repetition. the US 20200197782 A1 to Abdelmoneum et al. teaches In some embodiments, other tracking devices like inertial sensors (e.g., part of sensors 112) are fitted to the racquet of a player or a user to send data wirelessly to the feedback system (e.g., processor) of ball-machine 101 to generate the force, speed and orientation of the user racquet when hitting the ball. In some embodiments, the feedback system may create a real time profile of the user. This is relevant because the ball machine(s) may adjust delivery of the shots based on the determined location and orientation of the ball machine on the racquet court.
/S.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/WILLIAM H MCCULLOCH JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715