DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office action is in response to the amendments filed on October 05, 2026. Claims 3, 5-6, 8, and 10-11 are currently pending, with Claims 3, 5, 8, and 10 being amended, and Claims 4 and 9 being cancelled.
Response to Amendments
In response to Applicant’s amendments, filed October 05, 2026, the Examiner withdraws the previous 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections, and withdraws the previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 3, 6-7, 8, and 10-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments pertaining to the teachings of Erb (see Page 11-12) of instant arguments, the Examiner is unpersuaded. Erb teaches that the system identifies a crash event occurring for a side impact and for impact that occurs off-zone, where the rate of yaw, angular, and lateral accelerations are determined (i.e., all of these causes a change in the center of gravity). Erb teaches that the off-zone impacts may involve objects striking the vehicle in front of the A pillar or behind the C pillar (i.e., not a straight-on side collision, but indicative of a frontal, rear, or oblique collision in a range between 315 to 45 degrees)), such that vehicle may be caused to spin or rotate, and the vehicle activates an appropriate airbag based on the location of the collision. This would indicate that the vehicle determines a range of impact/ change in direction of the center of gravity occurring in the frontal or rear sections of the vehicle in order to allow the vehicle to activate the airbags to prevent damage to the occupants (see at least Paragraphs [0028], [0044], [0047]; Figures 1, 2 of Erb). Applicant’s arguments for the specific range merely indicate standard lateral/oblique quadrants for triggering the side-impact, curtain, or far-side airbags based on the initial direction of the collision. As such, the Examiner maintains the rejections as they relate to Erb.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5-6, 8, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 3 and 8 recite “in response to the collision detected by the rear bumper sensor only when a shift in the center of gravity of the vehicle meets a condition …”. Claims 5, 6, and 10-11 are rejected due to their dependencies on Claims 1 and 8, respectively.
The written description does not appear to support the idea that the curtain is activated only when the shift in the center of gravity meets a condition. The written description states the following conditions: 1) the condition is that the shift of the center of gravity exceeds a threshold and the angle of the shift of the center of gravity is within a certain range, or 2) the condition that that the shift of the center of gravity exceeds a threshold and is in this specific range for longer than another threshold, or 3) that part of the curtains are activated when conditions are met, or 4) that the system estimates the shift in the center of gravity has exceed a threshold and the angle of the shift falls to one side or the other, the system determines the vehicle may collide, and the curtain will be activated, or 5) that the seat belt is activated as a pre-condition before even activating the curtains (see at least Paragraph s [0025], [0031] of the written description). The written description only requires determining if the shift and angle of the shift meet a condition to activate the curtain, but provides several examples whether other processes are performed.
The written description further does not appear to support that the rear bumper sensor is the only item used for calculating the shift in the center of gravity. The written description at Paragraph [0025] states “The gyroscope 402 can detect the magnitude and angle of the shift in the center of gravity …”, but makes no reference to the rear bumper sensor detecting the shift in the center of gravity.
Claims 3, 5-6, 8, and 10-11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 8 recite “in response to the collision detected by the rear bumper sensor only when a shift in the center of gravity of the vehicle meets a condition …”. Claims 5, 6, and 10-11 are rejected due to their dependencies on Claims 1 and 8, respectively. It is unclear if “only” refers to the sensor only detecting the shift in the center of gravity, or if the rear bumper sensor only activates the curtain when the center of gravity angle and shift meet specific criteria. The Examiner is interpreting this to mean that the curtain is activated when the center of gravity shift is greater than a threshold and within a certain range.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5-6, 8, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2013/0035827 A1, to Breed (hereinafter referred to as Breed; newly or record), and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2010/0198446 A1, to Erb, et al (hereinafter referred to as Erb; previously of record).
As per Claim 3, and similarly for Claim 8, Breed discloses the features of a vehicle rear collision active and passive protection system (e.g. Paragraphs [0144], [0255], [0397], [0418]; where the seatbelt or another small, positioning airbag can be inflated prior to the curtain airbag; and a seatbelt pretensioner cab included to provide a force on the occupant (i.e., passive systems); and where the IMUs can be utilized to improve vehicle safety and prevent rollovers, out-of-control skidding, jack-knifing, etc.; and where the vehicle can be controlled to move out of the way of traffic (i.e., active systems); and where the vehicle utilizes a first sensor system to detect its state using acceleration sensors and gyroscopes, and then may implement a second system such as a frontal or side occupant protection system (i.e., active and passive)), comprising:
a rear bumper collision sensor configured to detect whether a vehicle is involved in a collision (e.g. Paragraphs [0185], [0197]; Figure 11; where the sensor is mounted in a position to sense rear impacts; and where the sensor could be designed to stretch across a portion or all of the rear of the vehicle);
a gyroscope configured to detect uncontrolled rotation of the vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0117], [0276]; where the tri-axial and/or gyroscopes (56) are mounted in a variety of positions to sense, e.g., frontal impacts, side impacts, rear impacts and/or rollovers); and
an inflatable curtain controller configured to activate an inflatable curtain to protect passengers (e.g. Paragraphs [0115], [0255], [0283]; where an airbag inflation/deflation control module is provided for activating an airbag; and where a small positioning airbag can be inflated to prevent the head of the occupant from being trapped between the window frame and the curtain airbag; and where if a rollover event cannot be avoided, the deployment side curtain airbags can be initiated)
in response to the collision detected by the rear bumper collision sensor only when a shift in a center of gravity of the vehicle meets a condition (e.g. Paragraph [0119]; where system can determine an abnormal situation has occurred such as the acceleration in the longitudinal direction, exceeding the acceleration of gravity, and when the value exceeds a threshold, the control module initiates the deployment of the airbag), wherein
the condition is that a magnitude of the shift in the center of gravity exceeds a threshold (e.g. Paragraph [0119]; where system can determine an abnormal situation has occurred such as the acceleration in the longitudinal direction, exceeding the acceleration of gravity, and when the value exceeds a threshold, the control module initiates the deployment of the airbag) and
an angle of the shift in the center of gravity falls within a left side range or a right side range of the vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0148], [0437]; where the system considers right or left angle barrier impacts, frontal offset barrier impacts, partial frontal or rear car-to-car impacts, etc., (i.e., would cause a shift in the center of gravity to be off-centered or angled to create rotation or potential rollover situations); where upon a crash in to the side of the vehicle, and the sensing mass arrange in the sensor exceeding a threshold value, the crash sensor controls the inflator to inflate the airbags).
