DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This Office Action is in response to reply dated August 19, 2026. Claims 1-14 and 16-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 11-14, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnan (US 2021/0382474 A1) in view of Young (US 2021/0241595 A1) and Kosich (US 5,982,275 A).
Regarding claim 1, Krishnan discloses a remote computing device for a building system (see at least Figure 1, items 14 and 16 | [0037] note the building management system 10 includes a building site 12 and a (remote) computing device 14, such as a cloud-based server, wherein the (remote) computing device 14 is in communication with a building management system 16, such as a HVAC, security and/or lighting system), comprising:
a virtual controller storing control logic that when executed (see at least Figures 1-2, items 24a-24c, 32, 38 | [0040] note virtual controllers 24 | [0043] note the virtual controllers 24/32 includes control logic 38), causes the virtual controller to:
receive a first indication of a first building event from a standalone building sensing device (see at least Figure 1, item 20 | [0040] note an edge controller 20 that communicates directly with a virtual controller, and not via a gateway 22, is considered a standalone sensing device | [0059] note one or more edge controllers 20 can be mapped to a single virtual controller 24 | [0060] note an edge controller 20 can be part of a building control device 18/40/212, and configured to (directly) provide a virtual controller 24 with one or more sensed conditions, one or more operating states and/or one or more alarms at a first specific location | [0037] note various building systems);
receive a second indication of a second building event from a building control module, wherein the building control module is located at a separate physical location from the standalone building sensing device (see at least Figure 1, items 18 and 20 | [0040] note the edge controller 20 can communicate indirectly with the same virtual controller 24 | [0059] note one or more edge controllers 20 can be mapped to a single virtual controller 24 | [0060] note the edge controller 20 can be in communication with a second building control device 18/40/212, and configured to (directly) provide the virtual controller 24 with one or more sensed conditions, one or more operating states and/or one or more alarms from a second specific location | [0037] note various building systems; and
send a control command to the standalone building sensing device and to the building control module to initiate a response to the first building alarm event by the standalone building sensing device and the second building event by the building control module (see at least [0004] | [0037] note building management system components have sensors | [0046] note the virtual controller 24/32 may receive one or more of the sensed values/conditions directly or indirectly from an edge controller 20/44, and further note the control logic 38 of the virtual controller 24/32 may use the one or more sensed values/conditions in determining control commands to be sent to the edge controller 20/44 to control a respective building control device 18/40/212 | [0068] note virtual controller 24/32/326 is configured to send control commands to the building control device 18/40/212/324 in accordance with the sensor value/condition received).
However, Krishnan does not specifically disclose a fire alarm system, a first fire alarm event, a first sensing device, a second fire alarm event and a fire loop control module.
It is known for buildings to utilize fire alarm systems. For example, Young teaches a system comprising a fire alarm system, a first fire alarm event, a first sensing device, a second fire alarm event, a fire loop control module and sending a control command one, two or all devices (see at least Figure 1, items 100, 118 and 112 | Figure 6, items 602a, 602b, 618 and 603 | [0064] note the first system 100, see Figure 1, comprises at least one fire detection device 118, at least one fire notification device 114, at least one fire suppression device 116 and at least one fire alarm control panel 112 | [0076-0077] note the building 10 is divided into zones where a plurality of addressable sensors 608-611 generate fire detections signals comprising zone information | [0115-0117] note operating commands to actuate any one, or a combination (all), of the fire suppression devices 616 and fire response devices 704 | [0012] note a hard logic device 602b can couple to an existing fire alarm control panel 112 of a building 10, see Figure 1, to provide integration with a SDACU | [0080] note the SDACU is implemented using a server, which may be a virtual server | [0072-0073] note all fire notification devices 114 and/or fire suppression devices can be activated in response to determining fire is present at a location based on a plurality of fire alarm event IDs and locations of a building 10, or only certain fire notification devices 114 and/or fire suppression devices can be activated based on proximity to the fire).
