DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 and 10-20 of copending Application No. 18/328,989 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the common claims overlaps and it is known that the basis weight of the tissues of the copending application are known to be within the claimed range and therefore, such property is inherent to the tissues of the copending application or at the very least obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/925,260 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the common claims overlaps and it is known that the basis weight of the tissues of the copending application are known to be within the claimed range and therefore, such property is inherent to the tissues of the copending application or at the very least obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Note that the only difference is that the co-pending application recites a sanitary tissue product instead of a paper towel roll, yet sanitary tissues by definition covers bath tissues and towels and thus the sanitary tissues of the copending application includes paper towels as-well.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,952,724 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims overlaps and thus the US patent can be used to reject the claims of the current application. Note that claim 3 recites basis weight falling within the claimed range. Which evidences that the tissues/towels have basis weight in the same range.
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,700,979 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the common claims overlaps and it is known that the basis weight of the tissues of the copending application are known to be within the claimed range and therefore, such property is inherent to the tissues of the copending application or at the very least obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,633,076 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the common claims overlaps and it is known that the basis weight of the tissues of the copending application are known to be within the claimed range and therefore, such property is inherent to the tissues of the copending application or at the very least obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Note that the only difference is that the co-pending application recites a sanitary tissue product instead of a paper towel roll, yet the webs have the same or overlapping and thus the paper towel could be used as a sanitary tissue as-well. Note that the limitation on the tissue being made by a through-air-drying process is common in the art and obvious. Moreover, this is also evidenced by claims 10 and 11 of the current application that teach a through-air-dried web.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,447,916 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims overlaps and thus the US patent can be used to reject the claims of the current application.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,152,347 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the common claims overlaps and it is known that the basis weight of the tissues of the copending application are known to be within the claimed range and therefore, such property is inherent to the tissues of the copending application or at the very least obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Note that the current application follows the Roll Density vs Moment of Inertia relationship of the United State Patent as evidenced when using the moment of inertial values of claims 3 and 4. Note also that claims 3 and 4 evidences that the scope of the Moment of Inertia and Rol Density fall within eth claimed range.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,416,118 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims overlaps and thus the US patent can be used to reject the claims of the current application.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,520,973 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the common claims overlaps and it is known that the basis weight of the tissues of the copending application are known to be within the claimed range and therefore, such property is inherent to the tissues of the copending application or at the very least obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolkowicz et al, (hereafter Wolkowicz), US Patent No. 6,746,569 B1 as evidenced by Applicants Admission of Prior Art, (hereafter AAPA).
With regard to claims 1-3, 5 and 18-19, Wolkowicz teaches roll of papers including tissues and towels, having properties falling within the range of claim 1, i.e., Roll Density, Roll Diameter, as evidenced by AAPPA, page 17; see below:
As can be seen the roll diameter is greater than 6.5 and shows Roll Diameter of 8 inches in all instances, the roll density is less than 0.100 g/cm3 for samples 4A-4B-prior art. The process of making the roll is disclosed on column 5, lines 31-41, which is common way of making a roll of paper, i.e., convoluting the web onto a core, and doing so for the prior art product disclosed by Wolkowicz is at the very least obvious. Figure 2 shows a roll convoluted onto a core.
Regarding to claim 4, Sample 4B shows moment of inertia which is greater than 2.0 g*m2; see table above.
With regard to claim 6, Wolkowicz shows that Example 4A has a core diameter of 1.5 inches that falls within the claimed range; see column 11, lines 45-55.
With regard to claims 7, while the reference does not explicitly teach the coefficient of friction, this property is considered to be inherent to the tissues of the reference, since they have all the other properties in the same range, or at the very least modifying the web to have the coefficient of friction falling within the claimed range would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With regard to claims 8-11 and 14, creping, embossing, perforating the web and adding papermaking additives, such as wet-strength agents, are common operations on the art1 and considered obvious absent a showing of unexpected results.
Regarding to claim 12, Wolkowicz teaches the making of single and multi-ply products; see column 4, lines 56-63, and therefore, making multi-ply product from the 4A web would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since he/she would have reasonable expectation of success if webs were plied to make a multi-ply product.
With regard to claim 13, since all the paper products have at least some permanent wet strengths, i.e., they won’t lose all its strength when wet and since no limits/range have been recited/claimed, then this limitation is inherently met.
Regarding to claims 15-17, packaging the products into multiple or single roll and wrapping it a film, or included in carton board, corrugated board, etc., are the common ways to present the final product to the consumer, including the intermediate consumer, i.e., the warehouses, supermarket, etc., and the final consumer, people buying the product, and thus presenting the product as claimed would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With regard to claim 20, Wolkowicz teaches that embossing increases the sheet bulk, but weakens the sheet which is detrimental; see column 3, lines 48-57. However, it is well-known that papermakers work based on trade-offs, i.e., papermakers know that the change of a property will affect other(s) and thus work on the balancing of the properties. Therefore, embossing of the web taught by Wolkowicz would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since he/she would have reasonable expectation of success if the web were embossed. This is more evident by the fact that the embossing increases bulk, which decreases the density, i.e., bulk=1/density, hence the density of the sheet/web of the reference is even lower than the ones of the table and thus falling within the claimed range.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in the art of “Rolled Paper Towels.”
/JOSE A FORTUNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748
JAF
1 Again, the examiner takes official notice and will present evidence if required.