DETAILED ACTION
The amendment dated 12/22/2025 has been considered and entered. The amendment now requires that the calcium carbonate is the primary structural component which was not previously recited in the claims, and thus necessitates new grounds of rejections.
The amendment to claim 1 which requires at least two structural ingredients at specific amounts appear to overcome rejections made over Zhou et al. (CN110437925A) alone which does not require both structural units at the amounts of the claims, and thus necessitates new grounds of rejections. The response has been considered but was not found to be persuasive over the rejections in view of Sawaguchi et al. (US 2019/0169522) which are hereby maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3 – 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claims recite a calcium carbonate as primary structural component which is not supported by applicant’s disclosure as originally filed. The disclosure only recites first structural component (i.e., calcium carbonate) and second structural component (i.e., calcium sulfonate).
Claims 1, 3 – 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims recite calcium carbonate as a primary structural component is ambiguous as it is unclear what the term “primary” implies. The examples in applicant’s disclosure do not provide compositions that can comprise calcium carbonates alone as structural component to justify the term primary as requiring no other structural component. In examples where calcium carbonate is used alone, there is 100% loss (i.e., failure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 8 – 11, 13 – 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawaguchi et al. (US 2019/0169522)
In regards to claim 1, Sawaguchi teaches lubricating grease comprising base oil, thickener, calcium carbonate solid lubricant present at from 1 to 60% of the grease and having particle diameter of from 0.1 to 30 mm, and wherein the base oil has a kinematic viscosity of 18 to 300 mm2/s at 40℃ and the grease has a worked penetration of 240 to 320 (abstract). The thickeners may be a single or mixtures of compounds including lithium soap, calcium soap, aluminum soap such as lithium salts of 12-hydroxystearic acid (HSA) (i.e., lithium thickener), calcium complex soap, or barium complex soap and mixtures [0015, 0031]. The composition may comprise optional additives such as rust inhibitors etc., such as calcium sulfonate rust inhibitor [0019, 0046]. In one embodiment, the rust inhibitor is present at 0.5% [0061, Examples 1 – 6]. In the examples, the thickener such as Li soap A), Ba complex soap B) and Li complex soap C) are present at from 8 to 30% [0031 – 0033]. The calcium carbonate in the oil will be expected to form similar stable particle suspension or colloidal dispersion in the lubricating grease.
In regards to claim 2, Sawaguchi teaches the grease comprising lithium, calcium, or aluminum thickeners and the optional presence of calcium sulfate in the claimed amounts as previously stated.
In regards to claims 3, 6, Sawaguchi teaches the grease having the calcium, lithium and barium soap, such as lithium soaps of acids such as 12-HSA as previously discussed, and thus makes calcium soaps of 12-HSA obvious for use as thickener in the amounts recited in the examples. Alternatively, in view of Fiddelars et al. (RU 2 536 866 C2) which teaches grease for automobile parts such as bearings and gears which are sliding parts similar to Sawaguchi, teaches thickeners such as metal salts of acids such as 12-hydroxystearic acids at from 1 to 15% in the grease can be metal salts such as alkali and alkaline earth metal salts (i.e., calcium salts) of such acid (specification). Thus, it would have been obvious for persons of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claims were filed to have used calcium 12-HSA salts as the calcium thickener and at amounts of from 1 to 15% in the composition of Sawaguchi, as Fiddelars teaches they are suitable for similar compositions.
In regards to claim 4, Sawaguchi teaches the grease having the claimed limitations as previously stated.
In regards to claim 8, Sawaguchi in view of Fiddelars and Niya teaches the claimed grease having the ingredients in the claimed amounts.
In regards to claims 9, 10, Sawaguchi teaches the grease having the claimed limitation as previously stated.
In regards to claim 11, Sawaguchi teaches the grease which may not contain the optional calcium sulfonate or other sulfur additives.
In regards to claims 13 – 21, Sawaguchi, and alternatively in view of Fiddelars and/or Niya, teach the claimed composition having the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts and would be expected to have the same properties as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Sawaguchi does not teach calcium carbonate as a structural component. The argument is not persuasive.
The claims are drawn to a composition comprising calcium carbonate in amounts of from 25 to 75% or from about 60% to 75%. Since Sawaguchi teaches a similar grease composition having calcium carbonate in amounts of up to 60%, the claimed limitation is overlapped and similar properties would be expected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771