DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to an application filed 4/11/2025, wherein claims 1-20 are pending and being examined. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 4/11/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 11, 12, 16, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang et al. (US 2021/0297677) (hereinafter Jang). Jang was cited in the information disclosure statement (IDS) filed 4/11/2025.
In regard to claim 1, Jang discloses a decoding method, applied to a decoder [¶0065-¶0066; video decoding device 200 may reconstruct a video], the method comprising:
determining a first reference block of a current block [¶0099; reconstructed region 400 represents an already decoded region. Fig.5, Fig.6];
obtaining a first intra prediction value of the current block according to sample values of a reconstructed area neighbouring the current block and a sample value of the first reference block [¶0094; generate a reference block (which may be referred to as a template reference block) through template matching and generate an enhanced (modified) predicted block based on the predicted block and the reference block. ¶0103-¶0108; a predicted block can be generated based on the neighboring reference samples RefD and a reference block can be generated based on the template reference samples RefT… comparing the template reconstructed block with the template predicted blocks and derives an intra-directional mode for the selected template predicted block. ¶0115-¶0118]; and
determining a reconstructed value of the current block according to the first intra prediction value of the current block [¶0121; enhanced predicted block for the current block can be generated using the (intra-directional) predicted block PredD Dir(cur) and the template reference block based on the weight w. ¶0133; coding apparatus can generate reconstructed samples for the current block by adding residual samples to predicted samples in the enhanced predicted block and generate a reconstructed block. ¶0142; enhanced predicted block (PredD new)1550 can be generated by adding a weighted sum of Pred T2 Dir(x) 1535 for an overlap region and Pred d Dir(cur) 1565 based on an overlap weight w1 to a weighted sum of an intra-directional predicted block (predD Dir(cur)) 1560 for the current block and a template predicted block (PredT Dir(x)) 1530 based on a weight W. ¶0184-¶0187].
See claim 13 below for elaboration on Jang.
In regard to claim 2, Jang discloses the method of claim 1. Jang further discloses,
wherein the sample values of the reconstructed area neighbouring the current block and the sample value of the first reference block are filtered to obtain the first intra prediction value of the current block [¶0062-¶0063, ¶0086].
In regard to claim 4, Jang discloses the method of claim 1. Jang further discloses,
wherein the first intra prediction value of the current block is obtained according to a weighted sum of the sample value of the first reference block and the sample values of the reconstructed area [¶0121, ¶0133, ¶0142, ¶0184-¶0187. Fig.8].
In regard to claim 5, Jang discloses the method of claim 4. Jang further discloses,
wherein a first intra prediction value of a fourth sample of the current block is obtained according to a weighted sum of a sample value of a first sample of the first reference block and at least one of a sample value of a second sample or a sample value of a third sample of the reconstructed area [¶0128-¶0132, ¶0144-¶0147, ¶0166-¶0168],
wherein a position of the first sample corresponds to a position of the fourth sample, the second sample at least comprises at least one sample in a same column as the fourth sample in an upper neighbouring area of the current block, and the third sample at least comprises at least one sample in a same row as the fourth sample in a left neighbouring area of the current block [¶0144-¶0147, ¶0166-¶0168, Fig.17].
In regard to claim 6, Jang discloses the method of claim 5. Jang further discloses,
wherein a weight coefficient of the second sample and a weight coefficient of the third sample are preset, or the weight coefficient of the second sample is determined according to at least one of the position of the fourth sample, a position of the second sample or a size of the current block [¶0128-¶0132, ¶0144-¶0147, ¶0166-¶0168, Fig.17], and the weight coefficient of the third sample is determined according to at least one of the position of the fourth sample, a position of the third sample or the size of the current block [¶0128-¶0132, ¶0144-¶0147, ¶0166-¶0168, Fig.17].
In regard to claim 11, Jang discloses the method of claim 1. Jang further discloses,
wherein the first reference block is obtained based on one reference block [Fig.5 through Fig.7, ¶0094-¶0097], or
the first reference block is obtained based on a weighted sum of a plurality of reference blocks.
In regard to claim 12, Jang discloses the method of claim 11. Jang further discloses,
wherein the one reference block is a reference block obtained in an Intra Block Copy (IBC) mode or an intra Template Matching Prediction (intraTMP) mode [Fig.5 through Fig.7, ¶0094-¶0097]; or
wherein the plurality of reference blocks are reference blocks obtained in at least one of the IBC mode or the intraTMP mode.
