DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-7 provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 8, 11-16 of copending Application No. 19176823 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Both sets of claims are identical and therefore rejected under provisional statuatory double patenting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 and 8 recites the limitation "the wheels" in line 7 and “the “first response curve” in line 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-10, 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over St-Pierre (US PG Pub No. 2008/0133075) in view of Hammarberg et al (US PG Pub No. 2020/0269845).
Regarding claim 1, St-Pierre teaches A motor vehicle comprising:
a frame;
a motor connected to the frame; (figure 6a-6e)
an accelerator pedal operable by a driver through a range of positions between a minimum throttle angle and a maximum throttle angle; (18 figure 1 actuator paragraph 37)
a drive system operably connected to the accelerator pedal, to the motor, and to a rudder;
the drive system operable to selectably drive the rudder in a forward direction in a drive mode and in a rearward direction in a reverse mode; (figure 10A slow mode)
the drive system including a direction controller operable to enact a direction change between a first one of the drive mode and the reverse mode and the other one of the drive mode and the reverse mode; (72 FNR figure 10a paragraph 64)
the drive system operable in a standard mode to drive the motor with a first response profile based on the accelerator position; and (paragraph 64 slow mode off)
the drive system operable in a safe mode immediately after the direction controller enacts a direction change to drive the drive motor with a second response profile having a reduced motor response for at least some throttle angles compared to a first response curve. (paragraph 64 slow mode on paragraph 65-69)
St-pierre does not explicitly teach however Hammarberg teaches a drive system connected to wheels (figure 1 paragraph 22-24)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify St-pierre based on the teachings of Hammarberg to teach a drive system connected to wheels. The motivation would be avoid overshoot or lugging in car when shifting (Hammarberg paragraph 20)
Regarding claim 3, St-pierre teaches wherein the direction controller includes an operator shifting input control. (figure 10a FNR 72)
Regarding claim 4, St-pierre teaches wherein the drive system is operable to drive the drive motor with the second response profile having a reduced motor response for a limited time interval. (paragraph 69)
Regarding claim 5, St-pierre teahes wherein the drive system is operable to drive the drive motor with the first response profile having a reduced motor response after the limited time interval. (paragraph 69)
Regarding claim 6, St-pierre teaches wherein at least a portion of the second response profile is flat, such that no additional acceleration is provided after a selected throttle angle. (paragraph 69 50% throttle yields 10% power)
Regarding claim 7, st-pierre teaches wherein the second response profile is sloped at a limited angle less than the angle of the first response curve. (paragraph 69)
Regarding claim 8, See the rejection of claim 1 as the limitations are substainially similar.
Regarding claim 9, St-pierre teaches wherein the drive system is operable in the safe mode after initial application of the accelerator pedal following the event associated with a potential direction change. (paragraph 66-69)
Regarding claim 10, St-Pierre teaches wherein the event associated with a potential direction change includes an event selected from the group including a stop, a direction change between drive and reverse, a potential direction change, an unaccepted offer of a direction change, and a presumed intended direction change. (paragraph 65)
Regarding claim 12-16, see the rejection of claims 2-7 as the limitations are substantially similar.
Conclusion
/GEORGE C JIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747