DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 1, 8, 22, and 23, line 2, the term “first recording material” implies that there is another recording material, but no other recording material is contained in the language of the claim. The term “first recording material” could be changed to “recording material”.
In claims 1 and 8, line 2 and claims 22-23, line 7, the term “first mode” implies that there is another mode, but no other mode is contained in the language of the claim. The term “first mode” could be changed to “mode”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: selector, image former in claims 1, 8, 20-23, input unit in claim 2, conveyance unit in claims 4-6 and 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyahara (US9,288,352).
Regarding claims 1 and 22, Miyahara discloses an image forming apparatus and an information processing device comprising: a selector 602 configured to select a first mode for forming an image (col. 5, lines 53-58) on a first recording material (i.e. envelope, col. 6, lines 13-18) including a first side(bottom side, fig. 17B) which is closed, a second side (top side, fig. 17B) which is closed, a third side (right side, fig. 17B) which is open, and a fourth side (left side, fig. 17B) which is open ; a tray 315 on which the first recording material is to be placed (col. 6, line 23, fig. 4); an image former 320, configured to form an image on the first recording material conveyed from the tray (col. 3, lines 45-49, fig. 1); a display 170 (fig. 3); and a controller 120 (col. 6, lines 48-50) configured to control, in a case where the first mode is selected by the selector, an orientation of an image to be formed in accordance with an orientation in which the first recording material is placed on the tray (col. 8, line 60 – col. 9, line 4, fig. 11).
Regarding claim 2, Miyahara discloses an input unit configured to receive, as input, the orientation of a side and the orientation of a surface of the first recording material placed on the tray, wherein the controller is configured to control the orientation of the image to be formed in accordance with the orientation of the side and the orientation of the surface of the first recording material acquired from the input unit (col. 8, line 60 – col. 9, line 4, fig. 11).
Regarding claim 3, Miyahara discloses wherein the first side is formed by folding a sheet material of the first recording material, and wherein the second side is formed by closing sides which overlap in a case where the sheet material is folded (i.e. envelope, col. 1, lines 28-38).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-17, 19, 21, and 23 are allowed.
Claims 4-7, 18, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claims 4 and 5, the prior art of record neither disclose or suggest the image forming apparatus comprising all the features of claim 1 and wherein the display is configured to display, in a case where the first mode is selected by the selector, a message prompting a user to place the first recording material on the tray so that a printing surface of the first recording material faces downward or upward.
As to claims 6-7, the prior art of record neither disclose or suggest the image forming apparatus comprising all the features of claim 1 and wherein the conveyance unit is configured to deliver, in a case where the first mode is selected by the selector and duplex printing is set, after the image former prints an image on the first surface of the first recording material, the first recording material to the placement portion without guiding the first recording material along the duplex-printing conveyance path.
Regarding claims 8-17, 19, 21, and 23, the prior art of record neither disclose or suggest the image forming apparatus or an image processing device comprising a controller configured to perform, in a case where the first mode is selected by the selector and duplex printing is performed, conversion processing of reversing an orientation of a first image to be formed on a first surface of the first recording material or an orientation of a second image to be formed on a second surface of the first recording material opposite to the first surface in combination with the remaining claim elements.
Regarding claims 18 and 20, the prior art of record neither disclose or suggest the image forming apparatus comprising all the features of claim 1 and wherein the first recording material is a document folder formed into a bag shape by folding a plastic sheet material.
Conclusion
/HOANG X NGO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852