In regard to claim 16, Jang discloses a coding method, applied to a coder [¶0059; entropy encoder 135 may perform entropy-encoding], the method comprising:
determining a first reference block of a current block [¶0099; reconstructed region 400 represents an already decoded region. Fig.5, Fig.6];
obtaining a first intra prediction value of the current block according to sample values of a reconstructed area neighbouring the current block and a sample value of the first reference block [¶0094; generate a reference block (which may be referred to as a template reference block) through template matching and generate an enhanced (modified) predicted block based on the predicted block and the reference block. ¶0103-¶0108; a predicted block can be generated based on the neighboring reference samples RefD and a reference block can be generated based on the template reference samples RefT… comparing the template reconstructed block with the template predicted blocks and derives an intra-directional mode for the selected template predicted block. ¶0115-¶0118];
obtaining a residual value of the current block according to the first intra prediction value of the current block and a sample value of the current block [¶0083; predictor of the encoding device may obtain a motion vector difference (MVD) between the motion vector of the current block and a motion vector predictor. ¶0115; coding apparatus calculates a difference between the intra-directional mode of the current block and the derived intra-directional mode predModeT Dir(x). ¶0171; encoding apparatus can generate a residual block including residual samples for the current block based on the modified predicted block and the original block for the current block]; and
generating a bitstream according to the residual value [¶0171; encoding apparatus may encode residual information about the residual block and output the encoded residual information in the form of a bitstream].
This claim is drawn to an encoding apparatus corresponding to the decoding apparatus of claim 1, wherein Jang discloses the system may be applied to both encoders and decoders alike. See also the citations noted in the rejection of claim 1.
In regard to claim 18, Jang discloses a decoder [¶0068; entropy decoder], comprising a memory and a processor [¶0197-¶0198], wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program executable on the processor [¶0197-¶0198], and the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 1 [see the rejection of claim 1].
In regard to claim 20, Jang discloses a coder [¶0059; entropy encoder], comprising a memory and a processor [¶0197-¶0198], wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program executable on the processor [¶0197-¶0198], and the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 16 [see the rejection of claim 16].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 7, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (US 2021/0297677) in view of Andrivon et al. (US 2025/0233979) (hereinafter Andrivon).
In regard to claim 3, Jang discloses the method of claim 2. Jang does not explicitly disclose, wherein the sample values of the reconstructed area neighbouring the current block and the sample value of the first reference block are filtered by using a filtering template to obtain the first intra prediction value of the current block. However Andrivon discloses,
wherein the sample values of the reconstructed area neighbouring the current block and the sample value of the first reference block are filtered by using a filtering template to obtain the first intra prediction value of the current block [¶0037-¶0038; 3×3 horizontal and vertical Sobel filter 259 is used. ¶0042; filters having fixed filtering windows of 3×3 samples and being located at the same position in the template area 258 are used to compute the HoG 260. ¶0051-¶0052].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method disclosed by Jang with the filtering template disclosed by Andrivon in order to compute one or more histogram of gradients for efficient selection of intra prediction modes [Andrivon ¶0037-¶0041, ¶0050-¶0051].
In regard to claim 7, Jang discloses the method of claim 1. Jang does not explicitly disclose, wherein intra prediction is performed on the current block according to the sample values of the reconstructed area to obtain a second intra prediction value of the current block, and the first intra prediction value of the current block is obtained according to a weighted sum of the sample value of the first reference block and the second intra prediction value of the current block. However Andrivon discloses,
wherein intra prediction is performed on the current block according to the sample values of the reconstructed area to obtain a second intra prediction value of the current block [¶0050; splits the template area in regions, computes a HoG per each region, determines and selects IPM(s) from peaks in HoG of these region. ¶0056; two IPMs may be selected for the left template area region, one IPM may be selected for the above template area region and one IPM may be selected for the above-left template area region], and
the first intra prediction value of the current block is obtained according to a weighted sum of the sample value of the first reference block and the second intra prediction value of the current block [¶0038-¶0040; reconstructed area 252 includes already reconstructed coding units or blocks of the picture to be reconstructed… two most represented IPMs, indicated as M1 and M2 in FIG. 4 (b), are selected from the HoG 260… DIMD predictor is obtained by blending the two selected IPMs and the Planar mode using the determined bending weights. ¶0041; one or two IPMs are derived from the reconstructed neighboring samples, i.e., from the template area, and in case two intra modes are derived, they are combined, i.e., blended, with the Planar mode predictor].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method disclosed by Jang with the weighting of intra prediction modes for the current block as disclosed by Andrivon in order to better predict certain portions of the coding unit [Andrivon ¶0002-¶0005, ¶0053, ¶0120-¶0121]. As disclosed by Andrivon, considering multiple intra prediction modes for a current block's template can provide improved decoder-side intra mode derivation that provides a close predictor for the current block.
