DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/11/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 8-12, 14, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LU (No. US-20140085472-A1 “Lu”) in view of BEAN (No. US-20040129491-A1 “Bean”).
Regrading claim 1, Lu teaches “A computer system comprising processing circuitry configured to:” (system and/or processing .... circuitry; Para 0092);
“display a first pivot point indicia associated with the first pivot point;” (may provide a simple top-down dynamic icon or iconistic view that depicts the vehicle-trailer system behavior in real-time... displayed images may be superimposed over a portion of the mirror camera views so that the driver can see the needed view of the trailer as well as understand the effects of the selected steering wheel positions; Para 0008);
“display a second pivot point indicia associated with the second pivot point.” (provides a dynamic real-time depiction of the vehicle and trailer trajectories so that the driver can immediately see future paths of both the vehicle and the trailer as the vehicle steering wheel is turned; Para 0080); (FIG. 15 is a schematic showing a dynamic icon top view of a vehicle and trailer icon and showing the projected path of the trailer icon based on the current steering wheel angle; Para 0025);
However, while Lu fails to teach “process first parameter data associated with a vehicle and a first operation of said vehicle to determine a first pivot point of the vehicle” and “process second parameter data associated with the vehicle and a second operation of said vehicle to determine a second pivot point of the vehicle changed from the first pivot point, and”.
Bean teaches “process first parameter data associated with a vehicle and a first operation of said vehicle to determine a first pivot point of the vehicle;” (a plurality of steering modes... a steering angle for each steering wheel is determined according to a steering angle of an inside front wheel on a turn-by-turn basis. ... a projected vehicle pivot point is determined; Para 0007); (Wheel angle sensors 42 detect the turn angle of each wheel 20 to provide optimal traction control on a turn-by-turn basis; Para 0027);
“process second parameter data associated with the vehicle and a second operation of said vehicle to determine a second pivot point of the vehicle changed from the first pivot point, and” (a plurality of steering modes... a steering angle for each steering wheel is determined according to a steering angle of an inside front wheel on a turn-by-turn basis. ... a projected vehicle pivot point is determined; Para 0007); (Wheel angle sensors 42 detect the turn angle of each wheel 20 to provide optimal traction control on a turn-by-turn basis; Para 0027);
Lu discloses displaying the turning behavior associated with the vehicle current steering angel. Lu also dynamically updates and the steering angle changes, combined with Bean’s pivot point, Lu would display a graphical indication for the pivot points, first and second pivot point. While it does expressly say pivot point indicia, Bean supplies the calculated pivot point.
Bean discloses determining a pivot point from a vehicle. The pivot point is calculated based on the steering configuration and the “turn-by-turn basis” responding to the operation of the vehicle. Bean can recalculate the vehicle pivot on a turn-by-turn basis provide different pivot point equations according to steering mode. In combination with Lu establishing changing vehicle behavior based on the current steering angle. While Lu does not explicitly mention a first and second pivot point indicia, the display dynamically updates as the steering state changes and combining Bean’s determined pivot point would showcase an updated graphical indication corresponding to the changed pivot point.
Lu and Bean are analogous art as both of them are related to pivot configurations for vehicles.
The motivation for the above is to have accurate turning and steering configuration for better operation and usage of vehicle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Lu by process first parameter data associated with a vehicle and a first operation of said vehicle to determine a first pivot point of the vehicle and process second parameter data associated with the vehicle and a second operation of said vehicle to determine a second pivot point of the vehicle changed from the first pivot point as taught by Bean.
Regarding claim 2, Lu teaches “The computer system of claim 1, wherein the vehicle comprises a trailer.” (a trailer being pulled behind a vehicle; Para 0004);
Regarding claim 4, while Lu fails to teach claim 4, Bean teaches “The computer system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to process the first and second parameter data to identify a current steering angle of the vehicle and a current driving direction of the vehicle, and wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the first and second pivot point based on the current steering angle and the current driving direction of the vehicle.” (determined according to a steering angle of an inside front wheel on a turn-by-turn basis; Para 0007); (a projected vehicle pivot point is determined by an intercept of a line drawn perpendicularly through the center of the inside front wheel; Para 0008); (drive and steering functions are controlled according to signals from the switches; Para 0009);
Bean discloses using steering angle in connection to the vehicle’s turning calculations. As well as drive and steering functions of the vehicle in connection to the determined pivot point. Bean also supplies pivot point calculation from the inside wheel and its steering geometry which affect the determined pivot point.
