DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/11/2025 and 8/17/2026 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iizuka et al (US 2014/0111298) in view of Noma et al (JP 2024/031615. English Machine Translation provided).
1). With regard to claim 1, Iizuka et al discloses an optical wireless communication system (Figure 1 etc.) comprising:
a plurality of light sources (3A – 3D etc.);
a receiving device (100) including a camera (30A or 30B etc.); and
an information processing device (10 in Figure 3), wherein
each light source is configured to transmit an optical wireless communication signal ([0025] etc., “the position indicators 3 each transmit at least unique identification information (light source ID capable of uniquely identifying itself)”),
the receiving device is configured to receive the optical wireless communication signal through the camera (Figures 1 and 3, the visible light communication camera 30),
the optical wireless communication signal includes position specifying information (“the position indicators 3 each transmit at least unique identification information”, and [0027]-[0028], “The installation position (three-dimensional position) in the world coordinate system (X, Y, Z) of each position indicator 3 is measured at the time of installation. A correspondence relationship between the light source ID and the three-dimensional position of each position indicator 3 is stored in a light source ID to three-dimensional position table 21 (shown in FIG. 3 and FIG. 4) in the moving object 100”, and “If the position indicators 3 are capable of transmitting data of a sufficient amount of information, they may transmit data of their positions and heights (three-dimensional positions)”), for specifying a position of a transmission source of the optical wireless communication signal in an absolute coordinate system (“in the world coordinate system (X, Y, Z)”), and
the information processing device is configured to:
acquire a light source image position (Figure 5, [0059]) indicating a position of each light source (2A (P2, Q1) and 2B (P2, Q2) etc. in in Figure 5) projected on an image plane coordinate system (image plane 70 in Figure 5) of an image plane obtained by the camera, by specifying a signal region (“coordinate positions of the points projected onto an image plane”, [0052]-[0056]) of the optical wireless communication signal on the image plane coordinate system;
acquire a light source absolute position indicating a position of each light source in the absolute coordinate system ([0027]-[0028], “A correspondence relationship between the light source ID and the three-dimensional position of each position indicator 3 is stored in a light source ID to three-dimensional position table 21 (shown in FIG. 3 and FIG. 4) in the moving object 100”), based on the position specifying information included in the optical wireless communication signal ([0027]-[0028] and [0044], “In the light source ID to three-dimensional position table 21, as to each of the position indicators 3, a light source ID of a position indicator 3 is associated with a three-dimensional position of the position indicator 3 as its installation position. The light source ID to three-dimensional position table 21 is used for the positioning using the visible light communication”); and
estimate a position (e.g., by the positioning processor 12) and an orientation (e.g., by the positioning processor 12 and the “three-axis attitude angle and likelihood determiner 14” in Figure 3) of the camera in the absolute coordinate system (Figures 3-4, [0056] etc.), using the light source image position and the light source absolute position (Figure 8, steps S6-S8; Figure 9).
But, Iizuka et al does not expressly disclose that the camera is an event camera.
However, first, Iizuka et al discloses “In FIG. 7, where the integrated value E is greater than a threshold value E0, the likelihood C is 0” and “the measurement by the star tracker may become performable again by a threshold value for the positioning likelihood being set and the moving object 100 being stopped at the timing when the positioning likelihood falls below the threshold value”; that is, Iizuka et al uses a threshold to judge whether an event occurs. Second, an event camera has been widely used in the art to determine whether an event occurs based on the luminance change on the camera sensor or changes in brightness at the pixel level. E.g., Noma et al discloses a system/method to estimate road condition by using an event camera ([0015], “Each event sensor 1A to 1D is an image sensor built into the imaging device (event camera), and outputs event data related to brightness changes in the imaging area of each imaging device”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the event camera of Noma et al for the camera of Iizuka et al according to known methods to yield the predictable result of providing a receiver with very low motion blur, high dynamic range (handle extreme lighting changes), and low latency and bandwidth (only transmit data when motion occurs, reducing data waste and processing loads).
2). With regard to claim 2, Iizuka et al and Iizuka et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above. But, Iizuka et al and Iizuka et al do not expressly disclose wherein the information processing device is configured to specify the signal region on the image plane coordinate system, based on a frequency of event data for each pixel of the image plane obtained by the event camera.
