DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined in this application.
This communication is the first action on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
As of the date of this action, no information disclosure statement has been filed on behalf of this case.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “a building proximate having an aperture” which is indefinite as it is unclear as to what the building is meant to be proximate to. The limitation appears to be missing a word, as the building is interpreted as having an aperture and indicating it is proximate to another structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8, 14-15, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by (CN 221178600 U) to Yu.
In regards to claim 8, Yu anticipates a self-sustaining farming system, comprising: a building proximate having an aperture on a side of the building (Yu; see aperture on the side of the building in FIG 1 through which the light passes), the aperture configured to receive reflected sunlight from one or more heliostats (Yu; the light guide device 107 being a type of heliostat); a compound parabolic concentrator proximate the aperture and configured to direct and concentrate the reflected sunlight onto the aperture (Yu; 107c1 the condenser lens being the parabolic concentrator which directs the sunlight towards the opening; see FIG 8); and a light tube extending into the building from the aperture (Yu; light outlet pipeline 104), the light tube configured to direct light along a length of the light tube and direct said light via one or more concentrators onto one or more plants disposed inside the building (Yu; see FIG 1 where the arrow represents the passage of light through 104 and out through 105, using a plurality of concentrators or reflector pieces 106 to direct light onto plants 103).
In regards to claim 14, Yu anticipates the system of Claim 8, wherein the aperture is a plurality of spaced apart apertures on the side of the building (Yu; see FIG 1 where an aperture exists on a second story of the building as well, spaced apart from the first aperture).
In regards to claim 15, Yu anticipates a self-sustaining farming system, comprising: a building having an aperture on a side of the building (Yu; see aperture on the side of the building in FIG 1 through which the light passes), the aperture configured to receive reflected sunlight from one or more heliostats (Yu; aperture is capable of receiving light from a heliostat, also where the light guide device 107 is a type of heliostat); and a light tube extending into the building from the aperture (Yu; light outlet pipeline 104), the light tube configured to direct light along a length of the light tube and direct said light via one or more concentrators onto one or more plants disposed inside the building (Yu; see FIG 1 where the arrow represents the passage of light through 104 and out through 105, using a plurality of concentrators or reflector pieces 106 to direct light onto plants 103).
In regards to claim 20, Yu anticipates the system of Claim 15, wherein the aperture is a plurality of spaced apart apertures on the side of the building (Yu; see FIG 1 where an aperture exists on a second story of the building as well, spaced apart from the first aperture).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (CN 221178600 U) to Yu in view of (US 20080011288 A1) to Olsson.
In regards to claim 1, Yu teaches a self-sustaining farming system, comprising: a heliostat (Yu; the light guide device being a type of heliostat); a building proximate the heliostat (Yu; building adjacent to the light guide device 107 in FIG 1), the building having an aperture on a side of the building (Yu; see aperture on the side of the building in FIG 1 through which the light passes), the aperture configured to receive reflected sunlight from the heliostat (Yu; via arrows in FIG 1); a compound parabolic concentrator proximate the aperture and configured to direct and concentrate the reflected sunlight onto the aperture (Yu; 107c1 the condenser lens being the parabolic concentrator which directs the sunlight towards the opening; see FIG 8); and a light tube extending into the building from the aperture (Yu; light outlet pipeline 104), the light tube configured to direct light along a length of the light tube and direct said light via one or more concentrators onto one or more plants disposed inside the building (Yu; see FIG 1 where the arrow represents the passage of light through 104 and out through 105, using a plurality of concentrators or reflector pieces 106 to direct light onto plants 103).
Yu fails to teach the heliostat is a heliostat field comprising a plurality of heliostats; a building proximate the heliostat field, the aperture configured to receive reflected sunlight from one or more of the plurality of heliostats in the heliostat field.
Olsson teaches a heliostat field comprising a plurality of heliostats (Olsson; see FIG 6 with field having a plurality of flat tracking mirrors 142, 144; [0006-0008] heliostat mirrors; and a heliostat being a moveable or driven mirror to reflect sunlight in a fixed direction); a building proximate the heliostat field, the aperture configured to receive reflected sunlight from one or more of the plurality of heliostats in the heliostat field (Olsson; building with aperture via 140 receiving light from the field, see also FIG 5 where opening in building 102 receives the light).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yu such that it utilizes a heliostat field with a plurality of heliostats proximate a building, and where the aperture receives the reflected sunlight from the one or more plurality of heliostats in the heliostat field as taught by Olsson. The motivation for doing so would be to increase the amount of natural light which can be collected and diffused through a building regardless of the time of day.
In regards to claim 7, Yu as modified by Olsson teach the system of Claim 1, wherein the aperture is a plurality of spaced apart apertures on the side of the building (Yu; see FIG 1 where an aperture exists on a second story of the building as well, spaced apart from the first aperture).