With respect to the other limitations, Kosich teaches a fire alarm control panel that causes multiple fire devices connected in a common circuit or loop to flash simultaneously or at the same time (see at least col. 13, line 59-67).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Young and Kosich into Krishnan. With respect to Young, this provides a known alternative building management system that can be used in place of Krishnan’s HVAC, security or lighting system while providing predictable results. In addition, Young provides the ability to alert all or parts of a building in response to the presence of a fire detected in one or more rooms of a building. With respect to Kosich, this provides the ability to prevent delays when controlling all of Krishnan in view of Young’s devices/modules to initiate a response.
Regarding claim 3, Krishnan in view of Young and Kosich teach wherein the virtual controller is configured to manage a plurality of fire sensing devices wired in a loop via the fire loop control module in communication with the plurality of fire sensing devices wired in the loop (see at least Figure 1, items 24, 22, 20 and 18 of Krishnan | Figure 6 of Young | [0076] of Young).
Regarding claim 4, Krishnan in view of Young and Kosich teach wherein the fire loop control module includes control logic to control the plurality of fire sensing devices wired in the loop during a failure event of the virtual controller (see at least [0045] of Krishnan, note if communication with the virtual controller 24/32 fails or is delayed, the edge controller 20, which corresponds to Young’s fire control panel 112, maintains the critical control functions of the building control device 18/40/212/324 | [0049] of Krishnan, note the edge controller 20 has control logic 56 | Figures 5-6 of Young | [0072-0073] of Young | [0012] of Young).
Regarding claim 5, Krishnan in view of Young and Kosich teach wherein the remote computing device is a cloud-based computing device (see at least Figure 1, item 14 of Krishnan | [0037] of Krishnan, note the cloud-based server 14).
Regarding claim 6, Krishnan in view of Young and Kosich teach wherein the remote computing device is wirelessly connected to the standalone fire sensing device and the fire loop control module (see at least [0039] of Krishnan, note wired or wireless | [0040] of Krishnan, note the virtual controllers 24 are hosted by the (cloud-based remote) computing device 14, and one or more of the virtual controllers 24, shown as communicating with the gateway 22, in some cases may communicate directly with at least some of the edge controllers 20).
Regarding claim 7, Krishnan discloses building management system (see at least Figure 1, item 10 | [0037] note the building management system 10 comprises a building site 12 and a (remote) computing device 14, such as a cloud-based server, wherein the (remote) computing device 14 is in communication with a building management system 16, such as a HVAC, security and/or lighting system), comprising:
a remote computing device including a central control unit and a plurality of virtual controllers (see at least Figure 1, items 26 and 24 | [0037] note the (remote) computing device 14 can be a cloud-based server | [0040] note virtual controllers 24 | [0058] note the orchestrator 26 manages the virtual controllers 24);
a gateway device in communication with the remote computing device and a plurality of control modules (see at least Figure 1, items 14, 26 and 20 | [0039] note the gateway 22 communicates with edge controllers 20 and the (remote) computing device 14 | [0045] note the edge controllers 20 include control logic 46 configured to at least selectively provide closed loop control of one or more functions of the building control device 18/40 | [0037] note the HVAC, security and/or lighting systems 16 include various building systems component 18/40); and
a different respective plurality of sensing devices in communication with each respective one of the plurality of control modules (see at least Figure 1, items 20 and 18 | [0037] note the security system 16 include various sensors and control pads 18/40),
wherein each respective one of the plurality of control modules are configured to receive control commands from a virtual controller of the plurality of virtual controllers via the gateway device for controlling the plurality of sensing devices in communication with that respective control module (see at least Figure 1, items 20, 22 and 24 | [0046] note the virtual controller 24/32 may receive one or more of the sensed values/conditions directly from an edge controller 20/44, and further note the control logic 38 of the virtual controller 24/32 may use the one or more sensed values/conditions in determining control commands to be sent to the edge controller 20/44 to control building control device 18/40/212 | [0068] note virtual controller 24/32/326 is configured to send control commands to the building control device 18/40/212/324 in accordance with the sensor value/condition received).
However, Krishan does not specifically disclose a fire alarm system; a plurality of fire loop control modules, wherein each of the plurality of fire loop control modules are located at a separate physical location; fire sensing devices in communication with each respective one of the plurality of fire loop control modules; and receive control commands simultaneously.