However, the combination of Iizuka et al and Iizuka et al disclose that an event camera is used to detect the light sources. A fundamental property of an event camera is that a pixel “fires” an event only when the local change in light intensity crosses a specific threshold. And Iizuka et al also discloses “The position indicators 3 control light emission or reflection by color modulation or luminance (intensity) modulation in the range of wavelengths of visible light and transmit information” ([0027] and [0032], claim 9: “the second light sources modulate light and transmit their respective pieces of identification information”); each modulation has its own frequency or data rate; therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the signal region on the image plane coordinate system, based on a frequency of event data for each pixel of the image plane obtained by the event camera so to only pick up needed “event” and eliminate noise.
3). With regard to claim 3, Iizuka et al and Iizuka et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above. And the combination of Iizuka et al and Iizuka et al further discloses wherein
the position specifying information includes the light source absolute position of each light source (Iizuka: [0027], [0052]-[0063], also refer to claim 1 rejection above).
4). With regard to claim 4, Iizuka et al and Iizuka et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above. And the combination of Iizuka et al and Iizuka et al further discloses the optical wireless communication system according to claim 1, further comprising a memory device (Iizuka: 21 in Figure 3), wherein
the memory device is configured to store at least:
identification information for identifying each light source (Iizuka: [0027], [0043]-[0044], [0129] and [0132]); and
the light source absolute position of each light source ([0027], [0043]-[0044], [0129] and [0132]),
the position specifying information includes the identification information of each light source ([0027], [0043]-[0044], [0129] and [0132]), and
the information processing device is configured to acquire the light source absolute position, corresponding to the identification information included in the position specifying information, from the memory device ([0027], [0043]-[0044], [0129] and [0132], Figures 3-4 and 8-9).
5). With regard to claim 5, Iizuka et al and Iizuka et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above. And the combination of Iizuka et al and Iizuka et al further discloses wherein
the receiving device is configured to be movable (Iizuka: the moving object 100).
6). With regard to claim 6, Iizuka et al and Iizuka et al disclose a receiving device (100 in Figure 1, and Figure 3) comprising:
a camera (30A or 30B etc.); and
an information processing device (10 in Figure 3) configured to receive an optical wireless communication signal ([0025] etc., “the position indicators 3 each transmit at least unique identification information (light source ID capable of uniquely identifying itself)”) transmitted from each of a plurality of light sources (3A – 3D etc.) through the camera (Figures 1-4 etc.), wherein
the optical wireless communication signal includes position specifying information (“the position indicators 3 each transmit at least unique identification information”, and [0027]-[0028], “The installation position (three-dimensional position) in the world coordinate system (X, Y, Z) of each position indicator 3 is measured at the time of installation. A correspondence relationship between the light source ID and the three-dimensional position of each position indicator 3 is stored in a light source ID to three-dimensional position table 21 (shown in FIG. 3 and FIG. 4) in the moving object 100”, and “If the position indicators 3 are capable of transmitting data of a sufficient amount of information, they may transmit data of their positions and heights (three-dimensional positions)”), for specifying a position of a transmission source of the optical wireless communication signal in an absolute coordinate system (“in the world coordinate system (X, Y, Z)”), and
the information processing device is configured to:
acquire a light source image position (Figure 5, [0059]) indicating a position of each light source (2A (P2, Q1) and 2B (P2, Q2) etc. in Figure 5) projected on an image plane coordinate system (image plane 70 in Figure 5), by specifying a signal region (“coordinate positions of the points projected onto an image plane”, [0052]-[0056]) of the optical wireless communication signal on the image plane coordinate system of an image plane obtained by the camera (Figure 5);
acquire a light source absolute position indicating a position of each light source in the absolute coordinate system ([0027]-[0028], “A correspondence relationship between the light source ID and the three-dimensional position of each position indicator 3 is stored in a light source ID to three-dimensional position table 21 (shown in FIG. 3 and FIG. 4) in the moving object 100”), based on the position specifying information included in the optical wireless communication signal ([0027]-[0028] and [0044], “In the light source ID to three-dimensional position table 21, as to each of the position indicators 3, a light source ID of a position indicator 3 is associated with a three-dimensional position of the position indicator 3 as its installation position. The light source ID to three-dimensional position table 21 is used for the positioning using the visible light communication”); and
estimate a position (e.g., by the positioning processor 12) and an orientation (e.g., by the positioning processor 12 and the “three-axis attitude angle and likelihood determiner 14” in Figure 3) of the camera in the absolute coordinate system (Figures 3-4, [0056] etc.), using the light source image position and the light source absolute position (Figure 8, steps S6-S8; Figure 9).