In regard to claim 8, Jang in view of Andrivon discloses the method of claim 7. Jang in view of Andrivon further discloses,
wherein the intra prediction is performed on the current block by using at least one of a PLANAR mode, a Direct Current (DC) mode, or an angular mode [Jang ¶0051, ¶0089-¶0090. Andrivon ¶0039-¶0041, ¶0058, ¶0064-¶0065].
See claim 7 for motivation to combine.
Claim(s) 13-15, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (US 2021/0297677) in view of Venugopal et al. (US 2019/0364283) (hereinafter Venugopal).
In regard to claim 13, Jang discloses a decoding method, applied to a decoder [¶0065-¶0066; video decoding device 200 may reconstruct a video], the method comprising:
determining a reference block of a current block, wherein the reference block is located in a picture where the current block is located [¶0099; reconstructed region 400 represents an already decoded region. Fig.5, Fig.6];
obtaining a first intra prediction value of the current block according to sample values of the reference block [¶0094; generate a reference block (which may be referred to as a template reference block) through template matching and generate an enhanced (modified) predicted block based on the predicted block and the reference block. ¶0103-¶0108; a predicted block can be generated based on the neighboring reference samples RefD and a reference block can be generated based on the template reference samples RefT… comparing the template reconstructed block with the template predicted blocks and derives an intra-directional mode for the selected template predicted block. ¶0115-¶0118]; and
determining a reconstructed value of the current block according to the first intra prediction value of the current block, wherein the first intra prediction value of the current block is obtained according to a weighted sum [¶0121; enhanced predicted block for the current block can be generated using the (intra-directional) predicted block PredD Dir(cur) and the template reference block based on the weight w. ¶0133; coding apparatus can generate reconstructed samples for the current block by adding residual samples to predicted samples in the enhanced predicted block and generate a reconstructed block. ¶0142; enhanced predicted block (PredD new)1550 can be generated by adding a weighted sum of Pred T2 Dir(x) 1535 for an overlap region and Pred d Dir(cur) 1565 based on an overlap weight w1 to a weighted sum of an intra-directional predicted block (predD Dir(cur)) 1560 for the current block and a template predicted block (PredT Dir(x)) 1530 based on a weight W. ¶0184-¶0187].
Jang does not explicitly disclose determining a plurality of reference blocks of a current block, wherein the plurality of reference blocks are located in a picture where the current block is located; obtaining a first intra prediction value of the current block according to sample values of the plurality of reference blocks… wherein the first intra prediction value of the current block is obtained according to a weighted sum of the sample values of the plurality of reference blocks. However Venugopal discloses,
determining a plurality of reference blocks of a current block, wherein the plurality of reference blocks are located in a picture where the current block is located [¶0044; three best template matches 20 from each region. Fig.2; template matching reference blocks (24) and current block (10) in same reconstructed frame (12)];
obtaining a first intra prediction value of the current block according to sample values of the plurality of reference blocks [¶0057; predictor 42 on the basis of set 40 and uses this predictor 42 as a prediction of block 10. ¶0060-¶0061; select for each block of picture 12 one mode out of a set of modes which includes the just-outlined mode in addition to, for instance, one or more intra picture prediction modes and/or one or more intra picture prediction modes… Predictive decoder 54 predictively decodes current block 10 from data stream 36 based on the set 40 of one or more patches];
wherein the first intra prediction value of the current block is obtained according to a weighted sum of the sample values of the plurality of reference blocks [¶0044; average 22 of the respective TM blocks 24 becomes the prediction 26 of the current block 10. ¶0067-¶0068; Weighted averaging as in eq.(2) can also be applied… where α, β, γ are the weights and p1, p2, p3 are predictor 1, predictor 2 and predictor 3 respectively].
Jang discloses a method and apparatus for intra-prediction of video coding systems, wherein template matching is used to determine an intra-prediction mode for a current block. As shown in Fig.6 through Fig.8 and as described in the corresponding disclosure, a template reference block is determined for a current block, wherein the template reference block is in an already reconstructed/decoded portion of current picture containing the current block. An enhanced intra predictor for the current block is determined based samples of the template reference block and neighboring samples of the current block. The current block is reconstructed/decoded based on the enhanced predictor. Although Jang discloses weighting of the template reference block and the current block, as Jang does not explicitly disclose weighting the plurality of reference blocks, Venugopal is relied upon.
Venugopal discloses template matching intra prediction for video coding systems, similar to Jang. As shown in Fig.2, Fig.3, and as described in the corresponding disclosure, a plurality of reference template blocks are determined, wherein the plurality of reference template blocks are located in the same picture as a current block to be decoded (or encoded). An intra predictor for the current block may be determined using a weighted average of the plurality of template reference blocks, wherein the current block is encoded or decoded based on the predictor determined by the weighted average.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method disclosed by Jang with the multiple reference blocks disclosed by Venugopal in order to keep the computational complexity at the decoder side low and provide comprise between computational complexity and coding gain when performing template matching [Venugopal ¶0021-¶0023, ¶0043-¶0044].