The motivation for the above is to have accurate data collection for better operation and usage of vehicle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Lu by processing circuitry is configured to process the first and second parameter data to identify a current steering angle of the vehicle and a current driving direction of the vehicle, and wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the first and second pivot point based on the current steering angle and the current driving direction of the vehicle as taught by Bean.
Regarding claim 8, Bean teaches “The computer system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to process the first and second parameter data to identify one or more geometrical indicator value associated with the geometry of the vehicle and based on said one or more geometrical indicator value determine a geometrical model of the vehicle, and wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the first and second pivot point based on said geometrical model.” (L 2: length between front and rear kingpins. .... L 3: length between left and right kingpins; Para 0036-0037); (α: length from kingpin to wheel center (used when calculating wheel turn radius); Para 0034); (a midpoint between the front and rear axle assemblies; Para 0007); (a midpoint between the axles of the two rear axle assemblies; Para 0008); (The variables defined in FIG. 2 include: angle of front inner wheel ...angle of front outer wheel .... length from kingpin to wheel center .... length from rear inner wheel...length between front and rear kingpins... length between left and right kingpins.... wheel numbers.... wheel radius.... wheel circumference; Para 0031-0040);
Bean discloses numerical geometrical indicators describing the vehicles axle/wheel configuration. These are used in the vehicle’s steering calculations. The geometrical values of the vehicle correspond to calculating the pivot geometry. Fig.2 also showcases the variables which model the vehicle’s axle/wheel geometry. The variables constitute a geometrical model of a vehicle which teaches the claimed subject matter. Using the variables that determine the geometrical model of the vehicle, it would be obvious to use to calculate the pivot point geometry of the vehicle based on wheel configurations.
The motivation for the above is to accurate calculations of pivot point geometry of the vehicle for better geometrical model display.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Lu by processing circuitry is configured to process the first and second parameter data to identify one or more geometrical indicator value associated with the geometry of the vehicle and based on said one or more geometrical indicator value determine a geometrical model of the vehicle, and wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the first and second pivot point based on said geometrical model as taught by Bean.
Regarding claim 9, Lu teaches “The computer system of claim 1, further comprising a user interface comprising a display device, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to display the first and second pivot point indicia on said display device.” (provide displayed images at a display device 16′ for viewing by the driver of the vehicle; Para 0066);
Regarding claim 10, Lu teaches “A vehicle comprising the computer system of claim 1.” (systems are known for use in vehicles; Para 0003);
Regarding claim 11, Lu teaches “The vehicle of claim 9, further comprising a camera monitoring system configured to monitor a zone in connection to the vehicle and operatively connected to the computer system, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to obtain an image feed from the camera monitoring system and the processing circuitry is configured to display the first and second pivot point indicia as an overlay in said image feed.” (cameras (such as a rearward facing imaging sensor or camera 14 a′ and/or a forwardly facing camera 14 b′ at the front (or at the windshield) of the vehicle; Para 0066); (a simple top-down dynamic icon or iconistic view that depicts the vehicle-trailer system behavior in real-time .... displayed images may be superimposed over a portion of the mirror camera views so that the driver can see the needed view of the trailer; Para 0008);
Lu discloses cameras of the system that capture the views of the vehicle. In combination to the Bean’s additionally teachings of the vehicle’s calculated pivot point, this teaches the claimed subject matter, displaying a first and second pivot point as an overlay in feed.
Regarding claim 12, Lu teaches “The vehicle of claim 11, wherein the camera monitoring system forms a part of a digital side view mirror system and/or rearview mirror system.” (displayed images may be superimposed over a portion of the mirror camera views so that the driver can see the needed view of the trailer; Para 0008); (such as a rearward facing camera 120 a at the rear of the trailer and sidewardly facing cameras 120 b, 120 c at the sides of the trailer; Para 0075);
Claim 14 is directed to a computer implemented method and its limitations are similar in scope and functions performed by the computer system of claim 1. Therefore, claim 14 limitations are also rejected with the same rationale as regarding claim 1.
