DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Invention II, Claims 14-20, elected without traverse in the reply filed 09/02/2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 1-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention I, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/02/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 14-20 fail to comply with the written description requirement as the disclosure does not provide any guidance as to what the pretrained model is or how it is used, i.e. what processes transform the inputs into the output, how the processes are weighted, etc. Any model/algorithm claimed must be described in sufficient detail so one of ordinary skill in the art is capable of using the invention. The Applicant’s Specification and Claims merely define the invention in functional language that states the desired result, but does not describe in detail as to how the result is achieved with the given inputs (see MPEP 2161.01).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims are directed toward an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Independent claim 14 recites a method, and thus is directed to a statutory category invention.
Step 2A, Prong 1:
Claim 14 recites the following claim limitations:
Collecting location, movement range, and physiologic data of a user
Inputting the location, movement range, and physiologic data into a depression evaluation model, and
Output a depression evaluation result
These limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover concepts that can be practically performed in the human mind, i.e., using pen and paper. A person/one of ordinary skill is capable of taking the aforementioned data, inputting the data to a model/comparing the data to diagnostic criteria, and making a mental determination regarding a depression evaluation. Thus, the claims recite limitations which fall within the 'mental processes' grouping of abstract ideas.
Step 2A, Prong 2:
Claim 14 recites the following additional elements:
A system installed with a pre-trained model collecting the aforementioned data and outputting the result
Electronically receiving a plurality of measurements over an unspecified time span is merely insignificant pre-solution activity (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The broad recitation of a system with a pre-trained model collecting the aforementioned data is merely reciting the components at a high level of generality to be used as instructions to carry out the method. In other words, the computer components are being used as a tool to carry out the method (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The usage of electronically providing a physiological event alert based on the cumulative confidence score is merely insignificant post solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(a)(II), “Examples that the courts have indicated may not be sufficient to show an improvement to technology include… iii. Gathering and analyzing information using conventional techniques and displaying the result, TLI Communications, 823 F.3d at 612-13, 118 USPQ2d at 1747-48;”).
Thus, the abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application. The combination of these additional elements is no more than insignificant extra solution activity, and mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (the processors and computer readable storage media). Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amount to no more than insignificant extra solution activity and mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The same analysis applies here in 2B and does not provide an inventive concept.
For the "electrically receiving..." step that was considered insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A Prong Two, it has been re-evaluated in Step 2B and determined to be well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The following evidence supports such a determination:
electronically receiving a plurality of measurements of physiological variables for a patient, the plurality of measurements being acquired over a time span
(See MPEP 2106.05(d) II. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network).
For these reasons, there is no inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible. Even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more to the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication 20140081090 awarded to Picard et al.
Regarding Claim 14, Picard teaches a depression evaluation method, executed by a system configured to perform depression monitoring (Para. 0022, “The atypical brain activity may comprise a SUDEP risk, a epileptiform seizure, a drug reaction, stress, depression, compulsive behavior, ictal brain activity, inter-ictal brain activity, tonic-clonic seizures, partial complex seizures, pain, anxiety, panic attacks, epileptic seizures, sleep disorders, respiratory sleep problems, heart attack, depression”), wherein the system is installed with a pre-trained depression evaluation model (Para. 0022, “The training may be accomplished using a support vector machine where the training identifies an atypical brain activity for the person. The identification may be based on information stored in the cloud-computing environment for a group of people as well as information on the person. The method may further comprise generating a confidence score for the alert for the atypical brain activity”); the depression evaluation method comprising: user data collection step (Para. 0022, “The method may further comprise collecting quantitative self-report information 112 from the person”): collecting a location data (Para. 0026, “Data could also be gathered from a GPS location capability, a request for further information could be provided, or similar further collection”), a movement range data (Para. 0004, “The tracking of body movement may also be beneficial, and may be collected through readings of devices such as accelerometers”), and a physiological data of a user (Para. 0004, “The types of physiological information that may be gathered from an individual comprise a variety of parameters, including electrodermal activity (EDA)--also known as skin conductance (SC) or galvanic skin response (GSR). Such physiological information may further include skin temperature, heart rate, heart rate variability, and various other data measures pertaining to the status of a human”); and depression evaluation step: inputting the location data, the movement range data, and the physiological data into the depression evaluation model (Fig. 1, steps 110, 112), whereby the depression evaluation model outputs a depression evaluation result (steps 140 and 150, Para. 0022, “FIG. 1 is a flow diagram describing the providing of alerts based on biosensor data. The flow 100 includes capturing biosensor data from a person 110; sending the biosensor data to a mobile device 120; providing the biosensor data to a cloud computing environment 130; processing the biosensor data to identify atypical brain activity 140; and providing an alert based on the atypical brain activity that was detected 150. The biosensor data may include one or more of electrodermal activity, accelerometer data, and skin temperature. In some embodiments, ECG, EEG, PPG, or other physiological data could be collected. The processing may be performed in the cloud-computing environment. The mobile device may be incorporated as part of the biosensor”).
