DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
The rectangular boxes S210, S220, S230, S240, and S250 in Fig. 2 should be provided with descriptive text labels.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 12, and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, lines 1 and 3, “energy storage system, ESS” should be replaced with --energy storage system (ESS)--.
In claim 4, line 2, “State-of-Charge, SoC” should be replaced with --State-of-Charge (SoC)--.
In claim 6, “direct current internal resistance, DCIR” should be replaced with --direct current internal resistance (DCIR)--.
In claim 8, line 2, “state-of-charge, SoC” should be replaced with --State-of-Charge (SoC)--.
In claim 12, line 1, “energy storage system, ESS” should be replaced with --energy storage system (ESS)--.
In claim 14, lines 1 and 4, “energy storage system, ESS” should be replaced with --energy storage system (ESS)--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2022/0179008).
Regarding claim 1, Lee et al. discloses a device for power path fault detection in an energy storage system (ESS) (see Fig. 2), the device comprising circuitry configured to: obtain, during charging or discharging of an energy storage system (ESS), values for one or more parameters (i.e., voltage) for each energy storage element of a plurality of energy storage elements (elements B1-B4, Fig. 2) of the ESS; determine, for at least one parameter of the one or more parameters, a deviation of the value of the at least one parameter for a first energy storage element of the plurality of energy storage elements from an aggregate function value (i.e., average voltage value) (see pars. [0086-0094]), wherein the aggregate function value is formed based on values of at least one parameter of the one or more parameters for one or more other energy storage elements of the plurality of energy storage elements than the first energy storage element (see pars. [0086-0094]); determine that the deviation is beyond a first threshold value (i.e., reference value) and, in response thereto, detect a power path fault (i.e., connection failure) pertinent to the first energy storage element (see pars. [0086-0094]).
Regarding claim 2, Lee et al. discloses a device, wherein determining the deviation comprises taking into account values for the at least one parameter for the first energy storage element and/or for the one or more energy storage elements for multiple time instances (see pars. [0086-0094]).
Regarding claim 4, Lee et al. discloses a device, wherein the at least one parameter for the first energy storage element comprises voltage (see par. [0086]).
Regarding claim 5, Lee et al. discloses a device, wherein the voltage is one or more of battery cell voltage and battery pack voltage (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Lee et al. discloses a device, wherein the aggregate function comprises an average, of the at least one parameter for the one or more other energy storage elements (see par. [0086]).
Regarding claim 10, Lee et al. discloses a device, wherein the plurality of energy storage elements is a plurality of battery packs, battery cells and/or battery modules (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Lee et al. discloses a device, further configured to, in response to detecting the power path fault, trigger or cause at least one of a disconnection of the first energy storage element and a warning signal issued to an operator of the ESS (see pars. [0055] and [0171]).
Regarding claim 12, Lee et al. discloses an energy storage system (ESS) (see Fig. 2), comprising a plurality of energy storage elements (elements B1-B4, Fig. 2) and the device for detecting a power path fault pertinent to at least one of said energy storage elements (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Lee et al. discloses a vehicle, comprising the energy storage system (ESS) (see par. [0171]).
Regarding claim 14, Lee et al. discloses a computer-implemented method of detecting a power path fault in an energy storage system (ESS), the method comprising: obtaining, by processing circuitry of a computer system and during charging or discharging of an energy storage system (ESS), values for one or more parameters (i.e., voltage) for each energy storage element of a plurality of energy storage elements (elements B1-B4, Fig. 2) of the ESS; determining, by the processing circuitry and for at least one parameter of the one or more parameters, a deviation of the value of the at least one parameter for a first energy storage element of the plurality of energy storage elements from an aggregate function value (i.e., average voltage value) (see pars. [0086-0094]), comprising forming the aggregate function value based on values of at least one parameter of the one or more parameters for one or more other energy storage elements of the plurality of energy storage elements than the first energy storage element (see pars. [0086-0094]), and determining, by the processing circuitry, that the deviation is beyond a first threshold value (i.e., reference value) and, in response thereto, detecting a power path fault (i.e., connection failure) pertinent to the first energy storage element (see pars. [0086-0094]).
Regarding claim 15, Lee et al. discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions, which when executed by processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to perform the method (see pars. [0168-0169]).