Claim 16 is directed to a computer implemented method and its limitations are similar in scope and functions performed by the computer system of claim 4. Therefore, claim 16 limitations are also rejected with the same rationale as regarding claim 4.
Claim 18 is directed to a computer implemented method and its limitations are similar in scope and functions performed by the computer system of claim 8. Therefore, claim 18 limitations are also rejected with the same rationale as regarding claim 8.
Claim(s) 3 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LU in view of BEAN and in further view of CZLAPINSKI (No. US-20160139599-A1 “Czlapinski”).
Regrading claim 3, while Lu and Bean fail to teach all of claim 3, Czlapinski teaches “The computer system of claim 2, wherein the vehicle comprises one or more articulated trailer and the processing circuitry is configured to determine a first and second pivot point and display a first and second pivot point indicia for each articulated trailer.” (a trailer of a tractor-trailer, which are connected together by a coupling which provides a vertical axis about which the towed vehicle can swing relative to the towing vehicle; Para 0002); (calculates an estimate of a turning radius using certain information about one or more of the axle groups. ... a turning radius calculation may be used for additional calculations, the articulation angle between tractor and trailer being one example, and/or control functions. Rate of change of the turning radius and/or rate of change of the articulation angle can be calculated; Para 0011);
Czlapinski discloses an articulated trailer as well as a turning radius corresponding to a center of rotation that supports determine the pivot point of the trailer, thus teaches the claimed subject matter. In combination to Lu’s teaching of graphical display of pivot points, Czlapinski supplies the calculation of the trailer’s turning geometry.
Lu, Bean and Czlapinski are analogous art as they are related to vehicle trailer and pivot geometry.
The motivation for the above is to have accurate calculations for pivot geometry for better vehicle operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Lu and Bean by wherein the vehicle comprises one or more articulated trailer and the processing circuitry is configured to determine a first and second pivot point and display a first and second pivot point indicia for each articulated trailer as taught by Czlapinski.
Claim 15 is directed to a computer implemented method and its limitations are similar in scope and functions performed by the computer system of claim 3. Therefore, claim 15 limitations are also rejected with the same rationale as regarding claim 3.
Claim(s) 5-6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LU in view of BEAN and in further view of MANTINI (No. US-20030155164-A1 “Mantini”).
Regrading claim 5, while Lu and Bean fail to teach all of claim 5, Mantini teaches “The computer system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to process the first and second parameter data to identify one or more load indicator value associated with the load distribution of the vehicle and based on said one or more load indicator value determine a load distribution model of the vehicle, and wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the first and second pivot point based on said load distribution model.” (The driver uses the system to determine the weight on each axle group as determined by pressure sensors; Para 0036); (system is programmed to calculate the changes of the axle group on which the weight is decreased based on a mathematical model depending on the number of axles and the configuration of the vehicle; Para 0038); (a percentage of the weight that has been shifted to/from the trailer; Para 0043); (Position sensors 33 determine the location of the axle groups. The ECU 27 is programmed to take this information and determine the optimum location of the axle groups; Para 0036);
Mantini discloses axle weights which corresponds to the load indicator values associated with vehicle load. As well as models changes on the weight distribution using axle configurations and load information which corresponds to the load distribution model of the vehicle. While Mantini doesn’t expressly calculate the pivot points from the load distribution, Mantini determines load distribution calculations, while Bean supplies the vehicle pivot point from axle geometry. This combination provides the pivot calculation from the load values thus teaching the claim subject matter.
Lu, Bean and Mantini are analogous art as they are related to vehicle trailer and pivot geometry.
The motivation for the above is to give additional information for easier calculations of vehicle turns.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Lu and Bean by processing circuitry is configured to process the first and second parameter data to identify one or more load indicator value associated with the load distribution of the vehicle and based on said one or more load indicator value determine a load distribution model of the vehicle, and wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the first and second pivot point based on said load distribution model as taught by Mantini.