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (CN 221178600 U) to Yu as modified by (US 20080011288 A1) to Olsson as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of (US 20200091363 A1) to Gupta.
In regards to claim 2, Yu as modified by Olsson teach the system of Claim 1, but fail to teach it further comprising a filter configured to filter a portion of said sunlight passing through the aperture and direct it to a photovoltaic panel to generate one or both of heat and electricity.
Gupta teaches a filter configured to filter a portion of said sunlight passing through the aperture and direct it to a photovoltaic panel to generate one or both of heat and electricity (Gupta; see abstract where the dichroic mirror is the filter which filters a portion of light entering through aperture defined by 64 to be absorbed by a photovoltaic panel to generate electricity, where another portion of the light is filtered into the building).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yu as modified by Olsson such that it has a filter to filter a portion of the sunlight onto a photovoltaic panel to generate electricity such as taught by Gupta. The motivation for doing so would be to have multiple uses for sunlight both to provide power and energy by converting it to electricity as well as to still utilize the visible light spectrum to illuminate an interior of a building.
In regards to claim 3, Yu as modified by Olsson and Gupta teach the system of Claim 2, wherein the filter is a dichroic mirror (Gupta; see abstract where the filter is a dichroic mirror).
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (CN 221178600 U) to Yu as modified by (US 20080011288 A1) to Olsson as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of (US 4198953 A) to Power.
In regards to claim 4, Yu as modified by Olsson teach the system of Claim 1, but fail to teach it further comprising a heat storage unit configured to store heat.
Power teaches further comprising a heat storage unit configured to store heat (Power; see abstract and heat system 22 with heat storage unit 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yu as modified by Olsson such that it has a heat storage unit configured to store heat, such as taught by Power. The motivation for doing so would be to utilize the energy from the sunlight to provide heat that can be used for heating the interior of the greenhouse.
In regards to claim 5, Yu as modified by Olsson and Power teach the system of Claim 4, wherein said heat from the heat storage unit is used to control a temperature inside the building (Power; Col 6 lines 60-Col 7 line 6; where the heat storage unit 21 is part of heating system 22 which allows for heating of the greenhouse during a period when the sun is not shining into the air).
In regards to claim 6, Yu as modified by Olsson teaches the system of Claim 1, but fails to teach wherein a size of the aperture is selectively adjustable to adjust an amount and intensity of light passing through the aperture and into the light tube.
Power teaches wherein a size of the aperture is selectively adjustable to adjust an amount and intensity of light passing through the aperture and into the light tube (Power; the aperture having shutter lens 15, with adjustable shutter cap 23 in FIG 7; allowing the size of the aperture to be adjustable by opening and closing the cap; into the light tube of Yu).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yu as modified by Olsson such that the aperture is selectively adjustable to adjust an amount and intensity of light passing through the aperture and into the light tube such as taught by Power. The motivation for doing so would be to provide the user with the ability to adjust the amount or intensity of light entering the building as desired.
Claim(s) 9-10, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (CN 221178600 U) to Yu in view of (US 20200091363 A1) to Gupta.
In regards to claim 9, Yu teaches the system of Claim 8, but fails to teach it further comprising a filter configured to filter a portion of said sunlight passing through the aperture and direct it to a photovoltaic panel to generate one or both of heat and electricity.
Gupta teaches a filter configured to filter a portion of said sunlight passing through the aperture and direct it to a photovoltaic panel to generate one or both of heat and electricity (Gupta; see abstract where the dichroic mirror is the filter which filters a portion of light entering through aperture defined by 64 to be absorbed by a photovoltaic panel to generate electricity, where another portion of the light is filtered into the building).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yu such that it has a filter to filter a portion of the sunlight onto a photovoltaic panel to generate electricity such as taught by Gupta. The motivation for doing so would be to have multiple uses for sunlight both to provide power and energy by converting it to electricity as well as to still utilize the visible light spectrum to illuminate an interior of a building.
In regards to claim 10, Yu as modified by Gupta teach the system of Claim 9, wherein the filter is a dichroic mirror (Gupta; see abstract where the filter is a dichroic mirror).
In regards to claim 16, Yu teaches the system of Claim 15, but fails to teach it further comprising a filter configured to filter a portion of said sunlight passing through the aperture and direct it to a photovoltaic panel to generate one or both of heat and electricity.
Gupta teaches a filter configured to filter a portion of said sunlight passing through the aperture and direct it to a photovoltaic panel to generate one or both of heat and electricity (Gupta; see abstract where the dichroic mirror is the filter which filters a portion of light entering through aperture defined by 64 to be absorbed by a photovoltaic panel to generate electricity, where another portion of the light is filtered into the building).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yu such that it has a filter to filter a portion of the sunlight onto a photovoltaic panel to generate electricity such as taught by Gupta. The motivation for doing so would be to have multiple uses for sunlight both to provide power and energy by converting it to electricity as well as to still utilize the visible light spectrum to illuminate an interior of a building.
