DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 07/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
in claim 4, “the second layer has a thickness of less than 100 pm, or a thickness of less than 70 pm, or a thickness of between 30 pm and 80 pm” should read --the second layer has a thickness of less than 100 µm, or a thickness of less than 70 µm, or a thickness of between 30 µm and 80 µm--; and
in claim 5, “the second layer is positioned in the tape structure facing during placement of the composite structure to be manufactured” should read -- the second layer is positioned in the tape structure facing away during placement of the composite structure to be manufactured--.
In regards to said claim 4 limitation, based on the specification and the original claims, it appears the units of the second layer thickness is in micrometers, not picometers.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ellis (PG-PUB 2015/0129128).
Regarding claim 1, Ellis teaches a tape structure suitable for use in an automated fiber placement method to manufacture a composite structure [0064], the tape structure comprising:
a first layer configured as a support layer (Figure 2 and 3 and [0029], [0046]-[0047], [0061]) and
a second layer connected to the first layer and configured as a pre-impregnated layer (Figure 2 and 3 and [0074]),
wherein the first layer is removable from the second layer during or after placement of the second layer on the composite structure to be manufactured [0046]-[0047].
Regarding claim 3, Ellis teaches the tape structure as applied to claim 1, wherein the second layer comprises unidirectional fibers [0057], [0062], [0074].
Regarding claim 4, Ellis teaches the tape structure as applied to claim 1, wherein the second layer has a thickness of less than 100 µm (claim 4).
Regarding claim 5, Ellis teaches the tape structure as applied to claim 1.
Ellis does not teach the second layer is positioned in the tape structure facing during placement of the composite structure to be manufactured.
The claimed invention is drawn to the tape structure, not the composite structure to be manufactured. Given that the tape structure of Ellis is identical to the claimed tape structure, the tape structure of Ellis would be capable of use such that the second layer is positioned in the tape would face away during placement of the composite structure to be manufactured.
Regarding claim 6, Ellis teaches the tape structure as applied to claim 1, wherein the tape structure is provided on a spool [0039], [0041], [0059].
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Foreman (PG-PUB 2021/0139657).
Regarding claim 15, Foreman teaches a composite structure, such as fuel tank, part of a fuel tank or fuel tank access cover, a nacelle, or part of an aircraft [0029], made from a tape structure,
the composite structure capable of being manufactured using an automated fiber placement method,
the method comprising:
feeding the tape structure to an automated fiber placement device,
placing the tape structure on a composite structure or a previous laminated layer formed on the composite structure by moving a laying head over the composite structure or the previous laminated layer,
compacting the tape structure to establish a permanent connection between the second layer and the composite structure or a previous laminated layer, peeling the first layer off the second layer on or after placement and removing the first layer [0096]-[0097],
wherein the tape structure comprises:
a first layer and a second layer connected to the first layer with the first layer
being configured as a support layer and the second layer being configured as a pre-impregnated layer [0087]-[0089],
wherein the first layer is capable of being removed from the second layer during or after placement of the second layer on the composite structure to be manufactured [0021], [0087]-[0088].
The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus or product. The determination of patentability is based upon the apparatus structure itself. The patentability of a product or apparatus does not depend on its method of production or formation. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (see MPEP § 2113).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ellis (PG-PUB 2015/0129128), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Foreman (PG-PUB 2021/0139657).
Regarding claim 2, Ellis teaches the tape structure as applied to claim 1, wherein the first layer is formed by a support liner comprising a polymer and the second layer comprises a thermosetting matrix consisting of an uncured thermosetting polymer comprising a mixture of resins and a plurality of fibers embedded therein [0030]-[0038], [0062]. Ellis teaches a mixture of resins, such as epoxy resins [0032]-[0038].
Ellis does not teach the thermosetting polymer comprising a mixture of resins and curing agents.
Foreman teaches a tape comprising a prepreg material [0020] including a thermosetting resin [0073], such as a mixture including epoxy [0074] and a curing agent to assist with for curing [0028], [0076].
Both Ellis and Foreman are drawn to the same endeavor pertaining to tapes comprising a thermosetting matrix. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the matrix composition of Ellis with curing agents for the benefit of assisting with curing the mixture of thermosetting resin, as taught by Foreman.
Conclusion
HANA C. PAGE
Examiner
Art Unit 1745
/HANA C PAGE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1745