Regrading claim 6, while Lu and Bean fail to teach all of claim 6, Mantini teaches “The computer system of claim 5, wherein the one or more load indicator value comprises at least one of a value associated with the type of wheel axles of the vehicle, number of wheel axles of the vehicle, the position of the wheel axles of the vehicle, the load on the wheel axles of the vehicle, the status of one or more liftable wheel axles of the vehicle, the number of wheels of the vehicle or the tire pressure of the tires of the vehicle.” (system to determine the weight on each axle group... Position sensors 33 determine the location of the axle groups. The ECU 27 is programmed to take this information and determine the optimum location of the axle groups; Para 0036); (system is programmed to calculate the changes of the axle group on which the weight is decreased based on a mathematical model depending on the number of axles and the configuration of the vehicle; Para 0038);
Mantini discloses at least number of axles, position of the axle groups and load on the axles, thus teaching the claimed subject matter.
The motivation for the above is to have different load indicators for easier calculations of vehicle turns.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Lu and Bean by wherein the one or more load indicator value comprises at least one of a value associated with the type of wheel axles of the vehicle, number of wheel axles of the vehicle, the position of the wheel axles of the vehicle, the load on the wheel axles of the vehicle, the status of one or more liftable wheel axles of the vehicle, the number of wheels of the vehicle or the tire pressure of the tires of the vehicle as taught by Mantini.
Claim 17 is directed to a computer implemented method and its limitations are similar in scope and functions performed by the computer system of claim 5. Therefore, claim 17 limitations are also rejected with the same rationale as regarding claim 5.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LU in view of BEAN and in further view of MANTINI and in further view of REGNELL (No. US-20030155164-A1 “Regnell”).
Regrading claim 7, while Lu, Bean and Mantini fail to teach all of claim 7, Regnell teaches “The computer system of claim 5, wherein the vehicle comprises a trailer with at least two rear wheel axles and the processing circuitry is configured to process the first and second parameter data to identify a first load indicator value associated with the load on a first rear wheel axle of the trailer and a second load indicator value associated with the load on a second rear wheel axle of the trailer and determine the first and second pivot point based on said first and second load indicator value.” (two or more rear axles; Para 0005); (load sensor means arranged at each of said axles for detecting one or more load indication parameters, said load sensor means providing said parameters to said suspension control processor which translates the parameters into actual axle load values for the individual axles; Para 0007); (compensates for the front axle overload by altering the load distribution from a 50/50 split on the rear axles to a 60/40 split, whereby the theoretical wheelbase TWB is decreased from TWB 1 to TWB 2; Para 0044);
Regnell discloses individual axle load values from a load sensor associated with each axle and producing an actual load value from each individual axle. They also disclose two real axles each with an associated load, which teaches the first and second load indicator values. While not expressly mention a pivot point, it mentions theoretical wheelbase which changed according to the load carried by the rear axles in combination with Bean calculations of the pivot point that correspond to the vehicle’s axles.
Lu, Bean, Mantini and Regnell are analogous art as they are related to vehicle trailer and pivot geometry.
The motivation for the above is to have real wheel axles and accurate load indicators for easier calculations of vehicle pivots.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Lu, Bean and Mantini by wherein the vehicle comprises a trailer with at least two rear wheel axles and the processing circuitry is configured to process the first and second parameter data to identify a first load indicator value associated with the load on a first rear wheel axle of the trailer and a second load indicator value associated with the load on a second rear wheel axle of the trailer and determine the first and second pivot point based on said first and second load indicator value as taught by Regnell.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LU in view of BEAN and in further view of CZLAPINSKI and in further view of MANTINI.
Regrading claim 13, Lu further teaches “The vehicle of claim 10, wherein the computer system further comprises a user interface comprising a display device, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to display the first and second pivot point indicia on said display device,” (provide displayed images at a display device 16′ for viewing by the driver of the vehicle; Para 0066);
“the vehicle further comprising a camera monitoring system configured to monitor a zone in connection to the vehicle and operatively connected to the user interface, wherein the display device is configured to present an image feed from the camera monitoring system and the processing circuitry is configured to display the first and second pivot point indicia as an overlay in said image feed,” (cameras (such as a rearward facing imaging sensor or camera 14 a′ and/or a forwardly facing camera 14 b′ at the front (or at the windshield) of the vehicle; Para 0066); (a simple top-down dynamic icon or iconistic view that depicts the vehicle-trailer system behavior in real-time .... displayed images may be superimposed over a portion of the mirror camera views so that the driver can see the needed view of the trailer; Para 0008);
“wherein the camera monitoring system forms a part of a digital side view mirror and/or rearview mirror system,” (displayed images may be superimposed over a portion of the mirror camera views so that the driver can see the needed view of the trailer; Para 0008); (such as a rearward facing camera 120 a at the rear of the trailer and sidewardly facing cameras 120 b, 120 c at the sides of the trailer; Para 0075);
However, while Lu and Bean fails to teach “wherein the vehicle comprises a trailer and a tractor, wherein the trailer is connected to the tractor via an articulated connection”, “wherein the processing circuitry is configured to process the first and second parameter data to identify a current steering angle of the vehicle and a current driving direction of the vehicle and identify one or more load indicator value associated with the current load distribution of the vehicle and based on said one or more load indicator value determine a load distribution model of the vehicle” and “whereby the processing circuitry is configured to determine the first and second pivot point based on the current steering angle and the current driving direction of the vehicle and said load distribution model.”
