DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 10-12, 31-33 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined disclosures of Wei et al (CN 11571724 A hereafter Wei) in view of Yoo et al (WO 2021/263132 A1 hereafter Yoo) and Hou et al (WO 2023/209062 A1 hereafter Hou).
Wei discloses a formulation that reduced nitrosamine impurities no more than 2 ppm in formulation comprising CDK inhibitors like ribociclib (abstract, claim 1). The CDK inhibitors can be present in salt form such as succinic salt (claim 7). The reference provides oral tablet for mass production, 130,000 tablets, comprising excipients such as microcrystalline cellulose and silica (Example 1). The resulting tablets have a nitrosamine concentration of 0.88 ppm at initial production and 0.88 ppm measured at 60oC after 5 hours in storage conditions [Table 1].
While the reference discloses the formulation of tablets with a dry process and a coating with water as a solvent, there is no recitation of the specific water activity of the formulation upon manufacture. Water activity is a know factor in storage stability as can be seen in the Yoo, along with storage and packaging conditions useful for protecting tablet formulations. These elements can be found in the prior art including Yoo.
Yoo discloses a solid table formulation comprising a variety of active agents including ribociclib [0002, 0183]. The tablets comprise excipients like cellulose polymers, crospovidone and microcrystalline cellulose [0024, 0030, 0148]. The solid tablet can be packaged into blister packs [0023, 0045, 0175]. The dosage form can be formed individually or in sealed containers [0187-0189]. The components are in powder form and are vacuumed and dried to a moisture level of up to 3%or up to 0.03 water activity [0287]. It would have been obvious to include these elements with the formulation of Wei as they solve the same problem and comprise similar components.
While the combination of Wei and Yoo discloses a pharmaceutical product comprising a ribociclib and common excipients. The combination is however silent to the shelf stability of the formulation, however the shelf stability of a solid table comprising common excipients is well known in the art as seen in the Hou patent.
Hou discloses a pharmaceutical dosage form comprising tablets or capsules [Example 8]. The solid dosages comprise excipients like lactose, microcrystalline cellulose [pg 10, claims]. The active agents comprise ribociclib [pg 13]. The solid dosage forms are shelf stable for up to 6 months at 40°C [Example 8]. These solid dosage forms comprise the same components as the combination and solve the same problem. As such the combination would have similar shelf stability as Hou establishes the features of solid ribociclib formulation comprising common excipients.
With these aspects in mind it would have been obvious to combined the prior art with an expected result of a stable pharmaceutical product. It would have been obvious to combine the formulations of Wei into blister packs as seen in Yoo as they comprise similar components. It would have been obvious that these solid tablets would be shelf stable as seen in the Hou patent as they comprise the same components. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated combine the prior art disclosures in order to produce a stable solid pharmaceutical dosage.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 4/1/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3-8, 10-12, 31-33, 36 under 35 USC 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the above recited rejection.
/MICAH PAUL YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618