DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 11, 2026. The examiner acknowledges claim 12 was not included in the original restriction requirement, but as it is a kit for accomplishing the method, and includes three polymers not present in the composition claims, but present in the method claims, it is properly grouped with the method claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, and 7-10 of this application are patentably indistinct from claims 11, 12, and 15-18 of Application No. 16/434857. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant or assignee contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 9 and 10 refer to first and second amines, but there is no antecedent basis for these limitations in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-8, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Altier et al, US 2019/0316064.
Altier et al teach a cleaning composition comprising up to 30% Steposol MET-10U (dimethyl-9-decenamide) and up to 30% monoethanolamine (¶76, experimental composition #2). As this reference meets all material limitations of the claims at hand, the reference is anticipatory.
Claims 1, 2, 5-8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Hunt et al, US 2017/0240846.
Hunt et al teach a label removing composition comprising triphosphono methyl amine, ethylenediamine EO-PO, and 1.39% Steposol MET-10U (dimethyl-9-decenamide) (page 21, table 5, formula 38-2). As this reference meets all material limitations of the claims at hand, the reference is anticipatory.
Claims 1-8, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Acra et al, US 9,650,594.
Acra et al teach a semiconductor cleaning composition comprising 40% tetraethylpentamine, 26% monoethanolamine, 24.4% dimethyl-9-decenamide (col. 21, example 36). As this reference meets all material limitations of the claims at hand, the reference is anticipatory.
Claims 1, and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Panayi et al, US 2018/0139955.
Panayi et al teach an herbicide concentrate with an amine/amide solvent mixture comprising triethylamine and Hallcomid 1025 (dimethyl-9-decenamide) (¶315, example 38). Note the reference defines Hallcomid 1025 as a decanamide, but this is an error. As this reference meets all material limitations of the claims at hand, the reference is anticipatory.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chetty et al, US 2018/0153160.
Chetty et al teach an herbicide concentrate with an amine/amide solvent mixture comprising N-methylpyrrolidone (satisfies the first solvent as it is a heterocyclyl alkyl with a nitrogen atom), hexyloxypropyl amine, and Hallcomid M8-10 (dimethyl decanamide) (¶218, examples 28-31). Suitable amines of the invention include monoethanolamine (¶32), and suitable amide solvents are dimethyl-9-decenamide (¶48), present in amounts as little as 25% (¶33). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use monoethanolamine and dimethyl-9-decenamide in examples 28-31 with confidence of forming an effective herbicide concentrate as mixtures of amines and amide solvents are essential, and monoethanolamine and dimethyl-9-decenamide are taught as suitable amine and amide solvents of the invention.
/CHARLES I BOYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761