Czlapinski teaches “wherein the vehicle comprises a trailer and a tractor, wherein the trailer is connected to the tractor via an articulated connection,” (such as a tractor of a tractor-trailer, and a towed vehicle, such a trailer of a tractor-trailer, which are connected together; Para 0002);
Czlapinski discloses an articulated trailer as well as a turning radius corresponding to a center of rotation that supports determine the pivot point of the trailer, thus teaches the claimed subject matter. In combination to Lu’s teaching of graphical display of pivot points, Czlapinski supplies the calculation of the trailer’s turning geometry.
However, while Lu and Czlapinski fail to teach “wherein the processing circuitry is configured to process the first and second parameter data to identify a current steering angle of the vehicle and a current driving direction of the vehicle and identify one or more load indicator value associated with the current load distribution of the vehicle and based on said one or more load indicator value determine a load distribution model of the vehicle” and “whereby the processing circuitry is configured to determine the first and second pivot point based on the current steering angle and the current driving direction of the vehicle and said load distribution model.”
Bean teaches “wherein the processing circuitry is configured to process the first and second parameter data to identify a current steering angle of the vehicle and a current driving direction of the vehicle and” (determined according to a steering angle of an inside front wheel on a turn-by-turn basis; Para 0007); (a projected vehicle pivot point is determined by an intercept of a line drawn perpendicularly through the center of the inside front wheel; Para 0008); (drive and steering functions are controlled according to signals from the switches; Para 0009);
While Mantini teaches “identify one or more load indicator value associated with the current load distribution of the vehicle and based on said one or more load indicator value determine a load distribution model of the vehicle,” (The driver uses the system to determine the weight on each axle group as determined by pressure sensors; Para 0036); (system is programmed to calculate the changes of the axle group on which the weight is decreased based on a mathematical model depending on the number of axles and the configuration of the vehicle; Para 0038); (a percentage of the weight that has been shifted to/from the trailer; Para 0043); (Position sensors 33 determine the location of the axle groups. The ECU 27 is programmed to take this information and determine the optimum location of the axle groups; Para 0036);
Mantini discloses axle weights which corresponds to the load indicator values associated with vehicle load. As well as models changes on the weight distribution using axle configurations and load information which corresponds to the load distribution model of the vehicle. While Mantini doesn’t expressly calculate the pivot points from the load distribution, Mantini determines load distribution calculations, while Bean supplies the vehicle pivot point from axle geometry. This combination provides the pivot calculation from the load values thus teaching the claim subject matter.
Bean further teaches “whereby the processing circuitry is configured to determine the first and second pivot point based on the current steering angle and the current driving direction of the vehicle and said load distribution model.” (a projected vehicle pivot point is determined by an intercept of a line drawn perpendicularly through the center of the inside front wheel; Para 0008); (drive and steering functions are controlled according to signals from the switches; Para 0009);
Bean discloses using steering angle in connection to the vehicle’s turning calculations. As well as drive and steering functions of the vehicle in connection to the determined pivot point. Bean also supplies pivot point calculation from the inside wheel and its steering geometry which affect the determined pivot point. In combination with Mantini teaching of load distribution model, it would be obvious to combine to get a first and second pivot geometry for the vehicle. Mantini provides the axle load distribution model that can be used to teach the claimed subject matter with Bean adding the determination of pivot points for the vehicle.
Lu, Bean, Czlapinski and Mantini are analogous art as they are related to vehicle trailer and pivot geometry.