It is known for buildings to utilize fire alarm systems. For example, Young teaches a fire alarm system comprising a plurality of fire loop control modules, wherein each of the plurality of fire loop control modules are located at a separate physical location; fire sensing devices in communication with each respective one of the plurality of fire loop control modules; and receive control commands at one, two or all devices (see at least Figure 1, items 100, 118 and 112, note each floor of a building can have its own fire alarm control panel 112 | Figure 6, items 602a, 602b, 618 and 603 | [0064] note the first system 100, see Figure 1, comprises at least one fire detection device 118, at least one fire notification device 114, at least one fire suppression device 116 and at least one fire alarm control panel 112 | [0076-0077] note the building 10 is divided into zones where a plurality of addressable sensors 608-611 generate fire detections signals comprising zone information | [0115-0117] note operating commands to actuate any one, or a combination (all), of the fire suppression devices 616 and fire response devices 704 | [0012] note a hard logic device 602b can couple to an existing fire alarm control panel 112 of a building 10, see Figure 1, to provide integration with a SDACU | [0080] note the SDACU is implemented using a server, which may be a virtual server | [0072-0073] note all fire notification devices 114 and/or fire suppression devices can be activated in response to determining fire is present at a location based on a plurality of fire alarm event IDs and locations of a building 10, or only certain fire notification devices 114 and/or fire suppression devices can be activated based on proximity to the fire).
With respect to the other limitations, Kosich teaches a fire alarm control panel that causes multiple fire devices connected in a common circuit or loop to flash simultaneously or at the same time (see at least col. 13, line 59-67).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Young and Kosich into Krishnan. With respect to Young, this provides a known alternative building management system that can be used in place of Krishnan’s HVAC, security or lighting system while providing predictable results. In addition, Young provides the ability to alert all or parts of a building in response to the presence of a fire detected in one or more rooms of a building. With respect to Kosich, this provides the ability to prevent delays when controlling all of Krishnan in view of Young’s devices/modules to initiate a response.
Regarding claim 11, Krishnan in view of Young and Kosich teach wherein a virtual controller of the plurality of virtual controllers is configured to control a number of the plurality of fire loop control modules in parallel (see at least [0059] of Krishnan, note one or more of the plurality of edge controllers 20 can be associated with or mapped to a virtual controller 24 | [0104] of Young, note operate at least one of or a combination of fire suppression devices 616 and fire response devices 704 associated with one or more zones of a building 10, shown in Figure 1, that utilizes at least two fire alarm control panels 112).
Regarding claim 12, Krishnan in view of Young and Kosich teach wherein, during a failure event of the remote computing device, each respective one of the plurality of fire loop control modules are configured to control the plurality of fire sensing devices in communication with that respective fire loop control module (see at least [0045] of Krishnan, note if communication with the virtual controller 24/32 fails or is delayed, the smart edge controller 20 may maintain the critical control functions of the building control device 18/40 | [0012] of Young | [0072-0073] of Young | [0076] of Young).
Regarding claim 13, Krishnan in view of Young and Kosich teach wherein the central control unit includes logic to manage the plurality of virtual controllers (see at least Figure 1, items 26 and 24 of Krishnan | [0042] of Krishnan, note the orchestrator 26 manages the virtual controllers 24 | [0062] of Krishnan).
Regarding claim 14, Krishnan in view of Young and Kosich teach wherein, during a failure event of a virtual controller of the plurality of virtual controllers, the central control unit is configured to select a different virtual controller of the plurality of virtual controllers to control the fire loop control module of the plurality of fire loop control modules controlled by the virtual controller having the failure event (see at least [0062] of Krishnan, note virtual controllers 24 fail | [0059] of Krishnan, note a plurality of edge controllers 20 can be mapped to a new or different virtual controller 24).
