Claim Interpretation
Applicant’s claim amendments obviate interpretation of limitations under 35 U.S.C. 112 (f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nada et al. (US 2009/0136247; “Nada”) in view of Fujita (US 2022/0129225).
Regarding claim 1, Nada discloses an image forming apparatus (Fig. 1 [0018]), comprising:
a belt 10 which conveys a toner image including a to-be-transferred toner image to be transferred onto a sheet 30 (Fig. 1 [0029]);
a roller 22 which transfers the to-be-transferred toner image conveyed by the belt 10 onto the sheet 30 that comes into contact with the belt 10 (Fig. 1 [0023]);
an electronic circuit (within control device 38; [0043]), wherein the electronic circuit includes:
a movement processing portion which causes a formation target image corresponding to the to-be-transferred toner image, that is included in image data used for forming the toner image, to move within the image data (in step S7; Fig. 5 [0042])
a determination processing portion which determines whether or not the to-be-transferred toner image that is based on the formation target image that has been moved by the movement processing portion will stick out from a contact area (corresponding to PX and PY; Fig. 3 [0040]) of the belt 10 that comes into contact with the sheet (in steps S4-S7; Fig. 5 [0042]).
Nada fails to disclose causing the formation target image to move within the image data based on a movement amount set by a user operation.
Fujita teaches a similar image forming apparatus that includes a movement processing portion which causes a formation target image (image contained within print range frame 402; Fig. 4 [0036]) corresponding to a to-be-transferred toner image, that is included in image data used for forming a toner image, to move within the image data based on a movement amount set by a user operation (Figs. 5A-5B [0037-0038]; A user can freely arrange image 403 by pinching/dragging. Any part of image 403 existing outside of frame 402 will be trimmed.)
Based on the teachings of Fujita, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the movement processing portion of Nada such that the formation target image is able to move within the image data based on a movement amount set by a user operation. One would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow a user to enlarge and print only portions of the image that are desired.
Regarding claim 2, modified Nada teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the electronic circuit includes a cutout processing portion which cuts out, when determined by the determination processing portion that the to-be-transferred toner image will stick out from the contact area, a partial image of the formation target image that corresponds to a stick-out portion of the to-be-transferred toner image that sticks out from the contact area.
The print system 10 of Fujita comprises a processing portion that: (a) causes a formation target image corresponding to a to-be-transferred toner image, that is included in image data used for forming a toner image, to move within the image data (see Figs. 5A-5C [0037]), and (b) determines whether or not the to-be-transferred toner image that is based on the formation target image that has been moved by the movement processing portion will stick out from a contact area of a sheet (corresponding to print range frame 402 which represents a print effective region; Fig. 4 [0036]).
The processing portion of Fujita additionally cuts out, when determining that the to-be-transferred toner image will stick out from the contact area (i.e., when trimming is performed; see the flowchart of Fig. 7 [0041-0049]), a partial image of the formation target image that corresponds to a stick-out portion of the to-be-transferred toner image that sticks out from the contact area (i.e., only the image data within print range frame 402 is set as output image data, the image data beyond print range frame 402 is cut out in steps S901->S902->S905->S906; Fig. 9 [0054-0055, 0057-0058]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the apparatus with a cutout processing portion which cuts out, when determined by the determination processing portion that the to-be-transferred toner image will stick out from the contact area, a partial image of the formation target image that corresponds to a stick-out portion of the to-be-transferred toner image that sticks out from the contact area, as taught by Fujita. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. In this instance, the predictable results would be an image forming apparatus that allows a user to resize an image while achieving intended print results.
The method steps of claim 3 are met by the operation of Nada modified by Fujita as applied to claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 5-7 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that neither Nada nor Fujita disclose or suggest a movement processing portion which causes a formation target image corresponding to the to-be-transferred toner image, that is included in image data used for forming the toner image, to move within the image data based on a movement amount set by a user operation. However, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above, Fujita teaches this feature and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Fujita with Nada to reach Applicant’s claimed apparatus.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARLA J THERRIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852