The motivation for the above is to have accurate calculations of data for better operation of vehicle through pivot geometry.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Lu and Bean by wherein the vehicle comprises a trailer and a tractor, wherein the trailer is connected to the tractor via an articulated connection as taught by Czlapinski and by wherein the processing circuitry is configured to process the first and second parameter data to identify a current steering angle of the vehicle and a current driving direction of the vehicle and identify one or more load indicator value associated with the current load distribution of the vehicle and based on said one or more load indicator value determine a load distribution model of the vehicle and whereby the processing circuitry is configured to determine the first and second pivot point based on the current steering angle and the current driving direction of the vehicle and said load distribution model as taught by Bean modifed with Mantini.
Claim(s) 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LU in view of BEAN and in further view of AKOI (No. US-20220348253-A1 “Akoi”).
Regrading claim 19, Akoi teaches “A computer program product comprising program code for performing, when executed by the processing circuitry, the method of claim 14.” (the computer program product .... when executed by at least one processor; Para 0007);
Lu, Bean and Akoi are analogous art as they are related to steering information and vehicle trailer configurations.
The motivation for the above is to have an efficient program for vehicle calculations and configuration of system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Lu and Bean by a computer program product comprising program code for performing, when executed by the processing circuitry as taught by Akoi.
Regarding claim 20, Akoi teaches “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions, which when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to perform the method of claim 14.” (one non-transitory computer readable medium and comprising instructions configured to, when executed by at least one processor; Para 0007);
The motivation for the above is to have an efficient storing of instructions for vehicle calculations and configuration of system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Lu and Bean by a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions, which when executed by the processing circuitry as taught by Akoi.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20200164920-A1 (Maruoka) – Discloses acquiring first coupling information representing a current coupling posture of a towed vehicle to a towing vehicle and acquire second coupling information representing a future coupling posture of the towed vehicle where the towing vehicle moves backward at a current steering angle; and display a first indicator and a second indicator on a display device in a comparable mode, the first indicator indicating the towed vehicle corresponding to the first coupling information, the second indicator indicating the towed vehicle corresponding to the second coupling information.
US-20220227399-A1 (Kneip) – Discloses operating a driver assistance system of an electrically driven motor vehicle includes providing a first and a second driving mode and setting the first driving mode or the second driving mode via an actuating device by a single user input.
US-20230324198-A1 (Abdel-Rahman) – Discloses providing guidance when reversing a vehicle towing a trailer. In one embodiment, a method includes: storing, in a data storage device, parameters associated with the vehicle and the trailer; when the vehicle towing the trailer is determined to be operating in reverse, receiving image data associated with an environment of the vehicle.
US-20210122415-A1 (Critchley) – Discloses a trailer reverse assist system includes a coupler angle detection sensor to detect a zero-degree angle of the trailer relative to the vehicle. A drift controller receives signals from vehicle dynamics sensors. The drift controller is electrically connected with a trailer reverse assist module.
US-20190322317-A1 (Pourrezaei) – Discloses a hitch angle module determines a hitch angle based on an input from at least one of a vehicle rear camera and a hitch angle sensor. The hitch angle is an angle between a longitudinal centerline of a trailer and a longitudinal centerline of a vehicle. A trailer load sensor measures a load on a trailer hitch of the vehicle. A trailer wheel speed sensor measures a wheel speed of the trailer.
US-20160001705-A1 (Greenwood) – Discloses a vehicle towing a trailer is fitted with three video cameras fitted to the rear of the vehicle and on each door mirror. A view from any camera can be presented to the driver on a display. A predicted trailer path, calculated in a computing unit, is also presented to the driver on the display as guide lines overlaid on the camera view. The computing unit is also configured to calculate a hitch angle by tracking the position of a trailer-mounted marker in the camera view.
DE-102005051804-A1 (Gloger) – Discloses a driver assistance system used on board articulated vehicles allows a steering guide for reversing to be provided. Information is provided by cameras mounted on the vehicle together with steering and trailer angles.
WO-2024081306-A1 (Lacaze) – Discloses a automated trailer metric computation that is utilized to determine a trailer pivot pointer or center of rotation of a trailer, and to guide and/or conduct trailer maneuvers.
/B.D.P./Examiner, Art Unit 2612
/Said Broome/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2612