DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: On line 1 of claim 7, the Examiner suggests changing “being” to --is-- for grammatical purposes. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 5, 13, and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 14-16 of copending Application No. 19/176,656 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations recited in claims 1-4 and 14-16 of copending application ‘656 substantially recite all of the limitations in claims 1, 4, 5, 13, and 15 of the instant application including: a temperature compensation layer over the first resonator and the second resonator (e.g. “a temperature compensation layer between the piezoelectric layer and the passivation layer” as cited in claim 2 of ‘656; It is inherent that the “temperature compensation layer” is necessarily disposed over the “first and second resonators” by virtue of being between the piezoelectric layer and the passivation layer”.); and a Rayleigh mode is a main mode. The claims have been rejected under an “anticipatory type” analysis rejection. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 13-14, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto et al. US 2023/0378937 in view of Komatsu et al. US 2019/0341911.
As per claims 1-2, 6-8, 13-14, and 17-18, Goto et al. discloses in Figs. 5 and 6a an acoustic wave filter (Paragraph 2, filter therein) for filtering a radio frequency signal, including a surface acoustic wave device (e.g. DMS resonator and single mode resonator) and a method of manufacturing the device comprising:
as per claims 1 and 13, a piezoelectric layer (e.g. piezoelectric layer PIEZO); a first resonator (e.g. single mode resonator) and a second resonator (e.g. DMS resonator) in electrical communication with the piezoelectric layer, the first resonator having a different resonator type from the second resonator (One resonator is a single mode resonator and the other is a double mode resonator.); a temperature compensation layer (Paragraph 59, temperature compensating dielectric material layer SiO2) over the first resonator and the second resonator (The SiO2 layer is disposed over the IDT metal layers of the DMS and single mode resonator.); and a passivation layer (e.g. protective layer SiN) having a first thickness over the first resonator and a second thickness over the second resonator (The protective layer has a same thickness over the single mode and DMS resonators.);
as per claims 2 and 14, wherein the piezoelectric layer includes lithium niobate (Paragraph 58; PIEZO layer is formed of lithium niobate (LN).);
as per claim 6, wherein the first resonator is a one-port resonator (e.g. single mode resonator), and the second resonator is a multi-mode surface acoustic wave resonator (e.g. double mode DMS resonator);
as per claim 8, wherein the passivation layer has a first thickness over an active region of the one-port resonator (The protective layer has a thickness (i.e. “first thickness”) over electrode fingers (i.e. “active region”) of the single mode resonator.);
as per claim 17, wherein forming the temperature compensation layer includes forming a trench in the temperature compensation layer (Fig. 11e, trenches formed within the layers); and
as per claim 18, a plurality of resonators (e.g. single mode and DMS resonators) in electrical communication with a piezoelectric layer (e.g. piezoelectric layer PIEZO), the plurality of resonators including a first resonator (e.g. single mode resonator) and a second resonator (e.g. DMS resonator), the first resonator having a different resonator type from the second resonator; a temperature compensation layer (Paragraph 59, temperature compensating dielectric material layer SiO2) over the first resonator and the second resonator (The SiO2 layer is disposed over the IDT metal layers of the DMS and single mode resonator.); and a passivation layer (e.g. protective layer SiN) having a first thickness over the first resonator and a second thickness over the second resonator (The protective layer has a same thickness over the single mode and DMS resonators.).
However, Goto et al. does not disclose as per claims 1, 13, and 18, the first thickness being different from the second thickness.
Komatsu et al. exemplarily discloses in Figs. 1a-1b an acoustic wave device comprising a protection layer 110 over IDT electrodes 115, where the layer 110 has a different thickness over one of the resonators compared to the other resonators within the filter (Paragraph 44 of Komatsu et al.). Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have designed the protection layer within the filter of Goto et al. to have had a different thickness over one of the resonators, such as for example having a greater thickness over the single mode resonator compared to the other resonators (i.e. DMS resonator) within the filter, as exemplarily taught by Komatsu et al. with the motivation of providing the benefit of enhancing temperature coefficients of frequency of the edges of the filter passband as compared to similar filters having common dielectric thicknesses on all the resonators (Paragraph 44 of Komatsu et al.). As an obvious consequence of the modification, the combination would have necessarily included: as per claims 1, 13, and 18, the first thickness being different from the second thickness; and as per claim 7, wherein the first thickness is greater than the second thickness.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the above combination, as applied to claim 2, and further in view of Kimura US 2023/0283259.
As per claim 3, the above combination discloses the surface acoustic wave device of claim 2, but does not disclose wherein the lithium niobate has a cut angle in a range between 118 degrees and 138 degrees.
Kimura et al. discloses in Fig. 1 an acoustic wave device comprising a piezoelectric layer 17 which is made of lithium niobate having a cut angle of 128 degrees (Paragraph 35 of Kimura et al.). Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have replaced the generic lithium niobate piezoelectric layer of the combination circuit with the specific 128 degree cut lithium niobate piezoelectric layer of Kimura et al. as being an obvious art substitution of equivalence. As an obvious consequence of the modification, the combination would have necessarily included wherein the lithium niobate has a cut angle in a range between 118 degrees and 138 degrees (e.g. 128 degrees which is between 118-138 degrees).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-12, 16, and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RAKESH B PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843