Regarding claim 16, Krishnan discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, by a virtual controller of a security system, an indication of a first alarm event occurring via a first control module in communication with a sensing device (see at least Figure 1, items 24a, 22, 20a and 18a | [0037] note the building management system 10 comprises a building site 12 and a (remote) computing device 14, such as a cloud-based server, wherein the (remote) computing device 14 is in communication with a building management system 16, such as a security system with sensors and control pads 18a-c | [0046] note the virtual controller 24/32 may receive one or more of the sensed values/conditions directly from an edge controller 20/44, and further note the control logic 38 of the virtual controller 24/32 may use the one or more sensed values/conditions in determining control commands to be sent to the edge controller 20/44 to control building control device 18/40/212 | [0059] | [0060] note the edge controllers 20 are configured to provide one or more parameters to the virtual controller 24, wherein the one or more parameters may include, for example, one or more sensed conditions, one or more operating states and/or one or more alarms | [0068] note virtual controller 24/32/326 is configured to send control commands to the building control device 18/40/212/324 in accordance with the sensor value/condition received);
receiving, by the virtual controller of the security system, an indication of a second alarm event occurring via a second control module in communication with a sensing device at a second physical location, wherein the first physical location is separate from the second physical location (see at least Figure 1, items 24a, 22, 20b and 18b | [0037] | [0059-0060]);
determining, by the virtual controller, a response to each of the first and second alarm event (see at least [0046] note the control logic 38 of the virtual controller 24/32 may use the one or more sensed values/conditions in determining control commands to be sent to the edge controller 20/44 to control building control device 18/40/212 | [0068] note virtual controller 24/32/326 is configured to send control commands to the building control device 18/40/212/324 in accordance with the sensor value/condition received | [0045] note alarms | [0060] note the edge controllers 20 are configured to provide one or more parameters to the virtual controller 24, wherein the one or more parameters may include, for example, one or more sensed conditions, one or more operating states and/or one or more alarms); and
sending, by the virtual controller, a control command to the first control module and the second control module to initiate the response to each of the first and second alarm events by at least one of the plurality of sensing devices at the first and second physical locations (see at least [0046] note the control logic 38 of the virtual controller 24/32 may use the one or more sensed values/conditions in determining control commands to be sent to the edge controller 20/44 to control building control device 18/40/212 | [0068] note virtual controller 24/32/326 is configured to send control commands to the building control device 18/40/212/324 in accordance with the sensor value/condition received | [0045] note alarms | [0060] note the edge controllers 20 are configured to provide one or more parameters to the virtual controller 24, wherein the one or more parameters may include, for example, one or more sensed conditions, one or more operating states and/or one or more alarms).
However, Krishnan does not specifically disclose a fire system; a first fire alarm event occurring via a first fire loop control module in communication with a plurality of fire sensing devices at a first physical location; a second fire alarm event occurring via a second fire loop control module in communication with a plurality of fire sensing devices at a second physical location; and simultaneously.
It is known for buildings to utilize fire alarm systems. For example, Young teaches a fire system (100); a first fire alarm event occurring via a first fire loop control module in communication with a plurality of fire sensing devices at a first physical location (112 and 118 on the first floor); a second fire alarm event occurring via a second fire loop control module in communication with a plurality of fire sensing devices at a second physical location (112 and 118 on the first floor); and sending control commands to one, two or all fire sensing devices (see at least Figure 1, items 100, 118 and 112, note each floor of a building can have its own fire alarm control panel 112 | Figure 6, items 602a, 602b, 618 and 603 | [0064] note the first system 100, see Figure 1, comprises at least one fire detection device 118, at least one fire notification device 114, at least one fire suppression device 116 and at least one fire alarm control panel 112 | [0076-0077] note the building 10 is divided into zones where a plurality of addressable sensors 608-611 generate fire detections signals comprising zone information | [0115-0117] note operating commands to actuate any one, or a combination (all), of the fire suppression devices 616 and fire response devices 704 | [0012] note a hard logic device 602b can couple to an existing fire alarm control panel 112 of a building 10, see Figure 1, to provide integration with a SDACU | [0080] note the SDACU is implemented using a server, which may be a virtual server | [0072-0073] note all fire notification devices 114 and/or fire suppression devices can be activated in response to determining fire is present at a location based on a plurality of fire alarm event IDs and locations of a building 10, or only certain fire notification devices 114 and/or fire suppression devices can be activated based on proximity to the fire | [0104] note at least one associated suppression/response device associated with one or more zones).