Claim(s) 11-13, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (CN 221178600 U) to Yu in view of (US 4198953 A) to Power.
In regards to claim 11, Yu teaches the system of Claim 8, but fails to teach it further comprising a heat storage unit configured to store heat.
Power teaches further comprising a heat storage unit configured to store heat (Power; see abstract and heat system 22 with heat storage unit 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yu such that it has a heat storage unit configured to store heat, such as taught by Power. The motivation for doing so would be to utilize the energy from the sunlight to provide heat that can be used for heating the interior of the greenhouse.
In regards to claim 12, Yu as modified by Power teach the system of Claim 11, wherein said heat from the heat storage unit is used to control a temperature inside the building (Power; Col 6 lines 60-Col 7 line 6; where the heat storage unit 21 is part of heating system 22 which allows for heating of the greenhouse during a period when the sun is not shining into the air).
In regards to claim 13, Yu teaches the system of Claim 8, but fails to teach wherein a size of the aperture is selectively adjustable to adjust an amount and intensity of light passing through the aperture and into the light tube.
Power teaches wherein a size of the aperture is selectively adjustable to adjust an amount and intensity of light passing through the aperture and into the light tube (Power; the aperture having shutter lens 15, with adjustable shutter cap 23 in FIG 7; allowing the size of the aperture to be adjustable by opening and closing the cap; into the light tube of Yu).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yu as modified by Olsson such that the aperture is selectively adjustable to adjust an amount and intensity of light passing through the aperture and into the light tube such as taught by Power. The motivation for doing so would be to provide the user with the ability to adjust the amount or intensity of light entering the building as desired.
In regards to claim 17, Yu teaches the system of Claim 15, but fails to teach it further comprising a heat storage unit configured to store the heat.
Power teaches further comprising a heat storage unit configured to store heat (Power; see abstract and heat system 22 with heat storage unit 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yu such that it has a heat storage unit configured to store heat, such as taught by Power. The motivation for doing so would be to utilize the energy from the sunlight to provide heat that can be used for heating the interior of the greenhouse.
In regards to claim 18, Yu as modified by Power teach the system of Claim 17, wherein said heat from the heat storage unit is used to control a temperature inside the building (Power; Col 6 lines 60-Col 7 line 6; where the heat storage unit 21 is part of heating system 22 which allows for heating of the greenhouse during a period when the sun is not shining into the air).
In regards to claim 19, Yu teaches the system of Claim 15, but fails to teach wherein a size of the aperture is selectively adjustable to adjust an amount and intensity of light passing through the aperture and into the light tube.
Power teaches wherein a size of the aperture is selectively adjustable to adjust an amount and intensity of light passing through the aperture and into the light tube (Power; the aperture having shutter lens 15, with adjustable shutter cap 23 in FIG 7; allowing the size of the aperture to be adjustable by opening and closing the cap; into the light tube of Yu).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yu such that the aperture is selectively adjustable to adjust an amount and intensity of light passing through the aperture and into the light tube such as taught by Power. The motivation for doing so would be to provide the user with the ability to adjust the amount or intensity of light entering the building as desired.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN 112868419 A to Yuan teaches a system for using sunlight transmission to illuminate plants in a building, where sunlight is reflected off a condenser lens through an opening and to another reflector to distribute light over plants.
US 20200359571 A1 to Pan teaches the use of a dichroic reflector used to separate portions of light to be used by a solar panel and to transmit a second portion of light into a greenhouse.
KR 20130067861 A to Bak teaches the use of a heliostat and condenser to reflect light through an aperture, through a tube, and where the tube passes light into a room to illuminate the interior of the room and plants.
JP 2013055923 A to Asao teaches a condenser which collects sunlight within a tube through an opening to transmit light across plants.
JP 2011216427 A and JP 2011216427 A to Minehara teaches the use of heliostats to condense light into a light transmission channel which passes into a building and illuminates plants within the building.
CN 202002005 U, CN 201688316 U to Li teaches the use of heliostats to transmit light into a building for the purpose of illuminating the interior of buildings with sunlight.
US 20110197317 A1 to Wong teaches a system of collecting sunlight towards a condenser, the condenser passing sunlight through an aperture and into a light pipe, the light pipe having light guides and lens guides to transmit the light through the tube and through the building to be diffused at different areas of the building.
US 20100243032 A1 to Mori teaches a heliostat field with a plurality of heliostats adjacent to a building which collects the sunlight from the heliostats.
US 20090158647 A1 to Kleinwaechter teaches a dichroic filter to filter and reflect certain portions of light to be stored, and certain portions of light to be used by the plants.
/KATELYN T TRUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647