But, Iizuka et al does not expressly disclose that the camera is an event camera.
However, first, Iizuka et al discloses “In FIG. 7, where the integrated value E is greater than a threshold value E0, the likelihood C is 0” and “the measurement by the star tracker may become performable again by a threshold value for the positioning likelihood being set and the moving object 100 being stopped at the timing when the positioning likelihood falls below the threshold value”; that is, Iizuka et al uses a threshold to judge whether an event occurs. Second, an event camera has been widely used in the art to determine whether an event occurs based on the luminance change on the camera sensor or changes in brightness at the pixel level. E.g., Noma et al discloses a system/method to estimate road condition by using an event camera ([0015], “Each event sensor 1A to 1D is an image sensor built into the imaging device (event camera), and outputs event data related to brightness changes in the imaging area of each imaging device”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the event camera of Noma et al for the camera of Iizuka et al according to known methods to yield the predictable result of providing a receiver with very low motion blur, high dynamic range (handle extreme lighting changes), and low latency and bandwidth (only transmit data when motion occurs, reducing data waste and processing loads)
7). With regard to claim 7, Iizuka et al and Iizuka et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 6 above. But, Iizuka et al and Iizuka et al do not expressly disclose wherein the information processing device is configured to specify the signal region on the image plane coordinate system, based on a frequency of event data for each pixel of the image plane obtained by the event camera.
However, the combination of Iizuka et al and Iizuka et al disclose that an event camera is used to detect the light sources. A fundamental property of an event camera is that a pixel “fires” an event only when the local change in light intensity crosses a specific threshold. And Iizuka et al also discloses “The position indicators 3 control light emission or reflection by color modulation or luminance (intensity) modulation in the range of wavelengths of visible light and transmit information” ([0027] and [0032], claim 9: “the second light sources modulate light and transmit their respective pieces of identification information”); each modulation has its own frequency or data rate; therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the signal region on the image plane coordinate system, based on a frequency of event data for each pixel of the image plane obtained by the event camera so to only pick up needed “event” and eliminate noise.
8). With regard to claim 8, Iizuka et al and Iizuka et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 6 above. And the combination of Iizuka et al and Iizuka et al further discloses wherein
the position specifying information includes the light source absolute position of each light source (Iizuka: [0027], [0052]-[0063], also refer to claim 1 rejection above).
9). With regard to claim 9, Iizuka et al and Iizuka et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 6 above. And the combination of Iizuka et al and Iizuka et al further discloses the receiving device according to claim 6, further comprising a memory device (Iizuka: 21 in Figure 3), wherein
the memory device is configured to store at least:
identification information for identifying each light source (Iizuka: [0027], [0043]-[0044], [0129] and [0132]); and
the light source absolute position of each light source (Iizuka: [0027], [0043]-[0044], [0129] and [0132]),
the position specifying information includes the identification information of each light source (Iizuka: [0027], [0043]-[0044], [0129] and [0132]), and
the information processing device is configured to acquire the light source absolute position, corresponding to the identification information included in the position specifying information, from the memory device ([0027], [0043]-[0044], [0129] and [0132], Figures 3-4 and 8-9).
10). With regard to claim 10, Iizuka et al and Iizuka et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 6 above. And the combination of Iizuka et al and Iizuka et al further discloses he receiving device according to claim 6, configured to be movable (Iizuka: the moving object 100).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20150372753 A1
US 20160047890 A1
US 20240243809 A1
US 20220092815 A1
US 20200245424 A1
US 10378897 B2
/LI LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634 September 19, 2026