In regard to claim 14, Jang in view of Venugopal discloses the method of claim 13. Jang in view of Venugopal further discloses,
wherein the plurality of reference blocks are reference blocks obtained in at least one of an Intra Block Copy (IBC) mode or an intra Template Matching Prediction (intraTMP) mode [Venugopal Fig.2, Fig.3, ¶0062-¶0064].
See claim 13 for motivation to combine.
In regard to claim 15, Jang in view of Venugopal discloses the method of claim 13. Jang in view of Venugopal further discloses,
wherein whether the first intra prediction value of the current block is determined by using the decoding method is determined according to a relationship between a template matching cost of the current block and a reference block obtained in an intra Template Matching Prediction (intraTMP) mode and a first threshold [Venugopal ¶0066, ¶0070-¶0073, ¶0076-¶0077].
See claim 13 for motivation to combine.
In regard to claim 17, Jang discloses a coding method, applied to a coder, the method comprising:
determining a reference block of a current block, wherein the reference block is located in a picture where the current block is located [¶0099; reconstructed region 400 represents an already decoded region. Fig.5, Fig.6];
obtaining a first intra prediction value of the current block according to sample values of the reference block [¶0094; generate a reference block (which may be referred to as a template reference block) through template matching and generate an enhanced (modified) predicted block based on the predicted block and the reference block. ¶0103-¶0108; a predicted block can be generated based on the neighboring reference samples RefD and a reference block can be generated based on the template reference samples RefT… comparing the template reconstructed block with the template predicted blocks and derives an intra-directional mode for the selected template predicted block. ¶0115-¶0118];
obtaining a residual value of the current block according to the first intra prediction value of the current block and a sample value of the current block [¶0083; predictor of the encoding device may obtain a motion vector difference (MVD) between the motion vector of the current block and a motion vector predictor. ¶0115; coding apparatus calculates a difference between the intra-directional mode of the current block and the derived intra-directional mode predModeT Dir(x). ¶0171; encoding apparatus can generate a residual block including residual samples for the current block based on the modified predicted block and the original block for the current block]; and
generating a bitstream according to the residual value [¶0171; encoding apparatus may encode residual information about the residual block and output the encoded residual information in the form of a bitstream].
Jang does not explicitly disclose determining a plurality of reference blocks of a current block, wherein the plurality of reference blocks are located in a picture where the current block is located; obtaining a first intra prediction value of the current block according to sample values of the plurality of reference blocks. However Venugopal discloses,
determining a plurality of reference blocks of a current block, wherein the plurality of reference blocks are located in a picture where the current block is located [¶0044; three best template matches 20 from each region. Fig.2; template matching reference blocks (24) and current block (10) in same reconstructed frame (12)];
obtaining a first intra prediction value of the current block according to sample values of the plurality of reference blocks [¶0057; predictor 42 on the basis of set 40 and uses this predictor 42 as a prediction of block 10. ¶0060-¶0061; select for each block of picture 12 one mode out of a set of modes which includes the just-outlined mode in addition to, for instance, one or more intra picture prediction modes and/or one or more intra picture prediction modes… Predictive decoder 54 predictively decodes current block 10 from data stream 36 based on the set 40 of one or more patches. ¶0067-¶0068].
See claim 13 and claim 16 for elaboration on Jang and Venugopal. It is noted that Venugopal similarly discloses the system is applicable to both encoders and decoders in at least ¶0053-¶0054. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method disclosed by Jang with the multiple reference blocks disclosed by Venugopal in order to keep the computational complexity at the decoder side low and provide comprise between computational complexity and coding gain when performing template matching [Venugopal ¶0021-¶0023, ¶0043-¶0044].
In regard to claim 19, Jang in view of Venugopal discloses a decoder [Jang ¶0068; entropy decoder. Venugopal ¶0060; decoder, or apparatus for picture decoding], comprising a memory and a processor [Jang ¶0197-¶0198. Venugopal ¶0100-¶0103], wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program executable on the first processor [Jang ¶0197-¶0198. Venugopal ¶0100-¶0103], and the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 13 [see the rejection of claim 13].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al. (US 2024/0015333) – Discloses an encoding and decoding system, wherein an intra template matching prediction (IntraTMP) tool is used to copy a best prediction block from a reconstructed part of a current frame, whose L-shaped template matches a current template [¶0145-¶0152]. The intra template matching tool may be enabled for coding units with less than a certain size [¶0153].
/REBECCA A VOLENTINE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483 June 5, 2026