With respect to the other limitations, Kosich teaches a fire alarm control panel that causes multiple fire devices connected in a common circuit or loop to flash simultaneously or at the same time (see at least col. 13, line 59-67).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Young and Kosich into Krishnan. With respect to Young, this provides a known alternative building management system that can be used in place of Krishnan’s HVAC, security or lighting system while providing predictable results. In addition, Young provides the ability to alert all or parts of a building in response to the presence of a fire detected in one or more rooms of a building. With respect to Kosich, this provides the ability to prevent delays when controlling all of Krishnan in view of Young’s devices/modules to initiate a response.
Regarding claim 20, Krishnan in view of Young and Kosich teach further comprising: receiving, by the virtual controller, another indication of the fire alarm event occurring via a different fire loop control module in communication with a different plurality of fire sensing devices; determining, by the virtual controller, an additional response to the fire alarm event; and sending, by the virtual controller, a control command to the different fire loop control module to initiate the additional response to the fire alarm event by at least one of the different plurality of fire sensing devices (see at least Figure 1 of Young, note each floor of the building 10 can have its own panel 112, fire loop and fire sensing devices | [0104] of Young, note at least one associated suppression/response device associated with one or more zones | [0059] of Krishnan, note a virtual controller 24 can be connected to a plurality of edge computing devices 20 which would be connected to their own respective fire loop | [0046] of Krishnan, note the control logic 38 of the virtual controller 24/32 may use the one or more sensed values/conditions in determining control commands to be sent to the edge controller 20/44 to control building control device 18/40/212 | [0068] of Krishnan, note virtual controller 24/32/326 is configured to send control commands to the building control device 18/40/212/324 in accordance with the sensor value/condition received | [0045] of Krishnan, note alarms | [0060] of Krishnan, note the edge controllers 20 are configured to provide one or more parameters to the virtual controller 24, wherein the one or more parameters may include, for example, one or more sensed conditions, one or more operating states and/or one or more alarms).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnan (US 2021/0382474 A1) in view of Young (US 2021/0241595 A1) and Kosich (US 5,982,275 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Chiarizio (US 2016/0071402 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Krishnan in view of Young and Kosich do not specifically teach wherein the response to the first fire alarm event comprises activating a wireless module located on-premises with the standalone fire sensing device.
It is known to respond to alarms in different ways. For example, Chiarizio teaches a fire alarm system wherein the response to a first fire alarm event comprises activating a wireless module located on-premises with the standalone fire sensing device (see at least Figure 1A, item 16 | [0062] note slave devices include, without limitation, smoke detectors 72 and repeaters 16 | [0061] note repeaters 16 send and receive alarm messages to and from slave devices | Figure 2A, item 21 | [0084]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Chiarizio into Krishnan in view of Young and Kosich. This provides the ability to ensure that multiple zones of a building receive notification of an alarm event.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnan (US 2021/0382474 A1) in view of Young (US 2021/0241595 A1) and Kosich (US 5,982,275 A) as applied to claims 7 and 8 above, and in further view of Barson (US 2017/0110003 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Krishnan in view of Young and Kosich teach wherein the plurality of virtual controllers are configured to: receive an indication of a fire alarm event from a fire loop control module; run logic in response to receiving the indication of the fire alarm event from the fire loop control module; and send a control command to the fire loop control module to initiate a response to the fire alarm event by the plurality of fire sensing devices in communication with that respective fire loop control module (see at least [0060] of Krishnan, note the virtual controller 24 receives one or more sensed conditions, operating states and alarms | [0046] of Krishnan, note the virtual controller determines commands based on the received one or more sensed conditions, operating states and Young’s alarms | [0076-0077] of Young).
However, Krishnan in view of Young and Kosich do not specifically teach cause and effect logic.
It is known to control devices using different types of logic. For example, Barson teaches a fire alarm system that utilizes cause and effect logic (see at least [0035]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Barson into Krishnan in view of Young and Kosich. This provides known alternative logic that can be used in place of Krishnan in view of Young and Kosich’s logic while providing predictable results.