Claims 1 and 3-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshioka et al. (US 10,539,626).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshioka et al. discloses a device for power path fault detection in an energy storage system (ESS) (see Fig. 1), the device comprising circuitry configured to: obtain, during charging or discharging of an energy storage system (ESS), values for one or more parameters (i.e., voltage or SOC) for each energy storage element of a plurality of energy storage elements (elements B1-B10, Fig. 1) of the ESS; determine, for at least one parameter of the one or more parameters, a deviation of the value of the at least one parameter for a first energy storage element of the plurality of energy storage elements from an aggregate function value (i.e., average SOC, minimum cell voltage), wherein the aggregate function value is formed based on values of at least one parameter of the one or more parameters for one or more other energy storage elements of the plurality of energy storage elements than the first energy storage element (see col. 11, line 5 through col. 12, line 35 and Fig. 6); determine that the deviation is beyond a first threshold value (i.e., threshold X3), and, in response thereto, detect a power path fault (i.e., abnormality) pertinent to the first energy storage element (see col. 11, line 5 through col. 12, line 35 and Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 3, Yoshioka et al. discloses a device, wherein detecting the power path fault further comprises determining that the value of the at least one parameter for the first energy storage element is either bounded by or beyond a second threshold value (i.e., threshold X2) (see col. 11, line 5 through col. 12, line 35 and Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 4, Yoshioka et al. discloses a device, wherein the at least one parameter for the first energy storage element comprises at least one of State-of-Charge (SoC); voltage; internal impedance (see col. 11, line 5 through col. 12, line 35 and Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5, Yoshioka et al. discloses a device, wherein the voltage is one or more of battery cell voltage and battery pack voltage (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Yoshioka et al. discloses a device, wherein the internal impedance is or comprises direct current internal resistance (DCIR) (see col. 10, lines 58-65)
Regarding claim 7, Yoshioka et al. discloses a device, configured to determine such a deviation for each of a plurality of different parameters or parameter combinations for the first energy storage element, and to detect the power path fault in response to determining that each of said deviations is beyond a respective first threshold value (see col. 11, line 5 through col. 12, line 35 and Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 8, Yoshioka et al. discloses a device, wherein the plurality of different parameters for the first energy storage element comprises at least two of voltage, current, state-of-charge (SoC), and internal impedance (see col. 11, line 5 through col. 12, line 35 and Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 9, Yoshioka et al. discloses a device, wherein the aggregate function comprises an average of the at least one parameter for the one or more other energy storage elements (see col. 11, line 5 through col. 12, line 35 and Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 10, Yoshioka et al. discloses a device, wherein the plurality of energy storage elements is a plurality of battery packs, battery cells and/or battery modules (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Yoshioka et al. discloses a device, further configured to, in response to detecting the power path fault, trigger or cause at least one of a disconnection of the first energy storage element and a warning signal issued to an operator of the ESS (see col. 11, line 5 through col. 12, line 35 and Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 12, Yoshioka et al. discloses an energy storage system (element U, Fig. 1), ESS, comprising a plurality of energy storage elements and the device for detecting a power path fault pertinent to at least one of said energy storage elements (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Yoshioka et al. discloses a vehicle (i.e., unmanned carrier 10, Fig. 1), comprising the energy storage system (ESS) (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, Yoshioka et al. discloses a computer-implemented method of detecting a power path fault in an energy storage system (ESS) (element U, Fig. 1), the method comprising: obtaining, by processing circuitry of a computer system and during charging or discharging of an energy storage system (ESS), values for one or more parameters (i.e., voltage or SOC) for each energy storage element of a plurality of energy storage elements (elements B1-B10, Fig. 1) of the ESS; determining, by the processing circuitry and for at least one parameter of the one or more parameters, a deviation of the value of the at least one parameter for a first energy storage element of the plurality of energy storage elements from an aggregate function value (i.e., average SOC, minimum cell voltage) (see col. 11, line 5 through col. 12, line 35 and Fig. 6), comprising forming the aggregate function value based on values of at least one parameter of the one or more parameters for one or more other energy storage elements of the plurality of energy storage elements than the first energy storage element (see col. 11, line 5 through col. 12, line 35 and Fig. 6), and determining, by the processing circuitry, that the deviation is beyond a first threshold value and, in response thereto, detecting a power path fault (i.e., abnormality) pertinent to the first energy storage element (see col. 11, line 5 through col. 12, line 35 and Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 15, Yoshioka et al. discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions, which when executed by processing circuitry [i.e., central processing unit (CPU)], cause the processing circuitry to perform the method (see col. 5, lines 20-26).
Contact Information
/WALTER L LINDSAY JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/M.G/Examiner, Art Unit 2852
9/29/2026