DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) (a)(2) as being anticipated by Johnson (US D801642) in view of Dornak (US 6643847).
Regarding claim 1, Johnson discloses a grooming assistance device for grooming an animal by a groomer comprising: a headgear to be worn on a head of a groomer (see figure 1 below), a food holder attached to the heargear, the food holder having a front side configured to hold a food and positioned on the headgear so that it is accessible to the animal allowing the animal to eat the food on the front side of the food holder while the groomer is grooming the animal but fails to teach wherein the food holder has a detachable attachment mechanism on a back side of the food holder and on a front surface of the headgear, so the food holder can be detached from the headgear to allow for cleaning of the food holder and placement of the food on the front side of the food holder. However, Dornak teaches a detachable attachment mechanism (on a back side of the food holder (hook and fastener element 126, col. 3, ll. 7-8) and on a front surface of the headgear (supporting facie 104, 106, 110 and 112, col. 3, ll. 2-4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Johnson’s hat with a fastener as taught by Dornak to allow the design to be easily removed for cleaning and/or repair or removed to easily personalize the hat.
Regarding claim 2, Johnson as modified by Dornak teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Dornak further teaches wherein the detachable attachment mechanism is a hook and loop fastener (col. 3, ll. 2-4).
Regarding claim 4, Johnson as modified by Dornak teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Johnson further teaches wherein the front side of the food holder is a licking pad which configured to allow the animal to eat the food by licking (an animal is capable of licking any food off of pad).
Regarding claim 5, Johnson as modified by Dornak teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Johnson further teaches wherein the front side of the food holder has a plurality of protrusions for receiving and holding the food on the food holder (see figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 6, Johnson as modified by Dornak teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Johnson further teaches wherein the front side of the food holder has a plurality of pockets and crevices for receiving and holding the food on the food holder (space between adjacent protrusions, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Johnson as modified by Dornak teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Johnson further teaches wherein the headgear is a hat (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Johnson as modified by Dornak teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Johnson further teaches wherein the hat has a band to secure the hat on the head of the groomer (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Johnson as modified by Dornak teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Johnson further teaches wherein the hat has a strap to secure the hat on the head of the groomer (fig. 3).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson in view of Dornak, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Tapia (US 5070545).
Regarding claim 3, Johnson as modified by Dornak teaches the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach wherein the detachable attachment mechanism is a snap fastener. However, Tapia teaches a snap fastener (engagement members 52, col. 5, ll. 35-42). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Johnson’s hat with a fastener as taught by Tapia to allow the design to be easily removed for cleaning and/or repair or removed to easily personalize the hat.
/EBONY E EVANS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647