Regarding claim 9, Krishnan in view of Young, Kosich and Barson teach wherein the response comprises activating the plurality of fire sensing devices in communication with that respective fire loop control module (see at least [0035] of Barson, note if a fire is detected at one sensor, the loop processor may activate the alarm devices in one or more of the secured or protected areas, depending on the cause and effect programmed into the fire alarm system).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnan (US 2021/0382474 A1) in view of Young (US 2021/0241595 A1), Kosich (US 5,982,275 A) and Barson (US 2017/0110003 A1) as applied to claim 8 above, and in further view of Chiarizio (US 10,966,154 B2).
Regarding claim 10, Krishnan in view of Young, Kosich and Barson do not specifically teach wherein the response comprises deactivating the plurality of fire sensing devices in communication with that respective fire loop control module.
It is known to control sensing devices in different ways. For example, Chiarizio teaches a fire alarm system wherein the response comprises deactivating the plurality of fire sensing devices in communication with that respective fire loop control module (see at least col. 15, lines 56-65, note fire sensing device can be activated and deactivated as deemed appropriate).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Chiarizio into Krishnan in view of Young, Kosich and Barson. This provides the ability to turn on/off fire sensing devices when needed.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnan (US 2021/0382474 A1) in view of Young (US 2021/0241595 A1) and Kosich (US 5,982,275 A) as applied to claim 16 above, and in further view of Nagle (US 2023/0290235 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Krishnan in view of Young and Kosich do not specifically teach wherein the response comprises activating a physical indicator on at least one of the plurality of fire sensing devices the first and second physical locations.
It is known to construct and operate fire sensing devices in different ways. For example, Nagle teaches a system wherein the response comprises activating a physical indicator on at least one of the plurality of fire sensing devices (see at least [0045] note activate | [0048] note active or dormant/off | [0092] note the smoke detector has a visual indicator | [0101] note commands from a control panel cause LED strips to be illuminated | [0079] note smoke detectors provide sensed data to the control panel | [0080] note the control panel detects fire | [0081] | [0085-0086] note commands can dynamically change the indicator, such as on, off, blink timing, etc.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Nagle into Krishnan in view of Young and Kosich. This provides the ability to utilize smoke detectors as indicators of a fire, thus helping reduce or augment Krishnan in view of Young and Kosich’s fire alarm system.
Regarding claim 18, Krishnan in view of Young, Kosich and Nagle teach wherein the response comprises deactivating a physical indicator on at least one of the plurality of fire sensing devices at the first and second physical locations (see at least [0045] of Nagle, note activate | [0048] of Nagle, note notification/indication devices can be placed in an active or dormant/off state | [0092] note the smoke detector has a visual indicator | [0101] note commands from a control panel cause LED strips to be illuminated | [0079] note smoke detectors provide sensed data to the control panel | [0080] note the control panel detects fire | [0081] | [0085-0086] note commands can dynamically change the indicator, such as on, off, blink timing, etc.).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnan (US 2021/0382474 A1) in view of Young (US 2021/0241595 A1) and Kosich (US 5,982,275 A) as applied to claim 16 above, and in further view of Schmit (US 2005/0228991 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Krishnan in view of Young and Kosich do not specifically teach wherein the plurality of fire sensing devices at the first and second physical locations are in a wireless loop configuration.
It is known to construct fire sensing devices with wired or wireless loops. For example, Schmit teaches a system wherein the plurality of fire sensing devices are in a wireless loop configuration (see at least Figure 1, items 2, 6 and 4 | [0012] note the communication medium 6 may be a wired bus or loop, a wireless (e.g. RF) system, or a combination of any type of wired and wireless technologies as well known in the art).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Schmit into Krishnan in view of Young and Kosich. This provides a known alternative communication medium that can be used in place of, or in addition to, Krishnan in view of Young and Kosich’s communication medium while providing predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
With respect to Applicant’s remarks concerning Krishnan, they describe how Krishnan’s system operates. There are no specific arguments directed toward Krishnan.
With respect to Applicant’s remarks concerning Wellig, Wellig is no longer used to reject the claims.
With respect to claims 2, 8, 9, 10, 17, 18 and 19, there are no specific arguments directed toward these claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689