DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: On line 1 of claim 8, the Examiner suggests changing “being” to --is-- for grammatical purposes. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 and 18-20 of copending Application No. 19/176,707 in view of Reboud et al. US 2014/0083174.
As per claims 1-20, copending application ‘707 discloses an acoustic wave filter including a surface acoustic wave device and a method of manufacturing the surface acoustic wave device comprising all the limitations recited therein EXCEPT a Rayleigh mode is a main mode of the surface acoustic wave device.
Reboud et al. discloses that Rayleigh waves are the most common surface acoustic waves (Paragraph 94 of Reboud et al.). Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have designed the filter including a surface acoustic wave device of ‘707 to have operated in any known mode, such as for example the most common Rayleigh mode, as a main mode as being an obvious design consideration of yielding expected results based on the exemplary teachings of Reboud et al. As an obvious consequence of the modification, the combination would have necessarily included a Rayleigh mode is a main mode of the surface acoustic wave device. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-9, 14-15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto et al. US 2023/0378937 in view of Reboud et al. US 2014/0083174 and Komatsu et al. US 2019/0341911.
As per claims 1-2, 5, 7-9, 14-15, and 18, Goto et al. discloses in Figs. 5 and 6a an acoustic wave filter (Paragraph 2, filter therein) for filtering a radio frequency signal, including a surface acoustic wave device (e.g. DMS resonator and single mode resonator) and a method of manufacturing the device comprising:
as per claims 1 and 14, a piezoelectric layer (e.g. piezoelectric layer PIEZO); a first resonator (e.g. single mode resonator) and a second resonator (e.g. DMS resonator) in electrical communication with the piezoelectric layer, the first resonator having a different resonator type from the second resonator (One resonator is a single mode resonator and the other is a double mode resonator.); and a passivation layer (e.g. protective layer SiN) having a first thickness over the first resonator and a second thickness over the second resonator (The protective layer has a same thickness over the single mode and DMS resonators.);
as per claims 2 and 15, a temperature compensation layer (Paragraph 59, temperature compensating dielectric material layer SiO2) between the piezoelectric layer and the passivation layer;
as per claim 5, wherein the piezoelectric layer includes lithium niobate (Paragraph 58; PIEZO layer is formed of lithium niobate (LN).);
as per claim 7, wherein the first resonator is a one-port resonator (e.g. single mode resonator), and the second resonator is a multi-mode surface acoustic wave resonator (e.g. double mode DMS resonator);
as per claim 9, wherein the passivation layer has a first thickness over an active region of the one-port resonator (The protective layer has a thickness (i.e. “first thickness”) over electrode fingers (i.e. “active region”) of the single mode resonator.); and
as per claim 18, a plurality of resonators (e.g. single mode and DMS resonators) in electrical communication with a piezoelectric layer (e.g. piezoelectric layer PIEZO), the plurality of resonators including a first resonator (e.g. single mode resonator) and a second resonator (e.g. DMS resonator), the first resonator having a different resonator type from the second resonator; and a passivation layer (e.g. protective layer SiN) having a first thickness over the first resonator and a second thickness over the second resonator (The protective layer has a same thickness over the single mode and DMS resonators.).
However, Goto et al. does not disclose as per claims 1, 14, and 18, a Rayleigh mode is a main mode of the surface acoustic wave device, and the first thickness being different from the second thickness.
Reboud et al. discloses that Rayleigh waves are the most common surface acoustic waves (Paragraph 94 of Reboud et al.). Komatsu et al. exemplarily discloses in Figs. 1a-1b an acoustic wave device comprising a protection layer 110 over IDT electrodes 115, where the layer 110 has a different thickness over one of the resonators compared to the other resonators within the filter (Paragraph 44 of Komatsu et al.). Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have designed the filter of Goto et al. to have operated in any known mode, such as for example the most common Rayleigh mode, as a main mode as being an obvious design consideration of yielding expected results based on the exemplary teachings of Reboud et al. It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have designed the protection layer within the combination filter to have had a different thickness over one of the resonators, such as for example having a greater thickness over the single mode resonator compared to the other resonators (i.e. DMS resonator) within the filter, as exemplarily taught by Komatsu et al. with the motivation of providing the benefit of enhancing temperature coefficients of frequency of the edges of the filter passband as compared to similar filters having common dielectric thicknesses on all the resonators (Paragraph 44 of Komatsu et al.).
As an obvious consequence of the modification, the combination would have necessarily included: as per claims 1, 14, and 18, a Rayleigh mode is a main mode of the surface acoustic wave device, and the first thickness being different from the second thickness; and as per claim 8, wherein the first thickness is greater than the second thickness.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the above combination, as applied to claim 5, and further in view of Kimura US 2023/0283259.
As per claim 6, the above combination discloses the surface acoustic wave device of claim 5, but does not disclose wherein the lithium niobate has a cut angle in a range between 118 degrees and 138 degrees.
Kimura et al. discloses in Fig. 1 an acoustic wave device comprising a piezoelectric layer 17 which is made of lithium niobate having a cut angle of 128 degrees (Paragraph 35 of Kimura et al.). Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have replaced the generic lithium niobate piezoelectric layer of the combination circuit with the specific 128 degree cut lithium niobate piezoelectric layer of Kimura et al. as being an obvious art substitution of equivalence. As an obvious consequence of the modification, the combination would have necessarily included wherein the lithium niobate has a cut angle in a range between 118 degrees and 138 degrees (e.g. 128 degrees which is between 118-138 degrees).
Conclusion
/RAKESH B PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843