Erb, in a similar field of endeavor, more explicitly teaches the features of in response to the collision detected by the rear bumper collision sensor only when a shift in a center of gravity of the vehicle meets a condition, wherein the condition is that a magnitude of the shift in the center of gravity exceeds a threshold and an angle of the shift in the center of gravity falls within a left side range or a right side range of the vehicle.
Erb teaches a vehicle safety system, where the system determines if an in-zone impact (i.e., between the A and C pillars, or a side impact), or off-zone impact has occurred (i.e., an oblique, frontal, or rear end collision) is detected, and when an off-zone collision is detected, the center of gravity shifts, and a side air bag or inflatable curtain may be deployed between the left-hand front door and an occupant in the left-hand front seat, and where if both the rate of yaw, angular, and lateral accelerations exceed respective thresholds, the safety system will output an activation signal to activate one or more passive impact protection devices (i.e., a type of collision is determined, and the zone correlates to side impacts and frontal/ oblique impacts, which correlate to roughly 90 degree quadrants for classifying a vehicle collision) (e.g. Paragraphs [0007], [0042]-[0044], [0050]; Figures 1, 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the vehicle the occupant system of Breed, with the feature of determining a shift in the center of gravity to be within a designated range in the system of Erb, in order to which safety protection systems to activate (see at least Paragraphs [0042] of Erb).
While Breed, in view of Erb, does not explicitly teach the features of wherein the specific range is 135 to 225 degrees and 315 to 45 degrees, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to provide a range of 135 to 225 degrees of 315 to 45 degrees, in order to determine where an impact occurred, and activate appropriate safety mechanisms in response.
As per Claim 5, and similarly for Claim 10, Breed, in view of Erb, teaches the features of Claims 3 and 8, respectively, and Erb further teaches the features of wherein the-specific-range left side range is 135 to 225 degrees and the right side range is 315 to 45 degrees.
Erb teaches a vehicle safety system, where the system determines if an in-zone impact (i.e., between the A and C pillars, or a side impact), or off-zone impact has occurred (i.e., an oblique, frontal, or rear end collision) is detected, and when an off-zone collision is detected, the center of gravity shifts, and a side air bag or inflatable curtain may be deployed between the left-hand front door and an occupant in the left-hand front seat, and where if both the rate of yaw, angular, and lateral accelerations exceed respective thresholds, the safety system will output an activation signal to activate one or more passive impact protection devices (i.e., a type of collision is determined, and the zone correlates to side impacts and frontal/ oblique impacts, which correlate to roughly 90 degree quadrants for classifying a vehicle) (e.g. Paragraphs [0007], [0042]-[0044], [0050]; Figures 1, 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the vehicle the occupant system of Breed, with the feature of determining a shift in the center of gravity to be within a designated range in the system of Erb, in order to which safety protection systems to activate (see at least Paragraphs [0042] of Erb).
While Breed, in view of Erb, do not explicitly teach the features of wherein the specific range is 135 to 225 degrees and 315 to 45 degrees, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to provide a range of 135 to 225 degrees of 315 to 45 degrees, in order to determine where an impact occurred, and activate appropriate safety mechanisms in response.
As per Claim 6, and similarly for Claim 11, Breed, in view of Erb, teaches the features of Claims 3 and 8, respectively, and Breed further discloses the features of further comprising: a seat belt controller configured to tighten a seat belt when the vehicle is involved in the collision (e.g. Paragraphs [0115], [0254]-[0255], [0326]; where a seatbelt pretensioner can be activated to prepare the occupant(s) for the impact).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Le, et al (U.S. 2011/0137528 A1), which teaches a method for determining an impact to the vehicle, determining a magnitude and direction of impact, to determine which quadrant the center of gravity shifts to.
Matsunaga, et al (U.S. 2006/0100762 A2), which teaches a method for determining impact location on a vehicle and predicting which quadrant the center of gravity will change to.
Panigrahi, et al (U.S. 2019/0126874 A1), which teaches a method for determining impact location, comparing the total acceleration to a threshold, determining an impact angle, and change in the center of gravity, to activate an airbag.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MERRITT LEVY/Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/KYLE J KINGSLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663