Regarding Claim 15, Picard teaches the depression evaluation method as described in Claim 14, wherein the physiological data includes at least one selected from the group consisting of heart rate (HR) (Para. 0023) or heart rate variability (HRV) (Para. 0023).
Regarding Claim 17, Picard teaches the depression evaluation method as described in Claim 14, wherein the system, during the user data collection step, simultaneously collects EEG data of the user (Para. 0035, “FIG. 5 is a diagram representing physiological analysis. A system 500 may analyze data collected from a person 510 as he or she interacts with a computer. The person 510 may have a biosensor 512 attached to him or her for the purpose of collecting mental state data. The biosensor 512 may be placed on the wrist, palm, hand, head, or other part of the body. In some embodiments, multiple biosensors may be placed on the body in multiple locations. In embodiments, multiple biosensors may be placed simultaneously on an individual including on a right wrist, a left wrist, a right ankle, and a left ankle The biosensor 512 may include detectors for physiological data such as electrodermal activity, skin temperature, accelerometer readings, and the like. Other detectors for physiological data may be included as well, such as heart rate, blood pressure, EKG, EEG, further brain waves, and other physiological detectors”).
Regarding Claim 18, Picard teaches the depression evaluation method as described in Claim 15, wherein the system, during the depression evaluation step, simultaneously inputs the EEG data into the depression evaluation model, causing the depression evaluation model to output the depression evaluation result based on the location data, the movement range data, the physiological data, and the EEG data (Para. 0035, “FIG. 5 is a diagram representing physiological analysis. A system 500 may analyze data collected from a person 510 as he or she interacts with a computer. The person 510 may have a biosensor 512 attached to him or her for the purpose of collecting mental state data. The biosensor 512 may be placed on the wrist, palm, hand, head, or other part of the body. In some embodiments, multiple biosensors may be placed on the body in multiple locations. In embodiments, multiple biosensors may be placed simultaneously on an individual including on a right wrist, a left wrist, a right ankle, and a left ankle The biosensor 512 may include detectors for physiological data such as electrodermal activity, skin temperature, accelerometer readings, and the like. Other detectors for physiological data may be included as well, such as heart rate, blood pressure, EKG, EEG, further brain waves, and other physiological detectors”).
Regarding Claim 19, Picard teaches the depression evaluation method as described in Claim 15, wherein the system, during the user data collection step, simultaneously collects facial emotion data of the user (Para. 0035 states the user data collection occurs simultaneously with the biometric data, Para. 0036 states the facial data is collected along with biometric data, “The various forms of data collected by the biosensor 512 may be used along with the facial data captured by the webcam in the analysis of mental state”).
Regarding Claim 20, Picard teaches the depression evaluation method as described in Claim 17, wherein the system, during the depression evaluation step, simultaneously inputs the EEG data and/or the facial emotion data into the depression evaluation model, causing the depression evaluation model to output the depression evaluation result based on the location data, the movement range data, the physiological data, and the facial emotion data and/or the EEG data (Para. 0035, “FIG. 5 is a diagram representing physiological analysis. A system 500 may analyze data collected from a person 510 as he or she interacts with a computer. The person 510 may have a biosensor 512 attached to him or her for the purpose of collecting mental state data. The biosensor 512 may be placed on the wrist, palm, hand, head, or other part of the body. In some embodiments, multiple biosensors may be placed on the body in multiple locations. In embodiments, multiple biosensors may be placed simultaneously on an individual including on a right wrist, a left wrist, a right ankle, and a left ankle The biosensor 512 may include detectors for physiological data such as electrodermal activity, skin temperature, accelerometer readings, and the like. Other detectors for physiological data may be included as well, such as heart rate, blood pressure, EKG, EEG, further brain waves, and other physiological detectors”, Para. 0036 states the facial data is collected along with biometric data, “The various forms of data collected by the biosensor 512 may be used along with the facial data captured by the webcam in the analysis of mental state”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Picard as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication 20200205712 awarded to Laszlo et al.
Regarding Claim 16, Picard teaches the depression evaluation method as described in Claim 14, wherein the depression evaluation model is produced by performing machine learning training on a classifier for depression evaluation using a training set and the training set includes: first location data, first movement range data, and first physiological data collected from a plurality of individuals diagnosed with depression (Para. 0022). Picard does not teach wherein the training set includes second location data, second movement range data, and second physiological data collected from healthy individuals.
However, in the art of depression monitoring, Laszlo teaches using a training set for a machine learning model that includes healthy and depressed individuals to improve the resilience of the model (Para. 0062, “Generally, the difference in reward-related positivity differentiating a healthy participant from a depressed participant can vary depending on the participant and individual responses can vary widely. In some embodiments, a grand mean difference between win/loss outcomes can be about 2.5 micro-Volts or less in depressed participants compared to healthy participants. The ML model can be trained to account for such variation. For example, the ML model can learn to be resilient/robust to such variation through exposure to samples from such data”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to modify Picard by Laszlo, i.e. by additionally training the model of Picard using healthy individuals monitored in the same way as the depressed individuals as taught in Laszlo, for the predictable purpose of improving the resilience of the model of Picard as in Laszlo.
Conclusion
/JLM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/ALLEN PORTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796